$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

2 stars
C. Francisca Rodriguez #168 Colonia Emiliano Zapata, ., Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
114 reviews
Perfect hotel for quick getaway

I've been here many times now. It's perfect location to walk to beaches and bars, the pool and bar... See full review

  • Cody Haven
  • May 29, 2014
Centrally Located Hotel

Mercurio is a gay friendly hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone. Its close to the beach,... See full review

  • Rich of Boca
  • Mar 31, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel open to guests 18 and older
Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel, a 28-room property in the heart of the Romantic Zone, attends to the needs of its gay and lesbian travelers. The haven boasts rustic wood furniture, tasteful artwork and welcome conveniences such as free safe-sex products at bedside tables. An outdoor pool and bar keep the fun going all day long.
Highlights
  • Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel open to guests 18 and older
  • 28 air-conditioned rooms with refrigerators and cable TV
  • In the heart of the Romantic Zone, a center for nightlife and restaurants for the gay community
  • Free safe-sex products at guests' bedside
  • Outdoor pool and bar
Location
Hotel Mercurio – A  Gay-Friendly Hotel calls the Romantic Zone, the gay neighborhood in Puerto Vallarta home. There, visitors are struck by the fishing-village ambiance and the variety of bars, clubs and restaurants.
Rooms
Rooms at Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel charm with rustic wood furniture, floral comforters and coordinating landscape artwork. All 28 rooms come with air-conditioning, refrigerators, cable TV, private bathrooms and full, queen or king-size beds. One amenity keeps the guests' health in mind: free safe-sex products at their bedside. Tile floors keep feet cool after a day at the beach or pool.
Features
Thanks to free towel service, patrons have a reason to linger at the beach or pool, which is open 24 hours. When downtime turns to exploration time, they can try the local pastimes, whether it's whale-watching or water sports.
Dining
Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel invites visitors to a breakfast buffet, which is served poolside every morning. Later, small groups visit the poolside bar for fresh cocktails.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.6 mi/9.1km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center

Hotel Map

20.6009 -105.237
Area served
Puerto Vallarta
Nearby airports
(PVR) Puerto Vallarta/Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport
Area description
Located on a quiet street, yet just around the corner from the clubs, bars, galleries shopping and restaurants to be found in the Gay-popular Zona Romantica neighborhood of Puerto Vallarta

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel Rooms

Double Room includes Breakfast
Double Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.
King Room includes Breakfast
King Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.
Single Room includes Breakfast
Single Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (114)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mario from Miami
Miami, Florida
Sep 19, 2011

A great surprise

I was expecting a low rate service, less than so so facilities and a poor location. What I got, surpassed my expectations. Service unmatch, outstanding facilities and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If looking for authentic mexican food, Cafe de Olla is the place, just 2 blocks from Hotel Mercurio.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Omaha, NE
Oct 5, 2009

Excellent week in PV

Great location- in the center of restaurants, very close to the beach and many bars nearby. Breakfast is filling and a great way to save some pesos. The hotel bar is a great place to relax while in the pool or just hanging out plus the prices are a bargain! [...] does a great job entertaining at the bar. Nothing bad to say- the hotel is a great value with a helpful and friendly staff. The room itself is plain but comfortable with just enough space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakland, CA
Jul 6, 2009

Great Friendly Staff, and Helpful

I have stayed here before and enjoyed my time there and stayed a second time, there was a bit of local construciton noise in the area and the rooms are a bit small, but the staff is friendly and helpful. When the elections turned off the alcohol all the bars closed the hotel was good enough to allow us to have a pool side BYOB party.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the Orbitz discount coupon codes if still valid $75 off!

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jul 23, 2007

Location, Location, Location

The Mercurio Hotel is in an excellent location within the Zona Romantica, very close to restaurants and good shopping. According to the receptionist, mine was one the smallest rooms in the hotel. The size, for one person was fine. Unfortunately, the water pres sure in the shower was almost non existent. The shower head was broken, never fixed. I could not figure out why the cleaning person did not report if he was using it every day to clean the shower area. As per the room in general, there was no chair in the room and the two bed side lamps had seen better days (lamp shades loose and off balance all the time). Not their fault, but a heavy rainstorm hit Vallarta, and the main open corridor got flooded. The employees gathered as many towels on the floor in order to stop the water. My second floor room also got some water under the door. As I went to sleep, I heard a dripping noise but I thought that it was still raining outside. Well, it was dripping in my room. Something went wrong in the room above mine and it stated to drip into my room. Unluckily, the drip was falling inside my open luggage. As the thought of a falling tub into my room crossed my mind, I alerted the night porter, who checked the drip in my room and went to the above room to check what was going on. On the next morning, during my departure, I mentioned the incident to the desk person. He casually dismissed what I said, by saying,Oh, yes, there was a problem in the room upstairs. and proceeded to give me the bill for the use of the safe in room. In addition to excellent location, the hotel offers free internet service and telephone service to the states, both of which are located on the first floor corridor. I would dare to sat that the Mercurio Hotel could be a great place to stay if a lot of the little details get fixed. As per the daily staff, they kind of run warm and cold. And, the free breakfast is OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a small supermarket near the hotel where you can buy plenty of bottled water and snacks.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dug1
Washington, DC
Mar 22, 2014

Great place to stay

"Gay Friendly" is perhaps a little bit of an understatement--the guests at this large B&B (20-30 rooms) were exclusively gay men, during my stay. That being said, it was a very comfortable, laid-back atmosphere with no issues of noise. The included breakfast each day was clutch, while the AC, water pressure, in-room fridges, etc., all worked perfectly. The location is stellar, the staff overwhelmingly helpful and friendly, and at a great price. Kudos, Mercurio!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salem, OR
Oct 22, 2010

The Mercurio is a great place to stay.

My partner and I have stayed at the Mercurio about 6 times. The location of the Mercurio is perfect. You can walk to the Malecon, the Church all of the Old Town and Romantic Zone. The Beach and the Blue Chairs are just a short walk away. Taxi's are easy to get and cheap. Just make sure you agree on a price before you get in the cab. The Mercurio is a very easy walk to all the bars and night clubs. While it's time that the Mercurio gets some updating the staff make up for what the rooms lack. [...] is a doll, the kindess man in Mexico. [...] and [...] are a couple who work at the Mercurio front desk and bar. They are the cutest. Love them! At night the Mercurio has a secured gate with a grumpy old man [...] I think that's his name. Who will open the gate and give you your key to your room. Just remember he's grumpy and acts like your putting him out. And please be quit at night while in the pool. [...] yelled at one guest who was in the pool at 1:30 AM by himself, apparantly he splashed the water to loud. The Mercurio is just a blaock or so away from some of the best resturants in PV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are Taxi's outside every bar waiting to take you to your hotel. The Taxi ride should cost about 50 Pesos or $4 to $5 USD. If your not completely waisted you can always walk back to the Mercurio. We have been visiting PV for about 15 years. We have never felt unsafe walking back to our hotel at 4:00 AM waisted with all our jewlery on. But remember use some common sense. There are PV police and tourist police walking and driving around the area. They are there to protect you. If at any ponit you don't feel safe contact one of them. One last piece of advice, relax and have a great time.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LuvPV
Minneapolis
Sep 24, 2013

Sweet spot

I love Mercurio's lobby, pool, breakfast, happy hour, guests and staff. The rooms are spartan but clean, sorta like dorm rooms. They are also inconsistent - one stay I got a large second floor room facing the street full of sunlight, another time I got a small dark first floor room facing the pool. You can expect a fun friendly stay, just don't count on luxe bedrooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk away is Basilio Badillo, a street lined with great restaurants.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mexicano wanna be
Harrisburg, PA
Jul 12, 2009

Great Location!

A convenient location with an exceptionally accommodating staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
SF
Nov 3, 2009

Great location & staff for the price!

The hotel was right in downtown close to everything. They had everything that other hotels didn't offer as part of their free service: beach towel, breakfast, bottled water, phone service, and birthday party! The staff was great, fun, and very helpful. The only problem was the wall was too thin and I heard my next door neighbor like they were in my room... Not good. That means they can hear me and my date too... Other than that, it was a great hotel with fun staff and best location with the best price of all hotels in town!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Distance was no problem to anything. Everything was very close or taxi and buses were everywhere for a cheap price! If anything, you can bargain your price on almost everything too! Lots of activities are available at bargain prices on the street. Do your activities through the established street vender stand instead of the hotel, it's cheaper and more fun! Watch out for street walker scam venders, there's lots of them, by asking at the hotel front desk for who or what is safe. Stay safe, stay well, and have lots of fun!

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Houston travelers
Houston, TX
May 17, 2011

Enjoyable stay

Plenty of hot water. A/C good. Bed OK, but not great. Clean, for a beach type hotel. Nice pool, courtyard and bar area. Room furnishings just OK. Room size good (for King room); some other rooms were smaller. Staff good. Location convenient for restaurants and bars. About 10 minute walk to Blue Chairs beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top