$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

Hotel San Marino Plaza

2 stars
Rodolfo Gomez 111, Puerto Vallarta, 48300
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
76 reviews
Great Beach Front Location

Great Vaiue, the junior suites are worth the upgrade for a beautiful ocean front view. Many great... See full review

  • Mario PVR
  • Mar 27, 2014
Great Winter Break

The staff at the hotel was wonderful. Our bartenders were all fantastic and greeted you with a... See full review

  • Steve L the traveler
  • Feb 24, 2014
Puerto Vallarta hotel with kids' and seniors' programs, water sports
Hotel San Marino Plaza attracts leisure travelers who seek direct access to Playa Los Muertos and El Malecon, the boardwalk and center of beach life in Puerto Vallarta. Tropical rooms show off their best asset: balconies with views of the town and surrounding Sierra Madre Mountains. El Galeon, a buffet set up in a covered patio, offers a break from beach or pool time. Kid- and senior-focused programs also keep visitors entertained.
Highlights
  • Casual beachfront hotel with Sierra Madre Mountains and cityscape views
  • Casual poolside dining at El Galeon
  • Kids and senior programs
  • Water sports such as kayaking and body boarding
Rooms
Sliding glass doors and roomy balconies with views of the cityscape and Sierra Madre Mountains shower Hotel San Marino Plaza rooms with natural light. Standard rooms, which can house up to four guests, show off yellow- and blue-hued tropical bedding, tile floors with inlay, TVs and wood work desks and mirrors. Junior suites boast a 42-inch LCD TV. Master suites are designed for extra comfort, ensuring quiet time with a balcony furnished with a table and chairs, a mini-refrigerator and a sofa bed.
Features
Hotel San Marino Plaza guests can set their own leisurely pace at Hotel San Marino Plaza thanks to an outdoor Jacuzzi, direct access to Playa Los Muertos and a sizable roster of planned activities. Choose from kayaking, dance lessons and kids' and seniors' programs.
Dining
El Galeon, the on-site buffet at Hotel San Marino Plaza, brings outdoor dining indoors in a covered patio setting. After a dip in the pool, guests stroll to the line for Mexican and international favorites.

At Main Cafe, diners take in views of the Pacific through large glass windows and an outdoor terrace.
Transportation
Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
Business
  • Fax, printer and copy services (fees apply)

Hotel Map

20.5987 -105.2378
Area served
Puerto Vallarta, MX
Nearby airports
The preferred airport for San Marino is Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco (PVR-Licenciado Gustavo Diaz Ordaz Intl.) - 8.7 km / 5.4 mi.
Area description
San Marino hotel is located in Puerto Vallarta's traditional zone, on Playa los Muertos, the most lively and traditional one, just 25 minutes from the International Airport. The property is a short walk from downtown and the promenade, near dozens of quaint restaurants, handcraft shops, discotheques and other spectacles. Area: Romantic Zone (Puerto Vallarta), Jalisco, Mexico The Rio Cuale divides downtown and the Romantic Zone, an area brimming with bars, restaurants, and shops. Isla Rio Cuale features a river walk and a small museum with pre-Columbian artifacts. Stretching for 16 blocks along the shore, the Malecón boardwalk is lined with bronze sculptures and palm trees. Boats depart from a nearby pier to Yelapa and Los Arcos, favored by divers and snorkelers.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel San Marino Plaza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel San Marino Plaza Rooms

Standard Room
Mountain or town view, one king Size or two double beds, bathroom with shower only, color TV with cable, air conditioning, telephone, safe deposit box in room with extra charge.
Junior Suite Ocean Front
Ocean View. Two double beds, Balcony overlooking to the beach and beautiful bay, bathroom with shower only, color TV with cable, air conditioning, telephone and safe deposit box in room with extra charge.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities

Dining

Main Cafe Restaurant
Would you like top enjoy one of the best Vallarta's restaurant with peaceful atmosphere, pampering yourself at dawn at sea side, contemplating the beautiful sunset on Los Muertos Beach or just delight your eyes looking at the moon reflected on the ocean; this is the place, additionally enjoy the exquisite fine Mexican cuisine and international cuisine.
Bar La Explanda
If you wish to relax after a good massage or just enjoy the day beside the pool, Bar la Explanada has for you all kinds of drinks for your comfort. National and International wines as well.
El Galeon Restaurant Bar
Linger over a leisurely breakfast, pop in for a quick lunch with the kids, or plan a romantic dinner. El Galeon satisfies at every meal with its fresh and inventive menu of Mexican and international favorites. The spacious dining room overlooks the beach where you can breathe the fresh sea breeze. With contemporary style and a tropical touch with their ceiling fans at the bottom of the relaxing pool, enhance your dining experience.
  • Cuisine: Mexican
  • Atmosphere: Contemponary Dining
  • Setting: Indoor
  • Serving Style: Buffet
  • Dress Code: Casual
  • Catering: Domestics Drinks
  • Smoking Permitted: NO
  • Hours: Breakfast From 8:00 to 11:00 AM - Lunch From 12:30 to 4:00 PM - Dine From 6:30 to 9:30 PM

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Marino Plaza

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Battle Ground, WA
Jun 9, 2010

You get what you pay for...

We were looking for a cheap, last minute vacation. After reading the reviews, this place didn't seem too bad. After all, we figured, we wouldn't be in the room too long. First turn-off when we got there was that the main pool was closed for some type of work. A second smaller pool was open, but it was in the shade most of the day. Next, there was no air-conditioning in our room - not even a ceiling fan. That might have been OK if the mattress hadn't been hard as a rock. My husband used to work in a prison, and he swears that prison beds are more comfortable. Finally, we couldn't believe the number of times that MJ was offered to us by vendors around the hotel. When we enquired, we were told it was because we were in the "Romantic Zone." Let's just say we weren't aware of that when we booked. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant after reading some of the other reviews, but there are lots of great restaurants in the area. Head down the Malecon to the "Cheeky Monkey" for $1 beer and margaritas! We loved Puerto Vallarta and will definitely return, but plan to stay elsewhere next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Hollywood
Apr 5, 2011

Just Say No - Or you will regret it!

This property does not welcome LGBT guests, and in fact, are hostile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Malandrina Rebelde
Lathrop, CA
Jan 2, 2010

Horrible

I constantly travel to mexico and this was the worst hotel I ever stayed in. The tv remote didn't work, they kept sending the same person to change the batteries over and over. The front desk was rude. The room was just tacky and uncomfortable. I can't forget the blankets, they stank horribly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Malandrina Rebelde
Lathrop, CA
Jan 2, 2010

Horrible

I constantly travel to mexico and this was the worst hotel I ever stayed in. The tv remote didn't work, they kept sending the same person to change the batteries over and over. The front desk was rude. The room was just tacky and uncomfortable. I can't forget the blankets, they stank horribly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Hollywood
Apr 5, 2011

Just Say No - Or you will regret it!

This property does not welcome LGBT guests, and in fact, are hostile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ranita
mission TX
Nov 23, 2010

really ugly

horrible, dirty , no shampoo , noise,i will never come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Battle Ground, WA
Jun 9, 2010

You get what you pay for...

We were looking for a cheap, last minute vacation. After reading the reviews, this place didn't seem too bad. After all, we figured, we wouldn't be in the room too long. First turn-off when we got there was that the main pool was closed for some type of work. A second smaller pool was open, but it was in the shade most of the day. Next, there was no air-conditioning in our room - not even a ceiling fan. That might have been OK if the mattress hadn't been hard as a rock. My husband used to work in a prison, and he swears that prison beds are more comfortable. Finally, we couldn't believe the number of times that MJ was offered to us by vendors around the hotel. When we enquired, we were told it was because we were in the "Romantic Zone." Let's just say we weren't aware of that when we booked. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant after reading some of the other reviews, but there are lots of great restaurants in the area. Head down the Malecon to the "Cheeky Monkey" for $1 beer and margaritas! We loved Puerto Vallarta and will definitely return, but plan to stay elsewhere next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
superior, colo
Mar 17, 2011

vacation

I was on conformation dmzdhm. Jan27th to Feb 2nd. I fell in myroom the second night, Jan 28th. My wife had to call the doctor and he shipped me to the cornorstone Hospital on Jan 30th. Then I had to fly back to the states to be Hospitized. My wife check out of the hotel, on Jan30th and had to stay with me. She ask them for a refund for 2-nights and theywouldnt credit her back. My son in the states, cancelled all the other weeks I was staying. The clean up pepole stoled a $100.00 out of my suitcase. at theHospital

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mi me
Virginia, USA
Jan 12, 2012

great location

Great location if you like being in the romantic zone and on the beach without being too far away from andale's however the hotel is rundown and needs to be updated. It was impossible to open the lock to my door on the first try and therefore really not fun when stumbling home from andale's. Thought I would give it a try and liked the fact security would not allow anyone from the outside in however I did not have a security box and therefore did not ask for my room to be cleaned often.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the stuff on a rock or molacahate from bacalao

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jaime2maggie
puerto vallarta, Arizona
Feb 27, 2014

san marino 02/26/2014

Its in an awesome location. A lot of action going around. The sunset and sunrise are priceless. Lots of hot spots around the hotel. nice cofee shops and restaraunts. With that said it is in the tourist part of town so the prices will be a little bit high. Recommendation for breakfast,lunch or dinner near by is TIZOCS. There is a spa in the hotel pretty good prices and services. If you get all inclusive with your hotel price the food and the drinks are decent. BUT the ROOMS.. OMG. Not too clean. way to small. and the mattress are horrible. no towels. no extra blankets. I just didnt have a good night rest :( . But you cant beat the LOCATION. FYI: If you are going to buy ANYTHING in PUERTO VALLARTA do not take the first PRICE. You can negotiate almost anything. KID FRIENDLY have fun. maggie

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

NEGOTIATE ANYTHING YOU ARE GOING TO BUY. ANY TOURS. For example zipline tour will try and selld for 60 bucks or 650 pecos. You can bring it down to 40-45 dollars or 450 pecos.

Back to menu Return to top