$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

Hotel San Marino Plaza

2 stars
Rodolfo Gomez 111, Puerto Vallarta, 48300
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
49 reviews
Great time at San Marino PVR

I stayed 1 night at San Marino, i had a wonderful time. It´s located at the romantic zone, near the... See full review

  • William Rob.
  • Sep 2, 2014
Great Beach Front Location

Great Vaiue, the junior suites are worth the upgrade for a beautiful ocean front view. Many great... See full review

  • Mario PVR
  • Mar 27, 2014
Puerto Vallarta hotel with kids' and seniors' programs, water sports
Hotel San Marino Plaza attracts leisure travelers who seek direct access to Playa Los Muertos and El Malecon, the boardwalk and center of beach life in Puerto Vallarta. Tropical rooms show off their best asset: balconies with views of the town and surrounding Sierra Madre Mountains. El Galeon, a buffet set up in a covered patio, offers a break from beach or pool time. Kid- and senior-focused programs also keep visitors entertained.
Highlights
  • Casual beachfront hotel with Sierra Madre Mountains and cityscape views
  • Casual poolside dining at El Galeon
  • Kids and senior programs
  • Water sports such as kayaking and body boarding
Rooms
Sliding glass doors and roomy balconies with views of the cityscape and Sierra Madre Mountains shower Hotel San Marino Plaza rooms with natural light. Standard rooms, which can house up to four guests, show off yellow- and blue-hued tropical bedding, tile floors with inlay, TVs and wood work desks and mirrors. Junior suites boast a 42-inch LCD TV. Master suites are designed for extra comfort, ensuring quiet time with a balcony furnished with a table and chairs, a mini-refrigerator and a sofa bed.
Features
Hotel San Marino Plaza guests can set their own leisurely pace at Hotel San Marino Plaza thanks to an outdoor Jacuzzi, direct access to Playa Los Muertos and a sizable roster of planned activities. Choose from kayaking, dance lessons and kids' and seniors' programs.
Dining
El Galeon, the on-site buffet at Hotel San Marino Plaza, brings outdoor dining indoors in a covered patio setting. After a dip in the pool, guests stroll to the line for Mexican and international favorites.

At Main Cafe, diners take in views of the Pacific through large glass windows and an outdoor terrace.
Transportation
Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
Business
  • Fax, printer and copy services (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel San Marino Plaza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel San Marino Plaza Rooms

Standard Room
Mountain or town view, one king Size or two double beds, bathroom with shower only, color TV with cable, air conditioning, telephone, safe deposit box in room with extra charge.
Junior Suite Ocean Front
Ocean View. Two double beds, Balcony overlooking to the beach and beautiful bay, bathroom with shower only, color TV with cable, air conditioning, telephone and safe deposit box in room with extra charge.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities

Dining

Main Cafe Restaurant
Would you like top enjoy one of the best Vallarta's restaurant with peaceful atmosphere, pampering yourself at dawn at sea side, contemplating the beautiful sunset on Los Muertos Beach or just delight your eyes looking at the moon reflected on the ocean; this is the place, additionally enjoy the exquisite fine Mexican cuisine and international cuisine.
Bar La Explanda
If you wish to relax after a good massage or just enjoy the day beside the pool, Bar la Explanada has for you all kinds of drinks for your comfort. National and International wines as well.
El Galeon Restaurant Bar
Linger over a leisurely breakfast, pop in for a quick lunch with the kids, or plan a romantic dinner. El Galeon satisfies at every meal with its fresh and inventive menu of Mexican and international favorites. The spacious dining room overlooks the beach where you can breathe the fresh sea breeze. With contemporary style and a tropical touch with their ceiling fans at the bottom of the relaxing pool, enhance your dining experience.
  • Cuisine: Mexican
  • Atmosphere: Contemponary Dining
  • Setting: Indoor
  • Serving Style: Buffet
  • Dress Code: Casual
  • Catering: Domestics Drinks
  • Smoking Permitted: NO
  • Hours: Breakfast From 8:00 to 11:00 AM - Lunch From 12:30 to 4:00 PM - Dine From 6:30 to 9:30 PM

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Marino Plaza

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roberto Rodriguez
Business
San Jose, California
Oct 4, 2012

Great option for your budget...

I stayed last week at san marino, and i recognize that it was better than expected, first of all the price was a deal. Location is great: walking distance from the boardwalk and downtown. The food and drinks are good, and all the staff is very nice and always give you a smile. I deffinetly will return to san marino next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Mar 25, 2010

The Best Location

An excellent experience and the best of all the friendly staff in this beautiful Hotel. Puerto Vallarta is a Romantic town and this hotel has the best location, over the most famous beach in PV: Los Muertos. I had a romantic ocean view dinner with a beautiful sunset on the hotel esplanade area.We did kayaking, as part of the activities that the hotel offers, it was just great. I will come back soon to this hotel, where I lived the best vacation ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The relaxing pool

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, BC
Mar 19, 2008

Great location...

Ocean fron suite on 7th floor. Beautiful sunsets and sound of pounding waves. Food was basically good home cooking buffet style. Flexible eating times. Ate out several time at adjacent beach front restaraunts - execellent food - great wine - less than $90 bucks a couple. Accompaniend by great music. The hotel is in a great loaction with a pier and lots of action/activities avaiable on the beach in front of the hotel. Beach vendors were very friendly usually negotiated 30-50% discounts. Old Vallarta away from the beach has retail stores with excellent prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA, CA
Apr 23, 2011

Great location, great experience!

Let's be honest, San Marino is not a place for people looking for luxury. You can find very inexpensive rates and definately worth every penny you paid for. Location is brilliant. The staff is very friendly and the service is great and personal, makes you feel like in home away from home. They have renovated a lot since last time we went. 42" LCD tvs in the Jr. Suites, new bathrooms and WIFI in the restaurant area. I stayed in EP without meals since there are many great options to eat within walking distance. Try Café de Olla and the Blue Shrimp, are just amazing. We will definately come back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Romantic Boy
Business
Guadalajara, JAL
Mar 8, 2011

Location + Friendly Staff

At the beginning we hesitate on choosing San Marino as our best option, because we read a lot of bad comments for this hotel. But, definitely was a very nice surprise, if you want to try the real Puerto Vallarta town, this hotel has unbeatable location. The staff is very friendly, you feel welcome from check-in until check-out, the room is clean, and we took the breakfast at the restaurant with an ocean view, that works perfect for me. This is not a 5 stars resort, but you get more for the price you pay. Give a shoot and meet the beautiful sunsets on the old town in Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
William Rob.
Business
San Jose California
Sep 2, 2014

Great time at San Marino PVR

I stayed 1 night at San Marino, i had a wonderful time. It´s located at the romantic zone, near the malecon, bars and night clubs. I definitely will return on my next vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

DO NOT rent a car! evertything is near San Marino. Has a great location :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cat Daddy
Business
NC
May 4, 2009

Contempary Hotel

Friendly staff. Good location to walk with out taking cabs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HappyFeet52
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Great Location!

We love the location and come back year after year. The staff is very friendly (front desk and housekeeping). I like that they have a safe in the room (extra fee). No hairdryer or refrigerator in the room, but we don't care. We love the location and it is clean! Very close to many great restaurants and shopping and right on the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuates y Cuates (great happy hour) is right on the beach and La Piazzetta (best Itallian food ever!) is just down the block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HappyFeet52
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Jan 6, 2014

We love the location!

We are two gals in our early 60's and we have stayed at this hotel many times. We like the location as everything we like is within walking distance--no need to rent a car. Great restaurants, shops, the Malecon, beach etc. We do not do the All Inclusive as the restaurants in the area are so good! The rooms are clean and the staff are wonderful! It is a bit noisy some nights because of a disco next door, but it is not every night, so we can live with that. It is not a fancy place like some hotels in the hotel zone, but we love it. Safe, clean and great location. We like the ocean view Junior Suite rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Archie's Wok is a wonderful Pan Asian restaurant just around the corner from the hotel. Very elegant and really great food! We shared the Almond Chicken with the chicken satay appetizer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jharr
Business
utah
Jan 30, 2014

good fun

Like the location, doesn't get any better. will likely go back soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top