$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Hotel San Marino Plaza

2 stars
View map of Rodolfo Gomez 111, Puerto Vallarta, 48300

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
55 reviews
Great time at San Marino PVR

I stayed 1 night at San Marino, i had a wonderful time. It´s located at the romantic zone, near the... See full review

  • William Rob.
  • Sep 2, 2014
great lopcation

Food was good sevice good great bar drinks.Would recopmend for 7to10 day vacation. See full review

  • Drh 1949
  • Feb 25, 2015
Puerto Vallarta hotel with kids' and seniors' programs, water sports
Hotel San Marino Plaza attracts leisure travelers who seek direct access to Playa Los Muertos and El Malecon, the boardwalk and center of beach life in Puerto Vallarta. Tropical rooms show off their best asset: balconies with views of the town and surrounding Sierra Madre Mountains. El Galeon, a buffet set up in a covered patio, offers a break from beach or pool time. Kid- and senior-focused programs also keep visitors entertained.
Highlights
  • Casual beachfront hotel with Sierra Madre Mountains and cityscape views
  • Casual poolside dining at El Galeon
  • Kids and senior programs
  • Water sports such as kayaking and body boarding
Rooms
Sliding glass doors and roomy balconies with views of the cityscape and Sierra Madre Mountains shower Hotel San Marino Plaza rooms with natural light. Standard rooms, which can house up to four guests, show off yellow- and blue-hued tropical bedding, tile floors with inlay, TVs and wood work desks and mirrors. Junior suites boast a 42-inch LCD TV. Master suites are designed for extra comfort, ensuring quiet time with a balcony furnished with a table and chairs, a mini-refrigerator and a sofa bed.
Features
Hotel San Marino Plaza guests can set their own leisurely pace at Hotel San Marino Plaza thanks to an outdoor Jacuzzi, direct access to Playa Los Muertos and a sizable roster of planned activities. Choose from kayaking, dance lessons and kids' and seniors' programs.
Dining
El Galeon, the on-site buffet at Hotel San Marino Plaza, brings outdoor dining indoors in a covered patio setting. After a dip in the pool, guests stroll to the line for Mexican and international favorites.

At Main Cafe, diners take in views of the Pacific through large glass windows and an outdoor terrace.
Transportation
Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
Business
  • Fax, printer and copy services (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel San Marino Plaza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel San Marino Plaza Rooms

Standard Room
Mountain or town view, one king Size or two double beds, bathroom with shower only, color TV with cable, air conditioning, telephone, safe deposit box in room with extra charge.
Junior Suite Ocean Front
Ocean View. Two double beds, Balcony overlooking to the beach and beautiful bay, bathroom with shower only, color TV with cable, air conditioning, telephone and safe deposit box in room with extra charge.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities

Dining

Main Cafe Restaurant
Would you like top enjoy one of the best Vallarta's restaurant with peaceful atmosphere, pampering yourself at dawn at sea side, contemplating the beautiful sunset on Los Muertos Beach or just delight your eyes looking at the moon reflected on the ocean; this is the place, additionally enjoy the exquisite fine Mexican cuisine and international cuisine.
Bar La Explanda
If you wish to relax after a good massage or just enjoy the day beside the pool, Bar la Explanada has for you all kinds of drinks for your comfort. National and International wines as well.
El Galeon Restaurant Bar
Linger over a leisurely breakfast, pop in for a quick lunch with the kids, or plan a romantic dinner. El Galeon satisfies at every meal with its fresh and inventive menu of Mexican and international favorites. The spacious dining room overlooks the beach where you can breathe the fresh sea breeze. With contemporary style and a tropical touch with their ceiling fans at the bottom of the relaxing pool, enhance your dining experience.
  • Cuisine: Mexican
  • Atmosphere: Contemponary Dining
  • Setting: Indoor
  • Serving Style: Buffet
  • Dress Code: Casual
  • Catering: Domestics Drinks
  • Smoking Permitted: NO
  • Hours: Breakfast From 8:00 to 11:00 AM - Lunch From 12:30 to 4:00 PM - Dine From 6:30 to 9:30 PM

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Marino Plaza

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 55
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gay Travelers
Business
S SALT LAKE
Apr 6, 2015

San Marino - Gay Travelers

We were traveling in a group of 4 (two gay couples). We booked two separate rooms next to each other. We stayed for 8 nights. First I will start with the Pros. This hotel is in the perfect location. It's in old town Puerto Vallarta right on the beach, near the pier and near countless bars, restaurants, and shops. We booked an Ocean-view Jr Suite. We were on the 8th floor (top floor) in room 803 & 802. If you're going to stay here it's worth the upgrade for the Ocean-view Suite. Call before your trip and request the highest floor and rooms together if you are traveling with people. Your balcony looks straight out towards the ocean. The view is amazing. Overall the hotel is well kept and the staff is very friendly. They have two decent size pools and a smaller kid pool. We never used the pools because they were always packed with kids (even the adult only pool). The hotel has a small section of the beach. It seemed that the Grass umbrellas were always taken up very quickly. This wasn't a problem for us because we always walked to Blue Chairs (gay beach) and lounged there. Blue chairs is like 4 hotels down the beach, it is a short walk. Also, if you are looking for a fun time go on Wet & Wild Gay Cruise (you wont regret it). Here are the Con's to staying here. The rooms are loud. The sliding glass doors do not keep sound out of the rooms. I found it a little hard to sleep some nights because people would be down at the pool screaming or music would be playing in the distance. Not all nights were way loud but some were (I'm 26 & we had some late nights). So be aware of the sound. The beds were pretty firm and pillows were ok. We did the all inclusive package. I would highly suggest not doing the all inclusive. Like the other reviews have stated the food is not good. It is a very small selection and it is exactly the same everyday with few variation. They typically serve some kind of chicken, some kind of penne pasta, and some types of potatoes and some kind of beef or pork dish. The food is ok for the first day or two but you will get tired of it if you are staying for a long time. We ended up going out to eat because I was getting so tired of the food. The alcohol that is included is cheap. They use a brand called Oso Vodka (they sell it in the convenience stores for like 79 pesos or about $5.50 usd). So the alcohol is definitely a cheap cheap brand. They have a small selection you can basically choose Beer, Tequila, Vodka, or Rum. None of them are name brand Liquors that we recognized. The beer is Tecate or something like that. The bar is open from Noon - 10pm. Again, we got tired of drinking cheap alcohol so we went and bought alcohol that we like at the convenience store. Overall this hotel has good and bad. When we do our next trip to Puerto Vallarta we will most likely rent a nice condo up on the hill in Old town. Hope this review helped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wish i was in ausiin more
Business
N/A
Jan 6, 2015

holiday trip to PV

Hotel has a great location in old town PV. Size of room was good, beds and pillows not comfortable at all. Shower had what appeared to be mold in it. I felt it was over priced for room condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
William Rob.
Business
San Jose California
Sep 2, 2014

Great time at San Marino PVR

I stayed 1 night at San Marino, i had a wonderful time. It´s located at the romantic zone, near the malecon, bars and night clubs. I definitely will return on my next vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

DO NOT rent a car! evertything is near San Marino. Has a great location :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tlc4you
Business
Long Beach
Jun 28, 2012

Good Times

This is a good hotel to stay at if you are not planning on spending too much time sleeping. Air conditioning was very bad, but we managed okay. The food is great and staff are very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop at the Malecon for big savings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cdstgs
Business
Marshall, IL 62441, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Relaxing Getaway!!

For the price and the location we were very happy with this hotel. Breakfast lunch and drinks very good.We ate dinner out every evening. We would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many good places to eat in OLD Vallarta. If you go all inclusive you should try some of the restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jean59
Business
Montréal, QC, Canada
Jan 4, 2012

location

The location is verry good,,food is mexicain 95%,room verry ordinary

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the centro 10 minute,bring money for dinning out ,me i will returd at this hotet but i will take nothing include, restaurant close of the hotel are verry good and not expencive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA, CA
Apr 23, 2011

Great location, great experience!

Let's be honest, San Marino is not a place for people looking for luxury. You can find very inexpensive rates and definately worth every penny you paid for. Location is brilliant. The staff is very friendly and the service is great and personal, makes you feel like in home away from home. They have renovated a lot since last time we went. 42" LCD tvs in the Jr. Suites, new bathrooms and WIFI in the restaurant area. I stayed in EP without meals since there are many great options to eat within walking distance. Try Café de Olla and the Blue Shrimp, are just amazing. We will definately come back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, WA
Apr 8, 2011

Needs a better pool and updated pillows

This hotel was clean, spacious and well-priced. The service was above average and the food was edible. The all-inclusive drink/food service was good. The in-house travel agent was also above average when booking tours and exursions. The only down-sides we found were: the pillows were either hard or old and lumpy; the pool area could use some definite improvements and we were pestered by a "time shark" guy on a daily basis to the point of harrassment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
superior, colo
Mar 17, 2011

vacation

I was on conformation dmzdhm. Jan27th to Feb 2nd. I fell in myroom the second night, Jan 28th. My wife had to call the doctor and he shipped me to the cornorstone Hospital on Jan 30th. Then I had to fly back to the states to be Hospitized. My wife check out of the hotel, on Jan30th and had to stay with me. She ask them for a refund for 2-nights and theywouldnt credit her back. My son in the states, cancelled all the other weeks I was staying. The clean up pepole stoled a $100.00 out of my suitcase. at theHospital

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Romantic Boy
Business
Guadalajara, JAL
Mar 8, 2011

Location + Friendly Staff

At the beginning we hesitate on choosing San Marino as our best option, because we read a lot of bad comments for this hotel. But, definitely was a very nice surprise, if you want to try the real Puerto Vallarta town, this hotel has unbeatable location. The staff is very friendly, you feel welcome from check-in until check-out, the room is clean, and we took the breakfast at the restaurant with an ocean view, that works perfect for me. This is not a 5 stars resort, but you get more for the price you pay. Give a shoot and meet the beautiful sunsets on the old town in Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top