$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

2 stars
C. Francisca Rodriguez #168 Colonia Emiliano Zapata, ., Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
114 reviews
Perfect hotel for quick getaway

I've been here many times now. It's perfect location to walk to beaches and bars, the pool and bar... See full review

  • Cody Haven
  • May 29, 2014
Centrally Located Hotel

Mercurio is a gay friendly hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone. Its close to the beach,... See full review

  • Rich of Boca
  • Mar 31, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel open to guests 18 and older
Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel, a 28-room property in the heart of the Romantic Zone, attends to the needs of its gay and lesbian travelers. The haven boasts rustic wood furniture, tasteful artwork and welcome conveniences such as free safe-sex products at bedside tables. An outdoor pool and bar keep the fun going all day long.
Highlights
  • Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel open to guests 18 and older
  • 28 air-conditioned rooms with refrigerators and cable TV
  • In the heart of the Romantic Zone, a center for nightlife and restaurants for the gay community
  • Free safe-sex products at guests' bedside
  • Outdoor pool and bar
Location
Hotel Mercurio – A  Gay-Friendly Hotel calls the Romantic Zone, the gay neighborhood in Puerto Vallarta home. There, visitors are struck by the fishing-village ambiance and the variety of bars, clubs and restaurants.
Rooms
Rooms at Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel charm with rustic wood furniture, floral comforters and coordinating landscape artwork. All 28 rooms come with air-conditioning, refrigerators, cable TV, private bathrooms and full, queen or king-size beds. One amenity keeps the guests' health in mind: free safe-sex products at their bedside. Tile floors keep feet cool after a day at the beach or pool.
Features
Thanks to free towel service, patrons have a reason to linger at the beach or pool, which is open 24 hours. When downtime turns to exploration time, they can try the local pastimes, whether it's whale-watching or water sports.
Dining
Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel invites visitors to a breakfast buffet, which is served poolside every morning. Later, small groups visit the poolside bar for fresh cocktails.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.6 mi/9.1km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center

Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel Rooms

Double Room includes Breakfast
Double Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.
King Room includes Breakfast
King Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.
Single Room includes Breakfast
Single Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.6009 -105.237
Area served
Puerto Vallarta
Nearby airports
(PVR) Puerto Vallarta/Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport
Area description
Located on a quiet street, yet just around the corner from the clubs, bars, galleries shopping and restaurants to be found in the Gay-popular Zona Romantica neighborhood of Puerto Vallarta

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (114)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mario from Miami
Miami, Florida
Sep 19, 2011

A great surprise

I was expecting a low rate service, less than so so facilities and a poor location. What I got, surpassed my expectations. Service unmatch, outstanding facilities and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If looking for authentic mexican food, Cafe de Olla is the place, just 2 blocks from Hotel Mercurio.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mario from Miami
Miami, Florida
Sep 19, 2011

A great surprise

I was expecting a low rate service, less than so so facilities and a poor location. What I got, surpassed my expectations. Service unmatch, outstanding facilities and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If looking for authentic mexican food, Cafe de Olla is the place, just 2 blocks from Hotel Mercurio.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ft. Smith Ar region
Sep 1, 2011

Excellent gay couple resort

Loved the location, just a 2 minute walk to the beach, love the pool and mini bar. Room service is excellent they even have laundry service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many low cost food vendors, and many restaurants to choose from, you'll never need a taxi if u stay here.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ft. Smith Ar region
Sep 1, 2011

Excellent gay couple resort

Loved the location, just a 2 minute walk to the beach, love the pool and mini bar. Room service is excellent they even have laundry service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many low cost food vendors, and many restaurants to choose from, you'll never need a taxi if u stay here.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montreal
Jun 20, 2011

Loved it!

I went to the Mercurio with no expectations after I read the reviews on many different sites. Some people expect the Ritz for the price they pay for Mercurio. That's just wishful thinking and they need a reality check. The hotel was fine and most importantly my room was spotless. I had a king room facing the street and is was very tranquil and the bed super confortable. I was there for 2 weeks and the room was cleaned everyday and the staff were all wonderful and went out of there way to help me. The breakfast was good, fresh juice AND included. I met all sorts of people of all ages, locals and tourists and had a blast. It's a 7 minute walk from the gay beach and 10 minutes from the bars. What more would you want? The only thing I would've enjoyed is a balcony but then why not just go outside? I will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montreal
Jun 20, 2011

Loved it!

I went to the Mercurio with no expectations after I read the reviews on many different sites. Some people expect the Ritz for the price they pay for Mercurio. That's just wishful thinking and they need a reality check. The hotel was fine and most importantly my room was spotless. I had a king room facing the street and is was very tranquil and the bed super confortable. I was there for 2 weeks and the room was cleaned everyday and the staff were all wonderful and went out of there way to help me. The breakfast was good, fresh juice AND included. I met all sorts of people of all ages, locals and tourists and had a blast. It's a 7 minute walk from the gay beach and 10 minutes from the bars. What more would you want? The only thing I would've enjoyed is a balcony but then why not just go outside? I will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
san jose california
Jun 4, 2011

hotel mercurio five stars for me

i have a nice stayed at the hotel the enplyes and the manager and all the enplyes exelent and respectfuul persons and also the housecleaning people too

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
May 20, 2011

Basic hotel, but great location & staff

This was my fifth time at the Mercurio and it won't be my last, unless for some reason I never make it back to Puerto Vallarta. While the Mercurio is certainly nothing fancy, it is comfortable and has a lot going for it: central location (10 minute walk to the gay beach, 10 minutes or less to many of the gay clubs), nice staff, and the pool area that's set up to facilitate mingling between guests over breakfast or afternoon/evening cocktails.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two of my favorite nearby Mexican restaurants are two blocks away from the Mercurio. Cafe de Olla has great, modestly priced Mexican food. (Don't miss the tortilla soup here.) Next door is a much more modest place called Tacos Panchos where you can literally get a delicious taco al pastore for 90 pesos (currently about 75 cents) or many other varieties for similar low prices.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Houston travelers
Houston, TX
May 17, 2011

Enjoyable stay

Plenty of hot water. A/C good. Bed OK, but not great. Clean, for a beach type hotel. Nice pool, courtyard and bar area. Room furnishings just OK. Room size good (for King room); some other rooms were smaller. Staff good. Location convenient for restaurants and bars. About 10 minute walk to Blue Chairs beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Houston travelers
Houston, TX
May 17, 2011

Enjoyable stay

Plenty of hot water. A/C good. Bed OK, but not great. Clean, for a beach type hotel. Nice pool, courtyard and bar area. Room furnishings just OK. Room size good (for King room); some other rooms were smaller. Staff good. Location convenient for restaurants and bars. About 10 minute walk to Blue Chairs beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top