$65 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
AV. FRANCISCO MEDINA ASCENCIO 3.5, Puerto Vallarta, 48300
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
47 reviews
Great hotel or price

Great food & staff highly recommend!! Cant beat the price! See full review

  • Maria rosas
  • Sep 4, 2013
Winter getaway

Had a really great stay, we did not go all inclusive, or with Transatlantic, so did not get to... See full review

  • Little Brit
  • Jan 25, 2013
Affordable Puerto Vallarta hotel by the bay boasts kids-eat-free policy
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta enchants leisure travelers with a bayside address and 200 renovated rooms with private balconies overlooking the beach. As a bonus, kids eat free at the casual restaurants and can participate in supervised activities. The on-site spa pampers from head to toe with hair and nail treatments and massages, while two tennis courts and a fitness center equipped with cardio machines invite guests to work out before hitting the sights. The outdoor pool captures picturesque vistas of the water.
Highlights
  • Affordable beachside hotel with 220 renovated rooms
  • Kids eat free
  • Kids club for children ages 4 to 12
  • Outdoor pool and fitness center
  • Spa pampers with massages and hair and nail services
Rooms
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta aims for casual, coastal appeal in 220 renovated rooms. Blond-wood furniture complements plush white bedding atop king beds or two double beds, while floor-to-ceiling windows display the property's best asset: a location by Banderas Bay. Furnished balconies invite guests to linger before retiring for the night. Free Wi-Fi is standard, along with a pillow menu, satellite TV and a telephone with voicemail.
Features
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta guests stay fit with a workout in the fitness center, which is equipped with treadmills, a stair climber and stationary bikes. The beach turns into an active sports zone, where guests play tennis on two courts and take a swim in the outdoor pool.

For tranquil downtime, head to the spa for massages and hair and nail treatments before relaxing in the sauna or Jacuzzi.
Dining
Parents, take note: Kids eat free at Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta, but Piaceres Restaurant, the on-site Italian restaurant with a formal dress code, prohibits children under 16. Still, choices abound for families, from fast-food favorites at Snack Pinocho to the all-day buffet by the pool at Guacamaya Restaurant. Los Mariaches Restaurant -- to the right of the lobby bar -- specializes in authentic Mexican dishes and tasty tequilas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.6 mi/2.7 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • PC available

Hotel Map

20.6419 -105.2388
Area served
Puerto Vallarta
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz (PVR)
Area description
It is located just a few minutes away from the airport and downtown, near shopping malls such as Caracol, Peninsula and Galerias Vallarta. Direct from the airport go straight through Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio due south, 5 minutes driving, is just 3 more lights ahead to the Pier where the Cruiseships arrive.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Standard Room
All our Renovated rooms has One King Size or Two Double Beds, Private Balcony, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone line with voicemail, Satellite TV, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer, Coffeemaker and Pillow Menu, everything to make your stay confortable and relaxing.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Hairdryer in room
Computer in Room
Ironing board

Dining

Piaceres Restaurant (Italian)
Location: In Hotel - Commercial Arcade Serves: Dinner Fine Italian Cuisine. Reservations Required
Open from 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.
Guacamaya Restaurant
Location: In Hotel - Poolside Serves: Breakfast | Lunch | Dinner International Cuisine Buffet & A la Carte
Open from 6:00 a.m. to 10:30 p.m.
Los Mariaches Restaurant (Mexican)
Location: In Hotel - Lobby Bar Area Serves: Dinner Fine Mexican Specialties. Reservation Required
Open from 6:00 p.m. to 10.30 p.m.
Pinocho
Location: In Hotel - pool side Serves: Lunch Hamburgers, hot dogs , cheap potatoes, Pizza & drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RubyRed
Business
Denver , CO
Nov 27, 2010

We Would Go Back

The Holiday Inn is an average hotel that is family friendly. We stayed there before and enjoyed our visit. The hotel is clean and friendly. There are some things that need to be fixed in the hotel, but overall it is well maintained, nice and economical. We would go back. We had one problem. The hotel did not have our reservation when we went to check in. It took over and hour to get our room and it was very frustrating. Thankfully everything worked out and we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mguel
Business
Toronto
Jul 2, 2010

Holiday Inn PUERTO VALLARTA

I was working

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Calgary, Ab
Mar 20, 2010

Fantastic family getaway

beautiful beach, great location to local markets and to Costco/Wal-mart

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Never pay more than 50 pesos to get any where

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 1, 2010

Great location

The room was clean and had good bed and towels, and good TV reception. The location is great. We were not told about amenities at check-in such as needing a pool towel card, nor given one. More info about activities and restaurants would have been nice also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a short walk to a mall area with supermarket that has everything plus small shops and local fast food places. The local bus south to the centro and romantic zone stops right out front on the main road and is only 6.5 pesos for the 10 minute ride. The marine terminal is a short bus ride north or 15 minute walk for boating excursions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gill 'n' Dave
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
Feb 28, 2010

Great place to relax.

We felt that a bit more information from the hotel staff would have been helpful. We didn't know how to exchange the towel cards for the towels, but figured it out. Also, we didn't know about the Mexican fiesta on the Friday night and if we were eligible to go. Turns out that we could have gone but we had thought it was for a private party. Just more information would have helped us newbies a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Outsiders
Business
Canada
Feb 21, 2010

If your all inclusive...great,not....

First of all booked us an all inclusive vacation pkg that didn't happen...family of 6 arrived and were told that we had to pay another $300 US/person to become all inclusive. The bell boys were very friendly and helpful. The front desk charged us when we asked for a phone number to order pizza!!! The waiters in the restaurant were very attentive but then again their tip was already added to the bill. The waiters on the beach or around the pool......totally ignored us.....they look for the color of your wristband and if it is not the all inclusive color....they don`t even ask if you want a glass of water! The rooms...we were not in the newly renovated ones obviously...the bathtub was peeling, the balcony floor was peeling so that you couldn`t be barefoot, but the beds were made, the floor washed and the bathroom cleaned daily. The hotel is geared toward catering the all inclusive and/or party crowd for sure. The bright spot to not being all inclusive was enjoying all the restaurants in PV!!!! I`ve been to Puerto Vallarta before and know for sure that(with the price we paid for this hotel) will not be staying at Holiday Inn again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Get out and try the restaurants and night life along the Malecon.Must experience a bus ride too!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gran a
Business
Colorado
Feb 5, 2010

noise/music

We love where the motel is. Great beach. Staff is friendly. Our maid was wonderful. Our safe was broken we asked 3 times about repair and when we left it was still broken. They offered a safe in another area, inconvient. Not enough information on check-in i.e. program schedule/times, prices and tipping(if you are not all inclusive). The music starts at 6:00 a.m. and stops sometime around 11:00 p.m. LOUD! We would have loved to keep our windows open to hear the ocean but the music was always going. We would like to have had some noise down time. We enjoyed the Fiesta Night. It was great! The bus picks up at the end of the driveway. Easy to get downtown. Taxis always available. Fair exchange rate for money right in the motel was nice. In the description "renovated rooms" is not very accurate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jan 11, 2010

Winter in PVR

I have been to PVR several times and have stayed at the Holiday Inn the last two. It is a great location with easy access to the old town and the beach. Rooms were quiet and clean. Staff on the floor were helpful and respectful of privacy. Will stay here again. BTW, the hotel water is safe to drink! I wish the hotel would not permit sales people to come in to their private section of the beach. We were constantly telling sales people no...no....no gracias. I have never found the concierge to be helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great food is a short bus ride away in OLD TOWN. Avoid the tourist areas around malecon and visit some of the neighborhood places. Some of the best food I have ever eaten.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
minnquilter
Business
Madison MN
Jan 1, 2010

Interesting

The staff was very helpful and could speak understandable English. The location was perfect!!!! Right on the beach. Alot of activity for our kids to enjoy. I would stay here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yakima, WA
Jul 7, 2009

Good family value

This was our first time in PV. I had read reviews that said the service was excellent. We really were impressed with the level of service. The hotel is in a beautiful setting and it has beautiful features. There are areas where some maintenance would be good but only a couple of areas and it's only cosmetic. We had a lovely time. The pool was great. The beach was a little muddy. The food was good at the restaurart. The buffet didn't seem that impressive so we ordered off the menu. They did charge for coffee in the rooms after the fisrt day and the phone service left something to be desired They also could have used more umbrellas around the pool. But all in all for the price I felt we got a bargain and would definitely stay here again and recommend Holiday Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't be herded to the "hotel information" area. It's time shares or something. We listened for a half hour after a long flight and being up all night and still don't know exactly what the gimmick was. Then we were steered toward a taxi stand. It cost $35.00 American dollars for a ride because there were 5 of us. It was 160 pesos total on the way back with 9 people and we dropped 5 off at the bus station so about $13.00. We had been warned to walk across the street to get a taxi. We will next time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top