$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 13, 2015 Check-out: Apr 16, 2015

Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

2 stars
View map of C. Francisca Rodriguez #168 Colonia Emiliano Zapata, ., Puerto Vallarta, 48380

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
83 reviews
Secret is out

I love Mercurio and had planned to stay again, sadly the secret is out about this awesome hotel and... See full review

  • JustAdam
  • Jan 16, 2015
Had a great overall experience

The location is absolutely fantastic, only one short block to the pier, beach, restaurants,... See full review

  • Philip J.
  • Jan 12, 2015
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel open to guests 18 and older
Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel, a 28-room property in the heart of the Romantic Zone, attends to the needs of its gay and lesbian travelers. The haven boasts rustic wood furniture, tasteful artwork and welcome conveniences such as free safe-sex products at bedside tables. An outdoor pool and bar keep the fun going all day long.
Highlights
  • Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel open to guests 18 and older
  • 28 air-conditioned rooms with refrigerators and cable TV
  • In the heart of the Romantic Zone, a center for nightlife and restaurants for the gay community
  • Free safe-sex products at guests' bedside
  • Outdoor pool and bar
Location
Hotel Mercurio – A  Gay-Friendly Hotel calls the Romantic Zone, the gay neighborhood in Puerto Vallarta home. There, visitors are struck by the fishing-village ambiance and the variety of bars, clubs and restaurants.
Rooms
Rooms at Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel charm with rustic wood furniture, floral comforters and coordinating landscape artwork. All 28 rooms come with air-conditioning, refrigerators, cable TV, private bathrooms and full, queen or king-size beds. One amenity keeps the guests' health in mind: free safe-sex products at their bedside. Tile floors keep feet cool after a day at the beach or pool.
Features
Thanks to free towel service, patrons have a reason to linger at the beach or pool, which is open 24 hours. When downtime turns to exploration time, they can try the local pastimes, whether it's whale-watching or water sports.
Dining
Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel invites visitors to a breakfast buffet, which is served poolside every morning. Later, small groups visit the poolside bar for fresh cocktails.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.6 mi/9.1km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel Rooms

Double Room includes Breakfast
Double Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.
King Room includes Breakfast
King Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.
Single Room includes Breakfast
Single Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John D.
Business
Del Valle
Jan 20, 2015

Great budget hotel choice

If you're looking for a ton of in-room amenities and 5-star comfort, Hotel Mercurio is not the place for you. But if you're budget minded, appreciate a great staff, and can make do without some creature comforts, this is THE place for the LGBT traveler in PV. The staff is amazing (especially Jorge), the Happy Hours are cheap, with great pours and inviting company, and the "Beer, Burgers, and Boys" special happy hour (Sundays only) are a fantastic time. The location is phenomenal, positioned at the center of PV's "gayborhood", less than a block from the beach, and less than a 10 minute walk to some of PV's most popular gay beaches and nightlife. I've booked here again for PV Pride in May, and can't wait to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JustAdam
Business
SALT LAKE CITY
Jan 16, 2015

Secret is out

I love Mercurio and had planned to stay again, sadly the secret is out about this awesome hotel and it books up fast. Rooms are simple but very clean. The staff and location can't be beat. Fresh breakfast included helps make this place the best deal in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ricky p.
Business
San Francisco
Jan 15, 2015

Vacation

Central located to beach ,dining ,nightlife and shopping . The staff was excellent , they meet al expectations I would recommend this place to all, I plan on staying there next trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Philip J.
Business
N/A
Jan 12, 2015

Had a great overall experience

The location is absolutely fantastic, only one short block to the pier, beach, restaurants, entertainment, ATMS, a great mix of tourist shops (jewelry, souvenirs, Pharmacia, beachwear, etc.) and only three blocks to the famous Blue Chairs section of the beach and even more restaurants, shops and entertainment. I walked the Malecon (beach walk) every day in the morning and afternoon, to see the shops, beach, and street entertainers. The hotel staff told me I was safe walking all around the hotel, and I never felt otherwise. The staff was super friendly, and the hotel owner solved a travel problem for me. Staff otherwise was chatty, welcoming, and good sources of advice. I had a basic room which was plenty for one or two people, with a refrigerator, safe, king sized bed, largish shower, and plenty of hot water. Décor was old fashioned but clean and sufficient. There was free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, but stronger is the common areas. The included breakfast was open air at the small bar, which included plenty of basics such as Mexican pastries, scrambled eggs with ham, refried beans, and at least one cooked meat dish. The bar was open until 10:30 pm daily. The front desk seem to be staffed 24 hours. The guests were all friendly, both at breakfast and the daily happy hour. Some of the happy hours were themed, with serving guys in swim suits or all you can eat hamburgers for a very small fee. Non-resident visitors who regularly come to Puerto Vallarta also came to the happy hours. The hotel was actually quite quiet onsite, although there certainly were street noises, including music and laughter from nearby restaurants. The onsite courtyard was very nice, albeit small surrounding a very small pool. Above all, the hotel was safe, safe, safe! This was my first trip to Puerto Vallarta and I didn't know what I was coming too. This is a proper hotel with no onsite shenanigans in the public space (there is plenty of that nearby if that’s what you want), although guests of residents were welcome if they showed ID at the front desk (for the protection of the residents). This is an adult only, gay hotel, but this definitely was a hotel, and not a bath house. The guests were a mix of singles, couples and small groups of friends. Overall I would stay there again and highly recommend Hotel Mercurio to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John D.
Business
N/A
Dec 23, 2014

Simple but effective!

Overall I had a great stay at this hotel! The heated pool was an unexpected pleasure, and was definitely taken advantage of for some night swimming! The staff were phenomenal, especially Jorge, the pool bar's tender. He's friend, hilarious, and completely attentive to his guests. It's within walking distance from EVERYTHING. Whatever you want to do that day, you can be there in less than 10 minutes be it the beach, an Asian fusion restaurant, a bar, a fancy nightclub, whatever! However there were some minor inconveniences: I had to ask for the hot water to be turned on to my room, and fan required looking at because it seemed to be coming loose from the ceiling box. The room was a little small for my tastes, but the shower was large and nicely tiled. The A/C and fan kept the room cool, comfortable, and fresh. I'd recommend this location to anyone that wants great value and a fun atmosphere for their gaycation in PV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Archie's Wok, amazing asian cuisine is less than a block from the hotel, headed straight towards the sailboat pier.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John D.
Business
N/A
Dec 22, 2014

Simple but effective!

Overall I had a great stay at this hotel! The heated pool was an unexpected pleasure, and was definitely taken advantage of for some night swimming! The staff were phenomenal, especially Jorge, the pool bar's tender. He's friend, hilarious, and completely attentive to his guests. It's within walking distance from EVERYTHING. Whatever you want to do that day, you can be there in less than 10 minutes be it the beach, an Asian fusion restaurant, a bar, a fancy nightclub, whatever! However there were some minor inconveniences: I had to ask for the hot water to be turned on to my room, and fan required looking at because it seemed to be coming loose from the ceiling box. The room was a little small for my tastes, but the shower was large and nicely tiled. The A/C and fan kept the room cool, comfortable, and fresh. I'd recommend this location to anyone that wants great value and a fun atmosphere for their gaycation in PV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Archie's Wok, amazing asian cuisine is less than a block from the hotel, headed straight towards the sailboat pier.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Locharita
Business
Oklahoma
Nov 7, 2014

Consistent Performer

Have stayed at the Mercurio several times and it consistently provides a wonderful stay and a really, really great staff. Rooms are comfortable and much better than others in the area. I will continue to stay at the Mercurio during my PV trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Always have change in Mexico - bills smaller than 200 pesos as change can be difficult to obtain for large bills.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M Shopping Traveler
Business
Denver, CO
Sep 16, 2014

Fantastic Place to Stay

The hotel is within walking distance of most of the clubs, beach, resturants and everywhere you want to be in the gay community of PVR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk past the tourist zone and cross over Constitution Street you will save so much money on eating out and buying items. It is worth the 5 block walk. The meals were tasty and cheap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
San Francisco Juacho
Business
San Francisco, California
Sep 3, 2014

Puerto Vallarta's Little Secret

I really enjoyed my stay at the Mercurio Hotel. The rooms are clean with a fridge. The bed is firmed and big with several pillows. I slept very well every night. The staff is friendly and made feel like home. Every morning I had a delicious breakfast that included a different stew every day and eggs, yogurt, fruit salad, cereal, milk, Mexican pastries, and coffee. The hotel is in the perfect location with a short distance to restaurants, gay bars and the beach. I can't wait to return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice gay bars very close by the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cody Haven
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 29, 2014

Perfect hotel for quick getaway

I've been here many times now. It's perfect location to walk to beaches and bars, the pool and bar at the hotel are great as well. All the staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make you feel at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top