$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Hotel San Marino Plaza

2 stars
View map of Rodolfo Gomez 111, Puerto Vallarta, 48300

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Marino Plaza

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cdstgs
Business
Marshall, IL 62441, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Relaxing Getaway!!

For the price and the location we were very happy with this hotel. Breakfast lunch and drinks very good.We ate dinner out every evening. We would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many good places to eat in OLD Vallarta. If you go all inclusive you should try some of the restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tlc4you
Business
Long Beach
Jun 28, 2012

Good Times

This is a good hotel to stay at if you are not planning on spending too much time sleeping. Air conditioning was very bad, but we managed okay. The food is great and staff are very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop at the Malecon for big savings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OG118
Business
San Fernando valley
Mar 5, 2013

You get what you paid for.

No wi-fi in rooms have to go down to the pool but bad connection. Good location It is what it is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2 too travel
Business
Belen, NM
Feb 27, 2011

Ok location but lacks ammenities

We did not have the rooms we had paid for and had to wait 4 days to get into better ones. The staff is to be commended for working hard to make this happen. Rooms are nice, beds are hard, water is awful[*]. Restaurant does a good job but breakfast gets old after a few days. Good variety, taste and service. Bar needs to get more variety, no whisky or scotch drinks. The rooms do not have coffee pots or refridgerators and our friend needed to keep replentishing their ice for meds. Rooms are clean maid does a very good job and if you needed something it was taken care of fairly quickly. Good location in Old Town, very small and crowed beach, volley ball court should be taken out. We enjoyed our stay but until they update the bar and get more room amenities we will stay at other area hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Looking for a Chicken fried stake in PV, we were pleasantly surprised to find an excellent one at Nocho Daddy's on Padilla, ribeye was also very good, really good blues on Tuesday and Friday. Prices are very reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brookline, MA
Mar 13, 2010

San Marion OK but need sserious updating

The hotel is in a great location. But it looks like nothing has been updated since it opened(in the 40's or 50') from the looks of. The decore was very dated. The beds and pillows somewhat FIRM! But the location was excellant and the staff were friendly. All in all I would stay here again, but only if the Hotel Mercurio was full. We did not eat in the restaurant (which looked very nice) so I can't comment on the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I've eaten in the restaurant next door, Cafe Bohemo, and would recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Princess Kristen
Business
St. Louis, MO
Apr 4, 2011

My San Marino Experience

First of all, we checked in extremely late because of a flight delay. Once we arrived we we given a room that smelled like the exterminator had just left. There was about a 13 inch Daiwoo TV hanging crooked on the wall and all thatseperated the small bathroom from the bedroom was a frosted shower door. We went to the front desk to ask for a different room. They were happy to accomidate for an extra $30-$50 a night. It was worth the $30 that we paid to be on the 3rd floor. Some of our friends upgraded only a few hours later(technically the next day for some) to the 5th floor that was $50 when we looked at it, but they got it for $30. Hmmm....Our suite was much nicer than the first room they had given us- no bug spray smell, a nice 40 inch flat screen TV that wasn't crooked and an actual door on the bathroom! Thebed was extremely hard and the pillows weren't the best either. Beautiful scenery from the balcony that overlooked the 18 and over pool, which one family had their 2 year old there for several hours one morning. Guess they couldn't read English or Spanish since the rules were clearly posted as you walked into the pool area. The beach area was nice. Some of the vendors were very nice. Some were nice until you didn't want to purchase their wares then they became rude. I wanted to toss one guys neclkaces into the ocean but wasn't sure if I would have been sent to a Mexican prison! The food at the hotel was ok. Breakfast was safe. The omlettes were decent. Lunch was ok. We looked at the dinner buffet several times during the week but NEVER ate there. There were quite a few unrecognizable items to choose from. Luckily the hotel was within walking distance to some pretty good resturants.Don Guacamole was excellent! Cafe Bohemia was a good sandwich place to visit when the owners are there for the season. The Blue Shrimp was amazing! PiPi's was great! Palermo Gonzalez up the mountain. Beautiful susnet and a ribeye steak to die for! Puerto Vallerta was a beautiful place to visit! Shopping was fun. Most every where we went was very clean. Great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There were 10 of us so we made friends with a cab driver that had a very nice van. He drove us to PiPi's and to Palermo Gonzalez. The van was clean and he was very nice. Blared American rock for us! Fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis MN
Apr 17, 2011

"Enjoyed the stay"

We stayed for 8 days in the ocean front junior suite,the hotel staff are very friendly and responded quickly to any requests. Our room was clean, beds are nothing like home but tolerable. Breakfasts were very good and the other meals needed some adjusting but we were satisfied overall. I was under the impression they had organized kids activities but that did not happen. My five year old loved the shallow pool since she could be a little more independent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Jan 9, 2010

The Good , the bad and the really ugly

This hotel is located in a great place, but the food needs to be adjusted somewhat. [*] Everyone would like it to be a bit more Americanized. Breakfast always great, Lunch lots of hamburgers(the meat doesn't taste the same, supper very plain and needs more adjustments....like real great italian food for a change. Fried chicken maybe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location, very busy in front of the hotel if you stay on the beach. Most chairs on the grounds of the hotel get taken quickly. Get your chair right after breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VICTORIA B.C.
Feb 14, 2011

UNBEATABLE LOCATION FOR THE PRICE

MOSTLEY STAYED IN HOTEL GROUNDS AND BEACH IN FRONT OF HOTEL.FOOD WAS REASONABLE GOOD.STAFF VERY ACCOMADATING AND FRIENDLY.WHEEL CHAIR ACCESABILTY WAS NOT GOOD HAD TO CLIMBE MANY STAIRS TO GET TOO AND FROM RESTERAUNT. THE ONLY REAL COMLIAINT WAS A LOT OF NOISE FROM A JACK HAMMER DISMANTEING THE PEAR IF FRONT OF HOTEL,LOUD,LOUD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Westlake Suz
Business
Los Angeles area
Nov 27, 2014

It's okay...

No extras, for sure, but good location. And good old fashion family fun-time around the swimming pool, etc., and definitely a good price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top