$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

3 stars
Amapas 214, Col Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
28 reviews
Great location in old town puerta Vallerta

Great ocean view room. Comfortable firm king bed, shower with great water pressure and lots of hot... See full review

  • RCM415
  • Apr 28, 2014
Great place

First off lets all agree that this place is a little old and it shows, chipped tiles, scuff marks,... See full review

  • Jeff and Jeff
  • May 10, 2014
Cozy hotel with convenient facilities and inviting accommodations

Whether in Puerto Vallarta for a corporate visit or leisure holiday, travelers find suitable base at the well-equipped accommodations and close-to-the-beach location of Hotel Tropicana Puerto Vallarta. The comfortable hotel is within easy access to Los Muertos Beach, favorable for holidaymakers who love the beach! Patrons can also unwind by having a dip in the in-house outdoor pool.

Guests can buffet breakfast and traditional Mexican and seafood cuisines at Tropicana Restaurant & Bar. Visitors can also chill out with refreshments and beverages at the bar on site. Doctor on call and currency exchange services are on offer for convenience. Gift and flower arrangements are also available for a charge.

3 Reasons To Stay:

  • Near to both Los Muertos Beach and Isla Cuale
  • Outdoor pool for recreation
  • Room service

Hotel Tropicana Puerto Vallarta rooms:

All 166 Standard and Superior rooms and Suites are fitted with modern amenities to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay at Hotel Tropicana Puerto Vallarta. The units are fitted with air conditioning, ceiling fan, cable TV, telephone, private balcony, and en suite bathroom with shower and hot water service. Some rooms have kitchenette while some are with seafront views. Room service is also on offer.

Things to do:

  • Los Muertos Beach (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Isla Cuale (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Genius of Paco Gallery and Museum (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Plaza de las Armas (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Vista Vallarta Golf Club (6.8 mi/11 km)

Hotel Tropicana Vallarta Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room offers Two doubles or one double and one single beds, or one king size bed with air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, room service, safe in room and telephone. Hotel also offers ceiling fan, bathroom with shower, balcony, ocean view, street view or garden view.
Superior Room
Superior Room offers Two doubles or one king size bed with air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, room service, safe in room and telephone. Hotel also offers ceiling fan, bathroom with shower, balcony, ocean view, street view or garden view.
Junior Suite
Junior Suite offers Two doubles with air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, room service, safe in room and telephone. Hotel also offers ceiling fan, bathroom with shower, balcony, ocean view, street view or garden view.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Tropicana Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.5984 -105.2387
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (PVR).
Area description
Located in Los Muertos Beach, Hotel Tropicana overlooks on one of the most beautiful beaches in Puerto Vallarta. Inside the old town bohemian district; Walking distance to the major shopping areas as well as its diverse restaurants and nightlife.

Dining

Restaurant
Seafood and Mexican cuisine. Enjoy with your family and friends an unforgettable moment in restaurant with a very Mexican ambiance. Try your favorite dish with the beverage of your choice in a comfortable and warm atmosphere that will make you feel like home.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (28)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PS Spam
Palm Springs, CA
Jan 7, 2013

Beautiful grounds, less than wonderful room

Upon checking in, we were told that we needed a "voucher." We showed our travel confirmation on our phone, but the desk clerk insisted that we needed it printed. When we explained that we had no way of printing a "voucher" she sent us to an office next to the desk. After explaining our issue to the person in the office, she took our passports and made a photocopy. That satisfied the desk clerk's request for a "voucher." Really?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ELT1
Redwood City
Dec 15, 2012

Great location

Location means a lot...But this hotel is tired and needs an overhaul. in fact they are currently remodelling the 4 floor....not mentioned at booking, BTW.. Toilets don't flush do to low water pressure... Construction noise annoying...staff friendly but not that responsive...no wifi in rooms, beds hard, basic items falling apart..Cheap price..literally you get what you pay for...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great resteraunt across the street..Fusion Gourmet

Review of Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lagsus Traveler
San Diego, California
Apr 21, 2014

Spring Break 2014

I made my reservation 4 months ahead for a Jr. Suite with ocean view at the Tropicana Hotel and the whole transaction was successfully completed. I contacted the Hotel to confirm my reservation 4 days before my arrival and found out that they had my information but never reserve a room for me. I was very disappointed; as they told me they had no rooms available, however they stated they were going to try to fix the problem and for me to call back. To make this story short, I end up in a Jr. Suite facing the street. Recommendation, always call to confirm right after a reservation trough a third party, especially on a peak season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelingmaninmichigan
East Lansing, Mi.
Dec 27, 2012

Great Location

Great view of the ocean from my room. The bed mattress was VERY hard and a pad had to be applied just to sleep on it. Most disturbing was the absence of a dresser. I lived out of my suitcace for 10 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
woden1974
San Francisco, CA, USA
Mar 20, 2012

Not bad. On beach. Decent location.

Not bad. On beach. Decent location. Nice pool area. I guess I was lucky to get an ocean front/view room, which was pretty quiet with sounds of the waves at night. Rooms are fairly basic. Not a fan of the no-guest policy but I guess that is typical.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Two Amigos
Vancouver, WA USA
Mar 5, 2012

Location, Location, Location

We like this hotel because it is in the heart of the romantic district and the resturants and shopping are great. No dealing with venders for tours and excursions on the streets. The personnel at the front desk handle everything. Roberto, the beach waiter is excellent. This one place we'll return to time and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Red Cabbage is an excellent resturant. Evening meals only, but the menu is unique and tasty.

Review of Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jenkies
Seattle
Feb 8, 2013

A convenient place to stay

The hotel is perfectly situated in old town - the beach is nice but not particularly good for swimming. Nice swimming pools. The food is basic. Web access is not great - it's only available in the lobby and can be spotty. A long as you don't have huge expectations, it's a good place to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BrianDallas
Dallas
Jul 20, 2012

Good, except for...

This hotel is decent, not upscale in anyway but not a pension or hostel. Nice pool and bar/restaurant area but the rooms are pretty basic. Great location. Only problem was that on arrival they indicated that they had given our room away. We had arrived by 2pm on the scheduled arrival date, yet they gave the room away anyway. The only option that was given to us was to pay an extra $120 for an upgrade. What was particularly annoying is that this was low season and the hotel was not by any means full.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great selection of restaurants on Olas Altas. These are much cheaper than what you find on the Malecon and many offer a more uniquely Mexican dining experience.

Review of Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brance
Salt Lake City, Utah
Mar 1, 2013

Great location

Fantastic location, bed is as hard as a rock. Wifi in lobby only and slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lagsus Traveler
San Diego, California
Apr 1, 2013

Excellent Location

It's just the right place for all the LGBT community. Staff very friendly. Love it, walking distance to all restaurants and clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top