$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

2 stars
C. Francisca Rodriguez #168 Colonia Emiliano Zapata, ., Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
74 reviews
Perfect hotel for quick getaway

I've been here many times now. It's perfect location to walk to beaches and bars, the pool and bar... See full review

  • Cody Haven
  • May 29, 2014
Centrally Located Hotel

Mercurio is a gay friendly hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone. Its close to the beach,... See full review

  • Rich of Boca
  • Mar 31, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel open to guests 18 and older
Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel, a 28-room property in the heart of the Romantic Zone, attends to the needs of its gay and lesbian travelers. The haven boasts rustic wood furniture, tasteful artwork and welcome conveniences such as free safe-sex products at bedside tables. An outdoor pool and bar keep the fun going all day long.
Highlights
  • Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel open to guests 18 and older
  • 28 air-conditioned rooms with refrigerators and cable TV
  • In the heart of the Romantic Zone, a center for nightlife and restaurants for the gay community
  • Free safe-sex products at guests' bedside
  • Outdoor pool and bar
Location
Hotel Mercurio – A  Gay-Friendly Hotel calls the Romantic Zone, the gay neighborhood in Puerto Vallarta home. There, visitors are struck by the fishing-village ambiance and the variety of bars, clubs and restaurants.
Rooms
Rooms at Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel charm with rustic wood furniture, floral comforters and coordinating landscape artwork. All 28 rooms come with air-conditioning, refrigerators, cable TV, private bathrooms and full, queen or king-size beds. One amenity keeps the guests' health in mind: free safe-sex products at their bedside. Tile floors keep feet cool after a day at the beach or pool.
Features
Thanks to free towel service, patrons have a reason to linger at the beach or pool, which is open 24 hours. When downtime turns to exploration time, they can try the local pastimes, whether it's whale-watching or water sports.
Dining
Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel invites visitors to a breakfast buffet, which is served poolside every morning. Later, small groups visit the poolside bar for fresh cocktails.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.6 mi/9.1km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center

Hotel Map

20.6009 -105.237
Area served
Puerto Vallarta
Nearby airports
(PVR) Puerto Vallarta/Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport
Area description
Located on a quiet street, yet just around the corner from the clubs, bars, galleries shopping and restaurants to be found in the Gay-popular Zona Romantica neighborhood of Puerto Vallarta

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel Rooms

Double Room includes Breakfast
Double Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.
King Room includes Breakfast
King Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.
Single Room includes Breakfast
Single Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Aug 7, 2007

Excellent Staff

Hotel Mercurio is a great place to stay in Puerto Vallarta. It is extremely close to the beach and the hotel staff is very accommodating and friendly. If you are traveling alone or with friends this is an excellent choice and a great value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
May 11, 2007

We could not have asked ...

We could not have asked for a better location. The hotel was in walking distance to everything. Restaurants,downtown and only one block from beach. the rooms were large and clean. The staff could not have been more helpful especially the front desk, always steering us in the right direction (in english) to all our questions. We would definitelly recommend The Hotel Mercurio to all our family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JFSJV
Denver, CO, USA
Nov 8, 2011

Another great experience

We visited Puerto Vallarta 4 years ago, stayed at Hotel Mercurio, and were very pleased. It hasn't changed a bit. The welcome is warm, staff is helpful and efficient, and the location in the Romantic Zone is perfect! The rooms, while not fancy, are quite comfortable. The air conditioning worked well and was great to come "home" to each day, as it was 95 degrees and equal humidity outside. Very hot for early November. Breakfast buffet was ample and served until 10:30AM. You do not have to be Gay to stay there, but most guests are, as is much of the Romantic Zone. Reasonable rates make this an unbeatable value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Botanic Gardens, about 45 minutes by city bus to the South. A jungle setting with many trails, cultivated gardens, a river, excellent restaurant, and gift shop.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
elkora
yes i live in san jose california
Mar 22, 2011

exelent

the personal and the workers and enplyes nices persons and also the food everything was 100%exelent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christopher single Gay Traveler....
Boston, Ma
Jun 4, 2010

Puerto Vallarta / Hotel Mercurio

The Hotel People were just the best ever from check-in with Issaac through the bar staff George, and very clean rooms and great direction of thinds to do through out the day, Although this could be the Tequila talking, But great place will visit Hotel again high marks from me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ungeh
Seattle, WA
Mar 26, 2012

Loved it!

We were a little worried after reading some of the negative reviews, but we found none of them to be true. The hotel is not super fancy, but it is clean, a great value, small enough to feel safe and friendly, but big enough to have everything we wanted. The staff surprised us at every turn. We asked for directions and the cute boy at the front desk pulled up google earth and walked us through a confusing part, to make sure we didn't get lost. B/c of their great advice and directions, we took the public bus around for far less than cabs. The breakfast buffet was included, but we expected to not eat there b/c I am a vegetarian and my partner is gluten free. The breakfast was awesome! We ate there every day and on some days it was my favorite meal. Housekeeping was also amazing, and left towel sculptures, sometimes with freshly picked flowers on them. This hotel is really well run. Everyone is friendly, and we had a great time. Also, we had a fan, air conditioner, cable TV, a mini fridge, and some shelves for our clothing. I felt lucky to have chosen this place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kundo
san jose ca
Jun 6, 2010

hotel mercurio

i meet a lot of friend and also all the personal was grait and the rooms was exelent and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

i wish i will come back soon

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sosa21
Montgomery, IL.
Jul 3, 2012

Great time and place

Hotel was great and clean. Staff were super nice and helpful loved it i will go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Oct 24, 2008

Staff is very friendly and helpful

I like the hotel,it's old but its very clean, staff is very friendly and helpful plus the breakfast buffet is great. The price of the hotel is cheap but you have a 5 star service. I will stay to this hotel next time and I will definitely recommend this to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bars and dining areas are with in the block.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
phbjr
San Francisco, California
Jun 27, 2012

Perfect Location & Great Staff!!

This was my first visit to Mexico. My roommate has been several times and suggested the Romantica Zone. It's the older part of town, historic, walkable, close to the beach, safe, lots of restuarants and bars. After a month of trying to figure out which hotel to stay at we decided on the Hotel Mercurio. This was the best decision ever! From the moment we checked in the staff was amazing! They make you feel like you're are returning family. The rooms are clean, comfortable, AC works great and the TV selection is quite extensive. It was nice to be able to relax in a cool room and watch tv at night (English and Spanish). The breakfast in the morning is wonderful. There is a great selection and the food is abundant. They have a pool to cool off in and the daily happy hour at the pool bar brings in some great local people. All in all it was a great experience. We are already planning our next visit this fall! Thank you all at the Mercurio for a memorable vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of bars within a 5-10 minute walk.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search