$82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
View map of AV. FRANCISCO MEDINA ASCENCIO 3.5, Puerto Vallarta, 48300

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mguel
Business
Toronto
Jul 2, 2010

Holiday Inn PUERTO VALLARTA

I was working

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 1, 2010

Great location

The room was clean and had good bed and towels, and good TV reception. The location is great. We were not told about amenities at check-in such as needing a pool towel card, nor given one. More info about activities and restaurants would have been nice also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a short walk to a mall area with supermarket that has everything plus small shops and local fast food places. The local bus south to the centro and romantic zone stops right out front on the main road and is only 6.5 pesos for the 10 minute ride. The marine terminal is a short bus ride north or 15 minute walk for boating excursions.

Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gill 'n' Dave
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
Feb 28, 2010

Great place to relax.

We felt that a bit more information from the hotel staff would have been helpful. We didn't know how to exchange the towel cards for the towels, but figured it out. Also, we didn't know about the Mexican fiesta on the Friday night and if we were eligible to go. Turns out that we could have gone but we had thought it was for a private party. Just more information would have helped us newbies a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Outsiders
Business
Canada
Feb 21, 2010

If your all inclusive...great,not....

First of all booked us an all inclusive vacation pkg that didn't happen...family of 6 arrived and were told that we had to pay another $300 US/person to become all inclusive. The bell boys were very friendly and helpful. The front desk charged us when we asked for a phone number to order pizza!!! The waiters in the restaurant were very attentive but then again their tip was already added to the bill. The waiters on the beach or around the pool......totally ignored us.....they look for the color of your wristband and if it is not the all inclusive color....they don`t even ask if you want a glass of water! The rooms...we were not in the newly renovated ones obviously...the bathtub was peeling, the balcony floor was peeling so that you couldn`t be barefoot, but the beds were made, the floor washed and the bathroom cleaned daily. The hotel is geared toward catering the all inclusive and/or party crowd for sure. The bright spot to not being all inclusive was enjoying all the restaurants in PV!!!! I`ve been to Puerto Vallarta before and know for sure that(with the price we paid for this hotel) will not be staying at Holiday Inn again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Get out and try the restaurants and night life along the Malecon.Must experience a bus ride too!!!

Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gran a
Business
Colorado
Feb 5, 2010

noise/music

We love where the motel is. Great beach. Staff is friendly. Our maid was wonderful. Our safe was broken we asked 3 times about repair and when we left it was still broken. They offered a safe in another area, inconvient. Not enough information on check-in i.e. program schedule/times, prices and tipping(if you are not all inclusive). The music starts at 6:00 a.m. and stops sometime around 11:00 p.m. LOUD! We would have loved to keep our windows open to hear the ocean but the music was always going. We would like to have had some noise down time. We enjoyed the Fiesta Night. It was great! The bus picks up at the end of the driveway. Easy to get downtown. Taxis always available. Fair exchange rate for money right in the motel was nice. In the description "renovated rooms" is not very accurate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jan 11, 2010

Winter in PVR

I have been to PVR several times and have stayed at the Holiday Inn the last two. It is a great location with easy access to the old town and the beach. Rooms were quiet and clean. Staff on the floor were helpful and respectful of privacy. Will stay here again. BTW, the hotel water is safe to drink! I wish the hotel would not permit sales people to come in to their private section of the beach. We were constantly telling sales people no...no....no gracias. I have never found the concierge to be helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great food is a short bus ride away in OLD TOWN. Avoid the tourist areas around malecon and visit some of the neighborhood places. Some of the best food I have ever eaten.

Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
minnquilter
Business
Madison MN
Jan 1, 2010

Interesting

The staff was very helpful and could speak understandable English. The location was perfect!!!! Right on the beach. Alot of activity for our kids to enjoy. I would stay here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yakima, WA
Jul 7, 2009

Good family value

This was our first time in PV. I had read reviews that said the service was excellent. We really were impressed with the level of service. The hotel is in a beautiful setting and it has beautiful features. There are areas where some maintenance would be good but only a couple of areas and it's only cosmetic. We had a lovely time. The pool was great. The beach was a little muddy. The food was good at the restaurart. The buffet didn't seem that impressive so we ordered off the menu. They did charge for coffee in the rooms after the fisrt day and the phone service left something to be desired They also could have used more umbrellas around the pool. But all in all for the price I felt we got a bargain and would definitely stay here again and recommend Holiday Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't be herded to the "hotel information" area. It's time shares or something. We listened for a half hour after a long flight and being up all night and still don't know exactly what the gimmick was. Then we were steered toward a taxi stand. It cost $35.00 American dollars for a ride because there were 5 of us. It was 160 pesos total on the way back with 9 people and we dropped 5 off at the bus station so about $13.00. We had been warned to walk across the street to get a taxi. We will next time.

Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis. In
Jun 2, 2009

Hoiday Inn

The Hotel was clean and the personal were very friendly. We came back and stayed another night at the end of our trip. The view was just incredible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 6, 2008

Very clean

Rooms were much nice. The room, bathroom, and facilities in general were much cleaner and in better repair than the much more expensive hotel. In addition the staff was well trained and much more attentive than any other in Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

La Bodega Del Medio has great music and mojitos right off the Malecon. Also the have the best flan in all of Mexico.

Back to menu Return to top