$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

2 stars
C. Francisca Rodriguez #168 Colonia Emiliano Zapata, ., Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
114 reviews
Perfect hotel for quick getaway

I've been here many times now. It's perfect location to walk to beaches and bars, the pool and bar... See full review

  • Cody Haven
  • May 29, 2014
Centrally Located Hotel

Mercurio is a gay friendly hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone. Its close to the beach,... See full review

  • Rich of Boca
  • Mar 31, 2014
Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel open to guests 18 and older
Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel, a 28-room property in the heart of the Romantic Zone, attends to the needs of its gay and lesbian travelers. The haven boasts rustic wood furniture, tasteful artwork and welcome conveniences such as free safe-sex products at bedside tables. An outdoor pool and bar keep the fun going all day long.
Highlights
  • Gay-friendly Puerto Vallarta hotel open to guests 18 and older
  • 28 air-conditioned rooms with refrigerators and cable TV
  • In the heart of the Romantic Zone, a center for nightlife and restaurants for the gay community
  • Free safe-sex products at guests' bedside
  • Outdoor pool and bar
Location
Hotel Mercurio – A  Gay-Friendly Hotel calls the Romantic Zone, the gay neighborhood in Puerto Vallarta home. There, visitors are struck by the fishing-village ambiance and the variety of bars, clubs and restaurants.
Rooms
Rooms at Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel charm with rustic wood furniture, floral comforters and coordinating landscape artwork. All 28 rooms come with air-conditioning, refrigerators, cable TV, private bathrooms and full, queen or king-size beds. One amenity keeps the guests' health in mind: free safe-sex products at their bedside. Tile floors keep feet cool after a day at the beach or pool.
Features
Thanks to free towel service, patrons have a reason to linger at the beach or pool, which is open 24 hours. When downtime turns to exploration time, they can try the local pastimes, whether it's whale-watching or water sports.
Dining
Hotel Mercurio - a Gay-Friendly Hotel invites visitors to a breakfast buffet, which is served poolside every morning. Later, small groups visit the poolside bar for fresh cocktails.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.6 mi/9.1km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center

Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel Rooms

Double Room includes Breakfast
Double Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.
King Room includes Breakfast
King Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.
Single Room includes Breakfast
Single Room includes refrigerator, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, secure safe for valuables. Price includes Breakfast Buffet at poolside each morning.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.6009 -105.237
Area served
Puerto Vallarta
Nearby airports
(PVR) Puerto Vallarta/Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport
Area description
Located on a quiet street, yet just around the corner from the clubs, bars, galleries shopping and restaurants to be found in the Gay-popular Zona Romantica neighborhood of Puerto Vallarta

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (114)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Poozer
San Francsico, CA
Jun 22, 2012

I hate to write a bad review...

...especially since the staff at the Mercurio for the most part were pleasant and apologetic about the experience we had, but apologies were all we got. There was little to no hot water in the shower for most of the trip. The housekeeper "threw away" some of our (rather important) personal items from the bathroom and my partners prescription medication (notably, one of the few things you cant just get at a mexican pharmacy) vanished from the room while we were at the beach one day. I would definitely stay elsewhere or make sure you stuff everything you can into the rooms safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dan n Phil
Seattle
Nov 2, 2011

Friendliest Staff on Earth . . . & Great Happy Hour!

The Mercurio Staff is incredible. Friendly & Service Oriented! Happy Hour around the pool is friendly and affordable! Great location to several delicious restaurants and an easy walk to Blue Chairs Beach. Rooms are kept clean but they need a serious makeover. Incredible Value, Incredibly Friendly, Very Clean but they need to invest in their rooms. Mattress is a little too firm for my taste. Best Staff in all of Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tsunami's - Sushi (All You Can Eat Night on Tues) Brasil - Brasilian Barbeque Joe/Jacks Seafood Cafe Ollas - Lobster/Shrimp/Steak Platter for two Diana's Boat Tour on Thursdays!

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pain in the Back
New Jersey
Feb 3, 2013

Upgrades needed

While not the worst place in the world, I doubt many LGBT travelers would find these accomodations desireable. The staff were friendly enough, but overall, from the beds to the decor an upgrade is needed. We fondly referred to the bed as the "Flintstone bed" as it was like sleeping on a rock. Chiropractor, here we come!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Christopher G.
New York City
Apr 10, 2011

More bad than good

Bottom line: We saw the best and the worst of this hotel, and while there were some perks, we definitely won't return. If you stay here, save yourself some germs and upgrade to one of the king-sized bed rooms.The good: The staff, from the guys at the front desk to the cleaning staff to the woman who cooked/served breakfast, were the nicest people we encountered in PV. The complimentary WiFi and free breakfast (delicious, authentic Mexican, changed each morning depending on what she felt like cooking) were excellent upgrades worth half the price we paid for the room. The pool/bar area was really nice, although we didn't swim or drink there. The location is great too, within walking distance to the gay beach (Blue Chairs) and lots of gay bars/clubs (we walked to Paco's Ranch, Picante and Sama but saw many others on the way).The bad: The average age of the clientele is probably 60, which was not our thing. The rooms must not have been renovated for at least 30 years, and our first room was FILTHY (see below).My partner and I booked the basic room because we didn't need a huge king-sized bed. That was a big mistake. The room we were given was worse than a dirty bathhouse and obviously hadn't been cleaned other than the bed being made. There were pubic hairs in the tattered bed sheets and on the toilet bowl. Cobwebs were hanging from the ceiling. There was trash and dirt on the floor. Shower tiles were broken, mold/mildew around the bathroom sink. I could go on...If we hadn't pre-paid here on [...]we would have run away screaming immediately, and even then we were prepared to cut our losses and find another hotel. We told the guy at the front desk that the room was filthy, and his response was literally, "I am not the cleaner," as if he were defending himself from a personal accusation (which it wasn't). But he was apologetic and asked us to stay, offering an upgraded room (I believe it was 305, top of the steps on the third floor).This room was like a different hotel. I wouldn't say it was immaculate, because it was still very dated, but it was obviously well cleaned (no mold, trash or stray hairs -- we scoured it with a fine-toothed comb). If we hadn't seen the previous room we would have had no complaints overall about Mercurio. But even in the nicer room we were nervous throughout our stay what was lurking below the surface.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're heading toward the beach (Blue Chairs, Sana, etc.) it's a simple, safe walk. If you're heading the other direction, toward the city center to Picante or Paco's Ranch, it may be worth a $1 or $2 investment in a taxi ride as it requires passing through a somewhat sketchy area at night.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
insect
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Dec 18, 2012

clean but unconfortable

The wifi is not working good and the beds are not confortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Christopher G.
New York City
Apr 10, 2011

More bad than good

Bottom line: We saw the best and the worst of this hotel, and while there were some perks, we definitely won't return. If you stay here, save yourself some germs and upgrade to one of the king-sized bed rooms.The good: The staff, from the guys at the front desk to the cleaning staff to the woman who cooked/served breakfast, were the nicest people we encountered in PV. The complimentary WiFi and free breakfast (delicious, authentic Mexican, changed each morning depending on what she felt like cooking) were excellent upgrades worth half the price we paid for the room. The pool/bar area was really nice, although we didn't swim or drink there. The location is great too, within walking distance to the gay beach (Blue Chairs) and lots of gay bars/clubs (we walked to Paco's Ranch, Picante and Sama but saw many others on the way).The bad: The average age of the clientele is probably 60, which was not our thing. The rooms must not have been renovated for at least 30 years, and our first room was FILTHY (see below).My partner and I booked the basic room because we didn't need a huge king-sized bed. That was a big mistake. The room we were given was worse than a dirty bathhouse and obviously hadn't been cleaned other than the bed being made. There were pubic hairs in the tattered bed sheets and on the toilet bowl. Cobwebs were hanging from the ceiling. There was trash and dirt on the floor. Shower tiles were broken, mold/mildew around the bathroom sink. I could go on...If we hadn't pre-paid here on [...]we would have run away screaming immediately, and even then we were prepared to cut our losses and find another hotel. We told the guy at the front desk that the room was filthy, and his response was literally, "I am not the cleaner," as if he were defending himself from a personal accusation (which it wasn't). But he was apologetic and asked us to stay, offering an upgraded room (I believe it was 305, top of the steps on the third floor).This room was like a different hotel. I wouldn't say it was immaculate, because it was still very dated, but it was obviously well cleaned (no mold, trash or stray hairs -- we scoured it with a fine-toothed comb). If we hadn't seen the previous room we would have had no complaints overall about Mercurio. But even in the nicer room we were nervous throughout our stay what was lurking below the surface.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're heading toward the beach (Blue Chairs, Sana, etc.) it's a simple, safe walk. If you're heading the other direction, toward the city center to Picante or Paco's Ranch, it may be worth a $1 or $2 investment in a taxi ride as it requires passing through a somewhat sketchy area at night.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bx kc
the bronx
Nov 26, 2012

Hotel Mercurio - PV

As noted above... the staff is great, the location perfect for gay men... the rooms are spartan and the place could use a coat of paint.... but breakfast is included and the value pretty good... if you want luxury look elsewhere... bit for convenience this is the place... also, the guests tend to be very friendly and overall this is a great place to stay..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RJ Beach guy
Denver, Colorado
May 11, 2010

Depends on what you like/want

The hotel is your average PV hotel. Rooms very basic, but very clean and great housekeeping services and everything worked, TV, air conditioning, hot water, tolet flushed, etc. This is a great place to stay if you like to party and like loud music, and plenty of socializing with people from all over the US and Canada. But if you are looking for a quiet or romantic get-away this is not the place to stay. Afternoons are loud with happy hour music. Most rooms face the court yard so there is no escaping the noise. Although the hotel indicates quiet time after 10:30pm I was woken up by people having a good time at the pool at 3:00am. If you want it a bit more quiet ask for a street facing room. The free breakfast was okay. Not the best, but great to wake up sit around the pool with coffee and OJ. This is not just a gay friendly hotel...it is a Gay only hotel. Great place for the single person looking to meet new people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining, entertainment, happy hour, bars, night clubs, shopping, beach, all within very short walking distance.

Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lost Horizons
MI
Oct 25, 2012

Get what you pay for....

Not exactly what I am used to in comfort or style, but remembering that I was in Old Town Mexico...... that thought made it 2% better. They stated that they have updated the hotel, but it has much more needed to make it equal to a 2 Star in the United States. I told the front desk that I did not have hot water in bathroom sink. They quickly responded that it will be fixed. Five days later and after three requests there was still NO hot water in the bathrom sink. If you little creatures (ants) running around the place, this place is for you. Again I mentioned about the ants and they came up to spray the room, but their spray did little to kill the ants but made the room smell like something was done. When I loooked at my pillow and bed and saw hundreds of ants on the bed and pillow, I went down town and found a store that had bug spray and sprayed the room myself. That seemed to work until I left the place. I was there only five days. Also I was told that I had internet in the room, but yet it would not connect until I left the room and went out in the hall towards the pool. It has a good location, but dont go there expecting an updated place. Trust me its old and looks it. The front desk people were always attentive and kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Mercurio - A Gay-Friendly Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TYLER THE FUN GUY!!!
BALTIMORE, MD
Apr 26, 2009

Very Enjoyable, Comfortable Hotel!!!!

The hotel staff was so friendly. Other guest were very friendly as well. I was traveling alone and met two guys by the pool that were also traveling alone that became my new best friends for the weekend and we had a blast. If your traveling alone and want to make new friends or just relax this is a nice place to do it. Its a comfortable, clean hotel, I look forward to my next trip here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are plenty of nice restaurants within walking distance. The prices are great also.

Back to menu Return to top