$65 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

3 stars
AV. FRANCISCO MEDINA ASCENCIO 3.5, Puerto Vallarta, 48300
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
47 reviews
Great hotel or price

Great food & staff highly recommend!! Cant beat the price! See full review

  • Maria rosas
  • Sep 4, 2013
Winter getaway

Had a really great stay, we did not go all inclusive, or with Transatlantic, so did not get to... See full review

  • Little Brit
  • Jan 25, 2013
Affordable Puerto Vallarta hotel by the bay boasts kids-eat-free policy
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta enchants leisure travelers with a bayside address and 200 renovated rooms with private balconies overlooking the beach. As a bonus, kids eat free at the casual restaurants and can participate in supervised activities. The on-site spa pampers from head to toe with hair and nail treatments and massages, while two tennis courts and a fitness center equipped with cardio machines invite guests to work out before hitting the sights. The outdoor pool captures picturesque vistas of the water.
Highlights
  • Affordable beachside hotel with 220 renovated rooms
  • Kids eat free
  • Kids club for children ages 4 to 12
  • Outdoor pool and fitness center
  • Spa pampers with massages and hair and nail services
Rooms
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta aims for casual, coastal appeal in 220 renovated rooms. Blond-wood furniture complements plush white bedding atop king beds or two double beds, while floor-to-ceiling windows display the property's best asset: a location by Banderas Bay. Furnished balconies invite guests to linger before retiring for the night. Free Wi-Fi is standard, along with a pillow menu, satellite TV and a telephone with voicemail.
Features
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta guests stay fit with a workout in the fitness center, which is equipped with treadmills, a stair climber and stationary bikes. The beach turns into an active sports zone, where guests play tennis on two courts and take a swim in the outdoor pool.

For tranquil downtime, head to the spa for massages and hair and nail treatments before relaxing in the sauna or Jacuzzi.
Dining
Parents, take note: Kids eat free at Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta, but Piaceres Restaurant, the on-site Italian restaurant with a formal dress code, prohibits children under 16. Still, choices abound for families, from fast-food favorites at Snack Pinocho to the all-day buffet by the pool at Guacamaya Restaurant. Los Mariaches Restaurant -- to the right of the lobby bar -- specializes in authentic Mexican dishes and tasty tequilas.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.6 mi/2.7 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • PC available

Hotel Map

20.6419 -105.2388
Area served
Puerto Vallarta
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz (PVR)
Area description
It is located just a few minutes away from the airport and downtown, near shopping malls such as Caracol, Peninsula and Galerias Vallarta. Direct from the airport go straight through Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio due south, 5 minutes driving, is just 3 more lights ahead to the Pier where the Cruiseships arrive.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Standard Room
All our Renovated rooms has One King Size or Two Double Beds, Private Balcony, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone line with voicemail, Satellite TV, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer, Coffeemaker and Pillow Menu, everything to make your stay confortable and relaxing.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Hairdryer in room
Computer in Room
Ironing board

Dining

Piaceres Restaurant (Italian)
Location: In Hotel - Commercial Arcade Serves: Dinner Fine Italian Cuisine. Reservations Required
Open from 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.
Guacamaya Restaurant
Location: In Hotel - Poolside Serves: Breakfast | Lunch | Dinner International Cuisine Buffet & A la Carte
Open from 6:00 a.m. to 10:30 p.m.
Los Mariaches Restaurant (Mexican)
Location: In Hotel - Lobby Bar Area Serves: Dinner Fine Mexican Specialties. Reservation Required
Open from 6:00 p.m. to 10.30 p.m.
Pinocho
Location: In Hotel - pool side Serves: Lunch Hamburgers, hot dogs , cheap potatoes, Pizza & drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mexico vacationers
Salt Lake City, Utah
Apr 13, 2012

First 'real' vacation

We got a great deal.... My recomendation is to get the all inclusive package. The staff is really kids friendly and extreamly nice... I felt realy valued as a customer and I would go back..... we stayed for 10 days and wore never bored..... great location to shops and activities if you desire. Hotel has help with reserving additional activities if you like. Really safe I never felt in Danger and I was there with a 2 and 4 year old. common sense should of course be used but Mexico was not at all what I have heard from people and the TV. Great fairly inexpensive vacation for a 'working' family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Great food and different options available for different people. There is a buffet, snack bar, and two reservation restaurants on site.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Little Brit
Business
Manitoba. Canada
Jan 25, 2013

Winter getaway

Had a really great stay, we did not go all inclusive, or with Transatlantic, so did not get to learn about all the activities that are available at the hotel. The location is good, although we liked it down by the Malecon, but the beach and water by the Holiday Inn is great..would not hesitate to go to the Holiday Inn again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A place called Salads just behind Starbucks excellent food, extremely clean, and nice staff..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ddking
Business
madison hts. mi.
Dec 16, 2012

hotel--pool---food

Hotel was good and in a good location---Pool was great with a swim up bar and all the staff was great. The food was the problem They need to work on having better food It was average at beat But it was very clean and allstaff was great. We would go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Diablo763
Business
Michigan
Dec 15, 2012

Great Place, Food and Beverage not so good.

I found that they have great location, clean rooms, nice pool and staff. What was missing was the food was below par and limited adult beverages. This was an all inclusive two weeks and found that we could only go the buffet line for breakfast and lunch and not order off the menu. The adult beverages was only "well" drinks and not anythink else. The Mexican Resturant was not good at all and the Italian Resturany was good but we tired of it. The pool water was cold. The staff was great and the activites staff was Super.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
doug w
Business
clarkston MI
Dec 15, 2012

good trip

food needs improvement. I would go again, but not on the meal plan. Breakfast was just fine, the rest need help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bgrace
Business
Los Ángeles, California, EEUU
Jul 20, 2012

Holiday

Good location, rooms are very big and clean. The Hotel is due for renovation, the front desk was alwasy very busy not enough people, and the houskeeping personnel is very noisy during the morning-mid day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baja Cali traveler
Business
Baja California
Jul 12, 2012

Great stay

Overall it was a great stay...staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Petefam
Business
Franklin, WI, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Clean comfortable hotel

My family stayed Easter week and enjoyed it very much. Clean hotel with a nice staff, great pool and view of the ocean and Sierra madre mountains. Beach activities right by the resort and we always felt safe. Being from the united states, we were quite concerned when the state of Jalisco became part of the travel advisory warning but we walked over the place and took public buses and taxis and the locals were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Vallarta zoo was very unique and a great place for families to go..you can feed lots of animals and even hold a spider monkey and tiger cubs for an extra fee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mexico vacationers
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Apr 13, 2012

First 'real' vacation

We got a great deal.... My recomendation is to get the all inclusive package. The staff is really kids friendly and extreamly nice... I felt realy valued as a customer and I would go back..... we stayed for 10 days and wore never bored..... great location to shops and activities if you desire. Hotel has help with reserving additional activities if you like. Really safe I never felt in Danger and I was there with a 2 and 4 year old. common sense should of course be used but Mexico was not at all what I have heard from people and the TV. Great fairly inexpensive vacation for a 'working' family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great food and different options available for different people. There is a buffet, snack bar, and two reservation restaurants on site.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lovethesun
Business
Burlington Ontario, Canada
Mar 10, 2012

Holiday Inn has got what it takes and more

Just returned from a great HI vacation. We had the time of our lives. The staff went out of they,re way for us and we thank them for everything. Food: Something for everybody and tasty. Lots for everyone at every breakfast, lunch and dinner. Example: Every meal always a choice of Mexican dishes. Other choices from endless amounts and numerous selections of fresh fruit, vegetables, soup, seafood, hot trays of pork, beef, chicken wings and on and on. To top it off, they had a glassed in desert cooler with fun and tasty selection to die for. And if thats not enough, and you were hungry inbetween, pizza, hotdogs, fries and burgs available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Holiday Inn location is perfect. Short walk, or very inexpensive bus or cab ride to shopping, site seeing, dining out, sailing, or just enjoying the beautiful downtown. We will be back. They have it all. And once again, one very sincere thanks to the staff at Holiday Inn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mas010
Business
Columbus, OH, USA
Feb 8, 2012

a week in paradise

We have been to PVR multiple times and have always stayed at Holiday Inn. It is on a great spot on the beach and out of the noise of downtown. I prefer the side of the hotel away from the pool. It has great views of the beach and is more quiet. We had some issues with pool towels that needed to be addressed by management. We attempted to get resolution with little success. We dont eat at the hotel due to the great and inexpensive food options in town so I have not comments about hotel food. Overall it is a good value, clean and safe with little to no customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top