$35 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Hotel Rio Malecon

3 stars
View map of 170 Morelos St. Downtown, Jalisco, Puerto Vallarta, 48300

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
16 reviews
Great Getaway

Great location with affordable prices. I would recommend to a friends getaway. See full review

  • Misa E
  • Apr 1, 2015
very nice experience

Great location, central to everything and an easy trip to and from the airport. Friendly staff and... See full review

  • Patrick
  • Jan 23, 2015
Unique, Unconventional, Earth-friendly, Presenting 47 welcoming rooms with and without kitchenette and each with private bathroom, daily maid service, central air conditioning, Cable TV and balcony.
The facilities feature chemical-free pool, WiFi, private Club Room for special events, and COEXIST cafe restaurant and sports bar, an Oasis in historic downtown Vallarta.
Hotel Rio Malecon is located in the city, within walking distance to Los Muertos beach, Cuale Island, the Restaurant Row, the flea market, the Art Galleries, the Boardwalk, the Museums, and all of the best that Puerto Vallarta has to offer.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Rio Malecon also booked these hotels.

★★★
$69
3.6 / 5 216 reviews
★★
$44
3.8 / 5 82 reviews
★★
$51
3.1 / 5 18 reviews
★★★
$53
4.0 / 5 32 reviews
★★★
$60
4.0 / 5 2 reviews
★★★
$40
4.3 / 5 8 reviews
★★★
$56
3.7 / 5 94 reviews
★★★
$108
4.1 / 5 15 reviews

Hotel Rio Malecon Rooms

Standard Rooms Without Kitchenette
Standard Rooms Without Kitchenette offers one king bed or two double beds with air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, internet access, laundry service, non-smoking rooms, room service and telephone. It also provides daily maid service.
Superior Rooms With Kitchenette
Standard Rooms With Kitchenette offers one king bed or two double beds with air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, internet access, laundry service, non-smoking rooms, room service and telephone. It also provides daily maid service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Dining

COEXIST cafe Restaurant Bar
COEXIST cafe Restaurant Bar... Pizza, Pasta, Carpaccio, Baguettes, Seafood, Mexican specialties, and much more. Open daily from 8am to 2am, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Rio Malecon

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Rio Malecon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Misa E
Friends
Kaufman
Apr 1, 2015

Great Getaway

Great location with affordable prices. I would recommend to a friends getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Rio Malecon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patrick
Couples
Minneapolis
Jan 23, 2015

very nice experience

Great location, central to everything and an easy trip to and from the airport. Friendly staff and fine rooms and accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Rio Malecon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yvonne1111
Single
valley village
Jan 15, 2015

viva! great spot for the price

Had an amazing time here. Not the fanciest but its a block off the boardwalk and around the corner from all of the fun. Simple clean , great products. no mini bar and no fancy bedding.. but i would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

close to all the gay/lesbian bars

Review of Hotel Rio Malecon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hwahl
Single
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Perfect Location

I stayed here for my second trip to PVR and it was perfect. The hotel is in a really good location, just one block from the Malecon and walking distance to the flea market, beach, etc. Taxis and buses are available right outside the door. The room was kind of small, but for just me traveling it was fine. The restaurant was good, and staff there was friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to stay in PVR and explore the area rather than sit on the beach all day at an all inclusive resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely try the street food. There are a lot of cool restaurants to try in the area, but the taco stands have great food and they are cheap.

Review of Hotel Rio Malecon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hwahl
Single
N/A
Dec 21, 2014

Perfect Location

I stayed here for my second trip to PVR and it was perfect. The hotel is in a really good location, just one block from the Malecon and walking distance to the flea market, beach, etc. Taxis and buses are available right outside the door. The room was kind of small, but for just me traveling it was fine. The restaurant was good, and staff there was friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to stay in PVR and explore the area rather than sit on the beach all day at an all inclusive resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely try the street food. There are a lot of cool restaurants to try in the area, but the taco stands have great food and they are cheap.

Review of Hotel Rio Malecon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Honeymoon in Vallarta
Couples
Puerto Vallarta
Aug 12, 2014

Pretty good

It was comfortable, but the king sized bed covered most of the room. No tv, which would be normal in a 3 star hotel. It was fine for the price, I suppose

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Fredy Toucan's

Review of Hotel Rio Malecon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
E2014
Friends
NY
Apr 7, 2014

Convenient location

Middle of everything and a block from the water. Room is basic but clean. Cute looking courtyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Rio Malecon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chulando
Friends
Salem, OR
Apr 5, 2014

great time

My experience was great my girlfriend and i are thinking about staying again this coming year

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is so closes to you

Review of Hotel Rio Malecon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sollie
Friends
colorado
Jan 12, 2014

It is a mexican hotel

First it is a great location for people that want to be in the center of town. NO safes or elavators. Beds are very firm!! If you book a double room You can get a room with one double bed and one sofa bed!!! TAKE NOTICE it is in the small print when you have booked the room!!! they try to save on elcectricity and require you to keep hotel key in a box that activates the electricity in the room Showers are hot with very little water pressure. The area does seem to be very safe!! Just keep in mind that this is not an hotel in the U.S. Most Americans would view this to be a very average place to stay. This place has no parking. so if you are renting a car you might not want to stay here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The board walk is right across the street from the hotel

Review of Hotel Rio Malecon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M S Love
Single
San Francisco
Jan 3, 2014

Good value choice

If you're looking for anything luxury, the Hotel Rio Malecon is not for you. Compared to hotels in the United States, this is what I would expect from a place you stay overnight for cheap near the highway. The big plusses are the staff and the location. The staff is very, very nice. The daily maid service is excellent. And the hotel is located within easy walking distance of both old town Puerto Vallarta and the Malecon. The room is perfectly adequate to sleep and shower in. It's not noisy, like I read in some other reviews, unless you're really sensitive to noise. Here's what some people might have issues with: The bed was the firmest bed I have ever slept on. It's a platform bed with a mattress that's beyond firm. Some people might find that uncomfortable. I did not, but it was surprising how firm it was me. All the linens and pillows were worn. Most hotels in the US would have replaced them a while ago. Again, this didn't bother me, but it might bother many. The WiFi barely worked in my room and only worked reliably outside my room's door and in the rest of the hotel's plaza area. I was one of the few Americans staying here. Most of the guests were Mexicans who were also traveling to PV for the holiday. If you're looking for a value choice or don't mind staying in a place that doesn't afford the typical luxuries you might be accustomed to as an American tourist, the Hotel Rio might be a good choice for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top