$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

2 stars
View map of C. Francisca Rodriguez #168 Colonia Emiliano Zapata, ., Puerto Vallarta, 48380

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Oct 5, 2009

Excellent week in PV

Great location- in the center of restaurants, very close to the beach and many bars nearby. Breakfast is filling and a great way to save some pesos. The hotel bar is a great place to relax while in the pool or just hanging out plus the prices are a bargain! [...] does a great job entertaining at the bar. Nothing bad to say- the hotel is a great value with a helpful and friendly staff. The room itself is plain but comfortable with just enough space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mexicano wanna be
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Jul 12, 2009

Great Location!

A convenient location with an exceptionally accommodating staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mexicano wanna be
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Oct 14, 2009

Mercuro Otra Vez

This was our third time at Mercurio, and it's a great value for the open-minded traveller. The staff was especially friendly and helpful this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many excellent dining choices in Vallarta, it's silly to be influenced by someone who solicits you as as customer. Go where you like.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal
Jun 20, 2011

Loved it!

I went to the Mercurio with no expectations after I read the reviews on many different sites. Some people expect the Ritz for the price they pay for Mercurio. That's just wishful thinking and they need a reality check. The hotel was fine and most importantly my room was spotless. I had a king room facing the street and is was very tranquil and the bed super confortable. I was there for 2 weeks and the room was cleaned everyday and the staff were all wonderful and went out of there way to help me. The breakfast was good, fresh juice AND included. I met all sorts of people of all ages, locals and tourists and had a blast. It's a 7 minute walk from the gay beach and 10 minutes from the bars. What more would you want? The only thing I would've enjoyed is a balcony but then why not just go outside? I will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tucson two
Business
Tucson, AZ
Sep 29, 2009

Great staff & location, clean

The place is not brand new or luxurious, but clean, well-located to the gay area and beach, good breakfast, great staff, good value. Excellent air conditioning, unlike other places we have stayed in PV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
las vegas nv
Mar 24, 2011

very nice stay

the location of the hotel is fantastic .close to all the bars and clubs and also very close to the gay beach.the hotel staff is 5 star all the way.i stayed in a king room basic but very funtional plenty of hot water and everything worked just fine over all a very nice place. great pool and bar area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 7, 2007

Hotel Mercurio was a nice ...

Hotel Mercurio was a nice little hotel right in the center of everything. The staff was very friendly and were able to ask any question one had. Some of the rooms still have a mattress on top of a concrete slab which makes the bed VERY hard and the room I occupied did not have any type of dresser to put your clothes in and then not enough hangers to hang everything up that I brought along. If you happen to go in the low season, it is a good deal, but I would not pay over $100 a night in the high season as there are places right on the beach that you can get for that price or even rent your own condo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita Falls, *
Nov 3, 2008

nice place close to the beach

The hotel was nice enough and close to all the local bars, night clubs, shopping and eateries. The rooms were clean daily and having beach towels available was a huge plus. The morning breakfast was usually very good with a nice variety of choices. The hotel is small enough that all the guests get a chance to socialize around the nicely tiled pool and enjoy happy hour drinks. The only criticism is I wish the hotel could have given some literature about things to avoid and things to do while in PV. My personal advice to travelers is to skip the time share presentations offered by almost every local resident, vendor and resort in the city and to avoid the beach at night as tourists are not welcome by the locals during the late night hours. Both were terrible experiences. All in all the Mercurio was a great place to stay for the money and the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

be careful of the taco stands. Ask the Hotel staff to suggest places to eat. Apaches was good as well as the Brazilian BBQ and teh Riverside Cafe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Houston travelers
Business
Houston, TX
May 17, 2011

Enjoyable stay

Plenty of hot water. A/C good. Bed OK, but not great. Clean, for a beach type hotel. Nice pool, courtyard and bar area. Room furnishings just OK. Room size good (for King room); some other rooms were smaller. Staff good. Location convenient for restaurants and bars. About 10 minute walk to Blue Chairs beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salem, OR
Oct 22, 2010

The Mercurio is a great place to stay.

My partner and I have stayed at the Mercurio about 6 times. The location of the Mercurio is perfect. You can walk to the Malecon, the Church all of the Old Town and Romantic Zone. The Beach and the Blue Chairs are just a short walk away. Taxi's are easy to get and cheap. Just make sure you agree on a price before you get in the cab. The Mercurio is a very easy walk to all the bars and night clubs. While it's time that the Mercurio gets some updating the staff make up for what the rooms lack. [...] is a doll, the kindess man in Mexico. [...] and [...] are a couple who work at the Mercurio front desk and bar. They are the cutest. Love them! At night the Mercurio has a secured gate with a grumpy old man [...] I think that's his name. Who will open the gate and give you your key to your room. Just remember he's grumpy and acts like your putting him out. And please be quit at night while in the pool. [...] yelled at one guest who was in the pool at 1:30 AM by himself, apparantly he splashed the water to loud. The Mercurio is just a blaock or so away from some of the best resturants in PV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are Taxi's outside every bar waiting to take you to your hotel. The Taxi ride should cost about 50 Pesos or $4 to $5 USD. If your not completely waisted you can always walk back to the Mercurio. We have been visiting PV for about 15 years. We have never felt unsafe walking back to our hotel at 4:00 AM waisted with all our jewlery on. But remember use some common sense. There are PV police and tourist police walking and driving around the area. They are there to protect you. If at any ponit you don't feel safe contact one of them. One last piece of advice, relax and have a great time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top