$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

Hotel San Marino Plaza

2 stars
Rodolfo Gomez 111, Puerto Vallarta, 48300
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
49 reviews
Great time at San Marino PVR

I stayed 1 night at San Marino, i had a wonderful time. It´s located at the romantic zone, near the... See full review

  • William Rob.
  • Sep 2, 2014
Great Beach Front Location

Great Vaiue, the junior suites are worth the upgrade for a beautiful ocean front view. Many great... See full review

  • Mario PVR
  • Mar 27, 2014
Puerto Vallarta hotel with kids' and seniors' programs, water sports
Hotel San Marino Plaza attracts leisure travelers who seek direct access to Playa Los Muertos and El Malecon, the boardwalk and center of beach life in Puerto Vallarta. Tropical rooms show off their best asset: balconies with views of the town and surrounding Sierra Madre Mountains. El Galeon, a buffet set up in a covered patio, offers a break from beach or pool time. Kid- and senior-focused programs also keep visitors entertained.
Highlights
  • Casual beachfront hotel with Sierra Madre Mountains and cityscape views
  • Casual poolside dining at El Galeon
  • Kids and senior programs
  • Water sports such as kayaking and body boarding
Rooms
Sliding glass doors and roomy balconies with views of the cityscape and Sierra Madre Mountains shower Hotel San Marino Plaza rooms with natural light. Standard rooms, which can house up to four guests, show off yellow- and blue-hued tropical bedding, tile floors with inlay, TVs and wood work desks and mirrors. Junior suites boast a 42-inch LCD TV. Master suites are designed for extra comfort, ensuring quiet time with a balcony furnished with a table and chairs, a mini-refrigerator and a sofa bed.
Features
Hotel San Marino Plaza guests can set their own leisurely pace at Hotel San Marino Plaza thanks to an outdoor Jacuzzi, direct access to Playa Los Muertos and a sizable roster of planned activities. Choose from kayaking, dance lessons and kids' and seniors' programs.
Dining
El Galeon, the on-site buffet at Hotel San Marino Plaza, brings outdoor dining indoors in a covered patio setting. After a dip in the pool, guests stroll to the line for Mexican and international favorites.

At Main Cafe, diners take in views of the Pacific through large glass windows and an outdoor terrace.
Transportation
Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
Business
  • Fax, printer and copy services (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel San Marino Plaza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel San Marino Plaza Rooms

Standard Room
Mountain or town view, one king Size or two double beds, bathroom with shower only, color TV with cable, air conditioning, telephone, safe deposit box in room with extra charge.
Junior Suite Ocean Front
Ocean View. Two double beds, Balcony overlooking to the beach and beautiful bay, bathroom with shower only, color TV with cable, air conditioning, telephone and safe deposit box in room with extra charge.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities

Dining

Main Cafe Restaurant
Would you like top enjoy one of the best Vallarta's restaurant with peaceful atmosphere, pampering yourself at dawn at sea side, contemplating the beautiful sunset on Los Muertos Beach or just delight your eyes looking at the moon reflected on the ocean; this is the place, additionally enjoy the exquisite fine Mexican cuisine and international cuisine.
Bar La Explanda
If you wish to relax after a good massage or just enjoy the day beside the pool, Bar la Explanada has for you all kinds of drinks for your comfort. National and International wines as well.
El Galeon Restaurant Bar
Linger over a leisurely breakfast, pop in for a quick lunch with the kids, or plan a romantic dinner. El Galeon satisfies at every meal with its fresh and inventive menu of Mexican and international favorites. The spacious dining room overlooks the beach where you can breathe the fresh sea breeze. With contemporary style and a tropical touch with their ceiling fans at the bottom of the relaxing pool, enhance your dining experience.
  • Cuisine: Mexican
  • Atmosphere: Contemponary Dining
  • Setting: Indoor
  • Serving Style: Buffet
  • Dress Code: Casual
  • Catering: Domestics Drinks
  • Smoking Permitted: NO
  • Hours: Breakfast From 8:00 to 11:00 AM - Lunch From 12:30 to 4:00 PM - Dine From 6:30 to 9:30 PM

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Marino Plaza

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, WA
Apr 8, 2011

Needs a better pool and updated pillows

This hotel was clean, spacious and well-priced. The service was above average and the food was edible. The all-inclusive drink/food service was good. The in-house travel agent was also above average when booking tours and exursions. The only down-sides we found were: the pillows were either hard or old and lumpy; the pool area could use some definite improvements and we were pestered by a "time shark" guy on a daily basis to the point of harrassment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Hollywood
Apr 5, 2011

Just Say No - Or you will regret it!

This property does not welcome LGBT guests, and in fact, are hostile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Princess Kristen
Business
St. Louis, MO
Apr 4, 2011

My San Marino Experience

First of all, we checked in extremely late because of a flight delay. Once we arrived we we given a room that smelled like the exterminator had just left. There was about a 13 inch Daiwoo TV hanging crooked on the wall and all thatseperated the small bathroom from the bedroom was a frosted shower door. We went to the front desk to ask for a different room. They were happy to accomidate for an extra $30-$50 a night. It was worth the $30 that we paid to be on the 3rd floor. Some of our friends upgraded only a few hours later(technically the next day for some) to the 5th floor that was $50 when we looked at it, but they got it for $30. Hmmm....Our suite was much nicer than the first room they had given us- no bug spray smell, a nice 40 inch flat screen TV that wasn't crooked and an actual door on the bathroom! Thebed was extremely hard and the pillows weren't the best either. Beautiful scenery from the balcony that overlooked the 18 and over pool, which one family had their 2 year old there for several hours one morning. Guess they couldn't read English or Spanish since the rules were clearly posted as you walked into the pool area. The beach area was nice. Some of the vendors were very nice. Some were nice until you didn't want to purchase their wares then they became rude. I wanted to toss one guys neclkaces into the ocean but wasn't sure if I would have been sent to a Mexican prison! The food at the hotel was ok. Breakfast was safe. The omlettes were decent. Lunch was ok. We looked at the dinner buffet several times during the week but NEVER ate there. There were quite a few unrecognizable items to choose from. Luckily the hotel was within walking distance to some pretty good resturants.Don Guacamole was excellent! Cafe Bohemia was a good sandwich place to visit when the owners are there for the season. The Blue Shrimp was amazing! PiPi's was great! Palermo Gonzalez up the mountain. Beautiful susnet and a ribeye steak to die for! Puerto Vallerta was a beautiful place to visit! Shopping was fun. Most every where we went was very clean. Great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There were 10 of us so we made friends with a cab driver that had a very nice van. He drove us to PiPi's and to Palermo Gonzalez. The van was clean and he was very nice. Blared American rock for us! Fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
superior, colo
Mar 17, 2011

vacation

I was on conformation dmzdhm. Jan27th to Feb 2nd. I fell in myroom the second night, Jan 28th. My wife had to call the doctor and he shipped me to the cornorstone Hospital on Jan 30th. Then I had to fly back to the states to be Hospitized. My wife check out of the hotel, on Jan30th and had to stay with me. She ask them for a refund for 2-nights and theywouldnt credit her back. My son in the states, cancelled all the other weeks I was staying. The clean up pepole stoled a $100.00 out of my suitcase. at theHospital

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Romantic Boy
Business
Guadalajara, JAL
Mar 8, 2011

Location + Friendly Staff

At the beginning we hesitate on choosing San Marino as our best option, because we read a lot of bad comments for this hotel. But, definitely was a very nice surprise, if you want to try the real Puerto Vallarta town, this hotel has unbeatable location. The staff is very friendly, you feel welcome from check-in until check-out, the room is clean, and we took the breakfast at the restaurant with an ocean view, that works perfect for me. This is not a 5 stars resort, but you get more for the price you pay. Give a shoot and meet the beautiful sunsets on the old town in Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2 too travel
Business
Belen, NM
Feb 27, 2011

Ok location but lacks ammenities

We did not have the rooms we had paid for and had to wait 4 days to get into better ones. The staff is to be commended for working hard to make this happen. Rooms are nice, beds are hard, water is awful[*]. Restaurant does a good job but breakfast gets old after a few days. Good variety, taste and service. Bar needs to get more variety, no whisky or scotch drinks. The rooms do not have coffee pots or refridgerators and our friend needed to keep replentishing their ice for meds. Rooms are clean maid does a very good job and if you needed something it was taken care of fairly quickly. Good location in Old Town, very small and crowed beach, volley ball court should be taken out. We enjoyed our stay but until they update the bar and get more room amenities we will stay at other area hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Looking for a Chicken fried stake in PV, we were pleasantly surprised to find an excellent one at Nocho Daddy's on Padilla, ribeye was also very good, really good blues on Tuesday and Friday. Prices are very reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VICTORIA B.C.
Feb 14, 2011

UNBEATABLE LOCATION FOR THE PRICE

MOSTLEY STAYED IN HOTEL GROUNDS AND BEACH IN FRONT OF HOTEL.FOOD WAS REASONABLE GOOD.STAFF VERY ACCOMADATING AND FRIENDLY.WHEEL CHAIR ACCESABILTY WAS NOT GOOD HAD TO CLIMBE MANY STAIRS TO GET TOO AND FROM RESTERAUNT. THE ONLY REAL COMLIAINT WAS A LOT OF NOISE FROM A JACK HAMMER DISMANTEING THE PEAR IF FRONT OF HOTEL,LOUD,LOUD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alameda, CA
Jan 3, 2011

Great location for the price

We chose this hotel so that we would be close to the pier at Playa De Los Muertos where we were to catch the water taxi to Yelapa after our overnight stay in Puerto Vallarta. The location was perfect. The pier was literally right next door and the hotel was right on the beach. The kids loved the pool and loved the beach. We were very happy with this hotel and it was a great deal for the price. I really liked the neighborhood as well. There were many great restaurants within walking distance. We could dine at either high end restaurants or cheap and cheerful taco shops. We chose the later with the kids and had a great meal at a great price and the waiter was great with the kids. I just wish that I could remember the name of the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great places to eat within blocks of this Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 3, 2011

Great location and CLEAN!

This was our fourth trip to PV, but our first time at San Marino. We had the Junior Suite Ocean View room only. (Did not do the all-inclusive as we love the food at the nearby restaurants.) We were very pleasantly surprised by the beautiful room and the other areas of the hotel, too. The room, unlike those in another hotel nearby which I will not name, was not at all musty smelling! (What a pleasant surprise that was!) The staff were very accomodating, too. Incredible view right on Los Muertos beach! You can see the cruise ships come and go. It doesn't get any better than this. And very close to the best restaurants in the area (Daquiri Dicks, La Pizzaria, Andale, Cuates y Cuetes, etc.) and also very convenient to access the Malecon. We don't rent a car in Mexico and this is the ideal location to be close to everything. Also, the buses are nearby that go to the Botanical Gardens (a must see and good place to go for lunch. The bus ride alone is well worth it as you go way up into the mountains and also through the ritzy area of Conchas Chinas just south of PV and past Mismaloya.) This is where we will be staying from now on! The staff was prompt in making up our room each day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It is well worth the bus trip to the Botanical Gardens south of Puerto Vallarta. It is a great place to have lunch. I saw two parrots fly by as I was waiting for my meal. The drive up into the mountains is very beautiful and fun! (There is nothing quite like a Mexican bus ride!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Marino Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveler wanting to cook
Business
Colorado
Dec 18, 2010

No surprises

Having read the reviews, we pretty much knew what to expect, and that is what we got. The room was spacious and clean, definitely not luxurious but with a balcony and view of the ocean, it met our needs for the week. Staff were friendly and accommodating (although the time-share and on-site activities sales people were overly aggressive and annoyingly present). Food, as most reviewers have said, was uninspired; however, for what we paid, we thought it was fine (perhaps less appealing than other '2-star' resorts we have been to, but we could usually find something to enjoy). The beer was cold (Sol and Indio), the drinks were plentiful and mixed well (ZERO brand-name liquors, though), and they were happy to fill our large insulated mugs. Overall, we had a great trip and would recommend the hotel for super-budget-minded travelers. Just don't expect luxury, and you will be pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Exchange rates were, surprisingly, MUCH better at the airport than in town. In previous trips, we have gotten close to the daily published rate right at the hotel, but this trip, the rate was nearly a peso lower at our hotel and in town. If you spend US Dollars, they only give you 10-to-1 conversion at most places, so it is definitely worth it to exchange money (at least as long as the rate is 12+ pesos to the dollar).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top