$82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
View map of AV. FRANCISCO MEDINA ASCENCIO 3.5, Puerto Vallarta, 48300

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
43 reviews
1st time

I've been to Puerto Vallarta many times and I have stayed in many hotels. This particular one is... See full review

  • Hspanic2go
  • Mar 19, 2015
Good

bathrooms in roons need upgrade. A bit rundown. the men who greated u were so nice & friendly.... See full review

  • marilu q.
  • Mar 10, 2015
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta enchants leisure travelers with a bayside address and 200 renovated rooms with private balconies overlooking the beach. As a bonus, kids eat free at the casual restaurants and can participate in supervised activities. The on-site spa pampers from head to toe with hair and nail treatments and massages, while two tennis courts and a fitness center equipped with cardio machines invite guests to work out before hitting the sights. The outdoor pool captures picturesque vistas of the water.
Dining
Parents, take note: Kids eat free at Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta, but Piaceres Restaurant, the on-site Italian restaurant with a formal dress code, prohibits children under 16. Still, choices abound for families, from fast-food favorites at Snack Pinocho to the all-day buffet by the pool at Guacamaya Restaurant. Los Mariaches Restaurant -- to the right of the lobby bar -- specializes in authentic Mexican dishes and tasty tequilas.
Rooms
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta aims for casual, coastal appeal in 220 renovated rooms. Blond-wood furniture complements plush white bedding atop king beds or two double beds, while floor-to-ceiling windows display the property's best asset: a location by Banderas Bay. Furnished balconies invite guests to linger before retiring for the night. Free Wi-Fi is standard, along with a pillow menu, satellite TV and a telephone with voicemail.
Property features
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta guests stay fit with a workout in the fitness center, which is equipped with treadmills, a stair climber and stationary bikes. The beach turns into an active sports zone, where guests play tennis on two courts and take a swim in the outdoor pool.

For tranquil downtime, head to the spa for massages and hair and nail treatments before relaxing in the sauna or Jacuzzi.
Highlights
  • Affordable beachside hotel with 220 renovated rooms
  • Kids eat free
  • Kids club for children ages 4 to 12
  • Outdoor pool and fitness center
  • Spa pampers with massages and hair and nail services
Nearby attractions
  • Malecon (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.6 mi/2.7 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • PC available
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (2.8 mi/4.5 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Standard Room
All our Renovated rooms has One King Size or Two Double Beds, Private Balcony, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone line with voicemail, Satellite TV, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer, Coffeemaker and Pillow Menu, everything to make your stay confortable and relaxing.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Hairdryer in room
Computer in Room
Ironing board

Dining

Piaceres Restaurant (Italian)
Location: In Hotel - Commercial Arcade Serves: Dinner Fine Italian Cuisine. Reservations Required
Open from 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.
Guacamaya Restaurant
Location: In Hotel - Poolside Serves: Breakfast | Lunch | Dinner International Cuisine Buffet & A la Carte
Open from 6:00 a.m. to 10:30 p.m.
Los Mariaches Restaurant (Mexican)
Location: In Hotel - Lobby Bar Area Serves: Dinner Fine Mexican Specialties. Reservation Required
Open from 6:00 p.m. to 10.30 p.m.
Pinocho
Location: In Hotel - pool side Serves: Lunch Hamburgers, hot dogs , cheap potatoes, Pizza & drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 43
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
marilu q.
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

Good

bathrooms in roons need upgrade. A bit rundown. the men who greated u were so nice & friendly. Kudos to them

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nurse Mom 45
Business
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Apr 1, 2014

Weekend getaway

This hotel was very ordinary. It is an older hotel and they do not make any effort to update or upgrade. The staff was just, blah. I would not recommend the all-inclusive option. The food and drinks are not good enough to warrant the extra charge and if you decide you would like to order something (and pay for it) off the menu..............they become very confused. We were even told "No" that we couldn't order off the menu. I have been to PV over 14 times and have stayed in many different types of places. But I would not stay here again. It was too far to walk downtown, but close enough to be noisy. If you enjoy peace & quiet and like to stay on the resort property, I would recommend Nueva Vallarta. If you like the bustle of downtown I would recommend Zona Romantica. However, this hotel is neither, which makes it nothing special at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

La Carreta down on the beach (Zona Romantica area) is a wonderful, low-key spot for drinking and eating authentic snacks! Get there early and you can have a small table and umbrella that you can sit at all day if you wish! Great service!!!

Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maria rosas
Business
Oakland, california
Sep 4, 2013

Great hotel or price

Great food & staff highly recommend!! Cant beat the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Petefam
Business
Franklin, WI, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Clean comfortable hotel

My family stayed Easter week and enjoyed it very much. Clean hotel with a nice staff, great pool and view of the ocean and Sierra madre mountains. Beach activities right by the resort and we always felt safe. Being from the united states, we were quite concerned when the state of Jalisco became part of the travel advisory warning but we walked over the place and took public buses and taxis and the locals were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Vallarta zoo was very unique and a great place for families to go..you can feed lots of animals and even hold a spider monkey and tiger cubs for an extra fee.

Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mexico vacationers
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Apr 13, 2012

First 'real' vacation

We got a great deal.... My recomendation is to get the all inclusive package. The staff is really kids friendly and extreamly nice... I felt realy valued as a customer and I would go back..... we stayed for 10 days and wore never bored..... great location to shops and activities if you desire. Hotel has help with reserving additional activities if you like. Really safe I never felt in Danger and I was there with a 2 and 4 year old. common sense should of course be used but Mexico was not at all what I have heard from people and the TV. Great fairly inexpensive vacation for a 'working' family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great food and different options available for different people. There is a buffet, snack bar, and two reservation restaurants on site.

Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tequila
Business
lloydminster
Jan 30, 2012

holiday inn

beds are hard room needs renos food was cold not great but for the money we paid was still good deal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

take the city bus about 50cents

Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lynne Asuncion
Business
Daly City, CA, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Nice resort beach

We spent our 10th anniv wedding at this Holiday Inn resort. It's wasn't bad at all it actually it's a nice resort and the beach is great and the weather as well. The staff are friendly except the one receptionist her name is Alma, she's rude and not professional when it's comes her job. I reserved one king bed and she gave me 2 full bed, alma also told me that I did not pay the room I reserved and ask for my credit card still. I told her once you reserve online you will pay that right away but she argue again... Cant complain about the beaches it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring extra money incase.

Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
May 2, 2011

It was good for the cost.

While there we mostly laid out by the pool and took in the sun during the day and at night went downtown to eat and shop. The only thing missing was a view from the terrace to the bay. My previous trip to PV was better at another Hotel property in the Hotel Zone where I had a view of pool with the back drop of the Bay. Overall the Hotel was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe de Artist.

Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minneapolis. mn
Mar 16, 2011

okay

We stayed one night in route home. Because we were not part of the all-inclusive guests, we did not get a towel by the pool. In the room, bottled water and coffee were available with no indication of charges. However, when you check out there is a charge for both. The front desk staff were very rude. Maybe all-inclusive guests would have a better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
e 'n d
Business
Parry Sound, Ontario
Jan 4, 2011

Great place to relax & explore

Staff was fabulous [...]. The food was good and there are 2 a la carte restaurants that you can book as many times as you want & they were both very good. We met family for Christmas & New Years and we all had a good time. We paid extra for a larger balcony & it was definitely worth it - views of the ocean sunsets and all the pool action. Puerto Vallarta is a very interesting place when you want to go out & explore. We felt very comfortable walking wherever we wanted which isn't always the case in other resort destinations. We'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top