$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only

2 stars
Manuel M Dieguez # 171, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
90 reviews
PVR Halloween

Had a little problem with noise at 7 am the pool cleaning guy dragging chairs. Then the air... See full review

  • Traveler 9
  • Nov 8, 2013
Great place in urban setting.

About a block and 1/2 to the beach. Many restaurants and shops nearby. Some of the street and beach... See full review

  • Chiliywilly
  • Sep 5, 2014
Puerto Vallarta entices with rooftop pool and Mexican colonial rooms
Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only stirs romantic thoughts with its seaside setting and charming Mexican colonial architecture and decor. Folk art fills the rooms and live musicians create a festive dining atmosphere at Mi Pueblito, which boasts a gorgeous seaside terrace. Guests wade in the rooftop pool, indulge in the panoramic city views from the terrace solarium or book a spa treatment. The sister property Playa Los Arcos Beach Resort & Spa also invites guests to participate in planned activities from water sports to dance lessons.
Highlights
  • Boutique beachside property with Mexican Colonial appeal
  • Access to activities at sister property Playa Los Arcos Beach Resort & Spa
  • Rooftop pool and sundeck
  • Two restaurants, including one with a seaside terrace
  • Terrace solarium with panoramic city views
Rooms
Hand-carved headboards and authentic Mexican art lend an old-world feel to rooms and suites at Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only. Artful touches include stenciled designs on two-toned gold and white walls, scroll lamps and cherub-themed art. Purple- and pink-striped curtains open to reveal sliding glass doors that lead out to furnished balconies. Standard amenities include cable TV, mini-bars, refrigerators, air conditioning and bathrooms with showers.
Features
Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only's rooftop pool offers bird's-eye views of the bay and ample room for sunbathing. Guests in need of pampering turn to the on-site spa, a holistic haven for facials, massages, body treatments, and hand and nail treatments.

Travelers also take advantage of sister property Playa Los Arcos Beach Resort & Spa's activities, which range from dance lessons to scuba diving.
Dining
Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only's restaurants and bar conjure the feeling of a Mexican village. At Tlaloc, guests enjoy live music under a palapa (an open-sided, thatched-roof hut) and Mi Pueblito treats diners to views of Banderas Bay while indulging in Mexican and international fare. Kaiser Maximilian serves European cuisine.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.6 mi/9 km)
Attractions
  • Bay of Banderas (0.2mi/0.3 km)
  • Malecon (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.4 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.6 mi/9 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in public areas

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only Rooms

Standard Room
Rooms have a king size bed, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, color TV, mini refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Mi Pueblito
A covered and open terrace by the beach with a beautiful ocean view featuring traditional Mexican and International foods in a friendly, romantic atmosphere. In the evening it is a great place to watch the Puerto Vallarta sunsets.
Tialoc Palapa Bar
Live music nightly for your listening and dancing pleasure.
Maximillan Cafe
The best in gourmet dining with European cuisine for an evening you'll never forget.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (90)

Ratings and reviews for Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Highland
Dec 31, 2008

Great Location

The hotel was ideally located, everything was just outside the front doors yet it was a quiet hotel. Cab drivers seem to have trouble finding it, but once you told them the cross streets, it was no problem. The bed was huge, and plenty of channels on the TV. The bathroom was super clean and the room service was great. Wireless internet service is only available in the lobby, the only bad thing I guess so not the greatest for business. But awesome for a vacation in Puerto Vallarta. I've already been recommending this hotel to all my friends. The pool on the roof so nice and it was awesome to watch the city below you while you swim around. I'm going back as soon as I can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Freddy Tucan for breakfast, and tacos al pastor on the next street over at 2 a.m., don't miss these.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Delta
Dec 28, 2008

Very Friendly Staff

Plenty of storage and easy access to the room safe were convenient features as well. The bathroom was clean, had a good shower with lots of hot water and adequate lighting. The A/C - with remote control was a treat. This hotel is located in a great part of Old Town with easy access to the beach, local restaurants and beer for the refrigerator, which also comes with the room. The quiet and calm of the roof top pool was a real bonus, although guests from the other two properties somehow managed to sneak their kids past the front desk into this 'adult only' facility. A cab ride to the airport,about twenty minutes away, will cost you 140 peso's including tip. Great place with almost no screaming kids!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast, out of the hotel, three rights and up the street try Fredy's Tucan ($$), a great menu and very good food. For dinner try Epoca($$$)a short walk north on the Malecon, or Tizecas $$)across and up from Andelaes, a very robust bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milford
Nov 25, 2008

Friendly efficient staff and convenient

Great helpful staff and a quiet, comfortable but smallish room with a comfortable kingside bed. The room was well equipped with a basic kitchen and refrigerator. Nice roof top pool. Good access to larger pool and the best beach in Pv across the street. Great German/Mexican( Maximilliano?) restaurant across the street as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Los Muertos Pier and Archie's Wok restaurant as well as Memo's Pancake House within easy walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 28, 2008

Good for the price

Casa Dona Susana was cute and cozy. They were doing renovations at the time so there was some noise. The roof top pool was small but really nice and cute. I had a room with a King size bed and it was comfortable. The staff was friendly. They are affilated with a larger hotel just a block away where the pool is larger and overlooking the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Oct 21, 2008

Mexican Style Hotel

Casa Dona Susana is a charming, Mexican-style hotel in Puerto Vallarta. Its character is reinforced by the fact that it is not part of an international chain with hotels that all look and feel alike. Located in the city's Zona Romantica (Romantic Zone), the hotel is a few-minutes' walk from the ocean, bus stops, restaurants and shops. The hotel staff is courteous and efficient and our spacious room with a balcony was neat and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The outdoor handicraft market in the old section of town is nearby - don't be afraid to walk!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Everett, *
Oct 4, 2008

Great Location and quiet

Casa Susana in Puerto Vallarta was Very nice and quiet the roof top patio was auesome, the only complaint I have is the roof top pool was out of order even though we could use the other pool at the main hotel the roof top pool would have been extra special becase of the the no kids rule.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Watch out for the time share people at the air port just look for you ride! or you will miss it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chino Hills
Sep 21, 2008

Great Place to Relax

First time stay at Casa Dona Susana and after we upgraded our room to get fresh air everything was fine. If you needed anything fixed or needed anything they took care of it immediately the best bellman! Lots of restaurants were closed from Sept 15 to Oct 15th but still found good food in the area.Breakfast at Freddy's Toucan and Dinner at Joe & Jacks (Fish and Chips) were great..also a lot of places on beach to get shrimp and fish..also Los Arcos was pretty good.. Beach and Pool at Los Arcos was the best and really acheived what we went for RELAX,RELAX,RELAX and trust me Sept 1st next year I will be back!!!Also Mexicana Airlines service was the greatest!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Freddy's Toucan Good Old American Breakfast! Joe & Jack's Friday all you can eat fish & chips\ made from fresh Red Snapper Little Places on beach fresh Shrimp on a stick $2.50

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burlington
Jun 7, 2008

Excellent Value, Excellent Location

This was our first time at Casa Dona Susana and we were very satisfied. The staff is very friendly and accomadating. The rooms were on the smaller side and very simple, but really how often are you in the room?! The location was great! Only a block from the beach and near many yummy and inexpensive restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone on a budget and looking for first class atmosphere and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A few of these restaurants also have fun night life!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 4, 2008

More like a Mexican villa than a hotel

If you enjoy experiencing the attitude and culture of a city, then try the Casa Dona Susana. The desk staff is helpful, patient, and nice. The bellman is the best. He recommended a taco stand that hit the spot and he took the time to draw a map. Don't expect carpets and plush couches. There's a large courtyard/atrium that all 4 floors of rooms face. The courtyard is lush with greenery and tables to sit at. The room I stayed in was on the ground floor and had a front sitting room with kitchen, and a bedroom that was big enough for the king sized bed. Small full bath off the bedroom. The decor and furniture is pretty and rustic. You might have heard about a musty smell, and there is a musty smell, but it's not unbearable. When I checked into the room, the bellman checked all the lights and appliances and noticed that the TV was not working. Two other maintenance men came in and tried two more TVs and one more remote before feeling satisfied. I tried to tell them that it was OK and I didn't need the TV, but they worked until they changed it up. It took awhile and I was slightly annoyed because I wanted to go get my beach towel, which you need to get at the sister hotel, the Los Arcos, across the street. When I travel, I don't plan on spending much time in the room, so if this is what you do too, you'll enjoy the Casa Dona Susana for its quiet, private area and how rustic and homey it feels. The air-conditioner blasts like crazy and seems to have only one setting that you can't change or turn off and that's super high freezing. Bring warm pajamas. But the pool on the roof is so lovely and quiet and nice. You can find a chaise lounge that's either in the sun or in the shade. There's a mango tree and the view is amazing. You can also spend time at the Los Arcos pool, and even though it has a jacuzzi, there are many people and children in the pool and laying out by the pool. Think Vegas. There's a cafe right next door that has everything you need, even books to read. I enjoyed a delicious mango smoothy one morning and it hit the spot. The woman who works at the cafe is also very nice and patient. If you're looking for a place to stay that's affordable and feels like you're staying with folks from the city, the Casa Dona Susana is for you. If you're traveling with your children and/or looking for a condo, this is not the place for you and there are plenty of other options in Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 3, 2007

Great for the Value

Hotel is located very close to the beach. It's near stores for shopping, foreign exchange, convenitence store, near the local bus stops, near night clubs, local restaurants and bars. The hotel is Mexican Colonial so if you're in to vintage you'll enjoy your stay. The hotel staff if friendly, helpful and they never tired of answering my endless questions. When leaving the hotel in the taxi for the airport the bellman asked if I would return to stay and visit with them at the Los Arcos Vallarta again. I thought it was touching and reassured him that I would return to stay at the hotel...and for the price for an inexpensive get-away...I will returning to stay there again next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The area where the hotel is located does not have ATM machines. The shopping areas to the north of the city by the water front on Malecon have ATM machines there, which isn't that far. However, unlike Europe, it is less expensive to change cash currency into pesos rather than using the ATM because of the fees.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top