$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Hotel San Marino Plaza

2 stars
View map of Rodolfo Gomez 111, Puerto Vallarta, 48300

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Marino Plaza

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roberto Rodriguez
San Jose, California
Oct 4, 2012

Great option for your budget...

I stayed last week at san marino, and i recognize that it was better than expected, first of all the price was a deal. Location is great: walking distance from the boardwalk and downtown. The food and drinks are good, and all the staff is very nice and always give you a smile. I deffinetly will return to san marino next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
north idaho
Oct 15, 2010

the price was right

Closest we've ever stayed on the ocean. Really liked the location compared to walking distance to downtown. I watched a turtle lay eggs on the beach right in front of my room. Upgraded to jr suite two days after arriving. I don't recomend standard room unless you like hard beds. Jr suite is much more americanized. Food was standard but something for everyone. [...] our waitier was a blast to have every day. Wasn't into doing too many activities on this trip but there was plenty of things to choose!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

So many great places to eat within walking distance. We ate at bubba gumps for a greazt price.

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Battle Ground, WA
Jun 9, 2010

You get what you pay for...

We were looking for a cheap, last minute vacation. After reading the reviews, this place didn't seem too bad. After all, we figured, we wouldn't be in the room too long. First turn-off when we got there was that the main pool was closed for some type of work. A second smaller pool was open, but it was in the shade most of the day. Next, there was no air-conditioning in our room - not even a ceiling fan. That might have been OK if the mattress hadn't been hard as a rock. My husband used to work in a prison, and he swears that prison beds are more comfortable. Finally, we couldn't believe the number of times that MJ was offered to us by vendors around the hotel. When we enquired, we were told it was because we were in the "Romantic Zone." Let's just say we weren't aware of that when we booked. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant after reading some of the other reviews, but there are lots of great restaurants in the area. Head down the Malecon to the "Cheeky Monkey" for $1 beer and margaritas! We loved Puerto Vallarta and will definitely return, but plan to stay elsewhere next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Mar 25, 2010

The Best Location

An excellent experience and the best of all the friendly staff in this beautiful Hotel. Puerto Vallarta is a Romantic town and this hotel has the best location, over the most famous beach in PV: Los Muertos. I had a romantic ocean view dinner with a beautiful sunset on the hotel esplanade area.We did kayaking, as part of the activities that the hotel offers, it was just great. I will come back soon to this hotel, where I lived the best vacation ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The relaxing pool

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brookline, MA
Mar 13, 2010

San Marion OK but need sserious updating

The hotel is in a great location. But it looks like nothing has been updated since it opened(in the 40's or 50') from the looks of. The decore was very dated. The beds and pillows somewhat FIRM! But the location was excellant and the staff were friendly. All in all I would stay here again, but only if the Hotel Mercurio was full. We did not eat in the restaurant (which looked very nice) so I can't comment on the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I've eaten in the restaurant next door, Cafe Bohemo, and would recommend it.

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver
Mar 4, 2010

Good location

Hotel staff are frinedly and we had a good time. Little bit noisey.....however here is Mexico 24 hours party time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice location, walking distance for everything, beach,shopping,dinning.

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Jan 9, 2010

The Good , the bad and the really ugly

This hotel is located in a great place, but the food needs to be adjusted somewhat. [*] Everyone would like it to be a bit more Americanized. Breakfast always great, Lunch lots of hamburgers(the meat doesn't taste the same, supper very plain and needs more adjustments....like real great italian food for a change. Fried chicken maybe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location, very busy in front of the hotel if you stay on the beach. Most chairs on the grounds of the hotel get taken quickly. Get your chair right after breakfast.

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Al PV lover
Business
Austin
Jan 6, 2010

Hotel OK but a bit noisy

The hotel is in a great location in the Romantic Zone right on the beach. We stayed on the second floor and found this to be too noisy. The rooms surround the pool area. During the day they play music which you can hear from your room. In addition, they have announcements and contests during the day which are louder than the music. It is ok if you are out and about most of the day. You might want to ask for a room on a higher floor. The rooms are clean but a bit outdated. They have two lamps in each room which provide very little light. We did not get the all-inclusive package so I cannot comment on their food. I think the hotel might be great for kids since there were usually children playing in the kiddie pool enjoying themselves. in addition, the hotel provided some activities/games in the pool area for kids which they seem to enjoy. For me, the best part of the hotel is the location. However, there are many other hotels in the same area which might be better. I'll have to go back to PV and check some of them out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Malandrina Rebelde
Business
Lathrop, CA
Jan 2, 2010

Horrible

I constantly travel to mexico and this was the worst hotel I ever stayed in. The tv remote didn't work, they kept sending the same person to change the batteries over and over. The front desk was rude. The room was just tacky and uncomfortable. I can't forget the blankets, they stank horribly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, VA
Dec 18, 2009

Great atmosphere, location & food...

I had a great stay: friendly & very helpful staff, good food and excellent location...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rededzell
Business
Canada
Nov 25, 2009

San Marino

Location is great. Rooms are old but very clean, good bed. We were in room 802 - great view facing the ocean. Air conditioner is noisy. Staff is great and very friendly. All inclusive food is not great but lots of restaurants around to choose from. Great pizza just down the street from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top