$77 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
AV. FRANCISCO MEDINA ASCENCIO 3.5, Puerto Vallarta, 48300
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
64 reviews
Winter getaway

Had a really great stay, we did not go all inclusive, or with Transatlantic, so did not get to... See full review

  • Little Brit
  • Jan 25, 2013
Great hotel or price

Great food & staff highly recommend!! Cant beat the price! See full review

  • Maria rosas
  • Sep 4, 2013
Affordable Puerto Vallarta hotel by the bay boasts kids-eat-free policy
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta enchants leisure travelers with a bayside address and 200 renovated rooms with private balconies overlooking the beach. As a bonus, kids eat free at the casual restaurants and can participate in supervised activities. The on-site spa pampers from head to toe with hair and nail treatments and massages, while two tennis courts and a fitness center equipped with cardio machines invite guests to work out before hitting the sights. The outdoor pool captures picturesque vistas of the water.
Highlights
  • Affordable beachside hotel with 220 renovated rooms
  • Kids eat free
  • Kids club for children ages 4 to 12
  • Outdoor pool and fitness center
  • Spa pampers with massages and hair and nail services
Rooms
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta aims for casual, coastal appeal in 220 renovated rooms. Blond-wood furniture complements plush white bedding atop king beds or two double beds, while floor-to-ceiling windows display the property's best asset: a location by Banderas Bay. Furnished balconies invite guests to linger before retiring for the night. Free Wi-Fi is standard, along with a pillow menu, satellite TV and a telephone with voicemail.
Features
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta guests stay fit with a workout in the fitness center, which is equipped with treadmills, a stair climber and stationary bikes. The beach turns into an active sports zone, where guests play tennis on two courts and take a swim in the outdoor pool.

For tranquil downtime, head to the spa for massages and hair and nail treatments before relaxing in the sauna or Jacuzzi.
Dining
Parents, take note: Kids eat free at Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta, but Piaceres Restaurant, the on-site Italian restaurant with a formal dress code, prohibits children under 16. Still, choices abound for families, from fast-food favorites at Snack Pinocho to the all-day buffet by the pool at Guacamaya Restaurant. Los Mariaches Restaurant -- to the right of the lobby bar -- specializes in authentic Mexican dishes and tasty tequilas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.6 mi/2.7 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • PC available

Hotel Map

20.6419 -105.2388
Area served
Puerto Vallarta
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz (PVR)
Area description
It is located just a few minutes away from the airport and downtown, near shopping malls such as Caracol, Peninsula and Galerias Vallarta. Direct from the airport go straight through Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio due south, 5 minutes driving, is just 3 more lights ahead to the Pier where the Cruiseships arrive.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Standard Room
All our Renovated rooms has One King Size or Two Double Beds, Private Balcony, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone line with voicemail, Satellite TV, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer, Coffeemaker and Pillow Menu, everything to make your stay confortable and relaxing.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Safe
Hairdryer in room
Computer in Room
Ironing board

Dining

Piaceres Restaurant (Italian)
Location: In Hotel - Commercial Arcade Serves: Dinner Fine Italian Cuisine. Reservations Required
Open from 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.
Guacamaya Restaurant
Location: In Hotel - Poolside Serves: Breakfast | Lunch | Dinner International Cuisine Buffet & A la Carte
Open from 6:00 a.m. to 10:30 p.m.
Los Mariaches Restaurant (Mexican)
Location: In Hotel - Lobby Bar Area Serves: Dinner Fine Mexican Specialties. Reservation Required
Open from 6:00 p.m. to 10.30 p.m.
Pinocho
Location: In Hotel - pool side Serves: Lunch Hamburgers, hot dogs , cheap potatoes, Pizza & drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mexico vacationers
Salt Lake City, Utah
Apr 13, 2012

First 'real' vacation

We got a great deal.... My recomendation is to get the all inclusive package. The staff is really kids friendly and extreamly nice... I felt realy valued as a customer and I would go back..... we stayed for 10 days and wore never bored..... great location to shops and activities if you desire. Hotel has help with reserving additional activities if you like. Really safe I never felt in Danger and I was there with a 2 and 4 year old. common sense should of course be used but Mexico was not at all what I have heard from people and the TV. Great fairly inexpensive vacation for a 'working' family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Great food and different options available for different people. There is a buffet, snack bar, and two reservation restaurants on site.

Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
e 'n d
Parry Sound, Ontario
Jan 4, 2011

Great place to relax & explore

Staff was fabulous [...]. The food was good and there are 2 a la carte restaurants that you can book as many times as you want & they were both very good. We met family for Christmas & New Years and we all had a good time. We paid extra for a larger balcony & it was definitely worth it - views of the ocean sunsets and all the pool action. Puerto Vallarta is a very interesting place when you want to go out & explore. We felt very comfortable walking wherever we wanted which isn't always the case in other resort destinations. We'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
e 'n d
Parry Sound, Ontario
Jan 4, 2011

Great place to relax & explore

Staff was fabulous [...]. The food was good and there are 2 a la carte restaurants that you can book as many times as you want & they were both very good. We met family for Christmas & New Years and we all had a good time. We paid extra for a larger balcony & it was definitely worth it - views of the ocean sunsets and all the pool action. Puerto Vallarta is a very interesting place when you want to go out & explore. We felt very comfortable walking wherever we wanted which isn't always the case in other resort destinations. We'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lady Kodachrome
Morgan Hill, Ca
Dec 5, 2010

Nightmare at Holiday Inn

We needed to stay an extra night due to flight schedules and relied on the familiar name of Holiday Inn. Although they are remodeling, (the jackhammers went steady from 10:00am till 4:00pm), it is too little, too late. The complete hotel needs to be demolished and rebuilt. We were impressed to hear our room was a corner room with two balconys. I threw back the new, cheap drapes and stepped out on one balcony which overlooked the pool. I could see the pool between the 2 inch gap where the balcony seperated from the building. OMG! I quickly came in and went to the other balcony to see the view. Although the balcony was intact, it overlooked the demolition of the second floor above a restaurant. Dust and grime was everywhere. They have an incredible pool. Probably equal to about 3 resort pools. However, it was never clean. We arrived about 2:00pm and it was incredibly 'cloudy'. There were a lot of kids swimming and playing from one end to the other. We declined to get our swimsuits on and decided to get some lunch. We choose the buffet by the pool. We ordered from the menu and enjoyed a great tasty repast. Even though the jackhammer continued, the music and the breeze that flowed through the restaurant almost made it tolerable. We wanted to go for a swim the following day. Unfortunately, the pool was just as cloudy if not worse than the previous afternoon. It was only 10:30am. We packed up, checked out and spent the rest of the day at the airport lounge, playing cards, and watching the planes go by. NEVER again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Restaurant/Buffet had very good food and good service.

Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lady Kodachrome
Morgan Hill, Ca
Dec 5, 2010

Nightmare at Holiday Inn

We needed to stay an extra night due to flight schedules and relied on the familiar name of Holiday Inn. Although they are remodeling, (the jackhammers went steady from 10:00am till 4:00pm), it is too little, too late. The complete hotel needs to be demolished and rebuilt. We were impressed to hear our room was a corner room with two balconys. I threw back the new, cheap drapes and stepped out on one balcony which overlooked the pool. I could see the pool between the 2 inch gap where the balcony seperated from the building. OMG! I quickly came in and went to the other balcony to see the view. Although the balcony was intact, it overlooked the demolition of the second floor above a restaurant. Dust and grime was everywhere. They have an incredible pool. Probably equal to about 3 resort pools. However, it was never clean. We arrived about 2:00pm and it was incredibly 'cloudy'. There were a lot of kids swimming and playing from one end to the other. We declined to get our swimsuits on and decided to get some lunch. We choose the buffet by the pool. We ordered from the menu and enjoyed a great tasty repast. Even though the jackhammer continued, the music and the breeze that flowed through the restaurant almost made it tolerable. We wanted to go for a swim the following day. Unfortunately, the pool was just as cloudy if not worse than the previous afternoon. It was only 10:30am. We packed up, checked out and spent the rest of the day at the airport lounge, playing cards, and watching the planes go by. NEVER again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Restaurant/Buffet had very good food and good service.

Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RubyRed
Denver , CO
Nov 27, 2010

We Would Go Back

The Holiday Inn is an average hotel that is family friendly. We stayed there before and enjoyed our visit. The hotel is clean and friendly. There are some things that need to be fixed in the hotel, but overall it is well maintained, nice and economical. We would go back. We had one problem. The hotel did not have our reservation when we went to check in. It took over and hour to get our room and it was very frustrating. Thankfully everything worked out and we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mguel
Business
Toronto
Jul 2, 2010

Holiday Inn PUERTO VALLARTA

I was working

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mguel
Business
Toronto
Jul 2, 2010

Holiday Inn PUERTO VALLARTA

I was working

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Calgary, Ab
Mar 20, 2010

Fantastic family getaway

beautiful beach, great location to local markets and to Costco/Wal-mart

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Never pay more than 50 pesos to get any where

Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 1, 2010

Great location

The room was clean and had good bed and towels, and good TV reception. The location is great. We were not told about amenities at check-in such as needing a pool towel card, nor given one. More info about activities and restaurants would have been nice also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a short walk to a mall area with supermarket that has everything plus small shops and local fast food places. The local bus south to the centro and romantic zone stops right out front on the main road and is only 6.5 pesos for the 10 minute ride. The marine terminal is a short bus ride north or 15 minute walk for boating excursions.

Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 1, 2010

Great location

The room was clean and had good bed and towels, and good TV reception. The location is great. We were not told about amenities at check-in such as needing a pool towel card, nor given one. More info about activities and restaurants would have been nice also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a short walk to a mall area with supermarket that has everything plus small shops and local fast food places. The local bus south to the centro and romantic zone stops right out front on the main road and is only 6.5 pesos for the 10 minute ride. The marine terminal is a short bus ride north or 15 minute walk for boating excursions.

Back to menu Return to top