$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Hotel San Marino Plaza

2 stars
View map of Rodolfo Gomez 111, Puerto Vallarta, 48300

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Marino Plaza

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HappyFeet52
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Great Location!

We love the location and come back year after year. The staff is very friendly (front desk and housekeeping). I like that they have a safe in the room (extra fee). No hairdryer or refrigerator in the room, but we don't care. We love the location and it is clean! Very close to many great restaurants and shopping and right on the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuates y Cuates (great happy hour) is right on the beach and La Piazzetta (best Itallian food ever!) is just down the block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Mar 25, 2010

The Best Location

An excellent experience and the best of all the friendly staff in this beautiful Hotel. Puerto Vallarta is a Romantic town and this hotel has the best location, over the most famous beach in PV: Los Muertos. I had a romantic ocean view dinner with a beautiful sunset on the hotel esplanade area.We did kayaking, as part of the activities that the hotel offers, it was just great. I will come back soon to this hotel, where I lived the best vacation ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The relaxing pool

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brookline, MA
Mar 13, 2010

San Marion OK but need sserious updating

The hotel is in a great location. But it looks like nothing has been updated since it opened(in the 40's or 50') from the looks of. The decore was very dated. The beds and pillows somewhat FIRM! But the location was excellant and the staff were friendly. All in all I would stay here again, but only if the Hotel Mercurio was full. We did not eat in the restaurant (which looked very nice) so I can't comment on the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I've eaten in the restaurant next door, Cafe Bohemo, and would recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver
Mar 4, 2010

Good location

Hotel staff are frinedly and we had a good time. Little bit noisey.....however here is Mexico 24 hours party time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice location, walking distance for everything, beach,shopping,dinning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Jan 9, 2010

The Good , the bad and the really ugly

This hotel is located in a great place, but the food needs to be adjusted somewhat. [*] Everyone would like it to be a bit more Americanized. Breakfast always great, Lunch lots of hamburgers(the meat doesn't taste the same, supper very plain and needs more adjustments....like real great italian food for a change. Fried chicken maybe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location, very busy in front of the hotel if you stay on the beach. Most chairs on the grounds of the hotel get taken quickly. Get your chair right after breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Al PV lover
Business
Austin
Jan 6, 2010

Hotel OK but a bit noisy

The hotel is in a great location in the Romantic Zone right on the beach. We stayed on the second floor and found this to be too noisy. The rooms surround the pool area. During the day they play music which you can hear from your room. In addition, they have announcements and contests during the day which are louder than the music. It is ok if you are out and about most of the day. You might want to ask for a room on a higher floor. The rooms are clean but a bit outdated. They have two lamps in each room which provide very little light. We did not get the all-inclusive package so I cannot comment on their food. I think the hotel might be great for kids since there were usually children playing in the kiddie pool enjoying themselves. in addition, the hotel provided some activities/games in the pool area for kids which they seem to enjoy. For me, the best part of the hotel is the location. However, there are many other hotels in the same area which might be better. I'll have to go back to PV and check some of them out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Malandrina Rebelde
Business
Lathrop, CA
Jan 2, 2010

Horrible

I constantly travel to mexico and this was the worst hotel I ever stayed in. The tv remote didn't work, they kept sending the same person to change the batteries over and over. The front desk was rude. The room was just tacky and uncomfortable. I can't forget the blankets, they stank horribly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, VA
Dec 18, 2009

Great atmosphere, location & food...

I had a great stay: friendly & very helpful staff, good food and excellent location...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rededzell
Business
Canada
Nov 25, 2009

San Marino

Location is great. Rooms are old but very clean, good bed. We were in room 802 - great view facing the ocean. Air conditioner is noisy. Staff is great and very friendly. All inclusive food is not great but lots of restaurants around to choose from. Great pizza just down the street from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
6FlagsStay09
Business
san jose, ca
Nov 2, 2009

never again.

Dirty bathrooms, too loud, have to wear wrist bands at all times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
orange county
Nov 2, 2009

great view

If you stay here get the ocean view! its the best view ever! Big room with big screen TV Kind of far from the Airport but when your there you can walk to everything low lighting in the room needs a lamp! the breakfast buffet sucks! walk around town you will find better food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the beach! the town!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top