$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 30, 2015

Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

2 stars
View map of C. Francisca Rodriguez #168 Colonia Emiliano Zapata, ., Puerto Vallarta, 48380

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Poozer
Couples
San Francsico, CA
Jun 22, 2012

I hate to write a bad review...

...especially since the staff at the Mercurio for the most part were pleasant and apologetic about the experience we had, but apologies were all we got. There was little to no hot water in the shower for most of the trip. The housekeeper "threw away" some of our (rather important) personal items from the bathroom and my partners prescription medication (notably, one of the few things you cant just get at a mexican pharmacy) vanished from the room while we were at the beach one day. I would definitely stay elsewhere or make sure you stuff everything you can into the rooms safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tampatrekker
Couples
Tampa, FL, USA
May 11, 2012

At the center of fun

Very much enjoyed the Mercurio! It has an interseting mix of guests, friendly and enjoying themselves. The breakfasts were above and beyond any others in PV and the service was friendly and attentive. The room was always made up promptly and the staff gave some tood tips on activities. We were very close the beach at Blue Chairs but also close to Apache's and other cafes. This not a 5 star hotel, nor does it pretend to be but it's pleasant atmosphere and pool/bar/cafe area is a great place to meet people, though you can also have your pricacy as well. We had a King sized room and the AC, fridge, bath all worked well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A 3 block walk to the bus stop to Mismaloya ( 75 cents and 15 minutes) is nice to see the Zoo ( 7 dollars )or to go horseback riding ( 30 dollars per person ). The path is interesting and ends up at the Waterfall where they filmed Predator, before returning. You can also go Zip-lining there.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tommyd66
Single
Amarillo, TX, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Greatest Gay Hotel in Vallarta

Well, return guests are the biggest indicator of a great place to stay. This was my third stay at Mercurio. While there, I encountered other guests I have met in the past. I am a single traveler and I can assure you, you will have many friends at Mercurio very quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ungeh
Seattle, WA
Mar 26, 2012

Loved it!

We were a little worried after reading some of the negative reviews, but we found none of them to be true. The hotel is not super fancy, but it is clean, a great value, small enough to feel safe and friendly, but big enough to have everything we wanted. The staff surprised us at every turn. We asked for directions and the cute boy at the front desk pulled up google earth and walked us through a confusing part, to make sure we didn't get lost. B/c of their great advice and directions, we took the public bus around for far less than cabs. The breakfast buffet was included, but we expected to not eat there b/c I am a vegetarian and my partner is gluten free. The breakfast was awesome! We ate there every day and on some days it was my favorite meal. Housekeeping was also amazing, and left towel sculptures, sometimes with freshly picked flowers on them. This hotel is really well run. Everyone is friendly, and we had a great time. Also, we had a fan, air conditioner, cable TV, a mini fridge, and some shelves for our clothing. I felt lucky to have chosen this place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swimstud
San Diego, CA, USA
Nov 24, 2011

Friendliest Gay Hotel

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Best spot for Pool Side Happy Hour with well-made cheap drinks. I can't wait for my next visit :-).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out some of the resaurants and shops right next to the hotel. Some hidden gems.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JFSJV
Denver, CO, USA
Nov 8, 2011

Another great experience

We visited Puerto Vallarta 4 years ago, stayed at Hotel Mercurio, and were very pleased. It hasn't changed a bit. The welcome is warm, staff is helpful and efficient, and the location in the Romantic Zone is perfect! The rooms, while not fancy, are quite comfortable. The air conditioning worked well and was great to come "home" to each day, as it was 95 degrees and equal humidity outside. Very hot for early November. Breakfast buffet was ample and served until 10:30AM. You do not have to be Gay to stay there, but most guests are, as is much of the Romantic Zone. Reasonable rates make this an unbeatable value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Botanic Gardens, about 45 minutes by city bus to the South. A jungle setting with many trails, cultivated gardens, a river, excellent restaurant, and gift shop.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dan n Phil
Seattle
Nov 2, 2011

Friendliest Staff on Earth . . . & Great Happy Hour!

The Mercurio Staff is incredible. Friendly & Service Oriented! Happy Hour around the pool is friendly and affordable! Great location to several delicious restaurants and an easy walk to Blue Chairs Beach. Rooms are kept clean but they need a serious makeover. Incredible Value, Incredibly Friendly, Very Clean but they need to invest in their rooms. Mattress is a little too firm for my taste. Best Staff in all of Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tsunami's - Sushi (All You Can Eat Night on Tues) Brasil - Brasilian Barbeque Joe/Jacks Seafood Cafe Ollas - Lobster/Shrimp/Steak Platter for two Diana's Boat Tour on Thursdays!

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bling
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Nov 2, 2011

Exceedingly friendly, comfortable environment

The staff could not have been more helpful. We appreciated world-class service for far less money than we might have spent elsewhere. We will long remember Alex, Gabriel, Isaac, Joey, and Jorge by name because of very pleasant, daily interaction and their constant efforts to make us feel welcome. We appreciated the efforts of the ebullient and inventive cook who prepared such comprehensive breakfasts. Ordinarily I never expect to find a significant gluten-free breakfast when dining out. At the Hotel Mercurio, I was able to select items for a full breakfast every day. That's a major plus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mario from Miami
Single
Miami, Florida
Sep 19, 2011

A great surprise

I was expecting a low rate service, less than so so facilities and a poor location. What I got, surpassed my expectations. Service unmatch, outstanding facilities and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If looking for authentic mexican food, Cafe de Olla is the place, just 2 blocks from Hotel Mercurio.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ft. Smith Ar region
Sep 1, 2011

Excellent gay couple resort

Loved the location, just a 2 minute walk to the beach, love the pool and mini bar. Room service is excellent they even have laundry service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many low cost food vendors, and many restaurants to choose from, you'll never need a taxi if u stay here.

Back to menu Return to top