$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only

2 stars
Manuel M Dieguez # 171, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
90 reviews
PVR Halloween

Had a little problem with noise at 7 am the pool cleaning guy dragging chairs. Then the air... See full review

  • Traveler 9
  • Nov 8, 2013
Great place in urban setting.

About a block and 1/2 to the beach. Many restaurants and shops nearby. Some of the street and beach... See full review

  • Chiliywilly
  • Sep 5, 2014
Puerto Vallarta entices with rooftop pool and Mexican colonial rooms
Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only stirs romantic thoughts with its seaside setting and charming Mexican colonial architecture and decor. Folk art fills the rooms and live musicians create a festive dining atmosphere at Mi Pueblito, which boasts a gorgeous seaside terrace. Guests wade in the rooftop pool, indulge in the panoramic city views from the terrace solarium or book a spa treatment. The sister property Playa Los Arcos Beach Resort & Spa also invites guests to participate in planned activities from water sports to dance lessons.
Highlights
  • Boutique beachside property with Mexican Colonial appeal
  • Access to activities at sister property Playa Los Arcos Beach Resort & Spa
  • Rooftop pool and sundeck
  • Two restaurants, including one with a seaside terrace
  • Terrace solarium with panoramic city views
Rooms
Hand-carved headboards and authentic Mexican art lend an old-world feel to rooms and suites at Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only. Artful touches include stenciled designs on two-toned gold and white walls, scroll lamps and cherub-themed art. Purple- and pink-striped curtains open to reveal sliding glass doors that lead out to furnished balconies. Standard amenities include cable TV, mini-bars, refrigerators, air conditioning and bathrooms with showers.
Features
Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only's rooftop pool offers bird's-eye views of the bay and ample room for sunbathing. Guests in need of pampering turn to the on-site spa, a holistic haven for facials, massages, body treatments, and hand and nail treatments.

Travelers also take advantage of sister property Playa Los Arcos Beach Resort & Spa's activities, which range from dance lessons to scuba diving.
Dining
Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only's restaurants and bar conjure the feeling of a Mexican village. At Tlaloc, guests enjoy live music under a palapa (an open-sided, thatched-roof hut) and Mi Pueblito treats diners to views of Banderas Bay while indulging in Mexican and international fare. Kaiser Maximilian serves European cuisine.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.6 mi/9 km)
Attractions
  • Bay of Banderas (0.2mi/0.3 km)
  • Malecon (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.4 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.6 mi/9 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in public areas

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only Rooms

Standard Room
Rooms have a king size bed, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, color TV, mini refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Mi Pueblito
A covered and open terrace by the beach with a beautiful ocean view featuring traditional Mexican and International foods in a friendly, romantic atmosphere. In the evening it is a great place to watch the Puerto Vallarta sunsets.
Tialoc Palapa Bar
Live music nightly for your listening and dancing pleasure.
Maximillan Cafe
The best in gourmet dining with European cuisine for an evening you'll never forget.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (90)

Ratings and reviews for Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Mar 26, 2010

Loved It!

Our first room was very small with no windows so we requested to have a room change, luckily for $15 more a night we got one of their suites which was very spacious, had ceiling to floor sloping windows, a personal balcony, and a small kitchen. The staff was very friendly though sometimes had a hard time understanding us when making room service orders. The pool on top of the building is gorgeous! The whole place has live tress and plants growing through it. It was only one block from the beach, and its sister hotel was on the ocean so you get their perks such as using the spa on the beach! I had a massage, facial, and a mani & pedi. Everything was amazing and I loved the girls who work there. The mani & pedi were no so good though and started to chip off hours later. (Stick to getting them done at home). The hotel was located downtown and close to many local restaurants, which I recommend going to versus the bad food/overpriced food at the on beach restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The best food that we had on the trip was at restaurants with little to no people and usually a waiter standing outside trying to sway you to come in. Do not ignore them!! They have deals AND good food. If you see a bunch of people in a restaurant, generally tourists, chances are it's not good. (Unless it's a 5 star restaurant like Cafe des Artisis) Best restaurant hands down was Fusion Gourmet. We stumbled across it and kept going back. Everything there was amazing and hands down the best tortilla soup I've ever had. They are located at Corona 172, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico 322-223-1177

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rscape
Business
Verona, Wisconsin
Mar 20, 2010

Great location, hotel is old and small.

We asked for a king size bed, which the room had. No windows to the outside but to the inside atrium. Bathrooms were really small. One person size. No bar or restaurant onsite. If you wanted anything you had to go to Playa Los Arcos to get bar and restaurant service. We had the all inclusive package which is ok, but again all services were at Playa Los Arcos. It was a great location in Old Town PVR, many excellent eating venues and nightlife. Loved the area but would not stay at Casa Dona Susana again, we would much prefer Play Los Arcos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat local, food establishments are top notch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Qboyz
Business
Minneapolis
Mar 18, 2010

No frills and convenient

The location was convenient & we liked it was adults only. Our room was small with no view, clock or fridge but was great for what we needed since we spent most of our time at the beach and dance clubs. It was affordable and in the middle of where we wanted to be. Our room was clean and the rooftop was cute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It's worth doing at least one meal at the street vendors nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GR
Business
IL
Jan 30, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

This hotel is located in the Romantica zone of PV. This is an older part of town south of the hotel zone and downtown. The hotel is located one block from the beach and is short walking distance to many great restaurants, shops and bars. The hotel does not have a bar or restaurant. You should understand this is not a 4 star hotel. It is an older, clean, well maintained establishment. I had a standard room. The room size was good. The bathroom was very small. This was not a problem for me but might be disappointing to others. They do also offer suites and suites with a balcony which I would likely upgrade to if I return. Nice size rooftop pool area but can be crowded at times during the day. There is no beverage or food service in the pool area but you can bring your own. Winter weather is sensational in PV. If you do not require luxury accommodations, Casa Dona is a great value in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tillsonburg Ontario
Jan 29, 2010

Unbeatable Location for the price

Casa Dona Susana was an enjoyable vacation. Close to everything that downtown Puerto Vallarta has to offer. The roof top pool was was quiet and we enjoyed spending our days there. We were all inclusive and we had all our meals at Playa Los Arcos. It would be nice if their was a bar at Casa Dona Susana so we could have had refreshments while we were enjoying the pool. The restaurant staff at Playa Los Arcos were very friendly and the buffet was excellant most days. We will probably visit Casa Dona Susana again in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MOJOEHILO
Business
HILO, HI
Jan 27, 2010

FALSE ADVERSTISING TO THE MAX........

There might be better rooms, but when we complained they said they didn't have any. This could be the worst hotel that we have ever stayed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rafter
Business
asotin wa
Jan 26, 2010

friendly staff, small dark room

Very convenient location if you want to be where the action is

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wmchristopher
Business
Minnesota
Jan 24, 2010

great olf town loaction

I was in room 201 it was bright and very quiet with the AC or a fan on. The only window that opened was in the bath. This appeared to be one of the only rooms that didn't have windows into the courtyard which made things very quiet. Great value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 9, 2010

Central, friendly hotel with good prices

If you are looking to stay in the old part of town, this hotel is great. It is one block from the beach. You get to use all the facilities of the sister hotel - beach chairs, towels, etc. - but no kids or families and half the price. The rooms are basic but have very good showers and air conditioning. The pool on the top of the hotel is awesome for early morning or late night swims. Everyone here was very friendly and helpful, even remembering our names throughout the week. Two drawbacks would be that if you are looking for luxurious room, this isn't it. Also, the hotel has no balconies like the sister hotels. But if you want a great base for exploring and having fun, this is it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Cafe de Olla, just around the corner. Don't let the line scare you off.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dona Susana - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gay amigos
Business
Kealakekua, HI
Jan 8, 2010

Location, location, location

First time using package airline/hotel deal. Price was great. Beautifully designed old hotel. Great tile work. Open air atrium was pleasant. Roof top pool is very nice for evening dips. Great views from roof top. Location is very romantic. Our room was very quiet. Would be nice if windows opened to the exterior to air out the room. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best dinner at El Brujo Restaurant. About a 15 minute walk. Located on Calle Lazaro Cardenas. Great Seafood. Good prices. Quieter than most tourist restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top