$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

Hotel San Marino Plaza

2 stars
Rodolfo Gomez 111, Puerto Vallarta, 48300
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
48 reviews
Great time at San Marino PVR

I stayed 1 night at San Marino, i had a wonderful time. It´s located at the romantic zone, near the... See full review

  • William Rob.
  • Sep 2, 2014
Great Beach Front Location

Great Vaiue, the junior suites are worth the upgrade for a beautiful ocean front view. Many great... See full review

  • Mario PVR
  • Mar 27, 2014
Puerto Vallarta hotel with kids' and seniors' programs, water sports
Hotel San Marino Plaza attracts leisure travelers who seek direct access to Playa Los Muertos and El Malecon, the boardwalk and center of beach life in Puerto Vallarta. Tropical rooms show off their best asset: balconies with views of the town and surrounding Sierra Madre Mountains. El Galeon, a buffet set up in a covered patio, offers a break from beach or pool time. Kid- and senior-focused programs also keep visitors entertained.
Highlights
  • Casual beachfront hotel with Sierra Madre Mountains and cityscape views
  • Casual poolside dining at El Galeon
  • Kids and senior programs
  • Water sports such as kayaking and body boarding
Rooms
Sliding glass doors and roomy balconies with views of the cityscape and Sierra Madre Mountains shower Hotel San Marino Plaza rooms with natural light. Standard rooms, which can house up to four guests, show off yellow- and blue-hued tropical bedding, tile floors with inlay, TVs and wood work desks and mirrors. Junior suites boast a 42-inch LCD TV. Master suites are designed for extra comfort, ensuring quiet time with a balcony furnished with a table and chairs, a mini-refrigerator and a sofa bed.
Features
Hotel San Marino Plaza guests can set their own leisurely pace at Hotel San Marino Plaza thanks to an outdoor Jacuzzi, direct access to Playa Los Muertos and a sizable roster of planned activities. Choose from kayaking, dance lessons and kids' and seniors' programs.
Dining
El Galeon, the on-site buffet at Hotel San Marino Plaza, brings outdoor dining indoors in a covered patio setting. After a dip in the pool, guests stroll to the line for Mexican and international favorites.

At Main Cafe, diners take in views of the Pacific through large glass windows and an outdoor terrace.
Transportation
Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
Business
  • Fax, printer and copy services (fees apply)

Hotel Map

20.5987 -105.2378
Area served
Puerto Vallarta, MX
Nearby airports
The preferred airport for San Marino is Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco (PVR-Licenciado Gustavo Diaz Ordaz Intl.) - 8.7 km / 5.4 mi.
Area description
San Marino hotel is located in Puerto Vallarta's traditional zone, on Playa los Muertos, the most lively and traditional one, just 25 minutes from the International Airport. The property is a short walk from downtown and the promenade, near dozens of quaint restaurants, handcraft shops, discotheques and other spectacles. Area: Romantic Zone (Puerto Vallarta), Jalisco, Mexico The Rio Cuale divides downtown and the Romantic Zone, an area brimming with bars, restaurants, and shops. Isla Rio Cuale features a river walk and a small museum with pre-Columbian artifacts. Stretching for 16 blocks along the shore, the Malecón boardwalk is lined with bronze sculptures and palm trees. Boats depart from a nearby pier to Yelapa and Los Arcos, favored by divers and snorkelers.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel San Marino Plaza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel San Marino Plaza Rooms

Standard Room
Mountain or town view, one king Size or two double beds, bathroom with shower only, color TV with cable, air conditioning, telephone, safe deposit box in room with extra charge.
Junior Suite Ocean Front
Ocean View. Two double beds, Balcony overlooking to the beach and beautiful bay, bathroom with shower only, color TV with cable, air conditioning, telephone and safe deposit box in room with extra charge.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities

Dining

Main Cafe Restaurant
Would you like top enjoy one of the best Vallarta's restaurant with peaceful atmosphere, pampering yourself at dawn at sea side, contemplating the beautiful sunset on Los Muertos Beach or just delight your eyes looking at the moon reflected on the ocean; this is the place, additionally enjoy the exquisite fine Mexican cuisine and international cuisine.
Bar La Explanda
If you wish to relax after a good massage or just enjoy the day beside the pool, Bar la Explanada has for you all kinds of drinks for your comfort. National and International wines as well.
El Galeon Restaurant Bar
Linger over a leisurely breakfast, pop in for a quick lunch with the kids, or plan a romantic dinner. El Galeon satisfies at every meal with its fresh and inventive menu of Mexican and international favorites. The spacious dining room overlooks the beach where you can breathe the fresh sea breeze. With contemporary style and a tropical touch with their ceiling fans at the bottom of the relaxing pool, enhance your dining experience.
  • Cuisine: Mexican
  • Atmosphere: Contemponary Dining
  • Setting: Indoor
  • Serving Style: Buffet
  • Dress Code: Casual
  • Catering: Domestics Drinks
  • Smoking Permitted: NO
  • Hours: Breakfast From 8:00 to 11:00 AM - Lunch From 12:30 to 4:00 PM - Dine From 6:30 to 9:30 PM

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Marino Plaza

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 48
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HappyFeet52
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Jan 6, 2014

We love the location!

We are two gals in our early 60's and we have stayed at this hotel many times. We like the location as everything we like is within walking distance--no need to rent a car. Great restaurants, shops, the Malecon, beach etc. We do not do the All Inclusive as the restaurants in the area are so good! The rooms are clean and the staff are wonderful! It is a bit noisy some nights because of a disco next door, but it is not every night, so we can live with that. It is not a fancy place like some hotels in the hotel zone, but we love it. Safe, clean and great location. We like the ocean view Junior Suite rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Archie's Wok is a wonderful Pan Asian restaurant just around the corner from the hotel. Very elegant and really great food! We shared the Almond Chicken with the chicken satay appetizer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HappyFeet52
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Great Location!

We love the location and come back year after year. The staff is very friendly (front desk and housekeeping). I like that they have a safe in the room (extra fee). No hairdryer or refrigerator in the room, but we don't care. We love the location and it is clean! Very close to many great restaurants and shopping and right on the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuates y Cuates (great happy hour) is right on the beach and La Piazzetta (best Itallian food ever!) is just down the block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Princess Kristen
Business
St. Louis, MO
Apr 4, 2011

My San Marino Experience

First of all, we checked in extremely late because of a flight delay. Once we arrived we we given a room that smelled like the exterminator had just left. There was about a 13 inch Daiwoo TV hanging crooked on the wall and all thatseperated the small bathroom from the bedroom was a frosted shower door. We went to the front desk to ask for a different room. They were happy to accomidate for an extra $30-$50 a night. It was worth the $30 that we paid to be on the 3rd floor. Some of our friends upgraded only a few hours later(technically the next day for some) to the 5th floor that was $50 when we looked at it, but they got it for $30. Hmmm....Our suite was much nicer than the first room they had given us- no bug spray smell, a nice 40 inch flat screen TV that wasn't crooked and an actual door on the bathroom! Thebed was extremely hard and the pillows weren't the best either. Beautiful scenery from the balcony that overlooked the 18 and over pool, which one family had their 2 year old there for several hours one morning. Guess they couldn't read English or Spanish since the rules were clearly posted as you walked into the pool area. The beach area was nice. Some of the vendors were very nice. Some were nice until you didn't want to purchase their wares then they became rude. I wanted to toss one guys neclkaces into the ocean but wasn't sure if I would have been sent to a Mexican prison! The food at the hotel was ok. Breakfast was safe. The omlettes were decent. Lunch was ok. We looked at the dinner buffet several times during the week but NEVER ate there. There were quite a few unrecognizable items to choose from. Luckily the hotel was within walking distance to some pretty good resturants.Don Guacamole was excellent! Cafe Bohemia was a good sandwich place to visit when the owners are there for the season. The Blue Shrimp was amazing! PiPi's was great! Palermo Gonzalez up the mountain. Beautiful susnet and a ribeye steak to die for! Puerto Vallerta was a beautiful place to visit! Shopping was fun. Most every where we went was very clean. Great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There were 10 of us so we made friends with a cab driver that had a very nice van. He drove us to PiPi's and to Palermo Gonzalez. The van was clean and he was very nice. Blared American rock for us! Fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 3, 2011

Great location and CLEAN!

This was our fourth trip to PV, but our first time at San Marino. We had the Junior Suite Ocean View room only. (Did not do the all-inclusive as we love the food at the nearby restaurants.) We were very pleasantly surprised by the beautiful room and the other areas of the hotel, too. The room, unlike those in another hotel nearby which I will not name, was not at all musty smelling! (What a pleasant surprise that was!) The staff were very accomodating, too. Incredible view right on Los Muertos beach! You can see the cruise ships come and go. It doesn't get any better than this. And very close to the best restaurants in the area (Daquiri Dicks, La Pizzaria, Andale, Cuates y Cuetes, etc.) and also very convenient to access the Malecon. We don't rent a car in Mexico and this is the ideal location to be close to everything. Also, the buses are nearby that go to the Botanical Gardens (a must see and good place to go for lunch. The bus ride alone is well worth it as you go way up into the mountains and also through the ritzy area of Conchas Chinas just south of PV and past Mismaloya.) This is where we will be staying from now on! The staff was prompt in making up our room each day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It is well worth the bus trip to the Botanical Gardens south of Puerto Vallarta. It is a great place to have lunch. I saw two parrots fly by as I was waiting for my meal. The drive up into the mountains is very beautiful and fun! (There is nothing quite like a Mexican bus ride!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Diana Cubana
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 7, 2010

YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR....

As the review title says...you get what you pay for! Pros: Location (beach front), price, large room (308 & 309). Cons: Extremely hard mattress (rock hard!), loud thumping music from passing cars all night long (hard to get a good night sleep), shower that would flood the restroom, all inclusive meals were not worthwhile - only thing worth it was the breakfast omelet station. Drinks were just ok. Most hotels I've stayed in in the area are just the same. PV needs to put some attention to the hotels located on this side of town. All amenities are within walking distance and there is so much variety in eating options - high end, average, and taco stands. The hotel staff were willing to relocate us to other rooms; however, they were worse than our original rooms. We looked at three different rooms before moving from our original room and either we had a hard time getting the door open, a/c did not work in the rooms, or a/c made too loud of a rattling noise. We decided to put up with the thumping cars that came and went versus no a/c or rattling a/c all night long. One more thing to beware. If you purchase or get a free jungle tour make sure it's a "jungle tour"! We got duped and went on a ride through the hills that stopped at jewelry shops; gift shops; a wannabe botanical garden (someone's home); a not real good restaurant with limited, overpriced menu; a somewhat decent tequila tasting tour - overpriced tequila. The best part of the tour was a 10 minute stop at Chico's Paradise to take pictures. Amazingly beautiful! I can't believe the roaring rapids at this place. I further can't believe that the tour didn't take us to eat there - beautiful dining area overlooking the roaring river! (a one minute walk from where they did take us to eat) Wear insect repellent! I had at least 30 bites by the end of this! A true waste of a whole day when you expect to be in a true jungle!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pipis restaurant is good for an average to slightly high priced meal. Free guacamole and chicken quesadilla with all meals! Great margaritas! For more formal dining Cafe de Artiste is excellent! From both you can walk to the boardwalk to end the night or just get started!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
north idaho
Oct 15, 2010

the price was right

Closest we've ever stayed on the ocean. Really liked the location compared to walking distance to downtown. I watched a turtle lay eggs on the beach right in front of my room. Upgraded to jr suite two days after arriving. I don't recomend standard room unless you like hard beds. Jr suite is much more americanized. Food was standard but something for everyone. [...] our waitier was a blast to have every day. Wasn't into doing too many activities on this trip but there was plenty of things to choose!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

So many great places to eat within walking distance. We ate at bubba gumps for a greazt price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brookline, MA
Mar 13, 2010

San Marion OK but need sserious updating

The hotel is in a great location. But it looks like nothing has been updated since it opened(in the 40's or 50') from the looks of. The decore was very dated. The beds and pillows somewhat FIRM! But the location was excellant and the staff were friendly. All in all I would stay here again, but only if the Hotel Mercurio was full. We did not eat in the restaurant (which looked very nice) so I can't comment on the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I've eaten in the restaurant next door, Cafe Bohemo, and would recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver
Mar 4, 2010

Good location

Hotel staff are frinedly and we had a good time. Little bit noisey.....however here is Mexico 24 hours party time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice location, walking distance for everything, beach,shopping,dinning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Jan 9, 2010

The Good , the bad and the really ugly

This hotel is located in a great place, but the food needs to be adjusted somewhat. [*] Everyone would like it to be a bit more Americanized. Breakfast always great, Lunch lots of hamburgers(the meat doesn't taste the same, supper very plain and needs more adjustments....like real great italian food for a change. Fried chicken maybe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location, very busy in front of the hotel if you stay on the beach. Most chairs on the grounds of the hotel get taken quickly. Get your chair right after breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Got what I paid for
Business
San Jose, CA
Nov 1, 2009

4 Stars in Mexico not the same as U.S.

I guess you get what you pay for. This hotel was rated 4 stars in Mexico and that is a lot different than 4 stars in a U.S. Hotel. It's very noisy. The walls are thin as well as the doors and even from the top floor it sounds as if all the children in the ground floor pool are just outside your door. They have remodled some of the rooms, however, I did not get one of those rooms. I upgraded to a junior suite, ocean view room. The view was great but the room was not. We compared the bathroom to that of a rest stop along the interstate highway. I did see a couple of the rooms my friends were staying in that were recently remodled and it was a tad bit better. Our general concensus was that we would not stay there again. The location in oldtown PV is great. It is within walking distance to most anything that you would like to do in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top