Hotel San Marino Plaza ★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$73
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Mar 1, 2016 Check-out: Mar 2, 2016
3.1 /5
Overall score
74%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Standard Room All Inclusive
  • Size: 258 sqft
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Junior Suite Room Only Ocean View
  • Size: 322 sqft
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Standard Room Only
  • Size: 258 sqft
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Junior Suite Ocean View All Inclusive
  • Size: 322 sqft
  • Occupancy: 4

Overview

Hotel San Marino Plaza attracts leisure travelers who seek direct access to Playa Los Muertos and El Malecon, the boardwalk and center of beach life in Puerto Vallarta. Tropical rooms show off their best asset: balconies with views of the town and surrounding Sierra Madre Mountains. El Galeon, a buffet set up in a covered patio, offers a break from beach or pool time. Kid- and senior-focused programs also keep visitors entertained.

Dining

El Galeon, the on-site buffet at Hotel San Marino Plaza, brings outdoor dining indoors in a covered patio setting. After a dip in the pool, guests stroll to the line for Mexican and international favorites.

At Main Cafe, diners take in views of the Pacific through large glass windows and an outdoor terrace.

Rooms

Sliding glass doors and roomy balconies with views of the cityscape and Sierra Madre Mountains shower Hotel San Marino Plaza rooms with natural light. Standard rooms, which can house up to four guests, show off yellow- and blue-hued tropical bedding, tile floors with inlay, TVs and wood work desks and mirrors. Junior suites boast a 42-inch LCD TV. Master suites are designed for extra comfort, ensuring quiet time with a balcony furnished with a table and chairs, a mini-refrigerator and a sofa bed.

Property features

Hotel San Marino Plaza guests can set their own leisurely pace at Hotel San Marino Plaza thanks to an outdoor Jacuzzi, direct access to Playa Los Muertos and a sizable roster of planned activities. Choose from kayaking, dance lessons and kids' and seniors' programs.

Highlights

  • Casual beachfront hotel with Sierra Madre Mountains and cityscape views
  • Casual poolside dining at El Galeon
  • Kids and senior programs
  • Water sports such as kayaking and body boarding

Nearby attractions

  • Malecon (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.7 mi/9.1 km)

Business

  • Fax, printer and copy services (fees apply)

Transportation

Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.7 mi/9.1 km)

Dining

Bar La Explanda
If you wish to relax after a good massage or just enjoy the day beside the pool, Bar la Explanada has for you all kinds of drinks for your comfort. National and International wines as well.
El Galeon Restaurant Bar
Linger over a leisurely breakfast, pop in for a quick lunch with the kids, or plan a romantic dinner. El Galeon satisfies at every meal with its fresh and inventive menu of Mexican and international favorites. The spacious dining room overlooks the beach where you can breathe the fresh sea breeze. With contemporary style and a tropical touch with their ceiling fans at the bottom of the relaxing pool, enhance your dining experience.
  • Cuisine: Mexican
  • Atmosphere: Contemponary Dining
  • Setting: Indoor
  • Serving Style: Buffet
  • Dress Code: Casual
  • Catering: Domestics Drinks
  • Smoking Permitted: NO
  • Hours: Breakfast From 8:00 to 11:00 AM - Lunch From 12:30 to 4:00 PM - Dine From 6:30 to 9:30 PM
Main Cafe Restaurant
Would you like top enjoy one of the best Vallarta's restaurant with peaceful atmosphere, pampering yourself at dawn at sea side, contemplating the beautiful sunset on Los Muertos Beach or just delight your eyes looking at the moon reflected on the ocean; this is the place, additionally enjoy the exquisite fine Mexican cuisine and international cuisine.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 4.4 / 5
$125
Guest score 3.8 / 5
$81
Guest score 3.7 / 5
$94
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$142

Amenities

Featured

  • Pool

Activities

  • Pool

Dining

  • Restaurant

Services

  • Business center
  • Conference facilities

Reviews

3.1 /5 Overall score

74% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3.7/5
  • Hotel staff: 3.8/5
  • Comfort: 3.2/5
  • Location: 4.5/5
  • Value: 3.6/5

great value and location but......

Would recommend Wed, Dec 2, 2015
The staff is awesome especially in F&B. Great location but a little updating is sorely needed. No visitor policy sucks. C'mon can't a friend come in and hang out for an hour?

| san diego Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Fantastic Location

Would recommend Tue, May 26, 2015
The San Marino is exactly what I look for in a vacation hotel. Clean spacious rooms with amazing views. It is centrally located to LGBT owned and operated businesses. Perfect

| Indianapolis Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

San Marino - Gay Travelers

Would not recommend Mon, Apr 6, 2015
We were traveling in a group of 4 (two gay couples). We booked two separate rooms next to each other. We stayed for 8 nights. First I will start with the Pros. This hotel is in the perfect location. It's in old town Puerto Vallarta right on the beach, near the pier and near countless bars, restaurants, and shops. We booked an Ocean-view Jr Suite. We were on the 8th floor (top floor) in room 803 & 802. If you're going to stay here it's worth the upgrade for the Ocean-view Suite. Call before your trip and request the highest floor and rooms together if you are traveling with people. Your balcony looks straight out towards the ocean. The view is amazing. Overall the hotel is well kept and the staff is very friendly. They have two decent size pools and a smaller kid pool. We never used the pools because they were always packed with kids (even the adult only pool). The hotel has a small section of the beach. It seemed that the Grass umbrellas were always taken up very quickly. This wasn't a problem for us because we always walked to Blue Chairs (gay beach) and lounged there. Blue chairs is like 4 hotels down the beach, it is a short walk. Also, if you are looking for a fun time go on Wet & Wild Gay Cruise (you wont regret it). Here are the Con's to staying here. The rooms are loud. The sliding glass doors do not keep sound out of the rooms. I found it a little hard to sleep some nights because people would be down at the pool screaming or music would be playing in the distance. Not all nights were way loud but some were (I'm 26 & we had some late nights). So be aware of the sound. The beds were pretty firm and pillows were ok. We did the all inclusive package. I would highly suggest not doing the all inclusive. Like the other reviews have stated the food is not good. It is a very small selection and it is exactly the same everyday with few variation. They typically serve some kind of chicken, some kind of penne pasta, and some types of potatoes and some kind of beef or pork dish. The food is ok for the first day or two but you will get tired of it if you are staying for a long time. We ended up going out to eat because I was getting so tired of the food. The alcohol that is included is cheap. They use a brand called Oso Vodka (they sell it in the convenience stores for like 79 pesos or about $5.50 usd). So the alcohol is definitely a cheap cheap brand. They have a small selection you can basically choose Beer, Tequila, Vodka, or Rum. None of them are name brand Liquors that we recognized. The beer is Tecate or something like that. The bar is open from Noon - 10pm. Again, we got tired of drinking cheap alcohol so we went and bought alcohol that we like at the convenience store. Overall this hotel has good and bad. When we do our next trip to Puerto Vallarta we will most likely rent a nice condo up on the hill in Old town. Hope this review helped.

| S SALT LAKE Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Good Location

Would recommend Wed, Mar 18, 2015
Hotel Staff were excellent.Did not have meal package but heard it was not great. Was personally sick (from problems prior to the trip) but my wife and mysellf love PVR. Also , we had a Jr. Suite which was much better than a regular room.

| N/A Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

not what we expected

Would not recommend Mon, Feb 23, 2015
The hotel looks great from the outside grounds and lobby. As we have been in PuertoVallarta before, we had checked out the hotel from the outside and it looks very nice. But when you get into the rooms they are very worn and not taken care of. The cleaning staff and hotel staff is very nice but the rooms need to be REALLY cleaned, not just mopped and wiped down. The drapes are so old and nasty I did not like touching them, the tile in the bathroom floor has black mold in it, the furniture is nicked and chipped. But the worst was the roaches. I have stayed in Puerto Vallarta six times and never had roaches in my room. Very disappointing stay. I don't understand how this hotel didn't have any reviews stating their problems. It was a good value, but you don't get what was anticipated, except for location.

| N/A Singles

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Awesome time

Would recommend Wed, Feb 11, 2015
The best thing right on the beach and in the heart of old town PV Staff was excellent, great drinks.

| N/A Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

holiday trip to PV

Would not recommend Tue, Jan 6, 2015
Hotel has a great location in old town PV. Size of room was good, beds and pillows not comfortable at all. Shower had what appeared to be mold in it. I felt it was over priced for room condition.

| N/A Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

It's okay...

Would recommend Thu, Nov 27, 2014
No extras, for sure, but good location. And good old fashion family fun-time around the swimming pool, etc., and definitely a good price!

| Los Angeles area Friends

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Great time at San Marino PVR

Would recommend Tue, Sep 2, 2014
I stayed 1 night at San Marino, i had a wonderful time. It´s located at the romantic zone, near the malecon, bars and night clubs. I definitely will return on my next vacation.

Entertainment hint

DO NOT rent a car! evertything is near San Marino. Has a great location :)

| San Jose California Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

san marino 02/26/2014

Would recommend Thu, Feb 27, 2014
Its in an awesome location. A lot of action going around. The sunset and sunrise are priceless. Lots of hot spots around the hotel. nice cofee shops and restaraunts. With that said it is in the tourist part of town so the prices will be a little bit high. Recommendation for breakfast,lunch or dinner near by is TIZOCS. There is a spa in the hotel pretty good prices and services. If you get all inclusive with your hotel price the food and the drinks are decent. BUT the ROOMS.. OMG. Not too clean. way to small. and the mattress are horrible. no towels. no extra blankets. I just didnt have a good night rest :( . But you cant beat the LOCATION. FYI: If you are going to buy ANYTHING in PUERTO VALLARTA do not take the first PRICE. You can negotiate almost anything. KID FRIENDLY have fun. maggie

Entertainment hint

NEGOTIATE ANYTHING YOU ARE GOING TO BUY. ANY TOURS. For example zipline tour will try and selld for 60 bucks or 650 pecos. You can bring it down to 40-45 dollars or 450 pecos.

| puerto vallarta, Arizona Family

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Top hotels

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$73
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2016 Check-out: Mar 2, 2016