$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2015 Check-out: Aug 6, 2015

Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

2 stars
View map of C. Francisca Rodriguez #168 Colonia Emiliano Zapata, ., Puerto Vallarta, 48380

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peadhur
Business
Toronto, Canada
Jan 6, 2011

Looking forward to our next trip.

Rooms were adequate, staff were superb. Bartender Jorge will take care of all your needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 23, 2007

Location, Location, Location

The Mercurio Hotel is in an excellent location within the Zona Romantica, very close to restaurants and good shopping. According to the receptionist, mine was one the smallest rooms in the hotel. The size, for one person was fine. Unfortunately, the water pres sure in the shower was almost non existent. The shower head was broken, never fixed. I could not figure out why the cleaning person did not report if he was using it every day to clean the shower area. As per the room in general, there was no chair in the room and the two bed side lamps had seen better days (lamp shades loose and off balance all the time). Not their fault, but a heavy rainstorm hit Vallarta, and the main open corridor got flooded. The employees gathered as many towels on the floor in order to stop the water. My second floor room also got some water under the door. As I went to sleep, I heard a dripping noise but I thought that it was still raining outside. Well, it was dripping in my room. Something went wrong in the room above mine and it stated to drip into my room. Unluckily, the drip was falling inside my open luggage. As the thought of a falling tub into my room crossed my mind, I alerted the night porter, who checked the drip in my room and went to the above room to check what was going on. On the next morning, during my departure, I mentioned the incident to the desk person. He casually dismissed what I said, by saying,Oh, yes, there was a problem in the room upstairs. and proceeded to give me the bill for the use of the safe in room. In addition to excellent location, the hotel offers free internet service and telephone service to the states, both of which are located on the first floor corridor. I would dare to sat that the Mercurio Hotel could be a great place to stay if a lot of the little details get fixed. As per the daily staff, they kind of run warm and cold. And, the free breakfast is OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a small supermarket near the hotel where you can buy plenty of bottled water and snacks.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SF
Nov 3, 2009

Great location & staff for the price!

The hotel was right in downtown close to everything. They had everything that other hotels didn't offer as part of their free service: beach towel, breakfast, bottled water, phone service, and birthday party! The staff was great, fun, and very helpful. The only problem was the wall was too thin and I heard my next door neighbor like they were in my room... Not good. That means they can hear me and my date too... Other than that, it was a great hotel with fun staff and best location with the best price of all hotels in town!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Distance was no problem to anything. Everything was very close or taxi and buses were everywhere for a cheap price! If anything, you can bargain your price on almost everything too! Lots of activities are available at bargain prices on the street. Do your activities through the established street vender stand instead of the hotel, it's cheaper and more fun! Watch out for street walker scam venders, there's lots of them, by asking at the hotel front desk for who or what is safe. Stay safe, stay well, and have lots of fun!

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Jul 6, 2009

Great Friendly Staff, and Helpful

I have stayed here before and enjoyed my time there and stayed a second time, there was a bit of local construciton noise in the area and the rooms are a bit small, but the staff is friendly and helpful. When the elections turned off the alcohol all the bars closed the hotel was good enough to allow us to have a pool side BYOB party.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the Orbitz discount coupon codes if still valid $75 off!

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Oct 5, 2009

Excellent week in PV

Great location- in the center of restaurants, very close to the beach and many bars nearby. Breakfast is filling and a great way to save some pesos. The hotel bar is a great place to relax while in the pool or just hanging out plus the prices are a bargain! [...] does a great job entertaining at the bar. Nothing bad to say- the hotel is a great value with a helpful and friendly staff. The room itself is plain but comfortable with just enough space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mexicano wanna be
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Jul 12, 2009

Great Location!

A convenient location with an exceptionally accommodating staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mexicano wanna be
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Oct 14, 2009

Mercuro Otra Vez

This was our third time at Mercurio, and it's a great value for the open-minded traveller. The staff was especially friendly and helpful this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many excellent dining choices in Vallarta, it's silly to be influenced by someone who solicits you as as customer. Go where you like.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal
Jun 20, 2011

Loved it!

I went to the Mercurio with no expectations after I read the reviews on many different sites. Some people expect the Ritz for the price they pay for Mercurio. That's just wishful thinking and they need a reality check. The hotel was fine and most importantly my room was spotless. I had a king room facing the street and is was very tranquil and the bed super confortable. I was there for 2 weeks and the room was cleaned everyday and the staff were all wonderful and went out of there way to help me. The breakfast was good, fresh juice AND included. I met all sorts of people of all ages, locals and tourists and had a blast. It's a 7 minute walk from the gay beach and 10 minutes from the bars. What more would you want? The only thing I would've enjoyed is a balcony but then why not just go outside? I will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tucson two
Business
Tucson, AZ
Sep 29, 2009

Great staff & location, clean

The place is not brand new or luxurious, but clean, well-located to the gay area and beach, good breakfast, great staff, good value. Excellent air conditioning, unlike other places we have stayed in PV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
las vegas nv
Mar 24, 2011

very nice stay

the location of the hotel is fantastic .close to all the bars and clubs and also very close to the gay beach.the hotel staff is 5 star all the way.i stayed in a king room basic but very funtional plenty of hot water and everything worked just fine over all a very nice place. great pool and bar area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top