$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Hotel San Marino Plaza

2 stars
View map of Rodolfo Gomez 111, Puerto Vallarta, 48300

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Marino Plaza

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alameda, CA
Jan 3, 2011

Great location for the price

We chose this hotel so that we would be close to the pier at Playa De Los Muertos where we were to catch the water taxi to Yelapa after our overnight stay in Puerto Vallarta. The location was perfect. The pier was literally right next door and the hotel was right on the beach. The kids loved the pool and loved the beach. We were very happy with this hotel and it was a great deal for the price. I really liked the neighborhood as well. There were many great restaurants within walking distance. We could dine at either high end restaurants or cheap and cheerful taco shops. We chose the later with the kids and had a great meal at a great price and the waiter was great with the kids. I just wish that I could remember the name of the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great places to eat within blocks of this Hotel.

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 3, 2011

Great location and CLEAN!

This was our fourth trip to PV, but our first time at San Marino. We had the Junior Suite Ocean View room only. (Did not do the all-inclusive as we love the food at the nearby restaurants.) We were very pleasantly surprised by the beautiful room and the other areas of the hotel, too. The room, unlike those in another hotel nearby which I will not name, was not at all musty smelling! (What a pleasant surprise that was!) The staff were very accomodating, too. Incredible view right on Los Muertos beach! You can see the cruise ships come and go. It doesn't get any better than this. And very close to the best restaurants in the area (Daquiri Dicks, La Pizzaria, Andale, Cuates y Cuetes, etc.) and also very convenient to access the Malecon. We don't rent a car in Mexico and this is the ideal location to be close to everything. Also, the buses are nearby that go to the Botanical Gardens (a must see and good place to go for lunch. The bus ride alone is well worth it as you go way up into the mountains and also through the ritzy area of Conchas Chinas just south of PV and past Mismaloya.) This is where we will be staying from now on! The staff was prompt in making up our room each day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It is well worth the bus trip to the Botanical Gardens south of Puerto Vallarta. It is a great place to have lunch. I saw two parrots fly by as I was waiting for my meal. The drive up into the mountains is very beautiful and fun! (There is nothing quite like a Mexican bus ride!)

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver
Mar 4, 2010

Good location

Hotel staff are frinedly and we had a good time. Little bit noisey.....however here is Mexico 24 hours party time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice location, walking distance for everything, beach,shopping,dinning.

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, VA
Dec 18, 2009

Great atmosphere, location & food...

I had a great stay: friendly & very helpful staff, good food and excellent location...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
north idaho
Oct 15, 2010

the price was right

Closest we've ever stayed on the ocean. Really liked the location compared to walking distance to downtown. I watched a turtle lay eggs on the beach right in front of my room. Upgraded to jr suite two days after arriving. I don't recomend standard room unless you like hard beds. Jr suite is much more americanized. Food was standard but something for everyone. [...] our waitier was a blast to have every day. Wasn't into doing too many activities on this trip but there was plenty of things to choose!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

So many great places to eat within walking distance. We ate at bubba gumps for a greazt price.

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
orange county
Nov 2, 2009

great view

If you stay here get the ocean view! its the best view ever! Big room with big screen TV Kind of far from the Airport but when your there you can walk to everything low lighting in the room needs a lamp! the breakfast buffet sucks! walk around town you will find better food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the beach! the town!

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arcata
Dec 27, 2008

Nice for the price

my girlfriend an i stayed at the San Marion for a week. our overall stay was good, but as most places do, there were some drawbacks. the good: the hotel was only a 10 minutes walk from all the big clubs and shopping (the boardwalk). there was tons of restaurants within blocks. the hotel felt safe because there were security guards at both entrances at all times. the employees were friendly, and the place was clean. the bad: the food was terrible. we usually would eat a late breakfast, skip lunch, and go out to dinner. the bar didn't open until 11 am and closed at 10 pm. the beach was overcrowded directly in front of the hotel. you could walk 30 yards either direction and have a less crowded beach, but then you were no longer at the convenience of the hotel. after our stay we are kind of 50/50 on if we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rededzell
Business
Canada
Nov 25, 2009

San Marino

Location is great. Rooms are old but very clean, good bed. We were in room 802 - great view facing the ocean. Air conditioner is noisy. Staff is great and very friendly. All inclusive food is not great but lots of restaurants around to choose from. Great pizza just down the street from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BC Canada
Business
N/A
Feb 11, 2015

Awesome time

The best thing right on the beach and in the heart of old town PV Staff was excellent, great drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drh 1949
Business
N/A
Feb 25, 2015

great lopcation

Food was good sevice good great bar drinks.Would recopmend for 7to10 day vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top