$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

Hotel San Marino Plaza

2 stars
Rodolfo Gomez 111, Puerto Vallarta, 48300
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
49 reviews
Great time at San Marino PVR

I stayed 1 night at San Marino, i had a wonderful time. It´s located at the romantic zone, near the... See full review

  • William Rob.
  • Sep 2, 2014
Great Beach Front Location

Great Vaiue, the junior suites are worth the upgrade for a beautiful ocean front view. Many great... See full review

  • Mario PVR
  • Mar 27, 2014
Puerto Vallarta hotel with kids' and seniors' programs, water sports
Hotel San Marino Plaza attracts leisure travelers who seek direct access to Playa Los Muertos and El Malecon, the boardwalk and center of beach life in Puerto Vallarta. Tropical rooms show off their best asset: balconies with views of the town and surrounding Sierra Madre Mountains. El Galeon, a buffet set up in a covered patio, offers a break from beach or pool time. Kid- and senior-focused programs also keep visitors entertained.
Highlights
  • Casual beachfront hotel with Sierra Madre Mountains and cityscape views
  • Casual poolside dining at El Galeon
  • Kids and senior programs
  • Water sports such as kayaking and body boarding
Rooms
Sliding glass doors and roomy balconies with views of the cityscape and Sierra Madre Mountains shower Hotel San Marino Plaza rooms with natural light. Standard rooms, which can house up to four guests, show off yellow- and blue-hued tropical bedding, tile floors with inlay, TVs and wood work desks and mirrors. Junior suites boast a 42-inch LCD TV. Master suites are designed for extra comfort, ensuring quiet time with a balcony furnished with a table and chairs, a mini-refrigerator and a sofa bed.
Features
Hotel San Marino Plaza guests can set their own leisurely pace at Hotel San Marino Plaza thanks to an outdoor Jacuzzi, direct access to Playa Los Muertos and a sizable roster of planned activities. Choose from kayaking, dance lessons and kids' and seniors' programs.
Dining
El Galeon, the on-site buffet at Hotel San Marino Plaza, brings outdoor dining indoors in a covered patio setting. After a dip in the pool, guests stroll to the line for Mexican and international favorites.

At Main Cafe, diners take in views of the Pacific through large glass windows and an outdoor terrace.
Transportation
Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
Business
  • Fax, printer and copy services (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel San Marino Plaza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel San Marino Plaza Rooms

Standard Room
Mountain or town view, one king Size or two double beds, bathroom with shower only, color TV with cable, air conditioning, telephone, safe deposit box in room with extra charge.
Junior Suite Ocean Front
Ocean View. Two double beds, Balcony overlooking to the beach and beautiful bay, bathroom with shower only, color TV with cable, air conditioning, telephone and safe deposit box in room with extra charge.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities

Dining

Main Cafe Restaurant
Would you like top enjoy one of the best Vallarta's restaurant with peaceful atmosphere, pampering yourself at dawn at sea side, contemplating the beautiful sunset on Los Muertos Beach or just delight your eyes looking at the moon reflected on the ocean; this is the place, additionally enjoy the exquisite fine Mexican cuisine and international cuisine.
Bar La Explanda
If you wish to relax after a good massage or just enjoy the day beside the pool, Bar la Explanada has for you all kinds of drinks for your comfort. National and International wines as well.
El Galeon Restaurant Bar
Linger over a leisurely breakfast, pop in for a quick lunch with the kids, or plan a romantic dinner. El Galeon satisfies at every meal with its fresh and inventive menu of Mexican and international favorites. The spacious dining room overlooks the beach where you can breathe the fresh sea breeze. With contemporary style and a tropical touch with their ceiling fans at the bottom of the relaxing pool, enhance your dining experience.
  • Cuisine: Mexican
  • Atmosphere: Contemponary Dining
  • Setting: Indoor
  • Serving Style: Buffet
  • Dress Code: Casual
  • Catering: Domestics Drinks
  • Smoking Permitted: NO
  • Hours: Breakfast From 8:00 to 11:00 AM - Lunch From 12:30 to 4:00 PM - Dine From 6:30 to 9:30 PM

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Marino Plaza

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 49
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
William Rob.
Business
San Jose California
Sep 2, 2014

Great time at San Marino PVR

I stayed 1 night at San Marino, i had a wonderful time. It´s located at the romantic zone, near the malecon, bars and night clubs. I definitely will return on my next vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

DO NOT rent a car! evertything is near San Marino. Has a great location :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tlc4you
Business
Long Beach
Jun 28, 2012

Good Times

This is a good hotel to stay at if you are not planning on spending too much time sleeping. Air conditioning was very bad, but we managed okay. The food is great and staff are very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop at the Malecon for big savings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cdstgs
Business
Marshall, IL 62441, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Relaxing Getaway!!

For the price and the location we were very happy with this hotel. Breakfast lunch and drinks very good.We ate dinner out every evening. We would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many good places to eat in OLD Vallarta. If you go all inclusive you should try some of the restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jean59
Business
Montréal, QC, Canada
Jan 4, 2012

location

The location is verry good,,food is mexicain 95%,room verry ordinary

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the centro 10 minute,bring money for dinning out ,me i will returd at this hotet but i will take nothing include, restaurant close of the hotel are verry good and not expencive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA, CA
Apr 23, 2011

Great location, great experience!

Let's be honest, San Marino is not a place for people looking for luxury. You can find very inexpensive rates and definately worth every penny you paid for. Location is brilliant. The staff is very friendly and the service is great and personal, makes you feel like in home away from home. They have renovated a lot since last time we went. 42" LCD tvs in the Jr. Suites, new bathrooms and WIFI in the restaurant area. I stayed in EP without meals since there are many great options to eat within walking distance. Try Café de Olla and the Blue Shrimp, are just amazing. We will definately come back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, WA
Apr 8, 2011

Needs a better pool and updated pillows

This hotel was clean, spacious and well-priced. The service was above average and the food was edible. The all-inclusive drink/food service was good. The in-house travel agent was also above average when booking tours and exursions. The only down-sides we found were: the pillows were either hard or old and lumpy; the pool area could use some definite improvements and we were pestered by a "time shark" guy on a daily basis to the point of harrassment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
superior, colo
Mar 17, 2011

vacation

I was on conformation dmzdhm. Jan27th to Feb 2nd. I fell in myroom the second night, Jan 28th. My wife had to call the doctor and he shipped me to the cornorstone Hospital on Jan 30th. Then I had to fly back to the states to be Hospitized. My wife check out of the hotel, on Jan30th and had to stay with me. She ask them for a refund for 2-nights and theywouldnt credit her back. My son in the states, cancelled all the other weeks I was staying. The clean up pepole stoled a $100.00 out of my suitcase. at theHospital

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Romantic Boy
Business
Guadalajara, JAL
Mar 8, 2011

Location + Friendly Staff

At the beginning we hesitate on choosing San Marino as our best option, because we read a lot of bad comments for this hotel. But, definitely was a very nice surprise, if you want to try the real Puerto Vallarta town, this hotel has unbeatable location. The staff is very friendly, you feel welcome from check-in until check-out, the room is clean, and we took the breakfast at the restaurant with an ocean view, that works perfect for me. This is not a 5 stars resort, but you get more for the price you pay. Give a shoot and meet the beautiful sunsets on the old town in Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2 too travel
Business
Belen, NM
Feb 27, 2011

Ok location but lacks ammenities

We did not have the rooms we had paid for and had to wait 4 days to get into better ones. The staff is to be commended for working hard to make this happen. Rooms are nice, beds are hard, water is awful[*]. Restaurant does a good job but breakfast gets old after a few days. Good variety, taste and service. Bar needs to get more variety, no whisky or scotch drinks. The rooms do not have coffee pots or refridgerators and our friend needed to keep replentishing their ice for meds. Rooms are clean maid does a very good job and if you needed something it was taken care of fairly quickly. Good location in Old Town, very small and crowed beach, volley ball court should be taken out. We enjoyed our stay but until they update the bar and get more room amenities we will stay at other area hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Looking for a Chicken fried stake in PV, we were pleasantly surprised to find an excellent one at Nocho Daddy's on Padilla, ribeye was also very good, really good blues on Tuesday and Friday. Prices are very reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VICTORIA B.C.
Feb 14, 2011

UNBEATABLE LOCATION FOR THE PRICE

MOSTLEY STAYED IN HOTEL GROUNDS AND BEACH IN FRONT OF HOTEL.FOOD WAS REASONABLE GOOD.STAFF VERY ACCOMADATING AND FRIENDLY.WHEEL CHAIR ACCESABILTY WAS NOT GOOD HAD TO CLIMBE MANY STAIRS TO GET TOO AND FROM RESTERAUNT. THE ONLY REAL COMLIAINT WAS A LOT OF NOISE FROM A JACK HAMMER DISMANTEING THE PEAR IF FRONT OF HOTEL,LOUD,LOUD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top