$65 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Hotel San Marino Plaza

2 stars
View map of Rodolfo Gomez 111, Puerto Vallarta, 48300

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Marino Plaza

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Arcata
Dec 27, 2008

Nice for the price

my girlfriend an i stayed at the San Marion for a week. our overall stay was good, but as most places do, there were some drawbacks. the good: the hotel was only a 10 minutes walk from all the big clubs and shopping (the boardwalk). there was tons of restaurants within blocks. the hotel felt safe because there were security guards at both entrances at all times. the employees were friendly, and the place was clean. the bad: the food was terrible. we usually would eat a late breakfast, skip lunch, and go out to dinner. the bar didn't open until 11 am and closed at 10 pm. the beach was overcrowded directly in front of the hotel. you could walk 30 yards either direction and have a less crowded beach, but then you were no longer at the convenience of the hotel. after our stay we are kind of 50/50 on if we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rededzell
Couples
Canada
Nov 25, 2009

San Marino

Location is great. Rooms are old but very clean, good bed. We were in room 802 - great view facing the ocean. Air conditioner is noisy. Staff is great and very friendly. All inclusive food is not great but lots of restaurants around to choose from. Great pizza just down the street from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BC Canada
Friends
N/A
Feb 11, 2015

Awesome time

The best thing right on the beach and in the heart of old town PV Staff was excellent, great drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roberto Rodriguez
Family
San Jose, California
Oct 4, 2012

Great option for your budget...

I stayed last week at san marino, and i recognize that it was better than expected, first of all the price was a deal. Location is great: walking distance from the boardwalk and downtown. The food and drinks are good, and all the staff is very nice and always give you a smile. I deffinetly will return to san marino next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Portland, OR
Mar 25, 2010

The Best Location

An excellent experience and the best of all the friendly staff in this beautiful Hotel. Puerto Vallarta is a Romantic town and this hotel has the best location, over the most famous beach in PV: Los Muertos. I had a romantic ocean view dinner with a beautiful sunset on the hotel esplanade area.We did kayaking, as part of the activities that the hotel offers, it was just great. I will come back soon to this hotel, where I lived the best vacation ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The relaxing pool

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, BC
Mar 19, 2008

Great location...

Ocean fron suite on 7th floor. Beautiful sunsets and sound of pounding waves. Food was basically good home cooking buffet style. Flexible eating times. Ate out several time at adjacent beach front restaraunts - execellent food - great wine - less than $90 bucks a couple. Accompaniend by great music. The hotel is in a great loaction with a pier and lots of action/activities avaiable on the beach in front of the hotel. Beach vendors were very friendly usually negotiated 30-50% discounts. Old Vallarta away from the beach has retail stores with excellent prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
LA, CA
Apr 23, 2011

Great location, great experience!

Let's be honest, San Marino is not a place for people looking for luxury. You can find very inexpensive rates and definately worth every penny you paid for. Location is brilliant. The staff is very friendly and the service is great and personal, makes you feel like in home away from home. They have renovated a lot since last time we went. 42" LCD tvs in the Jr. Suites, new bathrooms and WIFI in the restaurant area. I stayed in EP without meals since there are many great options to eat within walking distance. Try Café de Olla and the Blue Shrimp, are just amazing. We will definately come back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Romantic Boy
Couples
Guadalajara, JAL
Mar 8, 2011

Location + Friendly Staff

At the beginning we hesitate on choosing San Marino as our best option, because we read a lot of bad comments for this hotel. But, definitely was a very nice surprise, if you want to try the real Puerto Vallarta town, this hotel has unbeatable location. The staff is very friendly, you feel welcome from check-in until check-out, the room is clean, and we took the breakfast at the restaurant with an ocean view, that works perfect for me. This is not a 5 stars resort, but you get more for the price you pay. Give a shoot and meet the beautiful sunsets on the old town in Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
William Rob.
Couples
San Jose California
Sep 2, 2014

Great time at San Marino PVR

I stayed 1 night at San Marino, i had a wonderful time. It´s located at the romantic zone, near the malecon, bars and night clubs. I definitely will return on my next vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

DO NOT rent a car! evertything is near San Marino. Has a great location :)

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christopher J.
Couples
Indianapolis
May 26, 2015

Fantastic Location

The San Marino is exactly what I look for in a vacation hotel. Clean spacious rooms with amazing views. It is centrally located to LGBT owned and operated businesses. Perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top