$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 20, 2015 Check-out: Jun 21, 2015

Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
View map of AV. FRANCISCO MEDINA ASCENCIO 3.5, Puerto Vallarta, 48300

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mexico vacationers
Salt Lake City, Utah
Apr 13, 2012

First 'real' vacation

We got a great deal.... My recomendation is to get the all inclusive package. The staff is really kids friendly and extreamly nice... I felt realy valued as a customer and I would go back..... we stayed for 10 days and wore never bored..... great location to shops and activities if you desire. Hotel has help with reserving additional activities if you like. Really safe I never felt in Danger and I was there with a 2 and 4 year old. common sense should of course be used but Mexico was not at all what I have heard from people and the TV. Great fairly inexpensive vacation for a 'working' family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Great food and different options available for different people. There is a buffet, snack bar, and two reservation restaurants on site.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minneapolis. mn
Mar 16, 2011

okay

We stayed one night in route home. Because we were not part of the all-inclusive guests, we did not get a towel by the pool. In the room, bottled water and coffee were available with no indication of charges. However, when you check out there is a charge for both. The front desk staff were very rude. Maybe all-inclusive guests would have a better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
retired teacher, single.
Business
overland park.ks.
Jan 29, 2011

hard to beat for the price

the room was very clean but did show some ware. maid service was wonderful. sunsets were unbeleavable. the two "dress for dinner" were ok. the Italian was a little bit showie but the Mexican place was really nice, very friendly, good food and drinks. The buffet dinner and breakfast room outside overlooking the bay was excellent, especially the breakfast service. the staff was on the ball, the location to downtown was so easy, walking on the streets was safe and easy to find locations of interest. I would go back tomorrow if I could afford it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

buses are 65 cents each way downtown. taxis about 50 pesos. very safe, lots of fun.vendors on the beach are really fun, have good stuff, and will dicker forever. beach ok but not for very far.massages away from the hotel are cheaper but I didn't try the ones at the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
retired teacher, single.
Business
overland park.ks.
Jan 29, 2011

hard to beat for the price

the room was very clean but did show some ware. maid service was wonderful. sunsets were unbeleavable. the two "dress for dinner" were ok. the Italian was a little bit showie but the Mexican place was really nice, very friendly, good food and drinks. The buffet dinner and breakfast room outside overlooking the bay was excellent, especially the breakfast service. the staff was on the ball, the location to downtown was so easy, walking on the streets was safe and easy to find locations of interest. I would go back tomorrow if I could afford it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

buses are 65 cents each way downtown. taxis about 50 pesos. very safe, lots of fun.vendors on the beach are really fun, have good stuff, and will dicker forever. beach ok but not for very far.massages away from the hotel are cheaper but I didn't try the ones at the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
e 'n d
Business
Parry Sound, Ontario
Jan 4, 2011

Great place to relax & explore

Staff was fabulous [...]. The food was good and there are 2 a la carte restaurants that you can book as many times as you want & they were both very good. We met family for Christmas & New Years and we all had a good time. We paid extra for a larger balcony & it was definitely worth it - views of the ocean sunsets and all the pool action. Puerto Vallarta is a very interesting place when you want to go out & explore. We felt very comfortable walking wherever we wanted which isn't always the case in other resort destinations. We'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lady Kodachrome
Business
Morgan Hill, Ca
Dec 5, 2010

Nightmare at Holiday Inn

We needed to stay an extra night due to flight schedules and relied on the familiar name of Holiday Inn. Although they are remodeling, (the jackhammers went steady from 10:00am till 4:00pm), it is too little, too late. The complete hotel needs to be demolished and rebuilt. We were impressed to hear our room was a corner room with two balconys. I threw back the new, cheap drapes and stepped out on one balcony which overlooked the pool. I could see the pool between the 2 inch gap where the balcony seperated from the building. OMG! I quickly came in and went to the other balcony to see the view. Although the balcony was intact, it overlooked the demolition of the second floor above a restaurant. Dust and grime was everywhere. They have an incredible pool. Probably equal to about 3 resort pools. However, it was never clean. We arrived about 2:00pm and it was incredibly 'cloudy'. There were a lot of kids swimming and playing from one end to the other. We declined to get our swimsuits on and decided to get some lunch. We choose the buffet by the pool. We ordered from the menu and enjoyed a great tasty repast. Even though the jackhammer continued, the music and the breeze that flowed through the restaurant almost made it tolerable. We wanted to go for a swim the following day. Unfortunately, the pool was just as cloudy if not worse than the previous afternoon. It was only 10:30am. We packed up, checked out and spent the rest of the day at the airport lounge, playing cards, and watching the planes go by. NEVER again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Restaurant/Buffet had very good food and good service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RubyRed
Business
Denver , CO
Nov 27, 2010

We Would Go Back

The Holiday Inn is an average hotel that is family friendly. We stayed there before and enjoyed our visit. The hotel is clean and friendly. There are some things that need to be fixed in the hotel, but overall it is well maintained, nice and economical. We would go back. We had one problem. The hotel did not have our reservation when we went to check in. It took over and hour to get our room and it was very frustrating. Thankfully everything worked out and we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RubyRed
Business
Denver , CO
Nov 27, 2010

We Would Go Back

The Holiday Inn is an average hotel that is family friendly. We stayed there before and enjoyed our visit. The hotel is clean and friendly. There are some things that need to be fixed in the hotel, but overall it is well maintained, nice and economical. We would go back. We had one problem. The hotel did not have our reservation when we went to check in. It took over and hour to get our room and it was very frustrating. Thankfully everything worked out and we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mguel
Business
Toronto
Jul 2, 2010

Holiday Inn PUERTO VALLARTA

I was working

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Calgary, Ab
Mar 20, 2010

Fantastic family getaway

beautiful beach, great location to local markets and to Costco/Wal-mart

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Never pay more than 50 pesos to get any where

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Calgary, Ab
Mar 20, 2010

Fantastic family getaway

beautiful beach, great location to local markets and to Costco/Wal-mart

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Never pay more than 50 pesos to get any where

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top