$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

Hotel San Marino Plaza

2 stars
Rodolfo Gomez 111, Puerto Vallarta, 48300
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
49 reviews
Great time at San Marino PVR

I stayed 1 night at San Marino, i had a wonderful time. It´s located at the romantic zone, near the... See full review

  • William Rob.
  • Sep 2, 2014
Great Beach Front Location

Great Vaiue, the junior suites are worth the upgrade for a beautiful ocean front view. Many great... See full review

  • Mario PVR
  • Mar 27, 2014
Puerto Vallarta hotel with kids' and seniors' programs, water sports
Hotel San Marino Plaza attracts leisure travelers who seek direct access to Playa Los Muertos and El Malecon, the boardwalk and center of beach life in Puerto Vallarta. Tropical rooms show off their best asset: balconies with views of the town and surrounding Sierra Madre Mountains. El Galeon, a buffet set up in a covered patio, offers a break from beach or pool time. Kid- and senior-focused programs also keep visitors entertained.
Highlights
  • Casual beachfront hotel with Sierra Madre Mountains and cityscape views
  • Casual poolside dining at El Galeon
  • Kids and senior programs
  • Water sports such as kayaking and body boarding
Rooms
Sliding glass doors and roomy balconies with views of the cityscape and Sierra Madre Mountains shower Hotel San Marino Plaza rooms with natural light. Standard rooms, which can house up to four guests, show off yellow- and blue-hued tropical bedding, tile floors with inlay, TVs and wood work desks and mirrors. Junior suites boast a 42-inch LCD TV. Master suites are designed for extra comfort, ensuring quiet time with a balcony furnished with a table and chairs, a mini-refrigerator and a sofa bed.
Features
Hotel San Marino Plaza guests can set their own leisurely pace at Hotel San Marino Plaza thanks to an outdoor Jacuzzi, direct access to Playa Los Muertos and a sizable roster of planned activities. Choose from kayaking, dance lessons and kids' and seniors' programs.
Dining
El Galeon, the on-site buffet at Hotel San Marino Plaza, brings outdoor dining indoors in a covered patio setting. After a dip in the pool, guests stroll to the line for Mexican and international favorites.

At Main Cafe, diners take in views of the Pacific through large glass windows and an outdoor terrace.
Transportation
Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
Business
  • Fax, printer and copy services (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel San Marino Plaza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel San Marino Plaza Rooms

Standard Room
Mountain or town view, one king Size or two double beds, bathroom with shower only, color TV with cable, air conditioning, telephone, safe deposit box in room with extra charge.
Junior Suite Ocean Front
Ocean View. Two double beds, Balcony overlooking to the beach and beautiful bay, bathroom with shower only, color TV with cable, air conditioning, telephone and safe deposit box in room with extra charge.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities

Dining

Main Cafe Restaurant
Would you like top enjoy one of the best Vallarta's restaurant with peaceful atmosphere, pampering yourself at dawn at sea side, contemplating the beautiful sunset on Los Muertos Beach or just delight your eyes looking at the moon reflected on the ocean; this is the place, additionally enjoy the exquisite fine Mexican cuisine and international cuisine.
Bar La Explanda
If you wish to relax after a good massage or just enjoy the day beside the pool, Bar la Explanada has for you all kinds of drinks for your comfort. National and International wines as well.
El Galeon Restaurant Bar
Linger over a leisurely breakfast, pop in for a quick lunch with the kids, or plan a romantic dinner. El Galeon satisfies at every meal with its fresh and inventive menu of Mexican and international favorites. The spacious dining room overlooks the beach where you can breathe the fresh sea breeze. With contemporary style and a tropical touch with their ceiling fans at the bottom of the relaxing pool, enhance your dining experience.
  • Cuisine: Mexican
  • Atmosphere: Contemponary Dining
  • Setting: Indoor
  • Serving Style: Buffet
  • Dress Code: Casual
  • Catering: Domestics Drinks
  • Smoking Permitted: NO
  • Hours: Breakfast From 8:00 to 11:00 AM - Lunch From 12:30 to 4:00 PM - Dine From 6:30 to 9:30 PM

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Marino Plaza

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aaaaaaaaa
Business
South Dakota
Mar 7, 2014

11 days were enjoyable

I had one of the 8th floor room without a balcony, The room was large and clean. Staff were friendly. No real complaints. They could use chair and table on the outside as there was room for one. alos the beach is small and used by the locals, but the interior pool area was nice. Would i stay there again ..yes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2 too travel
Business
Belen, NM
Feb 27, 2011

Ok location but lacks ammenities

We did not have the rooms we had paid for and had to wait 4 days to get into better ones. The staff is to be commended for working hard to make this happen. Rooms are nice, beds are hard, water is awful[*]. Restaurant does a good job but breakfast gets old after a few days. Good variety, taste and service. Bar needs to get more variety, no whisky or scotch drinks. The rooms do not have coffee pots or refridgerators and our friend needed to keep replentishing their ice for meds. Rooms are clean maid does a very good job and if you needed something it was taken care of fairly quickly. Good location in Old Town, very small and crowed beach, volley ball court should be taken out. We enjoyed our stay but until they update the bar and get more room amenities we will stay at other area hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Looking for a Chicken fried stake in PV, we were pleasantly surprised to find an excellent one at Nocho Daddy's on Padilla, ribeye was also very good, really good blues on Tuesday and Friday. Prices are very reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brookline, MA
Mar 13, 2010

San Marion OK but need sserious updating

The hotel is in a great location. But it looks like nothing has been updated since it opened(in the 40's or 50') from the looks of. The decore was very dated. The beds and pillows somewhat FIRM! But the location was excellant and the staff were friendly. All in all I would stay here again, but only if the Hotel Mercurio was full. We did not eat in the restaurant (which looked very nice) so I can't comment on the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I've eaten in the restaurant next door, Cafe Bohemo, and would recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Princess Kristen
Business
St. Louis, MO
Apr 4, 2011

My San Marino Experience

First of all, we checked in extremely late because of a flight delay. Once we arrived we we given a room that smelled like the exterminator had just left. There was about a 13 inch Daiwoo TV hanging crooked on the wall and all thatseperated the small bathroom from the bedroom was a frosted shower door. We went to the front desk to ask for a different room. They were happy to accomidate for an extra $30-$50 a night. It was worth the $30 that we paid to be on the 3rd floor. Some of our friends upgraded only a few hours later(technically the next day for some) to the 5th floor that was $50 when we looked at it, but they got it for $30. Hmmm....Our suite was much nicer than the first room they had given us- no bug spray smell, a nice 40 inch flat screen TV that wasn't crooked and an actual door on the bathroom! Thebed was extremely hard and the pillows weren't the best either. Beautiful scenery from the balcony that overlooked the 18 and over pool, which one family had their 2 year old there for several hours one morning. Guess they couldn't read English or Spanish since the rules were clearly posted as you walked into the pool area. The beach area was nice. Some of the vendors were very nice. Some were nice until you didn't want to purchase their wares then they became rude. I wanted to toss one guys neclkaces into the ocean but wasn't sure if I would have been sent to a Mexican prison! The food at the hotel was ok. Breakfast was safe. The omlettes were decent. Lunch was ok. We looked at the dinner buffet several times during the week but NEVER ate there. There were quite a few unrecognizable items to choose from. Luckily the hotel was within walking distance to some pretty good resturants.Don Guacamole was excellent! Cafe Bohemia was a good sandwich place to visit when the owners are there for the season. The Blue Shrimp was amazing! PiPi's was great! Palermo Gonzalez up the mountain. Beautiful susnet and a ribeye steak to die for! Puerto Vallerta was a beautiful place to visit! Shopping was fun. Most every where we went was very clean. Great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There were 10 of us so we made friends with a cab driver that had a very nice van. He drove us to PiPi's and to Palermo Gonzalez. The van was clean and he was very nice. Blared American rock for us! Fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis MN
Apr 17, 2011

"Enjoyed the stay"

We stayed for 8 days in the ocean front junior suite,the hotel staff are very friendly and responded quickly to any requests. Our room was clean, beds are nothing like home but tolerable. Breakfasts were very good and the other meals needed some adjusting but we were satisfied overall. I was under the impression they had organized kids activities but that did not happen. My five year old loved the shallow pool since she could be a little more independent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Jan 9, 2010

The Good , the bad and the really ugly

This hotel is located in a great place, but the food needs to be adjusted somewhat. [*] Everyone would like it to be a bit more Americanized. Breakfast always great, Lunch lots of hamburgers(the meat doesn't taste the same, supper very plain and needs more adjustments....like real great italian food for a change. Fried chicken maybe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location, very busy in front of the hotel if you stay on the beach. Most chairs on the grounds of the hotel get taken quickly. Get your chair right after breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VICTORIA B.C.
Feb 14, 2011

UNBEATABLE LOCATION FOR THE PRICE

MOSTLEY STAYED IN HOTEL GROUNDS AND BEACH IN FRONT OF HOTEL.FOOD WAS REASONABLE GOOD.STAFF VERY ACCOMADATING AND FRIENDLY.WHEEL CHAIR ACCESABILTY WAS NOT GOOD HAD TO CLIMBE MANY STAIRS TO GET TOO AND FROM RESTERAUNT. THE ONLY REAL COMLIAINT WAS A LOT OF NOISE FROM A JACK HAMMER DISMANTEING THE PEAR IF FRONT OF HOTEL,LOUD,LOUD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Westlake Suz
Business
Los Angeles area
Nov 27, 2014

It's okay...

No extras, for sure, but good location. And good old fashion family fun-time around the swimming pool, etc., and definitely a good price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cat Daddy
Business
NC
May 4, 2009

Contempary Hotel

Friendly staff. Good location to walk with out taking cabs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HappyFeet52
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Great Location!

We love the location and come back year after year. The staff is very friendly (front desk and housekeeping). I like that they have a safe in the room (extra fee). No hairdryer or refrigerator in the room, but we don't care. We love the location and it is clean! Very close to many great restaurants and shopping and right on the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuates y Cuates (great happy hour) is right on the beach and La Piazzetta (best Itallian food ever!) is just down the block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top