$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

2 stars
View map of C. Francisca Rodriguez #168 Colonia Emiliano Zapata, ., Puerto Vallarta, 48380

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John D.
Business
N/A
Dec 22, 2014

Simple but effective!

Overall I had a great stay at this hotel! The heated pool was an unexpected pleasure, and was definitely taken advantage of for some night swimming! The staff were phenomenal, especially Jorge, the pool bar's tender. He's friend, hilarious, and completely attentive to his guests. It's within walking distance from EVERYTHING. Whatever you want to do that day, you can be there in less than 10 minutes be it the beach, an Asian fusion restaurant, a bar, a fancy nightclub, whatever! However there were some minor inconveniences: I had to ask for the hot water to be turned on to my room, and fan required looking at because it seemed to be coming loose from the ceiling box. The room was a little small for my tastes, but the shower was large and nicely tiled. The A/C and fan kept the room cool, comfortable, and fresh. I'd recommend this location to anyone that wants great value and a fun atmosphere for their gaycation in PV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Archie's Wok, amazing asian cuisine is less than a block from the hotel, headed straight towards the sailboat pier.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John D.
Business
Del Valle
Jan 20, 2015

Great budget hotel choice

If you're looking for a ton of in-room amenities and 5-star comfort, Hotel Mercurio is not the place for you. But if you're budget minded, appreciate a great staff, and can make do without some creature comforts, this is THE place for the LGBT traveler in PV. The staff is amazing (especially Jorge), the Happy Hours are cheap, with great pours and inviting company, and the "Beer, Burgers, and Boys" special happy hour (Sundays only) are a fantastic time. The location is phenomenal, positioned at the center of PV's "gayborhood", less than a block from the beach, and less than a 10 minute walk to some of PV's most popular gay beaches and nightlife. I've booked here again for PV Pride in May, and can't wait to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ricky p.
Business
San Francisco
Jan 15, 2015

Vacation

Central located to beach ,dining ,nightlife and shopping . The staff was excellent , they meet al expectations I would recommend this place to all, I plan on staying there next trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
elkora
Business
yes i live in san jose california
Mar 22, 2011

exelent

the personal and the workers and enplyes nices persons and also the food everything was 100%exelent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
san jose california
Jun 4, 2011

hotel mercurio five stars for me

i have a nice stayed at the hotel the enplyes and the manager and all the enplyes exelent and respectfuul persons and also the housecleaning people too

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JFSJV
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Nov 8, 2011

Another great experience

We visited Puerto Vallarta 4 years ago, stayed at Hotel Mercurio, and were very pleased. It hasn't changed a bit. The welcome is warm, staff is helpful and efficient, and the location in the Romantic Zone is perfect! The rooms, while not fancy, are quite comfortable. The air conditioning worked well and was great to come "home" to each day, as it was 95 degrees and equal humidity outside. Very hot for early November. Breakfast buffet was ample and served until 10:30AM. You do not have to be Gay to stay there, but most guests are, as is much of the Romantic Zone. Reasonable rates make this an unbeatable value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Botanic Gardens, about 45 minutes by city bus to the South. A jungle setting with many trails, cultivated gardens, a river, excellent restaurant, and gift shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ungeh
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 26, 2012

Loved it!

We were a little worried after reading some of the negative reviews, but we found none of them to be true. The hotel is not super fancy, but it is clean, a great value, small enough to feel safe and friendly, but big enough to have everything we wanted. The staff surprised us at every turn. We asked for directions and the cute boy at the front desk pulled up google earth and walked us through a confusing part, to make sure we didn't get lost. B/c of their great advice and directions, we took the public bus around for far less than cabs. The breakfast buffet was included, but we expected to not eat there b/c I am a vegetarian and my partner is gluten free. The breakfast was awesome! We ate there every day and on some days it was my favorite meal. Housekeeping was also amazing, and left towel sculptures, sometimes with freshly picked flowers on them. This hotel is really well run. Everyone is friendly, and we had a great time. Also, we had a fan, air conditioner, cable TV, a mini fridge, and some shelves for our clothing. I felt lucky to have chosen this place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tommyd66
Business
Amarillo, TX, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Greatest Gay Hotel in Vallarta

Well, return guests are the biggest indicator of a great place to stay. This was my third stay at Mercurio. While there, I encountered other guests I have met in the past. I am a single traveler and I can assure you, you will have many friends at Mercurio very quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sosa21
Business
Montgomery, IL.
Jul 3, 2012

Great time and place

Hotel was great and clean. Staff were super nice and helpful loved it i will go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
phbjr
Business
San Francisco, California
Jun 27, 2012

Perfect Location & Great Staff!!

This was my first visit to Mexico. My roommate has been several times and suggested the Romantica Zone. It's the older part of town, historic, walkable, close to the beach, safe, lots of restuarants and bars. After a month of trying to figure out which hotel to stay at we decided on the Hotel Mercurio. This was the best decision ever! From the moment we checked in the staff was amazing! They make you feel like you're are returning family. The rooms are clean, comfortable, AC works great and the TV selection is quite extensive. It was nice to be able to relax in a cool room and watch tv at night (English and Spanish). The breakfast in the morning is wonderful. There is a great selection and the food is abundant. They have a pool to cool off in and the daily happy hour at the pool bar brings in some great local people. All in all it was a great experience. We are already planning our next visit this fall! Thank you all at the Mercurio for a memorable vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of bars within a 5-10 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top