$72 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Hotel San Marino Plaza

2 stars
View map of Rodolfo Gomez 111, Puerto Vallarta, 48300

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
58 reviews
Fantastic Location

The San Marino is exactly what I look for in a vacation hotel. Clean spacious rooms with amazing... See full review

  • Christopher J.
  • May 26, 2015
Great time at San Marino PVR

I stayed 1 night at San Marino, i had a wonderful time. It´s located at the romantic zone, near the... See full review

  • William Rob.
  • Sep 2, 2014
Hotel San Marino Plaza attracts leisure travelers who seek direct access to Playa Los Muertos and El Malecon, the boardwalk and center of beach life in Puerto Vallarta. Tropical rooms show off their best asset: balconies with views of the town and surrounding Sierra Madre Mountains. El Galeon, a buffet set up in a covered patio, offers a break from beach or pool time. Kid- and senior-focused programs also keep visitors entertained.
Dining
El Galeon, the on-site buffet at Hotel San Marino Plaza, brings outdoor dining indoors in a covered patio setting. After a dip in the pool, guests stroll to the line for Mexican and international favorites.

At Main Cafe, diners take in views of the Pacific through large glass windows and an outdoor terrace.
Rooms
Sliding glass doors and roomy balconies with views of the cityscape and Sierra Madre Mountains shower Hotel San Marino Plaza rooms with natural light. Standard rooms, which can house up to four guests, show off yellow- and blue-hued tropical bedding, tile floors with inlay, TVs and wood work desks and mirrors. Junior suites boast a 42-inch LCD TV. Master suites are designed for extra comfort, ensuring quiet time with a balcony furnished with a table and chairs, a mini-refrigerator and a sofa bed.
Property features
Hotel San Marino Plaza guests can set their own leisurely pace at Hotel San Marino Plaza thanks to an outdoor Jacuzzi, direct access to Playa Los Muertos and a sizable roster of planned activities. Choose from kayaking, dance lessons and kids' and seniors' programs.
Highlights
  • Casual beachfront hotel with Sierra Madre Mountains and cityscape views
  • Casual poolside dining at El Galeon
  • Kids and senior programs
  • Water sports such as kayaking and body boarding
Nearby attractions
  • Malecon (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
Business
  • Fax, printer and copy services (fees apply)
Transportation
Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.7 mi/9.1 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel San Marino Plaza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel San Marino Plaza Rooms

Standard Room
Mountain or town view, one king Size or two double beds, bathroom with shower only, color TV with cable, air conditioning, telephone, safe deposit box in room with extra charge.
Junior Suite Ocean Front
Ocean View. Two double beds, Balcony overlooking to the beach and beautiful bay, bathroom with shower only, color TV with cable, air conditioning, telephone and safe deposit box in room with extra charge.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities

Dining

Bar La Explanda
If you wish to relax after a good massage or just enjoy the day beside the pool, Bar la Explanada has for you all kinds of drinks for your comfort. National and International wines as well.
El Galeon Restaurant Bar
Linger over a leisurely breakfast, pop in for a quick lunch with the kids, or plan a romantic dinner. El Galeon satisfies at every meal with its fresh and inventive menu of Mexican and international favorites. The spacious dining room overlooks the beach where you can breathe the fresh sea breeze. With contemporary style and a tropical touch with their ceiling fans at the bottom of the relaxing pool, enhance your dining experience.
  • Cuisine: Mexican
  • Atmosphere: Contemponary Dining
  • Setting: Indoor
  • Serving Style: Buffet
  • Dress Code: Casual
  • Catering: Domestics Drinks
  • Smoking Permitted: NO
  • Hours: Breakfast From 8:00 to 11:00 AM - Lunch From 12:30 to 4:00 PM - Dine From 6:30 to 9:30 PM
Main Cafe Restaurant
Would you like top enjoy one of the best Vallarta's restaurant with peaceful atmosphere, pampering yourself at dawn at sea side, contemplating the beautiful sunset on Los Muertos Beach or just delight your eyes looking at the moon reflected on the ocean; this is the place, additionally enjoy the exquisite fine Mexican cuisine and international cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Marino Plaza

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 58
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Malandrina Rebelde
Business
Lathrop, CA
Jan 2, 2010

Horrible

I constantly travel to mexico and this was the worst hotel I ever stayed in. The tv remote didn't work, they kept sending the same person to change the batteries over and over. The front desk was rude. The room was just tacky and uncomfortable. I can't forget the blankets, they stank horribly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Battle Ground, WA
Jun 9, 2010

You get what you pay for...

We were looking for a cheap, last minute vacation. After reading the reviews, this place didn't seem too bad. After all, we figured, we wouldn't be in the room too long. First turn-off when we got there was that the main pool was closed for some type of work. A second smaller pool was open, but it was in the shade most of the day. Next, there was no air-conditioning in our room - not even a ceiling fan. That might have been OK if the mattress hadn't been hard as a rock. My husband used to work in a prison, and he swears that prison beds are more comfortable. Finally, we couldn't believe the number of times that MJ was offered to us by vendors around the hotel. When we enquired, we were told it was because we were in the "Romantic Zone." Let's just say we weren't aware of that when we booked. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant after reading some of the other reviews, but there are lots of great restaurants in the area. Head down the Malecon to the "Cheeky Monkey" for $1 beer and margaritas! We loved Puerto Vallarta and will definitely return, but plan to stay elsewhere next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jean59
Business
Montréal, QC, Canada
Jan 4, 2012

location

The location is verry good,,food is mexicain 95%,room verry ordinary

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the centro 10 minute,bring money for dinning out ,me i will returd at this hotet but i will take nothing include, restaurant close of the hotel are verry good and not expencive

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveler wanting to cook
Business
Colorado
Dec 18, 2010

No surprises

Having read the reviews, we pretty much knew what to expect, and that is what we got. The room was spacious and clean, definitely not luxurious but with a balcony and view of the ocean, it met our needs for the week. Staff were friendly and accommodating (although the time-share and on-site activities sales people were overly aggressive and annoyingly present). Food, as most reviewers have said, was uninspired; however, for what we paid, we thought it was fine (perhaps less appealing than other '2-star' resorts we have been to, but we could usually find something to enjoy). The beer was cold (Sol and Indio), the drinks were plentiful and mixed well (ZERO brand-name liquors, though), and they were happy to fill our large insulated mugs. Overall, we had a great trip and would recommend the hotel for super-budget-minded travelers. Just don't expect luxury, and you will be pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Exchange rates were, surprisingly, MUCH better at the airport than in town. In previous trips, we have gotten close to the daily published rate right at the hotel, but this trip, the rate was nearly a peso lower at our hotel and in town. If you spend US Dollars, they only give you 10-to-1 conversion at most places, so it is definitely worth it to exchange money (at least as long as the rate is 12+ pesos to the dollar).

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, WA
Apr 8, 2011

Needs a better pool and updated pillows

This hotel was clean, spacious and well-priced. The service was above average and the food was edible. The all-inclusive drink/food service was good. The in-house travel agent was also above average when booking tours and exursions. The only down-sides we found were: the pillows were either hard or old and lumpy; the pool area could use some definite improvements and we were pestered by a "time shark" guy on a daily basis to the point of harrassment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Al PV lover
Business
Austin
Jan 6, 2010

Hotel OK but a bit noisy

The hotel is in a great location in the Romantic Zone right on the beach. We stayed on the second floor and found this to be too noisy. The rooms surround the pool area. During the day they play music which you can hear from your room. In addition, they have announcements and contests during the day which are louder than the music. It is ok if you are out and about most of the day. You might want to ask for a room on a higher floor. The rooms are clean but a bit outdated. They have two lamps in each room which provide very little light. We did not get the all-inclusive package so I cannot comment on their food. I think the hotel might be great for kids since there were usually children playing in the kiddie pool enjoying themselves. in addition, the hotel provided some activities/games in the pool area for kids which they seem to enjoy. For me, the best part of the hotel is the location. However, there are many other hotels in the same area which might be better. I'll have to go back to PV and check some of them out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
superior, colo
Mar 17, 2011

vacation

I was on conformation dmzdhm. Jan27th to Feb 2nd. I fell in myroom the second night, Jan 28th. My wife had to call the doctor and he shipped me to the cornorstone Hospital on Jan 30th. Then I had to fly back to the states to be Hospitized. My wife check out of the hotel, on Jan30th and had to stay with me. She ask them for a refund for 2-nights and theywouldnt credit her back. My son in the states, cancelled all the other weeks I was staying. The clean up pepole stoled a $100.00 out of my suitcase. at theHospital

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cdstgs
Business
Marshall, IL 62441, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Relaxing Getaway!!

For the price and the location we were very happy with this hotel. Breakfast lunch and drinks very good.We ate dinner out every evening. We would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many good places to eat in OLD Vallarta. If you go all inclusive you should try some of the restaurants.

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tlc4you
Business
Long Beach
Jun 28, 2012

Good Times

This is a good hotel to stay at if you are not planning on spending too much time sleeping. Air conditioning was very bad, but we managed okay. The food is great and staff are very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop at the Malecon for big savings.

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2 too travel
Business
Belen, NM
Feb 27, 2011

Ok location but lacks ammenities

We did not have the rooms we had paid for and had to wait 4 days to get into better ones. The staff is to be commended for working hard to make this happen. Rooms are nice, beds are hard, water is awful[*]. Restaurant does a good job but breakfast gets old after a few days. Good variety, taste and service. Bar needs to get more variety, no whisky or scotch drinks. The rooms do not have coffee pots or refridgerators and our friend needed to keep replentishing their ice for meds. Rooms are clean maid does a very good job and if you needed something it was taken care of fairly quickly. Good location in Old Town, very small and crowed beach, volley ball court should be taken out. We enjoyed our stay but until they update the bar and get more room amenities we will stay at other area hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Looking for a Chicken fried stake in PV, we were pleasantly surprised to find an excellent one at Nocho Daddy's on Padilla, ribeye was also very good, really good blues on Tuesday and Friday. Prices are very reasonable.

Back to menu Return to top