$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2015 Check-out: Apr 25, 2015

Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

2 stars
View map of C. Francisca Rodriguez #168 Colonia Emiliano Zapata, ., Puerto Vallarta, 48380

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rich of Boca
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Mar 31, 2014

Centrally Located Hotel

Mercurio is a gay friendly hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone. Its close to the beach, shopping, restaurants and bars. It is a great value for the modest price, but it is not the Ritz Carlton. The hotel is dated, but its price, location and staff make up for that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 20, 2011

Basic hotel, but great location & staff

This was my fifth time at the Mercurio and it won't be my last, unless for some reason I never make it back to Puerto Vallarta. While the Mercurio is certainly nothing fancy, it is comfortable and has a lot going for it: central location (10 minute walk to the gay beach, 10 minutes or less to many of the gay clubs), nice staff, and the pool area that's set up to facilitate mingling between guests over breakfast or afternoon/evening cocktails.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two of my favorite nearby Mexican restaurants are two blocks away from the Mercurio. Cafe de Olla has great, modestly priced Mexican food. (Don't miss the tortilla soup here.) Next door is a much more modest place called Tacos Panchos where you can literally get a delicious taco al pastore for 90 pesos (currently about 75 cents) or many other varieties for similar low prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bling
Business
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Nov 2, 2011

Exceedingly friendly, comfortable environment

The staff could not have been more helpful. We appreciated world-class service for far less money than we might have spent elsewhere. We will long remember Alex, Gabriel, Isaac, Joey, and Jorge by name because of very pleasant, daily interaction and their constant efforts to make us feel welcome. We appreciated the efforts of the ebullient and inventive cook who prepared such comprehensive breakfasts. Ordinarily I never expect to find a significant gluten-free breakfast when dining out. At the Hotel Mercurio, I was able to select items for a full breakfast every day. That's a major plus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swimstud
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Nov 24, 2011

Friendliest Gay Hotel

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Best spot for Pool Side Happy Hour with well-made cheap drinks. I can't wait for my next visit :-).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out some of the resaurants and shops right next to the hotel. Some hidden gems.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Locharita
Business
Oklahoma
Aug 26, 2012

Will be back

Staff are very warm, welcoming, and attend to questions/requests promptly. Breakfast is good. One word of caution. If staying in a single room, these are usually located on the first floor which is the same level as the pool/bar. Bar opens at 3 and the music cranks up making a siesta impossible. Rooms on 2nd or 3rd floor are preferred. Plan to stay there on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't tip cab drivers...its not the custom in Mexico. Only tip if they handle or luggage or do something beyond just drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Belgo Traveler
Business
Walnut Creek, California
Nov 12, 2012

Convenient for the gay traveler

While this hotel has its downsides, I keep coming back for the following reasons: (1) helpful, friendly staff, (2) convenient location about 6 blocks in either direction to the gay beach, the island, the malecon, and most gay bars, and (3) unlike most Mexican hotels, this hotel will let you bring guests to your room as long as they leave a government ID. Other pluses include modern A/C units which work well, a flat-screen TV with half a dozen English-language channels (no channel guide in the room though, and I didn't find a news channel), delicious and varied hot breakfasts, and a fridge in the room. Many of the negatives relate to the bathroom. The sink has no hot water, so I had to shave with cold. Because the shower taps are on the opposite side of the shower door, you have to suffer with a spray of cold water until the water gets hot. It's a tight squeeze getting out of the shower--you have to kind of go out sideways, and I whacked my knee on the toilet paper dispenser once. Also, there's no elevator, although the staff will thankfully help you with your luggage, especially nice if you're on the 3rd floor. I guess that the disadvantages are worth putting up with given the significant advantages this place has for the gay traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

For a real treat, Puerto Vallarta has at least two great dining experiences I love: Cafe des Artistes, and the Vista Grille.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roger frequent traveler
Business
Carneys Point, NJ
Mar 14, 2013

Great Gay Destination

I have stayed at this hotel several times. I always stay at this hotel because : 1) staff is friendly 2) always meet new people to hang out with 3) Great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the " rythem of the night" tour. Most definatly worth it when your in Puerto Villarta.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LuvPV
Business
Minneapolis
Sep 24, 2013

Sweet spot

I love Mercurio's lobby, pool, breakfast, happy hour, guests and staff. The rooms are spartan but clean, sorta like dorm rooms. They are also inconsistent - one stay I got a large second floor room facing the street full of sunlight, another time I got a small dark first floor room facing the pool. You can expect a fun friendly stay, just don't count on luxe bedrooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk away is Basilio Badillo, a street lined with great restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cody Haven
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 22, 2013

My Go To Hotel

My friends and I always stay here, the staff is great, the location is great, and the pool and bar are great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kicksmpls
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 23, 2013

Friendly hotel!

Great stay at Mercurio! The staff is wonderful and very attentive. The rooms are a little dated but fine if you're barely spending time in them. Overall it was a good stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top