$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2014 Check-out: Apr 30, 2014

Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

2 stars
C. Francisca Rodriguez #168 Colonia Emiliano Zapata, ., Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
72 reviews
Centrally Located Hotel

Mercurio is a gay friendly hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone. Its close to the beach,... See full review

  • Rich of Boca
  • Mar 31, 2014
Great place to stay

"Gay Friendly" is perhaps a little bit of an understatement--the guests at this large B&B (20-30... See full review

  • Dug1
  • Mar 22, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel open to guests 18 and older
Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel, a 28-room property in the heart of the Romantic Zone, attends to the needs of its gay and lesbian travelers. The haven boasts rustic wood furniture, tasteful artwork and welcome conveniences such as free safe-sex products at bedside tables. An outdoor pool and bar keep the fun going all day long.
Highlights
  • Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel open to guests 18 and older
  • 28 air-conditioned rooms with refrigerators and cable TV
  • In the heart of the Romantic Zone, a center for nightlife and restaurants for the gay community
  • Free safe-sex products at guests' bedside
  • Outdoor pool and bar
Location
Hotel Mercurio – A  Gay-Friendly Hotel calls the Romantic Zone, the gay neighborhood in Puerto Vallarta home. There, visitors are struck by the fishing-village ambiance and the variety of bars, clubs and restaurants.
Rooms
Rooms at Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel charm with rustic wood furniture, floral comforters and coordinating landscape artwork. All 28 rooms come with air-conditioning, refrigerators, cable TV, private bathrooms and full, queen or king-size beds. One amenity keeps the guests' health in mind: free safe-sex products at their bedside. Tile floors keep feet cool after a day at the beach or pool.
Features
Thanks to free towel service, patrons have a reason to linger at the beach or pool, which is open 24 hours. When downtime turns to exploration time, they can try the local pastimes, whether it's whale-watching or water sports.
Dining
Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel invites visitors to a breakfast buffet, which is served poolside every morning. Later, small groups visit the poolside bar for fresh cocktails.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.6 mi/9.1km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center

Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel Rooms

Double Room includes Breakfast
Double Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.
King Room includes Breakfast
King Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.
Single Room includes Breakfast
Single Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.6009 -105.237
Area served
Puerto Vallarta
Nearby airports
(PVR) Puerto Vallarta/Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport
Area description
Located on a quiet street, yet just around the corner from the clubs, bars, galleries shopping and restaurants to be found in the Gay-popular Zona Romantica neighborhood of Puerto Vallarta

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Tim & Stan
Linden, TX
Apr 6, 2011

Good Times at Hotel Mercurio

Our check in at Mercurio was very smooth. Joey met us at the front desk, our rooms were ready. He explained everything in flawless English and helped us get our bags to the room. The hotel is in the center of old town within easy walking distance of the beach, shops and restaurants. Some of the rooms are a bit dated, (Bathrooms) but they are clean and all the staff is friendly. The morning breakfast is great and a great value. Afternoon happy hour is another great deal. A suggestion to the owner, open the bar at noon. OH! George! The bartender, he is Fantastic!!! He says he's angel but I think I saw horns. He kept us in stitches and he sells more alcohol than any other bartender in Vallarta! We had a great time there, made some wonderful friends and came to realize that the employees are what make Mercurio work. Hats off especially to Joey and Issac! They are absolutely wonderful! If I had a business there I would hire them away from Mercurio in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I think the name of the place is Blue Shrimp. Very nice. Great food, beautiful view of the sunset and impeccable service.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Jaksonman
Houston
Dec 6, 2013

We love Mercurio

We are a gay couple that absolutely love Puerto Vallarta and the friendly Hotel Mercurio ... It's the best location in town... People come to stay from all over the world... It's not luxury just LOTS of fun... And a great value ... There breakfast meet up is the best...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jun 16, 2009

Can't Beat the Location

Mercurio was exactly what I was expecting. A small, relatively inexpensive hotel. A good choice for my first trip to PV. Yes, a coat of paint and some updating would do wonders, but that was easy enough to overlook. The location was perfect. Short 10-min walk to the gay beach. Nearly all bars and restaurants within safe walking distance. About 6 blocks or so, give or take. Walked home on many occasions late at night and never felt threatened. The 2 things I did not like was that there was something wrong with the pool water. Like it needed a new filter. Left it a little murky. And there was one staff member who seemed very unhappy. Fortunately my dealings with him were very limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Apache's is right around the corner. A great way to kick off the evening. Great appetizers. Lots of foot traffic on Olas Altas.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Tampatrekker
Tampa, FL, USA
May 11, 2012

At the center of fun

Very much enjoyed the Mercurio! It has an interseting mix of guests, friendly and enjoying themselves. The breakfasts were above and beyond any others in PV and the service was friendly and attentive. The room was always made up promptly and the staff gave some tood tips on activities. We were very close the beach at Blue Chairs but also close to Apache's and other cafes. This not a 5 star hotel, nor does it pretend to be but it's pleasant atmosphere and pool/bar/cafe area is a great place to meet people, though you can also have your pricacy as well. We had a King sized room and the AC, fridge, bath all worked well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A 3 block walk to the bus stop to Mismaloya ( 75 cents and 15 minutes) is nice to see the Zoo ( 7 dollars )or to go horseback riding ( 30 dollars per person ). The path is interesting and ends up at the Waterfall where they filmed Predator, before returning. You can also go Zip-lining there.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Gbtraveler
California
May 27, 2013

Excellent staff but hotel itself needs a makeover

The staff at this hotel is absolutely wonderful but the hotel truly needs a makeover. Sorry to say but the bathrooms were extremely outdated. If a nice bathroom is a requirement then you might want to consider other places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
May 20, 2011

Basic hotel, but great location & staff

This was my fifth time at the Mercurio and it won't be my last, unless for some reason I never make it back to Puerto Vallarta. While the Mercurio is certainly nothing fancy, it is comfortable and has a lot going for it: central location (10 minute walk to the gay beach, 10 minutes or less to many of the gay clubs), nice staff, and the pool area that's set up to facilitate mingling between guests over breakfast or afternoon/evening cocktails.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two of my favorite nearby Mexican restaurants are two blocks away from the Mercurio. Cafe de Olla has great, modestly priced Mexican food. (Don't miss the tortilla soup here.) Next door is a much more modest place called Tacos Panchos where you can literally get a delicious taco al pastore for 90 pesos (currently about 75 cents) or many other varieties for similar low prices.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
san diego
May 24, 2009

hotel mercurio

We stay here every year, great service, nice complimentery breakfaat, not super fancy but in the heart of gay life and very clean with a very friendly staff. great towels, bedding and all you should expect!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Wichita Falls, *
Nov 3, 2008

nice place close to the beach

The hotel was nice enough and close to all the local bars, night clubs, shopping and eateries. The rooms were clean daily and having beach towels available was a huge plus. The morning breakfast was usually very good with a nice variety of choices. The hotel is small enough that all the guests get a chance to socialize around the nicely tiled pool and enjoy happy hour drinks. The only criticism is I wish the hotel could have given some literature about things to avoid and things to do while in PV. My personal advice to travelers is to skip the time share presentations offered by almost every local resident, vendor and resort in the city and to avoid the beach at night as tourists are not welcome by the locals during the late night hours. Both were terrible experiences. All in all the Mercurio was a great place to stay for the money and the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

be careful of the taco stands. Ask the Hotel staff to suggest places to eat. Apaches was good as well as the Brazilian BBQ and teh Riverside Cafe.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Oakland, CA
Jul 6, 2009

Great Friendly Staff, and Helpful

I have stayed here before and enjoyed my time there and stayed a second time, there was a bit of local construciton noise in the area and the rooms are a bit small, but the staff is friendly and helpful. When the elections turned off the alcohol all the bars closed the hotel was good enough to allow us to have a pool side BYOB party.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the Orbitz discount coupon codes if still valid $75 off!

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Bling
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Nov 2, 2011

Exceedingly friendly, comfortable environment

The staff could not have been more helpful. We appreciated world-class service for far less money than we might have spent elsewhere. We will long remember Alex, Gabriel, Isaac, Joey, and Jorge by name because of very pleasant, daily interaction and their constant efforts to make us feel welcome. We appreciated the efforts of the ebullient and inventive cook who prepared such comprehensive breakfasts. Ordinarily I never expect to find a significant gluten-free breakfast when dining out. At the Hotel Mercurio, I was able to select items for a full breakfast every day. That's a major plus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top