$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Hotel San Marino Plaza

2 stars
View map of Rodolfo Gomez 111, Puerto Vallarta, 48300

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Marino Plaza

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Al PV lover
Business
Austin
Jan 6, 2010

Hotel OK but a bit noisy

The hotel is in a great location in the Romantic Zone right on the beach. We stayed on the second floor and found this to be too noisy. The rooms surround the pool area. During the day they play music which you can hear from your room. In addition, they have announcements and contests during the day which are louder than the music. It is ok if you are out and about most of the day. You might want to ask for a room on a higher floor. The rooms are clean but a bit outdated. They have two lamps in each room which provide very little light. We did not get the all-inclusive package so I cannot comment on their food. I think the hotel might be great for kids since there were usually children playing in the kiddie pool enjoying themselves. in addition, the hotel provided some activities/games in the pool area for kids which they seem to enjoy. For me, the best part of the hotel is the location. However, there are many other hotels in the same area which might be better. I'll have to go back to PV and check some of them out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Malandrina Rebelde
Business
Lathrop, CA
Jan 2, 2010

Horrible

I constantly travel to mexico and this was the worst hotel I ever stayed in. The tv remote didn't work, they kept sending the same person to change the batteries over and over. The front desk was rude. The room was just tacky and uncomfortable. I can't forget the blankets, they stank horribly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, VA
Dec 18, 2009

Great atmosphere, location & food...

I had a great stay: friendly & very helpful staff, good food and excellent location...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rededzell
Business
Canada
Nov 25, 2009

San Marino

Location is great. Rooms are old but very clean, good bed. We were in room 802 - great view facing the ocean. Air conditioner is noisy. Staff is great and very friendly. All inclusive food is not great but lots of restaurants around to choose from. Great pizza just down the street from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
6FlagsStay09
Business
san jose, ca
Nov 2, 2009

never again.

Dirty bathrooms, too loud, have to wear wrist bands at all times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
orange county
Nov 2, 2009

great view

If you stay here get the ocean view! its the best view ever! Big room with big screen TV Kind of far from the Airport but when your there you can walk to everything low lighting in the room needs a lamp! the breakfast buffet sucks! walk around town you will find better food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the beach! the town!

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Got what I paid for
Business
San Jose, CA
Nov 1, 2009

4 Stars in Mexico not the same as U.S.

I guess you get what you pay for. This hotel was rated 4 stars in Mexico and that is a lot different than 4 stars in a U.S. Hotel. It's very noisy. The walls are thin as well as the doors and even from the top floor it sounds as if all the children in the ground floor pool are just outside your door. They have remodled some of the rooms, however, I did not get one of those rooms. I upgraded to a junior suite, ocean view room. The view was great but the room was not. We compared the bathroom to that of a rest stop along the interstate highway. I did see a couple of the rooms my friends were staying in that were recently remodled and it was a tad bit better. Our general concensus was that we would not stay there again. The location in oldtown PV is great. It is within walking distance to most anything that you would like to do in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 26, 2009

romantic and intimate space by sea

Staff was friendly, attentive, very responsive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

no need to drive to find dancing and pubs, 10 to 15 minute walk to the hot spots

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arcata
Dec 27, 2008

Nice for the price

my girlfriend an i stayed at the San Marion for a week. our overall stay was good, but as most places do, there were some drawbacks. the good: the hotel was only a 10 minutes walk from all the big clubs and shopping (the boardwalk). there was tons of restaurants within blocks. the hotel felt safe because there were security guards at both entrances at all times. the employees were friendly, and the place was clean. the bad: the food was terrible. we usually would eat a late breakfast, skip lunch, and go out to dinner. the bar didn't open until 11 am and closed at 10 pm. the beach was overcrowded directly in front of the hotel. you could walk 30 yards either direction and have a less crowded beach, but then you were no longer at the convenience of the hotel. after our stay we are kind of 50/50 on if we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, BC
Mar 19, 2008

Great location...

Ocean fron suite on 7th floor. Beautiful sunsets and sound of pounding waves. Food was basically good home cooking buffet style. Flexible eating times. Ate out several time at adjacent beach front restaraunts - execellent food - great wine - less than $90 bucks a couple. Accompaniend by great music. The hotel is in a great loaction with a pier and lots of action/activities avaiable on the beach in front of the hotel. Beach vendors were very friendly usually negotiated 30-50% discounts. Old Vallarta away from the beach has retail stores with excellent prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top