$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 10, 2015

Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

2 stars
C. Francisca Rodriguez #168 Colonia Emiliano Zapata, ., Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
83 reviews
Secret is out

I love Mercurio and had planned to stay again, sadly the secret is out about this awesome hotel and... See full review

  • JustAdam
  • Jan 16, 2015
Had a great overall experience

The location is absolutely fantastic, only one short block to the pier, beach, restaurants,... See full review

  • Philip J.
  • Jan 12, 2015
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel open to guests 18 and older
Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel, a 28-room property in the heart of the Romantic Zone, attends to the needs of its gay and lesbian travelers. The haven boasts rustic wood furniture, tasteful artwork and welcome conveniences such as free safe-sex products at bedside tables. An outdoor pool and bar keep the fun going all day long.
Highlights
  • Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel open to guests 18 and older
  • 28 air-conditioned rooms with refrigerators and cable TV
  • In the heart of the Romantic Zone, a center for nightlife and restaurants for the gay community
  • Free safe-sex products at guests' bedside
  • Outdoor pool and bar
Location
Hotel Mercurio – A  Gay-Friendly Hotel calls the Romantic Zone, the gay neighborhood in Puerto Vallarta home. There, visitors are struck by the fishing-village ambiance and the variety of bars, clubs and restaurants.
Rooms
Rooms at Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel charm with rustic wood furniture, floral comforters and coordinating landscape artwork. All 28 rooms come with air-conditioning, refrigerators, cable TV, private bathrooms and full, queen or king-size beds. One amenity keeps the guests' health in mind: free safe-sex products at their bedside. Tile floors keep feet cool after a day at the beach or pool.
Features
Thanks to free towel service, patrons have a reason to linger at the beach or pool, which is open 24 hours. When downtime turns to exploration time, they can try the local pastimes, whether it's whale-watching or water sports.
Dining
Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel invites visitors to a breakfast buffet, which is served poolside every morning. Later, small groups visit the poolside bar for fresh cocktails.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.6 mi/9.1km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel Rooms

Double Room includes Breakfast
Double Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.
King Room includes Breakfast
King Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.
Single Room includes Breakfast
Single Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 83
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
phbjr
Business
San Francisco, California
Jun 27, 2012

Perfect Location & Great Staff!!

This was my first visit to Mexico. My roommate has been several times and suggested the Romantica Zone. It's the older part of town, historic, walkable, close to the beach, safe, lots of restuarants and bars. After a month of trying to figure out which hotel to stay at we decided on the Hotel Mercurio. This was the best decision ever! From the moment we checked in the staff was amazing! They make you feel like you're are returning family. The rooms are clean, comfortable, AC works great and the TV selection is quite extensive. It was nice to be able to relax in a cool room and watch tv at night (English and Spanish). The breakfast in the morning is wonderful. There is a great selection and the food is abundant. They have a pool to cool off in and the daily happy hour at the pool bar brings in some great local people. All in all it was a great experience. We are already planning our next visit this fall! Thank you all at the Mercurio for a memorable vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of bars within a 5-10 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 7, 2007

Excellent Staff

Hotel Mercurio is a great place to stay in Puerto Vallarta. It is extremely close to the beach and the hotel staff is very accommodating and friendly. If you are traveling alone or with friends this is an excellent choice and a great value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 11, 2007

Great staff, great atmosphere

I recently stayed at this hotel and had a great time. The staff is super friendly and the location is great. The pool bar, and bartender are great. Breakfast was served by the pool daily and it was very tasty. This is so close to the beach, cafes and restaurants. I can't wait to go back for more. Viva Mercurio!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There were plenty of bars and lounges on both sides of the hotel. One set was right around the corner and a little bit up the hill. The other set was about 6 blocks away and there were many options. All along the way there were great places for dinner and shopping. You are amongst the locals and that felt great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 15, 2007

very friendly hotel

the hotel had very helpful and friendly staff the free breakfast was very good the hotel med my needs very well good a/c in rooms cab;e tv worked well very friendly guests. hotel supported fun atmosphere pool, though small, was clean and well kept only problem was no phone in rooms, though common cell phone with free local and long distance calls was a great bargain overall a very good deal for the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

small restaurant acroos from hotel was cheap and food good. the breakfast should not be missed, and was big enough to last all day through lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
One night in DFW
Business
Milwaukee, WI
May 10, 2007

Feels Like Home

The Hotel Mercurio once again exceeded my expectations. This was my second stay at Hotel Mercurio and I was just as impressed as I was following my first stay. Hotel Mercurio staff are excellent. The staff are extremely friendly and courteous. Hotel Mercurio has a great location only a short walk to many dining and shopping areas as well as some of the great nightlife PVR has to offer. I will definetly be back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Belgo Traveler
Business
Walnut Creek, California
Nov 12, 2012

Convenient for the gay traveler

While this hotel has its downsides, I keep coming back for the following reasons: (1) helpful, friendly staff, (2) convenient location about 6 blocks in either direction to the gay beach, the island, the malecon, and most gay bars, and (3) unlike most Mexican hotels, this hotel will let you bring guests to your room as long as they leave a government ID. Other pluses include modern A/C units which work well, a flat-screen TV with half a dozen English-language channels (no channel guide in the room though, and I didn't find a news channel), delicious and varied hot breakfasts, and a fridge in the room. Many of the negatives relate to the bathroom. The sink has no hot water, so I had to shave with cold. Because the shower taps are on the opposite side of the shower door, you have to suffer with a spray of cold water until the water gets hot. It's a tight squeeze getting out of the shower--you have to kind of go out sideways, and I whacked my knee on the toilet paper dispenser once. Also, there's no elevator, although the staff will thankfully help you with your luggage, especially nice if you're on the 3rd floor. I guess that the disadvantages are worth putting up with given the significant advantages this place has for the gay traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

For a real treat, Puerto Vallarta has at least two great dining experiences I love: Cafe des Artistes, and the Vista Grille.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LuvPV
Business
Minneapolis
Sep 24, 2013

Sweet spot

I love Mercurio's lobby, pool, breakfast, happy hour, guests and staff. The rooms are spartan but clean, sorta like dorm rooms. They are also inconsistent - one stay I got a large second floor room facing the street full of sunlight, another time I got a small dark first floor room facing the pool. You can expect a fun friendly stay, just don't count on luxe bedrooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk away is Basilio Badillo, a street lined with great restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cody Haven
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 22, 2013

My Go To Hotel

My friends and I always stay here, the staff is great, the location is great, and the pool and bar are great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mexicano wanna be
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Jul 12, 2009

Great Location!

A convenient location with an exceptionally accommodating staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mexicano wanna be
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Oct 14, 2009

Mercuro Otra Vez

This was our third time at Mercurio, and it's a great value for the open-minded traveller. The staff was especially friendly and helpful this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many excellent dining choices in Vallarta, it's silly to be influenced by someone who solicits you as as customer. Go where you like.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top