$77 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
AV. FRANCISCO MEDINA ASCENCIO 3.5, Puerto Vallarta, 48300
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
47 reviews
Great hotel or price

Great food & staff highly recommend!! Cant beat the price! See full review

  • Maria rosas
  • Sep 4, 2013
Winter getaway

Had a really great stay, we did not go all inclusive, or with Transatlantic, so did not get to... See full review

  • Little Brit
  • Jan 25, 2013
Affordable Puerto Vallarta hotel by the bay boasts kids-eat-free policy
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta enchants leisure travelers with a bayside address and 200 renovated rooms with private balconies overlooking the beach. As a bonus, kids eat free at the casual restaurants and can participate in supervised activities. The on-site spa pampers from head to toe with hair and nail treatments and massages, while two tennis courts and a fitness center equipped with cardio machines invite guests to work out before hitting the sights. The outdoor pool captures picturesque vistas of the water.
Highlights
  • Affordable beachside hotel with 220 renovated rooms
  • Kids eat free
  • Kids club for children ages 4 to 12
  • Outdoor pool and fitness center
  • Spa pampers with massages and hair and nail services
Rooms
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta aims for casual, coastal appeal in 220 renovated rooms. Blond-wood furniture complements plush white bedding atop king beds or two double beds, while floor-to-ceiling windows display the property's best asset: a location by Banderas Bay. Furnished balconies invite guests to linger before retiring for the night. Free Wi-Fi is standard, along with a pillow menu, satellite TV and a telephone with voicemail.
Features
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta guests stay fit with a workout in the fitness center, which is equipped with treadmills, a stair climber and stationary bikes. The beach turns into an active sports zone, where guests play tennis on two courts and take a swim in the outdoor pool.

For tranquil downtime, head to the spa for massages and hair and nail treatments before relaxing in the sauna or Jacuzzi.
Dining
Parents, take note: Kids eat free at Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta, but Piaceres Restaurant, the on-site Italian restaurant with a formal dress code, prohibits children under 16. Still, choices abound for families, from fast-food favorites at Snack Pinocho to the all-day buffet by the pool at Guacamaya Restaurant. Los Mariaches Restaurant -- to the right of the lobby bar -- specializes in authentic Mexican dishes and tasty tequilas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.6 mi/2.7 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • PC available

Hotel Map

20.6419 -105.2388
Area served
Puerto Vallarta
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz (PVR)
Area description
It is located just a few minutes away from the airport and downtown, near shopping malls such as Caracol, Peninsula and Galerias Vallarta. Direct from the airport go straight through Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio due south, 5 minutes driving, is just 3 more lights ahead to the Pier where the Cruiseships arrive.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Standard Room
All our Renovated rooms has One King Size or Two Double Beds, Private Balcony, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone line with voicemail, Satellite TV, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer, Coffeemaker and Pillow Menu, everything to make your stay confortable and relaxing.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Hairdryer in room
Computer in Room
Ironing board

Dining

Piaceres Restaurant (Italian)
Location: In Hotel - Commercial Arcade Serves: Dinner Fine Italian Cuisine. Reservations Required
Open from 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.
Guacamaya Restaurant
Location: In Hotel - Poolside Serves: Breakfast | Lunch | Dinner International Cuisine Buffet & A la Carte
Open from 6:00 a.m. to 10:30 p.m.
Los Mariaches Restaurant (Mexican)
Location: In Hotel - Lobby Bar Area Serves: Dinner Fine Mexican Specialties. Reservation Required
Open from 6:00 p.m. to 10.30 p.m.
Pinocho
Location: In Hotel - pool side Serves: Lunch Hamburgers, hot dogs , cheap potatoes, Pizza & drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 47
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
S and S Honeymooners
Orange, CA
Aug 18, 2014

Nice Honeymoon Vacation

The hotel location was very convenient, the hotel staff was very helpful, the pool was nice, the beach and water were wonderful. It was a great honeymoon vacation and the all inclusive package was well worth the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mardar
Winnipeg, Canada
Mar 1, 2013

I would not stay here again

We have vacationed 8 times in Puerto Vallarta and this was our worst experience. Your trip started waiting over three hours for our room as they said it had not been cleaned! The service was very poor in the buffet, it seemed if you wanted something you had to constantly ask, especially for a simple cup of coffee. At times it seemed the hotel was understaffed. This problem was solved, we started tipping before we were served. I thought a tip was something a server earned for good service. The food selection in the buffet and the snack bar was poor. It is advertised that there are two additional restaurants available for evening dining, Only one was open each night. You were lucky to get a reservation. We plan to vacation again in PV next year, but it will not be at the Hoiday Inn

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Mike 55
Ontario, Canada
Feb 17, 2013

Great Holiday again in PV

This was our 3rd time at the Holiday Inn and I can't wait to go back again next year. Our ocean front room had the most beautiful views. One balcony you looked at the shoreline all the way into downtown PV and the the other balcony we watched the sunset every night, it was just awesome. The staff were all excellent from the front desk to the wait staff. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The 3 Dolphins in Old Town. The best grilled Red Snapper dinner including a free margarita...about $12 US.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alice and George
Vancouver, B.C.
Feb 9, 2013

Above our expectation

We had so so expectations but it turned out to be a good compact resort for the price, We would book again for a similar deal, Food was good (nothing fancy for the price we paid) staff , especially the room cleaning service was superb. One problem: there is not enough shade on the property for sunny PVR. Nevertherless, a good to excellent place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Little Brit
Manitoba. Canada
Jan 25, 2013

Winter getaway

Had a really great stay, we did not go all inclusive, or with Transatlantic, so did not get to learn about all the activities that are available at the hotel. The location is good, although we liked it down by the Malecon, but the beach and water by the Holiday Inn is great..would not hesitate to go to the Holiday Inn again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A place called Salads just behind Starbucks excellent food, extremely clean, and nice staff..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
doug w
clarkston MI
Dec 15, 2012

good trip

food needs improvement. I would go again, but not on the meal plan. Breakfast was just fine, the rest need help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bgrace
Los Ángeles, California, EEUU
Jul 20, 2012

Holiday

Good location, rooms are very big and clean. The Hotel is due for renovation, the front desk was alwasy very busy not enough people, and the houskeeping personnel is very noisy during the morning-mid day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lovethesun
Burlington Ontario, Canada
Mar 10, 2012

Holiday Inn has got what it takes and more

Just returned from a great HI vacation. We had the time of our lives. The staff went out of they,re way for us and we thank them for everything. Food: Something for everybody and tasty. Lots for everyone at every breakfast, lunch and dinner. Example: Every meal always a choice of Mexican dishes. Other choices from endless amounts and numerous selections of fresh fruit, vegetables, soup, seafood, hot trays of pork, beef, chicken wings and on and on. To top it off, they had a glassed in desert cooler with fun and tasty selection to die for. And if thats not enough, and you were hungry inbetween, pizza, hotdogs, fries and burgs available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Holiday Inn location is perfect. Short walk, or very inexpensive bus or cab ride to shopping, site seeing, dining out, sailing, or just enjoying the beautiful downtown. We will be back. They have it all. And once again, one very sincere thanks to the staff at Holiday Inn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eby80
Seattle, WA, USA
Jan 10, 2012

Great for the price

Sweet corner room with 2 huge sliding glass doors over looking the ocean to the north. Sunsets from the balcony! Quiet enough at night that we were able to leave the doors open and fall asleep to the sound of the waves. Great staff, extremely attentive and helpful. Only complaint was the pool lounger "situation". By 9am daily, all pool chairs had been "reserved" by people. Folks would drape their beach towels over 2-4 chairs and not come back for hours and hours. Us later risers had to fight to find space around the pool. Seemed a bit unfair. Overall a great value and would recommend to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

el arrayan for authentic mexican food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lady Kodachrome
Morgan Hill, Ca
Dec 5, 2010

Nightmare at Holiday Inn

We needed to stay an extra night due to flight schedules and relied on the familiar name of Holiday Inn. Although they are remodeling, (the jackhammers went steady from 10:00am till 4:00pm), it is too little, too late. The complete hotel needs to be demolished and rebuilt. We were impressed to hear our room was a corner room with two balconys. I threw back the new, cheap drapes and stepped out on one balcony which overlooked the pool. I could see the pool between the 2 inch gap where the balcony seperated from the building. OMG! I quickly came in and went to the other balcony to see the view. Although the balcony was intact, it overlooked the demolition of the second floor above a restaurant. Dust and grime was everywhere. They have an incredible pool. Probably equal to about 3 resort pools. However, it was never clean. We arrived about 2:00pm and it was incredibly 'cloudy'. There were a lot of kids swimming and playing from one end to the other. We declined to get our swimsuits on and decided to get some lunch. We choose the buffet by the pool. We ordered from the menu and enjoyed a great tasty repast. Even though the jackhammer continued, the music and the breeze that flowed through the restaurant almost made it tolerable. We wanted to go for a swim the following day. Unfortunately, the pool was just as cloudy if not worse than the previous afternoon. It was only 10:30am. We packed up, checked out and spent the rest of the day at the airport lounge, playing cards, and watching the planes go by. NEVER again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Restaurant/Buffet had very good food and good service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search