$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

2 stars
C. Francisca Rodriguez #168 Colonia Emiliano Zapata, ., Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
77 reviews
Puerto Vallarta's Little Secret

I really enjoyed my stay at the Mercurio Hotel. The rooms are clean with a fridge. The bed is... See full review

  • San Francisco Juacho
  • Sep 3, 2014
Perfect hotel for quick getaway

I've been here many times now. It's perfect location to walk to beaches and bars, the pool and bar... See full review

  • Cody Haven
  • May 29, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel open to guests 18 and older
Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel, a 28-room property in the heart of the Romantic Zone, attends to the needs of its gay and lesbian travelers. The haven boasts rustic wood furniture, tasteful artwork and welcome conveniences such as free safe-sex products at bedside tables. An outdoor pool and bar keep the fun going all day long.
Highlights
  • Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel open to guests 18 and older
  • 28 air-conditioned rooms with refrigerators and cable TV
  • In the heart of the Romantic Zone, a center for nightlife and restaurants for the gay community
  • Free safe-sex products at guests' bedside
  • Outdoor pool and bar
Location
Hotel Mercurio – A  Gay-Friendly Hotel calls the Romantic Zone, the gay neighborhood in Puerto Vallarta home. There, visitors are struck by the fishing-village ambiance and the variety of bars, clubs and restaurants.
Rooms
Rooms at Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel charm with rustic wood furniture, floral comforters and coordinating landscape artwork. All 28 rooms come with air-conditioning, refrigerators, cable TV, private bathrooms and full, queen or king-size beds. One amenity keeps the guests' health in mind: free safe-sex products at their bedside. Tile floors keep feet cool after a day at the beach or pool.
Features
Thanks to free towel service, patrons have a reason to linger at the beach or pool, which is open 24 hours. When downtime turns to exploration time, they can try the local pastimes, whether it's whale-watching or water sports.
Dining
Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel invites visitors to a breakfast buffet, which is served poolside every morning. Later, small groups visit the poolside bar for fresh cocktails.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.6 mi/9.1km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel Rooms

Double Room includes Breakfast
Double Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.
King Room includes Breakfast
King Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.
Single Room includes Breakfast
Single Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bx kc
Business
the bronx
Dec 2, 2013

Perfect for the gay traveler..whether new to pv or an old hand..

The staff and location are great.... The rooms could use a makeover..... Nice people..great way to meet folks.... Great happy hour.... Breakfast is good...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jaksonman
Business
Houston
Dec 6, 2013

We love Mercurio

We are a gay couple that absolutely love Puerto Vallarta and the friendly Hotel Mercurio ... It's the best location in town... People come to stay from all over the world... It's not luxury just LOTS of fun... And a great value ... There breakfast meet up is the best...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lovin' PV
Business
Detroit, MI
Jun 14, 2010

Great location, clean and friendly

Considering the fact that it was low-tourism season, the hotel was very tranquil and relaxing. The stay included a modest but delicious daily breakfast, beach towel service and daily happy hour specials at their bar. The most unique thing about Mercurio is it's short, one block distance from the beach, combined with it's budget price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The location is one block from the departing pier for Diana's Tour (highly recommended).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TYLER THE FUN GUY!!!
Business
BALTIMORE, MD
Apr 26, 2009

Very Enjoyable, Comfortable Hotel!!!!

The hotel staff was so friendly. Other guest were very friendly as well. I was traveling alone and met two guys by the pool that were also traveling alone that became my new best friends for the weekend and we had a blast. If your traveling alone and want to make new friends or just relax this is a nice place to do it. Its a comfortable, clean hotel, I look forward to my next trip here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are plenty of nice restaurants within walking distance. The prices are great also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jun 16, 2009

Can't Beat the Location

Mercurio was exactly what I was expecting. A small, relatively inexpensive hotel. A good choice for my first trip to PV. Yes, a coat of paint and some updating would do wonders, but that was easy enough to overlook. The location was perfect. Short 10-min walk to the gay beach. Nearly all bars and restaurants within safe walking distance. About 6 blocks or so, give or take. Walked home on many occasions late at night and never felt threatened. The 2 things I did not like was that there was something wrong with the pool water. Like it needed a new filter. Left it a little murky. And there was one staff member who seemed very unhappy. Fortunately my dealings with him were very limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Apache's is right around the corner. A great way to kick off the evening. Great appetizers. Lots of foot traffic on Olas Altas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tim & Stan
Business
Linden, TX
Apr 6, 2011

Good Times at Hotel Mercurio

Our check in at Mercurio was very smooth. Joey met us at the front desk, our rooms were ready. He explained everything in flawless English and helped us get our bags to the room. The hotel is in the center of old town within easy walking distance of the beach, shops and restaurants. Some of the rooms are a bit dated, (Bathrooms) but they are clean and all the staff is friendly. The morning breakfast is great and a great value. Afternoon happy hour is another great deal. A suggestion to the owner, open the bar at noon. OH! George! The bartender, he is Fantastic!!! He says he's angel but I think I saw horns. He kept us in stitches and he sells more alcohol than any other bartender in Vallarta! We had a great time there, made some wonderful friends and came to realize that the employees are what make Mercurio work. Hats off especially to Joey and Issac! They are absolutely wonderful! If I had a business there I would hire them away from Mercurio in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I think the name of the place is Blue Shrimp. Very nice. Great food, beautiful view of the sunset and impeccable service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M Shopping Traveler
Business
Denver, CO
Sep 16, 2014

Fantastic Place to Stay

The hotel is within walking distance of most of the clubs, beach, resturants and everywhere you want to be in the gay community of PVR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk past the tourist zone and cross over Constitution Street you will save so much money on eating out and buying items. It is worth the 5 block walk. The meals were tasty and cheap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 20, 2011

Basic hotel, but great location & staff

This was my fifth time at the Mercurio and it won't be my last, unless for some reason I never make it back to Puerto Vallarta. While the Mercurio is certainly nothing fancy, it is comfortable and has a lot going for it: central location (10 minute walk to the gay beach, 10 minutes or less to many of the gay clubs), nice staff, and the pool area that's set up to facilitate mingling between guests over breakfast or afternoon/evening cocktails.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two of my favorite nearby Mexican restaurants are two blocks away from the Mercurio. Cafe de Olla has great, modestly priced Mexican food. (Don't miss the tortilla soup here.) Next door is a much more modest place called Tacos Panchos where you can literally get a delicious taco al pastore for 90 pesos (currently about 75 cents) or many other varieties for similar low prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bling
Business
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Nov 2, 2011

Exceedingly friendly, comfortable environment

The staff could not have been more helpful. We appreciated world-class service for far less money than we might have spent elsewhere. We will long remember Alex, Gabriel, Isaac, Joey, and Jorge by name because of very pleasant, daily interaction and their constant efforts to make us feel welcome. We appreciated the efforts of the ebullient and inventive cook who prepared such comprehensive breakfasts. Ordinarily I never expect to find a significant gluten-free breakfast when dining out. At the Hotel Mercurio, I was able to select items for a full breakfast every day. That's a major plus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swimstud
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Nov 24, 2011

Friendliest Gay Hotel

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Best spot for Pool Side Happy Hour with well-made cheap drinks. I can't wait for my next visit :-).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out some of the resaurants and shops right next to the hotel. Some hidden gems.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top