$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

2 stars
C. Francisca Rodriguez #168 Colonia Emiliano Zapata, ., Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
79 reviews
Puerto Vallarta's Little Secret

I really enjoyed my stay at the Mercurio Hotel. The rooms are clean with a fridge. The bed is... See full review

  • San Francisco Juacho
  • Sep 3, 2014
Perfect hotel for quick getaway

I've been here many times now. It's perfect location to walk to beaches and bars, the pool and bar... See full review

  • Cody Haven
  • May 29, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel open to guests 18 and older
Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel, a 28-room property in the heart of the Romantic Zone, attends to the needs of its gay and lesbian travelers. The haven boasts rustic wood furniture, tasteful artwork and welcome conveniences such as free safe-sex products at bedside tables. An outdoor pool and bar keep the fun going all day long.
Highlights
  • Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel open to guests 18 and older
  • 28 air-conditioned rooms with refrigerators and cable TV
  • In the heart of the Romantic Zone, a center for nightlife and restaurants for the gay community
  • Free safe-sex products at guests' bedside
  • Outdoor pool and bar
Location
Hotel Mercurio – A  Gay-Friendly Hotel calls the Romantic Zone, the gay neighborhood in Puerto Vallarta home. There, visitors are struck by the fishing-village ambiance and the variety of bars, clubs and restaurants.
Rooms
Rooms at Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel charm with rustic wood furniture, floral comforters and coordinating landscape artwork. All 28 rooms come with air-conditioning, refrigerators, cable TV, private bathrooms and full, queen or king-size beds. One amenity keeps the guests' health in mind: free safe-sex products at their bedside. Tile floors keep feet cool after a day at the beach or pool.
Features
Thanks to free towel service, patrons have a reason to linger at the beach or pool, which is open 24 hours. When downtime turns to exploration time, they can try the local pastimes, whether it's whale-watching or water sports.
Dining
Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel invites visitors to a breakfast buffet, which is served poolside every morning. Later, small groups visit the poolside bar for fresh cocktails.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.6 mi/9.1km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel Rooms

Double Room includes Breakfast
Double Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.
King Room includes Breakfast
King Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.
Single Room includes Breakfast
Single Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 4, 2007

Real customer service

Staying at the Hotel Mercurio was an absolute pleasure. Check-in was extremely gracious and made sure I was well informed of the hotel and surrounding area. I checked into my room and it was extremely comfortable. Air conditioning was just right with remote control and an overhead fan. I was directly off poolside and almost heard nothing in my room. The pool side bartender was an absolute joy to have serving me drinks.....and with Happy Hour and two for one drinks there was plenty of fun to be found. By the way, the pool area, though small, was extremely clean and tended to be the epicenter of hotel experience. The breakfast wasn't just juice, coffee and baked goods......it was a regular morning feast, a little different each day, with fresh cut fruit, served to order omlets or eggs with bacon, pork chops, chopped chicken and a wide assortment of backed goods.......breakfast became the thing everone staying at the Hotel Mercurio looked forward to each day. It was also a great time to meet the other guests at the hotel. All in all, my stay was an absolute pleasure and I look forward to staying with them in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 15, 2007

very friendly hotel

the hotel had very helpful and friendly staff the free breakfast was very good the hotel med my needs very well good a/c in rooms cab;e tv worked well very friendly guests. hotel supported fun atmosphere pool, though small, was clean and well kept only problem was no phone in rooms, though common cell phone with free local and long distance calls was a great bargain overall a very good deal for the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

small restaurant acroos from hotel was cheap and food good. the breakfast should not be missed, and was big enough to last all day through lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
One night in DFW
Business
Milwaukee, WI
May 10, 2007

Feels Like Home

The Hotel Mercurio once again exceeded my expectations. This was my second stay at Hotel Mercurio and I was just as impressed as I was following my first stay. Hotel Mercurio staff are excellent. The staff are extremely friendly and courteous. Hotel Mercurio has a great location only a short walk to many dining and shopping areas as well as some of the great nightlife PVR has to offer. I will definetly be back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft. Smith Ar region
Sep 1, 2011

Excellent gay couple resort

Loved the location, just a 2 minute walk to the beach, love the pool and mini bar. Room service is excellent they even have laundry service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many low cost food vendors, and many restaurants to choose from, you'll never need a taxi if u stay here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Sep 22, 2007

First time but not the last

Hotel Mercurio in Puerto Vallarta was a great value (September) and a good choice for a man traveling alone as I was. Not only did I never feel alone, unless I wanted to be, the staff of the hotel was extremely welcoming and friendly. They provided a buffet breakfast every morning around the pool area. This was a perfect time to socialize with other guests, or just to wake up slowly. Hotel Mercurio also provided 24-hr. access to a free computer terminal for internet access, and phones for making local as well as international calls for free. The only drawback I found was that the water pressure in my shower was inadequate, and it took about 10 minutes for the how water to reach it. This is a minor thing; my overall experience was excellent. Oh, and the location - perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fajita Republic, Piazetta, Las Palapas, Cafe Las Ollas, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Oct 24, 2008

Staff is very friendly and helpful

I like the hotel,it's old but its very clean, staff is very friendly and helpful plus the breakfast buffet is great. The price of the hotel is cheap but you have a 5 star service. I will stay to this hotel next time and I will definitely recommend this to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bars and dining areas are with in the block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 11, 2007

We could not have asked ...

We could not have asked for a better location. The hotel was in walking distance to everything. Restaurants,downtown and only one block from beach. the rooms were large and clean. The staff could not have been more helpful especially the front desk, always steering us in the right direction (in english) to all our questions. We would definitelly recommend The Hotel Mercurio to all our family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
San Francisco Juacho
Business
San Francisco, California
Sep 3, 2014

Puerto Vallarta's Little Secret

I really enjoyed my stay at the Mercurio Hotel. The rooms are clean with a fridge. The bed is firmed and big with several pillows. I slept very well every night. The staff is friendly and made feel like home. Every morning I had a delicious breakfast that included a different stew every day and eggs, yogurt, fruit salad, cereal, milk, Mexican pastries, and coffee. The hotel is in the perfect location with a short distance to restaurants, gay bars and the beach. I can't wait to return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice gay bars very close by the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 20, 2011

Basic hotel, but great location & staff

This was my fifth time at the Mercurio and it won't be my last, unless for some reason I never make it back to Puerto Vallarta. While the Mercurio is certainly nothing fancy, it is comfortable and has a lot going for it: central location (10 minute walk to the gay beach, 10 minutes or less to many of the gay clubs), nice staff, and the pool area that's set up to facilitate mingling between guests over breakfast or afternoon/evening cocktails.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two of my favorite nearby Mexican restaurants are two blocks away from the Mercurio. Cafe de Olla has great, modestly priced Mexican food. (Don't miss the tortilla soup here.) Next door is a much more modest place called Tacos Panchos where you can literally get a delicious taco al pastore for 90 pesos (currently about 75 cents) or many other varieties for similar low prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bling
Business
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Nov 2, 2011

Exceedingly friendly, comfortable environment

The staff could not have been more helpful. We appreciated world-class service for far less money than we might have spent elsewhere. We will long remember Alex, Gabriel, Isaac, Joey, and Jorge by name because of very pleasant, daily interaction and their constant efforts to make us feel welcome. We appreciated the efforts of the ebullient and inventive cook who prepared such comprehensive breakfasts. Ordinarily I never expect to find a significant gluten-free breakfast when dining out. At the Hotel Mercurio, I was able to select items for a full breakfast every day. That's a major plus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top