$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Hotel San Marino Plaza

2 stars
Rodolfo Gomez 111, Puerto Vallarta, 48300
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
76 reviews
Great Beach Front Location

Great Vaiue, the junior suites are worth the upgrade for a beautiful ocean front view. Many great... See full review

  • Mario PVR
  • Mar 27, 2014
Great Winter Break

The staff at the hotel was wonderful. Our bartenders were all fantastic and greeted you with a... See full review

  • Steve L the traveler
  • Feb 24, 2014
Puerto Vallarta hotel with kids' and seniors' programs, water sports
Hotel San Marino Plaza attracts leisure travelers who seek direct access to Playa Los Muertos and El Malecon, the boardwalk and center of beach life in Puerto Vallarta. Tropical rooms show off their best asset: balconies with views of the town and surrounding Sierra Madre Mountains. El Galeon, a buffet set up in a covered patio, offers a break from beach or pool time. Kid- and senior-focused programs also keep visitors entertained.
Highlights
  • Casual beachfront hotel with Sierra Madre Mountains and cityscape views
  • Casual poolside dining at El Galeon
  • Kids and senior programs
  • Water sports such as kayaking and body boarding
Rooms
Sliding glass doors and roomy balconies with views of the cityscape and Sierra Madre Mountains shower Hotel San Marino Plaza rooms with natural light. Standard rooms, which can house up to four guests, show off yellow- and blue-hued tropical bedding, tile floors with inlay, TVs and wood work desks and mirrors. Junior suites boast a 42-inch LCD TV. Master suites are designed for extra comfort, ensuring quiet time with a balcony furnished with a table and chairs, a mini-refrigerator and a sofa bed.
Features
Hotel San Marino Plaza guests can set their own leisurely pace at Hotel San Marino Plaza thanks to an outdoor Jacuzzi, direct access to Playa Los Muertos and a sizable roster of planned activities. Choose from kayaking, dance lessons and kids' and seniors' programs.
Dining
El Galeon, the on-site buffet at Hotel San Marino Plaza, brings outdoor dining indoors in a covered patio setting. After a dip in the pool, guests stroll to the line for Mexican and international favorites.

At Main Cafe, diners take in views of the Pacific through large glass windows and an outdoor terrace.
Transportation
Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
Business
  • Fax, printer and copy services (fees apply)

Hotel San Marino Plaza Rooms

Standard Room
Mountain or town view, one king Size or two double beds, bathroom with shower only, color TV with cable, air conditioning, telephone, safe deposit box in room with extra charge.
Junior Suite Ocean Front
Ocean View. Two double beds, Balcony overlooking to the beach and beautiful bay, bathroom with shower only, color TV with cable, air conditioning, telephone and safe deposit box in room with extra charge.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel San Marino Plaza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.5987 -105.2378
Area served
Puerto Vallarta, MX
Nearby airports
The preferred airport for San Marino is Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco (PVR-Licenciado Gustavo Diaz Ordaz Intl.) - 8.7 km / 5.4 mi.
Area description
San Marino hotel is located in Puerto Vallarta's traditional zone, on Playa los Muertos, the most lively and traditional one, just 25 minutes from the International Airport. The property is a short walk from downtown and the promenade, near dozens of quaint restaurants, handcraft shops, discotheques and other spectacles. Area: Romantic Zone (Puerto Vallarta), Jalisco, Mexico The Rio Cuale divides downtown and the Romantic Zone, an area brimming with bars, restaurants, and shops. Isla Rio Cuale features a river walk and a small museum with pre-Columbian artifacts. Stretching for 16 blocks along the shore, the Malecón boardwalk is lined with bronze sculptures and palm trees. Boats depart from a nearby pier to Yelapa and Los Arcos, favored by divers and snorkelers.

Dining

Main Cafe Restaurant
Would you like top enjoy one of the best Vallarta's restaurant with peaceful atmosphere, pampering yourself at dawn at sea side, contemplating the beautiful sunset on Los Muertos Beach or just delight your eyes looking at the moon reflected on the ocean; this is the place, additionally enjoy the exquisite fine Mexican cuisine and international cuisine.
Bar La Explanda
If you wish to relax after a good massage or just enjoy the day beside the pool, Bar la Explanada has for you all kinds of drinks for your comfort. National and International wines as well.
El Galeon Restaurant Bar
Linger over a leisurely breakfast, pop in for a quick lunch with the kids, or plan a romantic dinner. El Galeon satisfies at every meal with its fresh and inventive menu of Mexican and international favorites. The spacious dining room overlooks the beach where you can breathe the fresh sea breeze. With contemporary style and a tropical touch with their ceiling fans at the bottom of the relaxing pool, enhance your dining experience.
  • Cuisine: Mexican
  • Atmosphere: Contemponary Dining
  • Setting: Indoor
  • Serving Style: Buffet
  • Dress Code: Casual
  • Catering: Domestics Drinks
  • Smoking Permitted: NO
  • Hours: Breakfast From 8:00 to 11:00 AM - Lunch From 12:30 to 4:00 PM - Dine From 6:30 to 9:30 PM

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Marino Plaza

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2 too travel
Belen, NM
Feb 27, 2011

Ok location but lacks ammenities

We did not have the rooms we had paid for and had to wait 4 days to get into better ones. The staff is to be commended for working hard to make this happen. Rooms are nice, beds are hard, water is awful[*]. Restaurant does a good job but breakfast gets old after a few days. Good variety, taste and service. Bar needs to get more variety, no whisky or scotch drinks. The rooms do not have coffee pots or refridgerators and our friend needed to keep replentishing their ice for meds. Rooms are clean maid does a very good job and if you needed something it was taken care of fairly quickly. Good location in Old Town, very small and crowed beach, volley ball court should be taken out. We enjoyed our stay but until they update the bar and get more room amenities we will stay at other area hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Looking for a Chicken fried stake in PV, we were pleasantly surprised to find an excellent one at Nocho Daddy's on Padilla, ribeye was also very good, really good blues on Tuesday and Friday. Prices are very reasonable.

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aaaaaaaaa
South Dakota
Mar 7, 2014

11 days were enjoyable

I had one of the 8th floor room without a balcony, The room was large and clean. Staff were friendly. No real complaints. They could use chair and table on the outside as there was room for one. alos the beach is small and used by the locals, but the interior pool area was nice. Would i stay there again ..yes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
VICTORIA B.C.
Feb 14, 2011

UNBEATABLE LOCATION FOR THE PRICE

MOSTLEY STAYED IN HOTEL GROUNDS AND BEACH IN FRONT OF HOTEL.FOOD WAS REASONABLE GOOD.STAFF VERY ACCOMADATING AND FRIENDLY.WHEEL CHAIR ACCESABILTY WAS NOT GOOD HAD TO CLIMBE MANY STAIRS TO GET TOO AND FROM RESTERAUNT. THE ONLY REAL COMLIAINT WAS A LOT OF NOISE FROM A JACK HAMMER DISMANTEING THE PEAR IF FRONT OF HOTEL,LOUD,LOUD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arcata
Dec 27, 2008

Nice for the price

my girlfriend an i stayed at the San Marion for a week. our overall stay was good, but as most places do, there were some drawbacks. the good: the hotel was only a 10 minutes walk from all the big clubs and shopping (the boardwalk). there was tons of restaurants within blocks. the hotel felt safe because there were security guards at both entrances at all times. the employees were friendly, and the place was clean. the bad: the food was terrible. we usually would eat a late breakfast, skip lunch, and go out to dinner. the bar didn't open until 11 am and closed at 10 pm. the beach was overcrowded directly in front of the hotel. you could walk 30 yards either direction and have a less crowded beach, but then you were no longer at the convenience of the hotel. after our stay we are kind of 50/50 on if we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jharr
utah
Jan 30, 2014

good fun

Like the location, doesn't get any better. will likely go back soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rededzell
Canada
Nov 25, 2009

San Marino

Location is great. Rooms are old but very clean, good bed. We were in room 802 - great view facing the ocean. Air conditioner is noisy. Staff is great and very friendly. All inclusive food is not great but lots of restaurants around to choose from. Great pizza just down the street from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve L the traveler
Chicago
Feb 24, 2014

Great Winter Break

The staff at the hotel was wonderful. Our bartenders were all fantastic and greeted you with a smile. The concierge service in the lobby set us up with 3 great events tat I would do again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Rhythm's Of The Night

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
north idaho
Oct 15, 2010

the price was right

Closest we've ever stayed on the ocean. Really liked the location compared to walking distance to downtown. I watched a turtle lay eggs on the beach right in front of my room. Upgraded to jr suite two days after arriving. I don't recomend standard room unless you like hard beds. Jr suite is much more americanized. Food was standard but something for everyone. [...] our waitier was a blast to have every day. Wasn't into doing too many activities on this trip but there was plenty of things to choose!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

So many great places to eat within walking distance. We ate at bubba gumps for a greazt price.

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 3, 2011

Great location and CLEAN!

This was our fourth trip to PV, but our first time at San Marino. We had the Junior Suite Ocean View room only. (Did not do the all-inclusive as we love the food at the nearby restaurants.) We were very pleasantly surprised by the beautiful room and the other areas of the hotel, too. The room, unlike those in another hotel nearby which I will not name, was not at all musty smelling! (What a pleasant surprise that was!) The staff were very accomodating, too. Incredible view right on Los Muertos beach! You can see the cruise ships come and go. It doesn't get any better than this. And very close to the best restaurants in the area (Daquiri Dicks, La Pizzaria, Andale, Cuates y Cuetes, etc.) and also very convenient to access the Malecon. We don't rent a car in Mexico and this is the ideal location to be close to everything. Also, the buses are nearby that go to the Botanical Gardens (a must see and good place to go for lunch. The bus ride alone is well worth it as you go way up into the mountains and also through the ritzy area of Conchas Chinas just south of PV and past Mismaloya.) This is where we will be staying from now on! The staff was prompt in making up our room each day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It is well worth the bus trip to the Botanical Gardens south of Puerto Vallarta. It is a great place to have lunch. I saw two parrots fly by as I was waiting for my meal. The drive up into the mountains is very beautiful and fun! (There is nothing quite like a Mexican bus ride!)

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lexington, VA
Dec 18, 2009

Great atmosphere, location & food...

I had a great stay: friendly & very helpful staff, good food and excellent location...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top