$46 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel and Suites

2 stars
View map of Amapas #114 Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta, 48380

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mission,B.C. Canada
Mar 5, 2011

GREAT location,reasonably priced

junior suites are the best,ocean view,kitchenette,private deck,large,king bed and the BEST view of Vallarta sunsets!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Emperador is Perfectly situated in the Romantic zone. Shopping, dining,beach and nightlife are all right there.

Review of Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jaden
Business
Kansas City
Mar 5, 2011

Great location and price

Great location and price. I'd recommend this place to people who are accustomed to Puerto Vallarta. Not for first-timers or people that want to be pampered at their hotel. I had many good interactions with the older maid. She was very helpful and friendly. I had no worries about theft as mentioned in previous reviews. Like many hotels in Puerto Vallarta, the bed was very firm and the pillows were flat or lumpy and in definite need of replacing. We were very happy with our choice of hotel and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minneapolis,mn
Feb 22, 2011

sun and fun for less dun($$$)

even with no previous traveling experience I can tell you that my trip was worth every penny. The hotel was situated in the old part of town and you could experience the people and their culture. The hotel staff were very friendly and courteous. The hotel was clean. You could go to the lobby for wireless access to your laptop or they had 2 sites for use if you didn't bring your laptop. Walk out the back through the restaurant and you were on the beach; out through the front and you were in the heart of the city. Several restaurants within walking distance plus the malecon (a stretch along the beach with access to several vendors for all your shopping for gifts). My only downers were the beds were harder than what I am used to and if you wanted to use the pool it was a block further up the street. We did some of the advertised activities like the pirate cruises (day and evening). Those were a great experience. We made a lot of friends there and are already planning our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Every type of dining experience available.

Review of Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gaycation Nate
Business
Bloomington, IN
Feb 21, 2011

Better than expected!

I came with my friend for a weekend gaycation. Because we're still students, Emperador was the cheapest option, and honestly we were scared after reading the reviews online. However, I'm happy to report that the hotel was a great bargain! It's location is superb, equidistant from the gay bars and the gay resorts; the beach and restaurant are clean; the room was spartan but also clean; and the hotel staff was friendly. I would definitely go back to this gem by the sea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Olla, Margaritaville (don't judge the name--best guacamole ever), and Langostino's are all "authentic" Mexican restaurants that are decently priced and near to the hotel. I use quotation marks because they still have English menus, but besides for the taco stalls on the street (which you HAVE to try), these were the closest you could get to authentic in PVR.

Review of Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dale - Budget Traveler
Business
Atlanta, Ga.
Feb 16, 2011

Wonderful Stay

The Emperador is perfectly located in a very charming part of town and tower #1 of two is RIGHT ON THE BEACH!Though we were in tower #2 just off the beach, we still had a an ocean view! [...]I would love to stay there again as everything was just right for any budget traveler. The location is central to anything you would need: restaurants, convenience stores, the beach... you name it. The staff was helpful and very accommodating. I would recommend The Emperador Suites to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burnaby, BC
Feb 13, 2011

Stayed a month

The Emperador was the 4th different hotel I have stayed at in Puerto Vallarta in my 7 visits to paradise. One of the other hotels was better, another the same and one worse. As far as I am concerned, a bed and 'good' shower / bathroom is all you need in PV. I was however very dissapointed with the beach arrangement there at the Emperador. The beach is the exclusive use of the restraunt which is privately leased. Hotel customers can use the beach free, however waiters are directed to pester you to buy, buy, buy. They have signs on the tables beside the loungers stating NO outside food or drinks allowed. I bought breakfast from them every morning, but as soon as I was done eating and not ordering 'more' food or DRINKS, I was basically ignored. AS well the beach is filthy there, the restraunt doesn't clean it and there were an accumulation of cigarette butts and beer tops and straws all over the beach and one MUST wear shoes to walk across the beach to get to the toilets which are also often FILTHY... I am not sure I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JustAdam
Business
Salt Lake City
Feb 8, 2011

Nice stay, great staff

I had a great say, no complaints. The staff was very helpful and went out of their way to help if asked. The rooms are older, but very clean. I had low expectations after reading all the reviews, but the elevator always worked and there was always hot water. No issues with the maids, nothing. Overall I thought Emperador was better than other hotels in the area. Great location and price, not sure where all the complaints came from. The pool was closed, but the beach is right there. I'm planning to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Feb 3, 2011

Underwhelming

Great location in the Zona Romantica. The picture gallery on their site got me excited about my stay...especially with the jacuzzis on the rooftops. However, both jacuzzis were empty and didn't work; they looked as if they hadn't been used in quite a while. The standard rooms were run-down. I won't be staying there again during my next trip to PV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rhythms of the Night from Vallarta Adventures was amazing. I highly recommend it if you're looking for a romantic getaway boat ride and amazing dinner/entertainment.

Review of Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Tan
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 3, 2011

Great Location

I usually stay here due to desireable location, service is friendly ammenities few... The only draw-back is the beds are very hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many options in PV for great food, try eating at a new place for each meal!

Review of Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hotlatin Man
Business
Chicago IL
Feb 1, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

When to the beach & Night Clubs, Out to eat & Shoping. Perfect!!!! Location for all attivity!!!! very nice staff.. and clean.!! Thank you so much. Love L.g

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is so close together. perfect spot.

Back to menu Return to top