$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

2 stars
C. Francisca Rodriguez #168 Colonia Emiliano Zapata, ., Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
114 reviews
Perfect hotel for quick getaway

I've been here many times now. It's perfect location to walk to beaches and bars, the pool and bar... See full review

  • Cody Haven
  • May 29, 2014
Centrally Located Hotel

Mercurio is a gay friendly hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone. Its close to the beach,... See full review

  • Rich of Boca
  • Mar 31, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel open to guests 18 and older
Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel, a 28-room property in the heart of the Romantic Zone, attends to the needs of its gay and lesbian travelers. The haven boasts rustic wood furniture, tasteful artwork and welcome conveniences such as free safe-sex products at bedside tables. An outdoor pool and bar keep the fun going all day long.
Highlights
  • Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel open to guests 18 and older
  • 28 air-conditioned rooms with refrigerators and cable TV
  • In the heart of the Romantic Zone, a center for nightlife and restaurants for the gay community
  • Free safe-sex products at guests' bedside
  • Outdoor pool and bar
Location
Hotel Mercurio – A  Gay-Friendly Hotel calls the Romantic Zone, the gay neighborhood in Puerto Vallarta home. There, visitors are struck by the fishing-village ambiance and the variety of bars, clubs and restaurants.
Rooms
Rooms at Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel charm with rustic wood furniture, floral comforters and coordinating landscape artwork. All 28 rooms come with air-conditioning, refrigerators, cable TV, private bathrooms and full, queen or king-size beds. One amenity keeps the guests' health in mind: free safe-sex products at their bedside. Tile floors keep feet cool after a day at the beach or pool.
Features
Thanks to free towel service, patrons have a reason to linger at the beach or pool, which is open 24 hours. When downtime turns to exploration time, they can try the local pastimes, whether it's whale-watching or water sports.
Dining
Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel invites visitors to a breakfast buffet, which is served poolside every morning. Later, small groups visit the poolside bar for fresh cocktails.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.6 mi/9.1km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center

Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel Rooms

Double Room includes Breakfast
Double Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.
King Room includes Breakfast
King Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.
Single Room includes Breakfast
Single Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.6009 -105.237
Area served
Puerto Vallarta
Nearby airports
(PVR) Puerto Vallarta/Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport
Area description
Located on a quiet street, yet just around the corner from the clubs, bars, galleries shopping and restaurants to be found in the Gay-popular Zona Romantica neighborhood of Puerto Vallarta

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (114)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 114
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
5
Value:
4.6

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palm Springs, CA
Sep 22, 2007

First time but not the last

Hotel Mercurio in Puerto Vallarta was a great value (September) and a good choice for a man traveling alone as I was. Not only did I never feel alone, unless I wanted to be, the staff of the hotel was extremely welcoming and friendly. They provided a buffet breakfast every morning around the pool area. This was a perfect time to socialize with other guests, or just to wake up slowly. Hotel Mercurio also provided 24-hr. access to a free computer terminal for internet access, and phones for making local as well as international calls for free. The only drawback I found was that the water pressure in my shower was inadequate, and it took about 10 minutes for the how water to reach it. This is a minor thing; my overall experience was excellent. Oh, and the location - perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fajita Republic, Piazetta, Las Palapas, Cafe Las Ollas, etc.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 15, 2010

Friendly and Clean

Thank you. I enjoyed my stay. Most of the staff is very helpfull. [...] was awesome and helped with many travel activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Longview
Dec 7, 2008

Great Value

The staff were very friendly and always greeted you with a smile. My only negative comment was the waterfall at the pool was only turned on for a brief time one evening. When the bartender turned it off everyone at the pool asked why and he said it was too noisy. The location could not have been better. I walked to the beach and the best restaurants which were only blocks away. The only cab I took was to and from the airport. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was a comfortable walk away.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kundo
san jose ca
Jun 6, 2010

hotel mercurio

i meet a lot of friend and also all the personal was grait and the rooms was exelent and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

i wish i will come back soon

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Oct 24, 2008

Staff is very friendly and helpful

I like the hotel,it's old but its very clean, staff is very friendly and helpful plus the breakfast buffet is great. The price of the hotel is cheap but you have a 5 star service. I will stay to this hotel next time and I will definitely recommend this to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bars and dining areas are with in the block.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kundo
san jose ca
Oct 17, 2010

hotel mercurio

all the enployer where axelent people also the guy who works at night his name is [...] ver repedtable person and tha ladys workers the housekepers exelent person and also those guys in the morning at front desk loby and the beakfast very good food and next time i will going back to pvr i will stay at the mercurio better than another gay hotel i will give a lot of recomedation to all my friends and people tank you so much for the good service tanks agaiend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

and it was close to gay area and zona romatica

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palm Springs, CA
Sep 22, 2007

First time but not the last

Hotel Mercurio in Puerto Vallarta was a great value (September) and a good choice for a man traveling alone as I was. Not only did I never feel alone, unless I wanted to be, the staff of the hotel was extremely welcoming and friendly. They provided a buffet breakfast every morning around the pool area. This was a perfect time to socialize with other guests, or just to wake up slowly. Hotel Mercurio also provided 24-hr. access to a free computer terminal for internet access, and phones for making local as well as international calls for free. The only drawback I found was that the water pressure in my shower was inadequate, and it took about 10 minutes for the how water to reach it. This is a minor thing; my overall experience was excellent. Oh, and the location - perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fajita Republic, Piazetta, Las Palapas, Cafe Las Ollas, etc.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 15, 2010

Friendly and Clean

Thank you. I enjoyed my stay. Most of the staff is very helpfull. [...] was awesome and helped with many travel activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newark, NJ
May 3, 2008

excellent service

This is one of the best small hotels where every guest is treated like family. Very knowledgable and friendly staff. This is my second stay here and would highly recommend this hotel to all my friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

best restaurants, beaches and clubs whitin a few blocks!

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Longview
Dec 7, 2008

Great Value

The staff were very friendly and always greeted you with a smile. My only negative comment was the waterfall at the pool was only turned on for a brief time one evening. When the bartender turned it off everyone at the pool asked why and he said it was too noisy. The location could not have been better. I walked to the beach and the best restaurants which were only blocks away. The only cab I took was to and from the airport. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was a comfortable walk away.

Back to menu Return to top