$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Hotel San Marino Plaza

2 stars
View map of Rodolfo Gomez 111, Puerto Vallarta, 48300

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
50 reviews
Fantastic Location

The San Marino is exactly what I look for in a vacation hotel. Clean spacious rooms with amazing... See full review

  • Christopher J.
  • May 26, 2015
Great time at San Marino PVR

I stayed 1 night at San Marino, i had a wonderful time. It´s located at the romantic zone, near the... See full review

  • William Rob.
  • Sep 2, 2014
Hotel San Marino Plaza attracts leisure travelers who seek direct access to Playa Los Muertos and El Malecon, the boardwalk and center of beach life in Puerto Vallarta. Tropical rooms show off their best asset: balconies with views of the town and surrounding Sierra Madre Mountains. El Galeon, a buffet set up in a covered patio, offers a break from beach or pool time. Kid- and senior-focused programs also keep visitors entertained.
Dining
El Galeon, the on-site buffet at Hotel San Marino Plaza, brings outdoor dining indoors in a covered patio setting. After a dip in the pool, guests stroll to the line for Mexican and international favorites.

At Main Cafe, diners take in views of the Pacific through large glass windows and an outdoor terrace.
Rooms
Sliding glass doors and roomy balconies with views of the cityscape and Sierra Madre Mountains shower Hotel San Marino Plaza rooms with natural light. Standard rooms, which can house up to four guests, show off yellow- and blue-hued tropical bedding, tile floors with inlay, TVs and wood work desks and mirrors. Junior suites boast a 42-inch LCD TV. Master suites are designed for extra comfort, ensuring quiet time with a balcony furnished with a table and chairs, a mini-refrigerator and a sofa bed.
Property features
Hotel San Marino Plaza guests can set their own leisurely pace at Hotel San Marino Plaza thanks to an outdoor Jacuzzi, direct access to Playa Los Muertos and a sizable roster of planned activities. Choose from kayaking, dance lessons and kids' and seniors' programs.
Highlights
  • Casual beachfront hotel with Sierra Madre Mountains and cityscape views
  • Casual poolside dining at El Galeon
  • Kids and senior programs
  • Water sports such as kayaking and body boarding
Nearby attractions
  • Malecon (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
Business
  • Fax, printer and copy services (fees apply)
Transportation
Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.7 mi/9.1 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel San Marino Plaza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel San Marino Plaza Rooms

Standard Room
Mountain or town view, one king Size or two double beds, bathroom with shower only, color TV with cable, air conditioning, telephone, safe deposit box in room with extra charge.
Junior Suite Ocean Front
Ocean View. Two double beds, Balcony overlooking to the beach and beautiful bay, bathroom with shower only, color TV with cable, air conditioning, telephone and safe deposit box in room with extra charge.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities

Dining

Bar La Explanda
If you wish to relax after a good massage or just enjoy the day beside the pool, Bar la Explanada has for you all kinds of drinks for your comfort. National and International wines as well.
El Galeon Restaurant Bar
Linger over a leisurely breakfast, pop in for a quick lunch with the kids, or plan a romantic dinner. El Galeon satisfies at every meal with its fresh and inventive menu of Mexican and international favorites. The spacious dining room overlooks the beach where you can breathe the fresh sea breeze. With contemporary style and a tropical touch with their ceiling fans at the bottom of the relaxing pool, enhance your dining experience.
  • Cuisine: Mexican
  • Atmosphere: Contemponary Dining
  • Setting: Indoor
  • Serving Style: Buffet
  • Dress Code: Casual
  • Catering: Domestics Drinks
  • Smoking Permitted: NO
  • Hours: Breakfast From 8:00 to 11:00 AM - Lunch From 12:30 to 4:00 PM - Dine From 6:30 to 9:30 PM
Main Cafe Restaurant
Would you like top enjoy one of the best Vallarta's restaurant with peaceful atmosphere, pampering yourself at dawn at sea side, contemplating the beautiful sunset on Los Muertos Beach or just delight your eyes looking at the moon reflected on the ocean; this is the place, additionally enjoy the exquisite fine Mexican cuisine and international cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Marino Plaza

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roberto Rodriguez
San Jose, California
Oct 4, 2012

Great option for your budget...

I stayed last week at san marino, and i recognize that it was better than expected, first of all the price was a deal. Location is great: walking distance from the boardwalk and downtown. The food and drinks are good, and all the staff is very nice and always give you a smile. I deffinetly will return to san marino next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Hollywood
Apr 5, 2011

Just Say No - Or you will regret it!

This property does not welcome LGBT guests, and in fact, are hostile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Malandrina Rebelde
Business
Lathrop, CA
Jan 2, 2010

Horrible

I constantly travel to mexico and this was the worst hotel I ever stayed in. The tv remote didn't work, they kept sending the same person to change the batteries over and over. The front desk was rude. The room was just tacky and uncomfortable. I can't forget the blankets, they stank horribly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Battle Ground, WA
Jun 9, 2010

You get what you pay for...

We were looking for a cheap, last minute vacation. After reading the reviews, this place didn't seem too bad. After all, we figured, we wouldn't be in the room too long. First turn-off when we got there was that the main pool was closed for some type of work. A second smaller pool was open, but it was in the shade most of the day. Next, there was no air-conditioning in our room - not even a ceiling fan. That might have been OK if the mattress hadn't been hard as a rock. My husband used to work in a prison, and he swears that prison beds are more comfortable. Finally, we couldn't believe the number of times that MJ was offered to us by vendors around the hotel. When we enquired, we were told it was because we were in the "Romantic Zone." Let's just say we weren't aware of that when we booked. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant after reading some of the other reviews, but there are lots of great restaurants in the area. Head down the Malecon to the "Cheeky Monkey" for $1 beer and margaritas! We loved Puerto Vallarta and will definitely return, but plan to stay elsewhere next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
richard m.
Business
N/A
Feb 23, 2015

not what we expected

The hotel looks great from the outside grounds and lobby. As we have been in PuertoVallarta before, we had checked out the hotel from the outside and it looks very nice. But when you get into the rooms they are very worn and not taken care of. The cleaning staff and hotel staff is very nice but the rooms need to be REALLY cleaned, not just mopped and wiped down. The drapes are so old and nasty I did not like touching them, the tile in the bathroom floor has black mold in it, the furniture is nicked and chipped. But the worst was the roaches. I have stayed in Puerto Vallarta six times and never had roaches in my room. Very disappointing stay. I don't understand how this hotel didn't have any reviews stating their problems. It was a good value, but you don't get what was anticipated, except for location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Denver Gay Couple
Business
Denver
Jan 2, 2014

Too many rules & kids

There were too many rules and did not feel welcome. Had to wear bracelet all the time and could not bring quest to your room even during the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jaime2maggie
Business
puerto vallarta, Arizona
Feb 27, 2014

san marino 02/26/2014

Its in an awesome location. A lot of action going around. The sunset and sunrise are priceless. Lots of hot spots around the hotel. nice cofee shops and restaraunts. With that said it is in the tourist part of town so the prices will be a little bit high. Recommendation for breakfast,lunch or dinner near by is TIZOCS. There is a spa in the hotel pretty good prices and services. If you get all inclusive with your hotel price the food and the drinks are decent. BUT the ROOMS.. OMG. Not too clean. way to small. and the mattress are horrible. no towels. no extra blankets. I just didnt have a good night rest :( . But you cant beat the LOCATION. FYI: If you are going to buy ANYTHING in PUERTO VALLARTA do not take the first PRICE. You can negotiate almost anything. KID FRIENDLY have fun. maggie

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

NEGOTIATE ANYTHING YOU ARE GOING TO BUY. ANY TOURS. For example zipline tour will try and selld for 60 bucks or 650 pecos. You can bring it down to 40-45 dollars or 450 pecos.

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mi me
Business
Virginia, USA
Jan 12, 2012

great location

Great location if you like being in the romantic zone and on the beach without being too far away from andale's however the hotel is rundown and needs to be updated. It was impossible to open the lock to my door on the first try and therefore really not fun when stumbling home from andale's. Thought I would give it a try and liked the fact security would not allow anyone from the outside in however I did not have a security box and therefore did not ask for my room to be cleaned often.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the stuff on a rock or molacahate from bacalao

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveler wanting to cook
Business
Colorado
Dec 18, 2010

No surprises

Having read the reviews, we pretty much knew what to expect, and that is what we got. The room was spacious and clean, definitely not luxurious but with a balcony and view of the ocean, it met our needs for the week. Staff were friendly and accommodating (although the time-share and on-site activities sales people were overly aggressive and annoyingly present). Food, as most reviewers have said, was uninspired; however, for what we paid, we thought it was fine (perhaps less appealing than other '2-star' resorts we have been to, but we could usually find something to enjoy). The beer was cold (Sol and Indio), the drinks were plentiful and mixed well (ZERO brand-name liquors, though), and they were happy to fill our large insulated mugs. Overall, we had a great trip and would recommend the hotel for super-budget-minded travelers. Just don't expect luxury, and you will be pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Exchange rates were, surprisingly, MUCH better at the airport than in town. In previous trips, we have gotten close to the daily published rate right at the hotel, but this trip, the rate was nearly a peso lower at our hotel and in town. If you spend US Dollars, they only give you 10-to-1 conversion at most places, so it is definitely worth it to exchange money (at least as long as the rate is 12+ pesos to the dollar).

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Diana Cubana
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 7, 2010

YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR....

As the review title says...you get what you pay for! Pros: Location (beach front), price, large room (308 & 309). Cons: Extremely hard mattress (rock hard!), loud thumping music from passing cars all night long (hard to get a good night sleep), shower that would flood the restroom, all inclusive meals were not worthwhile - only thing worth it was the breakfast omelet station. Drinks were just ok. Most hotels I've stayed in in the area are just the same. PV needs to put some attention to the hotels located on this side of town. All amenities are within walking distance and there is so much variety in eating options - high end, average, and taco stands. The hotel staff were willing to relocate us to other rooms; however, they were worse than our original rooms. We looked at three different rooms before moving from our original room and either we had a hard time getting the door open, a/c did not work in the rooms, or a/c made too loud of a rattling noise. We decided to put up with the thumping cars that came and went versus no a/c or rattling a/c all night long. One more thing to beware. If you purchase or get a free jungle tour make sure it's a "jungle tour"! We got duped and went on a ride through the hills that stopped at jewelry shops; gift shops; a wannabe botanical garden (someone's home); a not real good restaurant with limited, overpriced menu; a somewhat decent tequila tasting tour - overpriced tequila. The best part of the tour was a 10 minute stop at Chico's Paradise to take pictures. Amazingly beautiful! I can't believe the roaring rapids at this place. I further can't believe that the tour didn't take us to eat there - beautiful dining area overlooking the roaring river! (a one minute walk from where they did take us to eat) Wear insect repellent! I had at least 30 bites by the end of this! A true waste of a whole day when you expect to be in a true jungle!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pipis restaurant is good for an average to slightly high priced meal. Free guacamole and chicken quesadilla with all meals! Great margaritas! For more formal dining Cafe de Artiste is excellent! From both you can walk to the boardwalk to end the night or just get started!

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
6FlagsStay09
Business
san jose, ca
Nov 2, 2009

never again.

Dirty bathrooms, too loud, have to wear wrist bands at all times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top