$46 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2014 Check-out: Aug 15, 2014

Hotel Rio Malecon

3 stars
170 Morelos St. Downtown, Jalisco, Puerto Vallarta, 48300
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
10 reviews
Wonderful spot in downtown Puerto Vallarta

Clean, modern facilities at a bargain rate with an excellent and affordable cafe. See full review

  • Hankdez
  • Feb 15, 2013
great time

My experience was great my girlfriend and i are thinking about staying again this coming year See full review

  • Chulando
  • Apr 5, 2014
Unique, Unconventional, Earth-friendly, Presenting 47 welcoming rooms with and without kitchenette and each with private bathroom, daily maid service, central air conditioning, Cable TV and balcony.
The facilities feature chemical-free pool, WiFi, private Club Room for special events, and COEXIST cafe restaurant and sports bar, an Oasis in historic downtown Vallarta.
Hotel Rio Malecon is located in the city, within walking distance to Los Muertos beach, Cuale Island, the Restaurant Row, the flea market, the Art Galleries, the Boardwalk, the Museums, and all of the best that Puerto Vallarta has to offer.

Hotel Rio Malecon Rooms

Standard Rooms Without Kitchenette
Standard Rooms Without Kitchenette offers one king bed or two double beds with air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, internet access, laundry service, non-smoking rooms, room service and telephone. It also provides daily maid service.
Superior Rooms With Kitchenette
Standard Rooms With Kitchenette offers one king bed or two double beds with air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, internet access, laundry service, non-smoking rooms, room service and telephone. It also provides daily maid service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Rio Malecon also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.6062 -105.2366
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (PVR) is only 5.28 miles away from the hotel.
Area description
Located in downtown, only a few steps away from Los Muertos beach, Cuale island, the art galleries, the most popular bar and clubs in town.

Dining

COEXIST cafe Restaurant Bar
COEXIST cafe Restaurant Bar... Pizza, Pasta, Carpaccio, Baguettes, Seafood, Mexican specialties, and much more. Open daily from 8am to 2am, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (10)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Rio Malecon

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 10
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Rio Malecon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
E2014
NY
Apr 7, 2014

Convenient location

Middle of everything and a block from the water. Room is basic but clean. Cute looking courtyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Rio Malecon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chulando
Salem, OR
Apr 5, 2014

great time

My experience was great my girlfriend and i are thinking about staying again this coming year

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is so closes to you

Review of Hotel Rio Malecon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sollie
colorado
Jan 12, 2014

It is a mexican hotel

First it is a great location for people that want to be in the center of town. NO safes or elavators. Beds are very firm!! If you book a double room You can get a room with one double bed and one sofa bed!!! TAKE NOTICE it is in the small print when you have booked the room!!! they try to save on elcectricity and require you to keep hotel key in a box that activates the electricity in the room Showers are hot with very little water pressure. The area does seem to be very safe!! Just keep in mind that this is not an hotel in the U.S. Most Americans would view this to be a very average place to stay. This place has no parking. so if you are renting a car you might not want to stay here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The board walk is right across the street from the hotel

Review of Hotel Rio Malecon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M S Love
San Francisco
Jan 3, 2014

Good value choice

If you're looking for anything luxury, the Hotel Rio Malecon is not for you. Compared to hotels in the United States, this is what I would expect from a place you stay overnight for cheap near the highway. The big plusses are the staff and the location. The staff is very, very nice. The daily maid service is excellent. And the hotel is located within easy walking distance of both old town Puerto Vallarta and the Malecon. The room is perfectly adequate to sleep and shower in. It's not noisy, like I read in some other reviews, unless you're really sensitive to noise. Here's what some people might have issues with: The bed was the firmest bed I have ever slept on. It's a platform bed with a mattress that's beyond firm. Some people might find that uncomfortable. I did not, but it was surprising how firm it was me. All the linens and pillows were worn. Most hotels in the US would have replaced them a while ago. Again, this didn't bother me, but it might bother many. The WiFi barely worked in my room and only worked reliably outside my room's door and in the rest of the hotel's plaza area. I was one of the few Americans staying here. Most of the guests were Mexicans who were also traveling to PV for the holiday. If you're looking for a value choice or don't mind staying in a place that doesn't afford the typical luxuries you might be accustomed to as an American tourist, the Hotel Rio might be a good choice for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Rio Malecon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JHF32
Montréal
Jan 2, 2014

Good Value

The hotel is convientely located and clean. The rooms are well kept and a fair size. It was very quiet. The café is nice and the terrace and pool are small but nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to lunch at Coco's Place and dine at La Vista.

Review of Hotel Rio Malecon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hankdez
Chicago
Feb 15, 2013

Wonderful spot in downtown Puerto Vallarta

Clean, modern facilities at a bargain rate with an excellent and affordable cafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Rio Malecon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
One night in DFW
Madison, WI, USA
Feb 1, 2013

Location/Location/Location

The review title says it all! Hotel Rio Malecon is located in the heart of the Old Town district of PVR. A short walk to the Zona Romantica and you are able to choose from great dining, shopping and entertainment/nightlife options. The staff are extremely friendly and went out of their way to make my stay the best it could be. The cafe on site had many delicious options for all meals. This hotel is well worth the price. I will stay here again on a future vacation in PVR!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Rio Malecon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
spuddo
yorkshire
Jan 24, 2013

very good all round

Good value for your money staff very helpful location could not be any better would probably use hotel again on return overall 9 out of 10

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

give it a try

Review of Hotel Rio Malecon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dot in Mexico
Ireland
Jan 15, 2013

Excellent, safe location

Travelling on my own on a budget I took a room with a kitchenette so I could self-cater. Very comfortable king size bed, basic but good bathroom - the walls in the bedroom seemed to have been recently replastered and weren't painted, which wasn't a problem, but left the whole place looking a tad unfinished. A patio door leading out onto the first floor terrace above the CoExist restaurant, part of the Hotel, overlooked El Mercado de las Artesanas. View to the left of the mountains and to the right of the Ocean, minutes walk away. Perfect location for me: within ten minutes of Playa de los Muertos, yards to the Malecon, taxi rank outside (make sure you know what they are going to charge before you get in and, if you know it's too much, tell them!). The only negative was the road noise: rattling vehicles on cobbles; and the music from the bar/restaurant at night. I always have earplugs with me but if you didn't.... Would I go back? For location alone, yes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Check out the taxi fares with your hotel before you take a taxi and don't be afraid to haggle

Review of Hotel Rio Malecon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gypsy traveler
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Feb 10, 2012

pv trip

room was very clean front staff were very helpful and friendly nice restaurant on property located by noisy street but windows and doors blocked out noise close to everything could walk anywhere good value for your money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

any restaurant along malecon (boardwalk) was good for dinner and watching sunset

Back to menu Return to top