$68 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

3 stars
Amapas 214, Col Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
33 reviews
Great location in old town puerta Vallerta

Great ocean view room. Comfortable firm king bed, shower with great water pressure and lots of hot... See full review

  • RCM415
  • Apr 28, 2014
Tropicana Vallarta

Overall stay was great and hotel was a good value. The room, while sparse, is functional and very... See full review

  • JuanitoSF
  • Nov 20, 2014
Cozy hotel with convenient facilities and inviting accommodations

Whether in Puerto Vallarta for a corporate visit or leisure holiday, travelers find suitable base at the well-equipped accommodations and close-to-the-beach location of Hotel Tropicana Puerto Vallarta. The comfortable hotel is within easy access to Los Muertos Beach, favorable for holidaymakers who love the beach! Patrons can also unwind by having a dip in the in-house outdoor pool.

Guests can buffet breakfast and traditional Mexican and seafood cuisines at Tropicana Restaurant & Bar. Visitors can also chill out with refreshments and beverages at the bar on site. Doctor on call and currency exchange services are on offer for convenience. Gift and flower arrangements are also available for a charge.

3 Reasons To Stay:

  • Near to both Los Muertos Beach and Isla Cuale
  • Outdoor pool for recreation
  • Room service

Hotel Tropicana Puerto Vallarta rooms:

All 166 Standard and Superior rooms and Suites are fitted with modern amenities to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay at Hotel Tropicana Puerto Vallarta. The units are fitted with air conditioning, ceiling fan, cable TV, telephone, private balcony, and en suite bathroom with shower and hot water service. Some rooms have kitchenette while some are with seafront views. Room service is also on offer.

Things to do:

  • Los Muertos Beach (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Isla Cuale (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Genius of Paco Gallery and Museum (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Plaza de las Armas (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Vista Vallarta Golf Club (6.8 mi/11 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Tropicana Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Tropicana Vallarta Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room offers Two doubles or one double and one single beds, or one king size bed with air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, room service, safe in room and telephone. Hotel also offers ceiling fan, bathroom with shower, balcony, ocean view, street view or garden view.
Superior Room
Superior Room offers Two doubles or one king size bed with air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, room service, safe in room and telephone. Hotel also offers ceiling fan, bathroom with shower, balcony, ocean view, street view or garden view.
Junior Suite
Junior Suite offers Two doubles with air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, room service, safe in room and telephone. Hotel also offers ceiling fan, bathroom with shower, balcony, ocean view, street view or garden view.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Parking
Parking

Dining

Restaurant
Seafood and Mexican cuisine. Enjoy with your family and friends an unforgettable moment in restaurant with a very Mexican ambiance. Try your favorite dish with the beverage of your choice in a comfortable and warm atmosphere that will make you feel like home.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MikeyK VA
Business
Falls Church, VA
Dec 1, 2014

No frills, felt like prison

This hotel is cheap and in a good location, but they make you wear a wrist band to get in and out of the hotel, which is annoying when you have friends travelling with you. There is no wifi in the rooms. The wifi I the lobby is not strong. The maid staff comes into your room at 8-9am everyday without announcing themself regardless of whether you have the do not disturb sign up or not. I would never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

La noche is the bar that most foreigners go to. Packs ranch is where the locals go. Mole de jovita is not to be missed. Margarita grill had the best margs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sutraman
Business
Los Angeles
Nov 23, 2014

Transitional

This place is under construction 11/30/14, and so the place is loud in the morning with construction noise. There is scaffolding etc. The wifi only works in the lobby which is very limiting. Hotel guests are forced to sit in lobby too get internet access. The beds are kind of hard and well I guess you get what you pay for. The location on the beach is superb. The staff is adequate, polite but no great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JuanitoSF
Business
San Francisco
Nov 20, 2014

Tropicana Vallarta

Overall stay was great and hotel was a good value. The room, while sparse, is functional and very clean. The room was oceanfront with a balcony and had a great view. Rooms do not have wifi...adding this would be a huge improvement. The location is excellent; right on the playa de los muertos and minutes from everything in the romantic zone. The staff was friendly and helpful. My only problem was that I was asked to provide my confirmation number in the form of a printed copy. I indeed had it on my phone but the hotel insisted on a printed copy which I did not have. After a few minutes of back and forth they agreed to have me forward my confirmation email to them. Not a great experience on that front but I guess I know for next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

When taking a cab to the airport, ask the staff how much it should cost, then ask the cab driver in earshot of the hotel staff. Otherwise the price might go up way past average market rate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Danito
Business
NY, NY
Aug 21, 2014

Great deal for the money

Hotel ideally situated right on the water. Walking distance to town and local restaurants. Hotel was very comfortable. Great deal for the price. Would recommend highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

One could bargain with vendors.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SuperBeach lover
Business
Orange county, California
Aug 12, 2014

Good experience

Nice location. Nice room. Staff should be more friendly. Not many smiling faces.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeff and Jeff
Business
Seattle, WA
May 10, 2014

Great place

First off lets all agree that this place is a little old and it shows, chipped tiles, scuff marks, etc, but it is obviously clean, the cleaning service is out and about all day mopping, scrubbing, sweeping and wiping surfaces down. The staff is just friendly enough, they smile and great you but keep to them selves for the most part (we like that) the view is FANTASTIC, it really does not get any better, the grounds are beautiful and the location is perfect, the many restaurants in the area are fantastic, in fact the little bistro across the street on the corner is one of our favorite places for breakfast and an after dinner drink. This is the 2nd time my partner and I have stayed and we will be back next year, hopefully for 10 days this time.......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like to drink, the Super Deli Mart across the street has a good selection of hard alcohol, buy a bottle on your first night and enjoy a few cocktails in your room before going out, or take a plastic cup with straws and take it down to the pool or beach, you can save a ton of money by not buying mixed drinks at the bar......

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RCM415
Business
San Francisco California
Apr 28, 2014

Great location in old town puerta Vallerta

Great ocean view room. Comfortable firm king bed, shower with great water pressure and lots of hot water. Air conditioning worked perfect. Other than that room was clean with no frills for a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Beach with great waiter service and pools

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
backtosf4me
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 27, 2014

Great Value...Can't beat the location!

the review below is overall very positive. the negatives are not intended to be "a rant"...only recommendations (for potential travelers, as well as the hotel). We had an awesome time. the location is excellent! You can't beat being right on the ocean, within walking distance to everything in Romantic Zone, Malecon, and Los Muertos Beach. There are so many restaurants within walking distance (10 mins). The hotel lobby is beautiful/open air. The wireless access in the lobby was adequate speed, but i wish it reached a bit further...would be nice to use the wireless in the restaurant or poolside. The hotel front desk staff was efficient and helpful. The bell staff and housekeeping staff were excellent. The waitstaff (restaurants/poolside) were average...efficient, but not always aware of their guests' needs. the method of keeping a "tab" is tedious. they never seem to remember what you had. One day, after an afternoon of lunch, beers, and drinks with our group (7 of us), the waiter presented us with a written bill (this is a good practice...be sure to ask that they present you with a written bill so you can ensure accuracy), we calculated everyone's share and paid our bill. About 20 mins later, the waiter showed up at our hotel room door and said that the cashier forgot a large portion of our bill and asked for another 500 pesos. It was correct, we didn't argue...we ordered it, we should pay for it...however, it was really awkward and unfortunate as our group had already dispersed. Be sure to ask for an ocean view room. all the rooms facing the ocean (that i could tell) have a balcony, and preferably on (or above) the second floor. we reserved a superior room. we had a second floor room, ocean view (with balcony), and a king bed. the air conditioner worked really well, but a bit loud at night. there are some rooms that have ceiling fans, which would have been nice, rather than running the AC throughout the night. The pools were clean and nice temperature...the one nearest the ocean seems 5-10 degrees cooler, which was a bit more refreshing. we will definitely be back to the tropicana! thank you for a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

if you need to buy sunscreen while there...you will find it cheaper, the further you walk into town. they sell it immediately across from the beach, but its very expensive...just a few blocks into town, and you'll save 50-60 pesos (or more).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lagsus Traveler
Business
San Diego, California
Apr 21, 2014

Spring Break 2014

I made my reservation 4 months ahead for a Jr. Suite with ocean view at the Tropicana Hotel and the whole transaction was successfully completed. I contacted the Hotel to confirm my reservation 4 days before my arrival and found out that they had my information but never reserve a room for me. I was very disappointed; as they told me they had no rooms available, however they stated they were going to try to fix the problem and for me to call back. To make this story short, I end up in a Jr. Suite facing the street. Recommendation, always call to confirm right after a reservation trough a third party, especially on a peak season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sarah982
Business
Midwest, US
Mar 13, 2014

Great Location - Great pool

The hotel is located in the Romantic Zone of PV, which is the best location for dining and sight seeing. The hotel is on the beach with two swimming pools and a restaurant/bar. You can walk to most places from this location. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful as are the guests who stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many wonderful restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top