$65 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 16, 2015 Check-out: Sep 17, 2015

Hotel San Marino Plaza

2 stars
View map of Rodolfo Gomez 111, Puerto Vallarta, 48300

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Marino Plaza

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Vancouver, WA
Apr 8, 2011

Needs a better pool and updated pillows

This hotel was clean, spacious and well-priced. The service was above average and the food was edible. The all-inclusive drink/food service was good. The in-house travel agent was also above average when booking tours and exursions. The only down-sides we found were: the pillows were either hard or old and lumpy; the pool area could use some definite improvements and we were pestered by a "time shark" guy on a daily basis to the point of harrassment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Got what I paid for
Friends
San Jose, CA
Nov 1, 2009

4 Stars in Mexico not the same as U.S.

I guess you get what you pay for. This hotel was rated 4 stars in Mexico and that is a lot different than 4 stars in a U.S. Hotel. It's very noisy. The walls are thin as well as the doors and even from the top floor it sounds as if all the children in the ground floor pool are just outside your door. They have remodled some of the rooms, however, I did not get one of those rooms. I upgraded to a junior suite, ocean view room. The view was great but the room was not. We compared the bathroom to that of a rest stop along the interstate highway. I did see a couple of the rooms my friends were staying in that were recently remodled and it was a tad bit better. Our general concensus was that we would not stay there again. The location in oldtown PV is great. It is within walking distance to most anything that you would like to do in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Al PV lover
Couples
Austin
Jan 6, 2010

Hotel OK but a bit noisy

The hotel is in a great location in the Romantic Zone right on the beach. We stayed on the second floor and found this to be too noisy. The rooms surround the pool area. During the day they play music which you can hear from your room. In addition, they have announcements and contests during the day which are louder than the music. It is ok if you are out and about most of the day. You might want to ask for a room on a higher floor. The rooms are clean but a bit outdated. They have two lamps in each room which provide very little light. We did not get the all-inclusive package so I cannot comment on their food. I think the hotel might be great for kids since there were usually children playing in the kiddie pool enjoying themselves. in addition, the hotel provided some activities/games in the pool area for kids which they seem to enjoy. For me, the best part of the hotel is the location. However, there are many other hotels in the same area which might be better. I'll have to go back to PV and check some of them out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
superior, colo
Mar 17, 2011

vacation

I was on conformation dmzdhm. Jan27th to Feb 2nd. I fell in myroom the second night, Jan 28th. My wife had to call the doctor and he shipped me to the cornorstone Hospital on Jan 30th. Then I had to fly back to the states to be Hospitized. My wife check out of the hotel, on Jan30th and had to stay with me. She ask them for a refund for 2-nights and theywouldnt credit her back. My son in the states, cancelled all the other weeks I was staying. The clean up pepole stoled a $100.00 out of my suitcase. at theHospital

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kiwiboy
Montreal
Jan 7, 2012

Good hotel

Clean and efficient! Good breakfast and lunch but eat out for dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andrew1966
Single
SF, CA
Jan 16, 2012

Good value for money

Hi We stayed 8 nights over Christmas and new year on an all inclusive deal (i.e. included food and booze). We had an oceanfront suite and the view was awesome. The room was nice and clean and spotless every day. I ate breakfast and lunch there. That was fine. We ventured out for dinner. The facilities are nice. Two things... It is by a busy beach and noisy They have terrible "doof-doof" music playing on the audio system at the upper pool all day - making it enjoyable. Otherwise, all good and VERY close to many bars, restaurants, massage, etc. I would go back. AW

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Andale - great bar.

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cdstgs
Couples
Marshall, IL 62441, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Relaxing Getaway!!

For the price and the location we were very happy with this hotel. Breakfast lunch and drinks very good.We ate dinner out every evening. We would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many good places to eat in OLD Vallarta. If you go all inclusive you should try some of the restaurants.

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tlc4you
Couples
Long Beach
Jun 28, 2012

Good Times

This is a good hotel to stay at if you are not planning on spending too much time sleeping. Air conditioning was very bad, but we managed okay. The food is great and staff are very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop at the Malecon for big savings.

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OG118
Single
San Fernando valley
Mar 5, 2013

You get what you paid for.

No wi-fi in rooms have to go down to the pool but bad connection. Good location It is what it is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2 too travel
Couples
Belen, NM
Feb 27, 2011

Ok location but lacks ammenities

We did not have the rooms we had paid for and had to wait 4 days to get into better ones. The staff is to be commended for working hard to make this happen. Rooms are nice, beds are hard, water is awful[*]. Restaurant does a good job but breakfast gets old after a few days. Good variety, taste and service. Bar needs to get more variety, no whisky or scotch drinks. The rooms do not have coffee pots or refridgerators and our friend needed to keep replentishing their ice for meds. Rooms are clean maid does a very good job and if you needed something it was taken care of fairly quickly. Good location in Old Town, very small and crowed beach, volley ball court should be taken out. We enjoyed our stay but until they update the bar and get more room amenities we will stay at other area hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Looking for a Chicken fried stake in PV, we were pleasantly surprised to find an excellent one at Nocho Daddy's on Padilla, ribeye was also very good, really good blues on Tuesday and Friday. Prices are very reasonable.

Back to menu Return to top