$49 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

2 stars
View map of C. Francisca Rodriguez #168 Colonia Emiliano Zapata, ., Puerto Vallarta, 48380

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Houston travelers
Business
Houston, TX
May 17, 2011

Enjoyable stay

Plenty of hot water. A/C good. Bed OK, but not great. Clean, for a beach type hotel. Nice pool, courtyard and bar area. Room furnishings just OK. Room size good (for King room); some other rooms were smaller. Staff good. Location convenient for restaurants and bars. About 10 minute walk to Blue Chairs beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salem, OR
Oct 22, 2010

The Mercurio is a great place to stay.

My partner and I have stayed at the Mercurio about 6 times. The location of the Mercurio is perfect. You can walk to the Malecon, the Church all of the Old Town and Romantic Zone. The Beach and the Blue Chairs are just a short walk away. Taxi's are easy to get and cheap. Just make sure you agree on a price before you get in the cab. The Mercurio is a very easy walk to all the bars and night clubs. While it's time that the Mercurio gets some updating the staff make up for what the rooms lack. [...] is a doll, the kindess man in Mexico. [...] and [...] are a couple who work at the Mercurio front desk and bar. They are the cutest. Love them! At night the Mercurio has a secured gate with a grumpy old man [...] I think that's his name. Who will open the gate and give you your key to your room. Just remember he's grumpy and acts like your putting him out. And please be quit at night while in the pool. [...] yelled at one guest who was in the pool at 1:30 AM by himself, apparantly he splashed the water to loud. The Mercurio is just a blaock or so away from some of the best resturants in PV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are Taxi's outside every bar waiting to take you to your hotel. The Taxi ride should cost about 50 Pesos or $4 to $5 USD. If your not completely waisted you can always walk back to the Mercurio. We have been visiting PV for about 15 years. We have never felt unsafe walking back to our hotel at 4:00 AM waisted with all our jewlery on. But remember use some common sense. There are PV police and tourist police walking and driving around the area. They are there to protect you. If at any ponit you don't feel safe contact one of them. One last piece of advice, relax and have a great time.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 19, 2010

A small, friendly hotel

Hotel Mercurio is a small, gay-friendly hotel in Puerto Vallarta. The hotel itself is basic, but where it excels is in it's service and it's people. Every employee strives to make you feel at home, and if you've stayed there before (as I have) they will remember you and welcome you back! The free breakfast every morning around the pool is great, and it's a perfect time to get to know the other guests. The hotel is perfectly located within the Zona Romantica - easy walking distance to just about anywhere you would like to go. I love this hotel and staff and stay here everytime I return to Vallarta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Swedes restaurant (and the Crow's Nest bar on top). About 2 blocks south on Olas Altas. Wonderful food and excellent service!

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Locharita
Business
Oklahoma
Nov 7, 2014

Consistent Performer

Have stayed at the Mercurio several times and it consistently provides a wonderful stay and a really, really great staff. Rooms are comfortable and much better than others in the area. I will continue to stay at the Mercurio during my PV trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Always have change in Mexico - bills smaller than 200 pesos as change can be difficult to obtain for large bills.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John D.
Business
N/A
Dec 23, 2014

Simple but effective!

Overall I had a great stay at this hotel! The heated pool was an unexpected pleasure, and was definitely taken advantage of for some night swimming! The staff were phenomenal, especially Jorge, the pool bar's tender. He's friend, hilarious, and completely attentive to his guests. It's within walking distance from EVERYTHING. Whatever you want to do that day, you can be there in less than 10 minutes be it the beach, an Asian fusion restaurant, a bar, a fancy nightclub, whatever! However there were some minor inconveniences: I had to ask for the hot water to be turned on to my room, and fan required looking at because it seemed to be coming loose from the ceiling box. The room was a little small for my tastes, but the shower was large and nicely tiled. The A/C and fan kept the room cool, comfortable, and fresh. I'd recommend this location to anyone that wants great value and a fun atmosphere for their gaycation in PV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Archie's Wok, amazing asian cuisine is less than a block from the hotel, headed straight towards the sailboat pier.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John D.
Business
N/A
Dec 22, 2014

Simple but effective!

Overall I had a great stay at this hotel! The heated pool was an unexpected pleasure, and was definitely taken advantage of for some night swimming! The staff were phenomenal, especially Jorge, the pool bar's tender. He's friend, hilarious, and completely attentive to his guests. It's within walking distance from EVERYTHING. Whatever you want to do that day, you can be there in less than 10 minutes be it the beach, an Asian fusion restaurant, a bar, a fancy nightclub, whatever! However there were some minor inconveniences: I had to ask for the hot water to be turned on to my room, and fan required looking at because it seemed to be coming loose from the ceiling box. The room was a little small for my tastes, but the shower was large and nicely tiled. The A/C and fan kept the room cool, comfortable, and fresh. I'd recommend this location to anyone that wants great value and a fun atmosphere for their gaycation in PV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Archie's Wok, amazing asian cuisine is less than a block from the hotel, headed straight towards the sailboat pier.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John D.
Business
Del Valle
Jan 20, 2015

Great budget hotel choice

If you're looking for a ton of in-room amenities and 5-star comfort, Hotel Mercurio is not the place for you. But if you're budget minded, appreciate a great staff, and can make do without some creature comforts, this is THE place for the LGBT traveler in PV. The staff is amazing (especially Jorge), the Happy Hours are cheap, with great pours and inviting company, and the "Beer, Burgers, and Boys" special happy hour (Sundays only) are a fantastic time. The location is phenomenal, positioned at the center of PV's "gayborhood", less than a block from the beach, and less than a 10 minute walk to some of PV's most popular gay beaches and nightlife. I've booked here again for PV Pride in May, and can't wait to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ricky p.
Business
San Francisco
Jan 15, 2015

Vacation

Central located to beach ,dining ,nightlife and shopping . The staff was excellent , they meet al expectations I would recommend this place to all, I plan on staying there next trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 20, 2011

Basic hotel, but great location & staff

This was my fifth time at the Mercurio and it won't be my last, unless for some reason I never make it back to Puerto Vallarta. While the Mercurio is certainly nothing fancy, it is comfortable and has a lot going for it: central location (10 minute walk to the gay beach, 10 minutes or less to many of the gay clubs), nice staff, and the pool area that's set up to facilitate mingling between guests over breakfast or afternoon/evening cocktails.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two of my favorite nearby Mexican restaurants are two blocks away from the Mercurio. Cafe de Olla has great, modestly priced Mexican food. (Don't miss the tortilla soup here.) Next door is a much more modest place called Tacos Panchos where you can literally get a delicious taco al pastore for 90 pesos (currently about 75 cents) or many other varieties for similar low prices.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tampatrekker
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
May 11, 2012

At the center of fun

Very much enjoyed the Mercurio! It has an interseting mix of guests, friendly and enjoying themselves. The breakfasts were above and beyond any others in PV and the service was friendly and attentive. The room was always made up promptly and the staff gave some tood tips on activities. We were very close the beach at Blue Chairs but also close to Apache's and other cafes. This not a 5 star hotel, nor does it pretend to be but it's pleasant atmosphere and pool/bar/cafe area is a great place to meet people, though you can also have your pricacy as well. We had a King sized room and the AC, fridge, bath all worked well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A 3 block walk to the bus stop to Mismaloya ( 75 cents and 15 minutes) is nice to see the Zoo ( 7 dollars )or to go horseback riding ( 30 dollars per person ). The path is interesting and ends up at the Waterfall where they filmed Predator, before returning. You can also go Zip-lining there.

Back to menu Return to top