$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

3 stars
Amapas 214, Col Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
28 reviews
Great location in old town puerta Vallerta

Great ocean view room. Comfortable firm king bed, shower with great water pressure and lots of hot... See full review

  • RCM415
  • Apr 28, 2014
Great place

First off lets all agree that this place is a little old and it shows, chipped tiles, scuff marks,... See full review

  • Jeff and Jeff
  • May 10, 2014
Cozy hotel with convenient facilities and inviting accommodations

Whether in Puerto Vallarta for a corporate visit or leisure holiday, travelers find suitable base at the well-equipped accommodations and close-to-the-beach location of Hotel Tropicana Puerto Vallarta. The comfortable hotel is within easy access to Los Muertos Beach, favorable for holidaymakers who love the beach! Patrons can also unwind by having a dip in the in-house outdoor pool.

Guests can buffet breakfast and traditional Mexican and seafood cuisines at Tropicana Restaurant & Bar. Visitors can also chill out with refreshments and beverages at the bar on site. Doctor on call and currency exchange services are on offer for convenience. Gift and flower arrangements are also available for a charge.

3 Reasons To Stay:

  • Near to both Los Muertos Beach and Isla Cuale
  • Outdoor pool for recreation
  • Room service

Hotel Tropicana Puerto Vallarta rooms:

All 166 Standard and Superior rooms and Suites are fitted with modern amenities to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay at Hotel Tropicana Puerto Vallarta. The units are fitted with air conditioning, ceiling fan, cable TV, telephone, private balcony, and en suite bathroom with shower and hot water service. Some rooms have kitchenette while some are with seafront views. Room service is also on offer.

Things to do:

  • Los Muertos Beach (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Isla Cuale (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Genius of Paco Gallery and Museum (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Malecon (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Plaza de las Armas (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Vista Vallarta Golf Club (6.8 mi/11 km)

Hotel Tropicana Vallarta Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room offers Two doubles or one double and one single beds, or one king size bed with air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, room service, safe in room and telephone. Hotel also offers ceiling fan, bathroom with shower, balcony, ocean view, street view or garden view.
Superior Room
Superior Room offers Two doubles or one king size bed with air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, room service, safe in room and telephone. Hotel also offers ceiling fan, bathroom with shower, balcony, ocean view, street view or garden view.
Junior Suite
Junior Suite offers Two doubles with air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, room service, safe in room and telephone. Hotel also offers ceiling fan, bathroom with shower, balcony, ocean view, street view or garden view.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Tropicana Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.5984 -105.2387
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (PVR).
Area description
Located in Los Muertos Beach, Hotel Tropicana overlooks on one of the most beautiful beaches in Puerto Vallarta. Inside the old town bohemian district; Walking distance to the major shopping areas as well as its diverse restaurants and nightlife.

Dining

Restaurant
Seafood and Mexican cuisine. Enjoy with your family and friends an unforgettable moment in restaurant with a very Mexican ambiance. Try your favorite dish with the beverage of your choice in a comfortable and warm atmosphere that will make you feel like home.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (28)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lloyds of Longmont
Colorado
Feb 9, 2013

Hotel Tropicana Puerto Vallarta

Basic hotel in a great downtown location, close to many restaurants. Normal Beach palapa chair reservation in the morning( Show up about 7:30 AM, select umbrella or palapa, reserve using towell) Nice beach, plenty of vendors. All junior suites and most superior rooms have beach views. Standard rooms are in the back.Like most Mexican hotels beds are somewhat hard, but not to bad. Junior suites have refrig and gas stove. Great location and good beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Bohimio, short walk; No Way Jose Longer walk; Nacho Daddys, short walk evening edntertainment; The Palms is OK for entertainment depends on group

Review of Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jenkies
Seattle
Feb 8, 2013

A convenient place to stay

The hotel is perfectly situated in old town - the beach is nice but not particularly good for swimming. Nice swimming pools. The food is basic. Web access is not great - it's only available in the lobby and can be spotty. A long as you don't have huge expectations, it's a good place to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KC VJ
Clearwater, MN
Jan 28, 2013

Great Location!!!

It's alway's great to back, year after year. Great location, reataurants and people. Very nice hotel for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PS Spam
Palm Springs, CA
Jan 7, 2013

Beautiful grounds, less than wonderful room

Upon checking in, we were told that we needed a "voucher." We showed our travel confirmation on our phone, but the desk clerk insisted that we needed it printed. When we explained that we had no way of printing a "voucher" she sent us to an office next to the desk. After explaining our issue to the person in the office, she took our passports and made a photocopy. That satisfied the desk clerk's request for a "voucher." Really?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Austin Proud
Austin
Jan 3, 2013

Nice Hotel with good location

If you are looking to stay in the Romantic Zone/Old Puerto Vallarta area this hotel is a good choice. We obtained a room on the 5th floor facing the beach. The room was clean but a little dated. It had a new air conditioner with a remote control which worked well. Had to wear a wrist band while statying at the hotel. The only complaint was a loud noise throught the day which I assume were doors closing from other rooms which caused an echo. Other than that, the hotel proved to be a good value. They have a couple of pools which we did not use. I also cannot comment on their restaurant since we ate at our favorite restaurants around town rather than trying their restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelingmaninmichigan
East Lansing, Mi.
Dec 27, 2012

Great Location

Great view of the ocean from my room. The bed mattress was VERY hard and a pad had to be applied just to sleep on it. Most disturbing was the absence of a dresser. I lived out of my suitcace for 10 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chumley P
Hayden Lake, Idaho
Dec 18, 2012

always a pleasure

This was our 3rd extented stay at Hotel Tropicana and we once again loved it. As we have said before, this place is not for everyone, it is not a large, all inclusive type resort, but is a very nice, very clean, always being cleaned and updated downtown hotel in a perfect location IF you like walking around and eating at a different place everyday/night and mixing with locals or at least tourists with similar interests. We are already looking at booking next years trip, we know it will be great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many places to eat or drink within a very short walking distance. For sure do Sea Monkey great food and dollar beers and drinks, Los Burros for feet in sand Mexican dishes and buckets of Pacifico, try a different one every night. We did/do.

Review of Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ELT1
Redwood City
Dec 15, 2012

Great location

Location means a lot...But this hotel is tired and needs an overhaul. in fact they are currently remodelling the 4 floor....not mentioned at booking, BTW.. Toilets don't flush do to low water pressure... Construction noise annoying...staff friendly but not that responsive...no wifi in rooms, beds hard, basic items falling apart..Cheap price..literally you get what you pay for...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great resteraunt across the street..Fusion Gourmet

Review of Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IamRia
San Antonio, TX
Oct 23, 2012

Best Vacation so far

This was great the hotel is in a perfect location, you are far away from new vallarta, if you're 18 and just looking to party and drink and be crazy this isn't the place for you. If you want to relax on the beach during the and be a walking distance from some bars and clubs at night and cheap food and drinks then this is your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the mercado it's the legit mexican food at mexican prices.

Review of Hotel Tropicana Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BrianDallas
Dallas
Jul 20, 2012

Good, except for...

This hotel is decent, not upscale in anyway but not a pension or hostel. Nice pool and bar/restaurant area but the rooms are pretty basic. Great location. Only problem was that on arrival they indicated that they had given our room away. We had arrived by 2pm on the scheduled arrival date, yet they gave the room away anyway. The only option that was given to us was to pay an extra $120 for an upgrade. What was particularly annoying is that this was low season and the hotel was not by any means full.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great selection of restaurants on Olas Altas. These are much cheaper than what you find on the Malecon and many offer a more uniquely Mexican dining experience.

Back to menu Return to top