$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Hotel San Marino Plaza

2 stars
Rodolfo Gomez 111, Puerto Vallarta, 48300
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
76 reviews
Great Beach Front Location

Great Vaiue, the junior suites are worth the upgrade for a beautiful ocean front view. Many great... See full review

  • Mario PVR
  • Mar 27, 2014
Great Winter Break

The staff at the hotel was wonderful. Our bartenders were all fantastic and greeted you with a... See full review

  • Steve L the traveler
  • Feb 24, 2014
Puerto Vallarta hotel with kids' and seniors' programs, water sports
Hotel San Marino Plaza attracts leisure travelers who seek direct access to Playa Los Muertos and El Malecon, the boardwalk and center of beach life in Puerto Vallarta. Tropical rooms show off their best asset: balconies with views of the town and surrounding Sierra Madre Mountains. El Galeon, a buffet set up in a covered patio, offers a break from beach or pool time. Kid- and senior-focused programs also keep visitors entertained.
Highlights
  • Casual beachfront hotel with Sierra Madre Mountains and cityscape views
  • Casual poolside dining at El Galeon
  • Kids and senior programs
  • Water sports such as kayaking and body boarding
Rooms
Sliding glass doors and roomy balconies with views of the cityscape and Sierra Madre Mountains shower Hotel San Marino Plaza rooms with natural light. Standard rooms, which can house up to four guests, show off yellow- and blue-hued tropical bedding, tile floors with inlay, TVs and wood work desks and mirrors. Junior suites boast a 42-inch LCD TV. Master suites are designed for extra comfort, ensuring quiet time with a balcony furnished with a table and chairs, a mini-refrigerator and a sofa bed.
Features
Hotel San Marino Plaza guests can set their own leisurely pace at Hotel San Marino Plaza thanks to an outdoor Jacuzzi, direct access to Playa Los Muertos and a sizable roster of planned activities. Choose from kayaking, dance lessons and kids' and seniors' programs.
Dining
El Galeon, the on-site buffet at Hotel San Marino Plaza, brings outdoor dining indoors in a covered patio setting. After a dip in the pool, guests stroll to the line for Mexican and international favorites.

At Main Cafe, diners take in views of the Pacific through large glass windows and an outdoor terrace.
Transportation
Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
Business
  • Fax, printer and copy services (fees apply)

Hotel San Marino Plaza Rooms

Standard Room
Mountain or town view, one king Size or two double beds, bathroom with shower only, color TV with cable, air conditioning, telephone, safe deposit box in room with extra charge.
Junior Suite Ocean Front
Ocean View. Two double beds, Balcony overlooking to the beach and beautiful bay, bathroom with shower only, color TV with cable, air conditioning, telephone and safe deposit box in room with extra charge.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel San Marino Plaza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.5987 -105.2378
Area served
Puerto Vallarta, MX
Nearby airports
The preferred airport for San Marino is Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco (PVR-Licenciado Gustavo Diaz Ordaz Intl.) - 8.7 km / 5.4 mi.
Area description
San Marino hotel is located in Puerto Vallarta's traditional zone, on Playa los Muertos, the most lively and traditional one, just 25 minutes from the International Airport. The property is a short walk from downtown and the promenade, near dozens of quaint restaurants, handcraft shops, discotheques and other spectacles. Area: Romantic Zone (Puerto Vallarta), Jalisco, Mexico The Rio Cuale divides downtown and the Romantic Zone, an area brimming with bars, restaurants, and shops. Isla Rio Cuale features a river walk and a small museum with pre-Columbian artifacts. Stretching for 16 blocks along the shore, the Malecón boardwalk is lined with bronze sculptures and palm trees. Boats depart from a nearby pier to Yelapa and Los Arcos, favored by divers and snorkelers.

Dining

Main Cafe Restaurant
Would you like top enjoy one of the best Vallarta's restaurant with peaceful atmosphere, pampering yourself at dawn at sea side, contemplating the beautiful sunset on Los Muertos Beach or just delight your eyes looking at the moon reflected on the ocean; this is the place, additionally enjoy the exquisite fine Mexican cuisine and international cuisine.
Bar La Explanda
If you wish to relax after a good massage or just enjoy the day beside the pool, Bar la Explanada has for you all kinds of drinks for your comfort. National and International wines as well.
El Galeon Restaurant Bar
Linger over a leisurely breakfast, pop in for a quick lunch with the kids, or plan a romantic dinner. El Galeon satisfies at every meal with its fresh and inventive menu of Mexican and international favorites. The spacious dining room overlooks the beach where you can breathe the fresh sea breeze. With contemporary style and a tropical touch with their ceiling fans at the bottom of the relaxing pool, enhance your dining experience.
  • Cuisine: Mexican
  • Atmosphere: Contemponary Dining
  • Setting: Indoor
  • Serving Style: Buffet
  • Dress Code: Casual
  • Catering: Domestics Drinks
  • Smoking Permitted: NO
  • Hours: Breakfast From 8:00 to 11:00 AM - Lunch From 12:30 to 4:00 PM - Dine From 6:30 to 9:30 PM

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Marino Plaza

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
LA, CA
Apr 23, 2011

Great location, great experience!

Let's be honest, San Marino is not a place for people looking for luxury. You can find very inexpensive rates and definately worth every penny you paid for. Location is brilliant. The staff is very friendly and the service is great and personal, makes you feel like in home away from home. They have renovated a lot since last time we went. 42" LCD tvs in the Jr. Suites, new bathrooms and WIFI in the restaurant area. I stayed in EP without meals since there are many great options to eat within walking distance. Try Café de Olla and the Blue Shrimp, are just amazing. We will definately come back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, BC
Mar 19, 2008

Great location...

Ocean fron suite on 7th floor. Beautiful sunsets and sound of pounding waves. Food was basically good home cooking buffet style. Flexible eating times. Ate out several time at adjacent beach front restaraunts - execellent food - great wine - less than $90 bucks a couple. Accompaniend by great music. The hotel is in a great loaction with a pier and lots of action/activities avaiable on the beach in front of the hotel. Beach vendors were very friendly usually negotiated 30-50% discounts. Old Vallarta away from the beach has retail stores with excellent prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Romantic Boy
Guadalajara, JAL
Mar 8, 2011

Location + Friendly Staff

At the beginning we hesitate on choosing San Marino as our best option, because we read a lot of bad comments for this hotel. But, definitely was a very nice surprise, if you want to try the real Puerto Vallarta town, this hotel has unbeatable location. The staff is very friendly, you feel welcome from check-in until check-out, the room is clean, and we took the breakfast at the restaurant with an ocean view, that works perfect for me. This is not a 5 stars resort, but you get more for the price you pay. Give a shoot and meet the beautiful sunsets on the old town in Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
LA, CA
Apr 23, 2011

Great location, great experience!

Let's be honest, San Marino is not a place for people looking for luxury. You can find very inexpensive rates and definately worth every penny you paid for. Location is brilliant. The staff is very friendly and the service is great and personal, makes you feel like in home away from home. They have renovated a lot since last time we went. 42" LCD tvs in the Jr. Suites, new bathrooms and WIFI in the restaurant area. I stayed in EP without meals since there are many great options to eat within walking distance. Try Café de Olla and the Blue Shrimp, are just amazing. We will definately come back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roberto Rodriguez
San Jose, California
Oct 4, 2012

Great option for your budget...

I stayed last week at san marino, and i recognize that it was better than expected, first of all the price was a deal. Location is great: walking distance from the boardwalk and downtown. The food and drinks are good, and all the staff is very nice and always give you a smile. I deffinetly will return to san marino next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Romantic Boy
Guadalajara, JAL
Mar 8, 2011

Location + Friendly Staff

At the beginning we hesitate on choosing San Marino as our best option, because we read a lot of bad comments for this hotel. But, definitely was a very nice surprise, if you want to try the real Puerto Vallarta town, this hotel has unbeatable location. The staff is very friendly, you feel welcome from check-in until check-out, the room is clean, and we took the breakfast at the restaurant with an ocean view, that works perfect for me. This is not a 5 stars resort, but you get more for the price you pay. Give a shoot and meet the beautiful sunsets on the old town in Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, BC
Mar 19, 2008

Great location...

Ocean fron suite on 7th floor. Beautiful sunsets and sound of pounding waves. Food was basically good home cooking buffet style. Flexible eating times. Ate out several time at adjacent beach front restaraunts - execellent food - great wine - less than $90 bucks a couple. Accompaniend by great music. The hotel is in a great loaction with a pier and lots of action/activities avaiable on the beach in front of the hotel. Beach vendors were very friendly usually negotiated 30-50% discounts. Old Vallarta away from the beach has retail stores with excellent prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Mar 25, 2010

The Best Location

An excellent experience and the best of all the friendly staff in this beautiful Hotel. Puerto Vallarta is a Romantic town and this hotel has the best location, over the most famous beach in PV: Los Muertos. I had a romantic ocean view dinner with a beautiful sunset on the hotel esplanade area.We did kayaking, as part of the activities that the hotel offers, it was just great. I will come back soon to this hotel, where I lived the best vacation ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The relaxing pool

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Mar 25, 2010

The Best Location

An excellent experience and the best of all the friendly staff in this beautiful Hotel. Puerto Vallarta is a Romantic town and this hotel has the best location, over the most famous beach in PV: Los Muertos. I had a romantic ocean view dinner with a beautiful sunset on the hotel esplanade area.We did kayaking, as part of the activities that the hotel offers, it was just great. I will come back soon to this hotel, where I lived the best vacation ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The relaxing pool

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arcata
Dec 27, 2008

Nice for the price

my girlfriend an i stayed at the San Marion for a week. our overall stay was good, but as most places do, there were some drawbacks. the good: the hotel was only a 10 minutes walk from all the big clubs and shopping (the boardwalk). there was tons of restaurants within blocks. the hotel felt safe because there were security guards at both entrances at all times. the employees were friendly, and the place was clean. the bad: the food was terrible. we usually would eat a late breakfast, skip lunch, and go out to dinner. the bar didn't open until 11 am and closed at 10 pm. the beach was overcrowded directly in front of the hotel. you could walk 30 yards either direction and have a less crowded beach, but then you were no longer at the convenience of the hotel. after our stay we are kind of 50/50 on if we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top