$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 17, 2014 Check-out: Oct 19, 2014

Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

2 stars
C. Francisca Rodriguez #168 Colonia Emiliano Zapata, ., Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
75 reviews
Puerto Vallarta's Little Secret

I really enjoyed my stay at the Mercurio Hotel. The rooms are clean with a fridge. The bed is... See full review

  • San Francisco Juacho
  • Sep 3, 2014
Perfect hotel for quick getaway

I've been here many times now. It's perfect location to walk to beaches and bars, the pool and bar... See full review

  • Cody Haven
  • May 29, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel open to guests 18 and older
Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel, a 28-room property in the heart of the Romantic Zone, attends to the needs of its gay and lesbian travelers. The haven boasts rustic wood furniture, tasteful artwork and welcome conveniences such as free safe-sex products at bedside tables. An outdoor pool and bar keep the fun going all day long.
Highlights
  • Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel open to guests 18 and older
  • 28 air-conditioned rooms with refrigerators and cable TV
  • In the heart of the Romantic Zone, a center for nightlife and restaurants for the gay community
  • Free safe-sex products at guests' bedside
  • Outdoor pool and bar
Location
Hotel Mercurio – A  Gay-Friendly Hotel calls the Romantic Zone, the gay neighborhood in Puerto Vallarta home. There, visitors are struck by the fishing-village ambiance and the variety of bars, clubs and restaurants.
Rooms
Rooms at Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel charm with rustic wood furniture, floral comforters and coordinating landscape artwork. All 28 rooms come with air-conditioning, refrigerators, cable TV, private bathrooms and full, queen or king-size beds. One amenity keeps the guests' health in mind: free safe-sex products at their bedside. Tile floors keep feet cool after a day at the beach or pool.
Features
Thanks to free towel service, patrons have a reason to linger at the beach or pool, which is open 24 hours. When downtime turns to exploration time, they can try the local pastimes, whether it's whale-watching or water sports.
Dining
Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel invites visitors to a breakfast buffet, which is served poolside every morning. Later, small groups visit the poolside bar for fresh cocktails.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.6 mi/9.1km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center

Hotel Map

20.6009 -105.237
Area served
Puerto Vallarta
Nearby airports
(PVR) Puerto Vallarta/Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport
Area description
Located on a quiet street, yet just around the corner from the clubs, bars, galleries shopping and restaurants to be found in the Gay-popular Zona Romantica neighborhood of Puerto Vallarta

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel Rooms

Double Room includes Breakfast
Double Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.
King Room includes Breakfast
King Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.
Single Room includes Breakfast
Single Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
phbjr
San Francisco, California
Jun 27, 2012

Perfect Location & Great Staff!!

This was my first visit to Mexico. My roommate has been several times and suggested the Romantica Zone. It's the older part of town, historic, walkable, close to the beach, safe, lots of restuarants and bars. After a month of trying to figure out which hotel to stay at we decided on the Hotel Mercurio. This was the best decision ever! From the moment we checked in the staff was amazing! They make you feel like you're are returning family. The rooms are clean, comfortable, AC works great and the TV selection is quite extensive. It was nice to be able to relax in a cool room and watch tv at night (English and Spanish). The breakfast in the morning is wonderful. There is a great selection and the food is abundant. They have a pool to cool off in and the daily happy hour at the pool bar brings in some great local people. All in all it was a great experience. We are already planning our next visit this fall! Thank you all at the Mercurio for a memorable vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of bars within a 5-10 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tucson two
Tucson, AZ
Mar 28, 2010

Second stay and it just gets better

It's more of a bed and breakfast than a hotel, though the rooms are hotel-type. You get to know everyone staying there over the great breakfast (included in the room charge) by the pool. Then you can congregate in the evenings over happy hour, again by the pool. The staff is very accomodating and will recommend or steer clear from restaurants, etc. HVAC in the rooms is unbeatable even in the hottest weather. Rooms are quiet and while the hotel is older, the staff is constantly keeping it clean. This trip a fresh coat of paint was being applied (with no interruptions to guests) and it looks even better. A great place to stay in gay PV!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street to the left on the corner is a second-story restaurant with great food and great entertainment plus a good place to sit and watch PV go by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Nov 12, 2008

The perfect small hotel

I travel all over the world for business and stay in many upscale hotels, but this is perhaps one of my favorite hotels in general. It is small and extremely pleasant....the staff can not do enough for you....towels for the beach...restaurant and bar recommendations, etc. Each year that we go back there are improvements to the property. This year flat screen TVs. It is in the old section of town and very quaint and scenic. Only a couple of blocks from the beach and many restaurants and bars. A true pleasure for a relaxing vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kundo
san jose ca
Oct 17, 2010

hotel mercurio

all the enployer where axelent people also the guy who works at night his name is [...] ver repedtable person and tha ladys workers the housekepers exelent person and also those guys in the morning at front desk loby and the beakfast very good food and next time i will going back to pvr i will stay at the mercurio better than another gay hotel i will give a lot of recomedation to all my friends and people tank you so much for the good service tanks agaiend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

and it was close to gay area and zona romatica

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palm Springs, CA
Sep 22, 2007

First time but not the last

Hotel Mercurio in Puerto Vallarta was a great value (September) and a good choice for a man traveling alone as I was. Not only did I never feel alone, unless I wanted to be, the staff of the hotel was extremely welcoming and friendly. They provided a buffet breakfast every morning around the pool area. This was a perfect time to socialize with other guests, or just to wake up slowly. Hotel Mercurio also provided 24-hr. access to a free computer terminal for internet access, and phones for making local as well as international calls for free. The only drawback I found was that the water pressure in my shower was inadequate, and it took about 10 minutes for the how water to reach it. This is a minor thing; my overall experience was excellent. Oh, and the location - perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fajita Republic, Piazetta, Las Palapas, Cafe Las Ollas, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Aug 11, 2007

Great staff, great atmosphere

I recently stayed at this hotel and had a great time. The staff is super friendly and the location is great. The pool bar, and bartender are great. Breakfast was served by the pool daily and it was very tasty. This is so close to the beach, cafes and restaurants. I can't wait to go back for more. Viva Mercurio!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There were plenty of bars and lounges on both sides of the hotel. One set was right around the corner and a little bit up the hill. The other set was about 6 blocks away and there were many options. All along the way there were great places for dinner and shopping. You are amongst the locals and that felt great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
san jose california
Jun 4, 2011

hotel mercurio five stars for me

i have a nice stayed at the hotel the enplyes and the manager and all the enplyes exelent and respectfuul persons and also the housecleaning people too

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cody Haven
San Francisco, CA
May 29, 2014

Perfect hotel for quick getaway

I've been here many times now. It's perfect location to walk to beaches and bars, the pool and bar at the hotel are great as well. All the staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make you feel at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 15, 2010

Friendly and Clean

Thank you. I enjoyed my stay. Most of the staff is very helpfull. [...] was awesome and helped with many travel activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
San Francisco Juacho
San Francisco, California
Sep 3, 2014

Puerto Vallarta's Little Secret

I really enjoyed my stay at the Mercurio Hotel. The rooms are clean with a fridge. The bed is firmed and big with several pillows. I slept very well every night. The staff is friendly and made feel like home. Every morning I had a delicious breakfast that included a different stew every day and eggs, yogurt, fruit salad, cereal, milk, Mexican pastries, and coffee. The hotel is in the perfect location with a short distance to restaurants, gay bars and the beach. I can't wait to return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice gay bars very close by the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search