$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2015 Check-out: Aug 6, 2015

Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

2 stars
View map of C. Francisca Rodriguez #168 Colonia Emiliano Zapata, ., Puerto Vallarta, 48380

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
78 reviews
Secret is out

I love Mercurio and had planned to stay again, sadly the secret is out about this awesome hotel and... See full review

  • JustAdam
  • Jan 16, 2015
Had a great overall experience

The location is absolutely fantastic, only one short block to the pier, beach, restaurants,... See full review

  • Philip J.
  • Jan 12, 2015
Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel, a 28-room property in the heart of the Romantic Zone, attends to the needs of its gay and lesbian travelers. The haven boasts rustic wood furniture, tasteful artwork and welcome conveniences such as free safe-sex products at bedside tables. An outdoor pool and bar keep the fun going all day long.
Location
Hotel Mercurio – A  Gay-Friendly Hotel calls the Romantic Zone, the gay neighborhood in Puerto Vallarta home. There, visitors are struck by the fishing-village ambiance and the variety of bars, clubs and restaurants.
Dining
Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel invites visitors to a breakfast buffet, which is served poolside every morning. Later, small groups visit the poolside bar for fresh cocktails.
Rooms
Rooms at Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel charm with rustic wood furniture, floral comforters and coordinating landscape artwork. All 28 rooms come with air-conditioning, refrigerators, cable TV, private bathrooms and full, queen or king-size beds. One amenity keeps the guests' health in mind: free safe-sex products at their bedside. Tile floors keep feet cool after a day at the beach or pool.
Property features
Thanks to free towel service, patrons have a reason to linger at the beach or pool, which is open 24 hours. When downtime turns to exploration time, they can try the local pastimes, whether it's whale-watching or water sports.
Highlights
  • Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel open to guests 18 and older
  • 28 air-conditioned rooms with refrigerators and cable TV
  • In the heart of the Romantic Zone, a center for nightlife and restaurants for the gay community
  • Free safe-sex products at guests' bedside
  • Outdoor pool and bar
Nearby attractions
  • Malecon (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.6 mi/9.1km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel Rooms

Double Room includes Breakfast
Double Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.
King Room includes Breakfast
King Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.
Single Room includes Breakfast
Single Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 78
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jun 16, 2009

Can't Beat the Location

Mercurio was exactly what I was expecting. A small, relatively inexpensive hotel. A good choice for my first trip to PV. Yes, a coat of paint and some updating would do wonders, but that was easy enough to overlook. The location was perfect. Short 10-min walk to the gay beach. Nearly all bars and restaurants within safe walking distance. About 6 blocks or so, give or take. Walked home on many occasions late at night and never felt threatened. The 2 things I did not like was that there was something wrong with the pool water. Like it needed a new filter. Left it a little murky. And there was one staff member who seemed very unhappy. Fortunately my dealings with him were very limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Apache's is right around the corner. A great way to kick off the evening. Great appetizers. Lots of foot traffic on Olas Altas.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Belgo Traveler
Business
Walnut Creek, California
Nov 12, 2012

Convenient for the gay traveler

While this hotel has its downsides, I keep coming back for the following reasons: (1) helpful, friendly staff, (2) convenient location about 6 blocks in either direction to the gay beach, the island, the malecon, and most gay bars, and (3) unlike most Mexican hotels, this hotel will let you bring guests to your room as long as they leave a government ID. Other pluses include modern A/C units which work well, a flat-screen TV with half a dozen English-language channels (no channel guide in the room though, and I didn't find a news channel), delicious and varied hot breakfasts, and a fridge in the room. Many of the negatives relate to the bathroom. The sink has no hot water, so I had to shave with cold. Because the shower taps are on the opposite side of the shower door, you have to suffer with a spray of cold water until the water gets hot. It's a tight squeeze getting out of the shower--you have to kind of go out sideways, and I whacked my knee on the toilet paper dispenser once. Also, there's no elevator, although the staff will thankfully help you with your luggage, especially nice if you're on the 3rd floor. I guess that the disadvantages are worth putting up with given the significant advantages this place has for the gay traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

For a real treat, Puerto Vallarta has at least two great dining experiences I love: Cafe des Artistes, and the Vista Grille.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LuvPV
Business
Minneapolis
Sep 24, 2013

Sweet spot

I love Mercurio's lobby, pool, breakfast, happy hour, guests and staff. The rooms are spartan but clean, sorta like dorm rooms. They are also inconsistent - one stay I got a large second floor room facing the street full of sunlight, another time I got a small dark first floor room facing the pool. You can expect a fun friendly stay, just don't count on luxe bedrooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk away is Basilio Badillo, a street lined with great restaurants.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cody Haven
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 22, 2013

My Go To Hotel

My friends and I always stay here, the staff is great, the location is great, and the pool and bar are great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mexicano wanna be
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Jul 12, 2009

Great Location!

A convenient location with an exceptionally accommodating staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mexicano wanna be
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Oct 14, 2009

Mercuro Otra Vez

This was our third time at Mercurio, and it's a great value for the open-minded traveller. The staff was especially friendly and helpful this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many excellent dining choices in Vallarta, it's silly to be influenced by someone who solicits you as as customer. Go where you like.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 7, 2007

Hotel Mercurio was a nice ...

Hotel Mercurio was a nice little hotel right in the center of everything. The staff was very friendly and were able to ask any question one had. Some of the rooms still have a mattress on top of a concrete slab which makes the bed VERY hard and the room I occupied did not have any type of dresser to put your clothes in and then not enough hangers to hang everything up that I brought along. If you happen to go in the low season, it is a good deal, but I would not pay over $100 a night in the high season as there are places right on the beach that you can get for that price or even rent your own condo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita Falls, *
Nov 3, 2008

nice place close to the beach

The hotel was nice enough and close to all the local bars, night clubs, shopping and eateries. The rooms were clean daily and having beach towels available was a huge plus. The morning breakfast was usually very good with a nice variety of choices. The hotel is small enough that all the guests get a chance to socialize around the nicely tiled pool and enjoy happy hour drinks. The only criticism is I wish the hotel could have given some literature about things to avoid and things to do while in PV. My personal advice to travelers is to skip the time share presentations offered by almost every local resident, vendor and resort in the city and to avoid the beach at night as tourists are not welcome by the locals during the late night hours. Both were terrible experiences. All in all the Mercurio was a great place to stay for the money and the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

be careful of the taco stands. Ask the Hotel staff to suggest places to eat. Apaches was good as well as the Brazilian BBQ and teh Riverside Cafe.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
phbjr
Business
San Francisco, California
Jun 27, 2012

Perfect Location & Great Staff!!

This was my first visit to Mexico. My roommate has been several times and suggested the Romantica Zone. It's the older part of town, historic, walkable, close to the beach, safe, lots of restuarants and bars. After a month of trying to figure out which hotel to stay at we decided on the Hotel Mercurio. This was the best decision ever! From the moment we checked in the staff was amazing! They make you feel like you're are returning family. The rooms are clean, comfortable, AC works great and the TV selection is quite extensive. It was nice to be able to relax in a cool room and watch tv at night (English and Spanish). The breakfast in the morning is wonderful. There is a great selection and the food is abundant. They have a pool to cool off in and the daily happy hour at the pool bar brings in some great local people. All in all it was a great experience. We are already planning our next visit this fall! Thank you all at the Mercurio for a memorable vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of bars within a 5-10 minute walk.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 7, 2007

Excellent Staff

Hotel Mercurio is a great place to stay in Puerto Vallarta. It is extremely close to the beach and the hotel staff is very accommodating and friendly. If you are traveling alone or with friends this is an excellent choice and a great value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top