$217 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 4, 2014

Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

4 stars
129 Callejon de la Igualdad, Puerto Vallarta, 48399
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
34 reviews
Just perfect!

I spent a week in Puerto Vallarta with my best friend. Our stay was perfect at Casa Cupula! Since... See full review

  • Luis Carlos K
  • Jul 31, 2013
Excellent Stay

We stayed at Casa Cupula for a week, and loved every minute of our stay. Our room was comfortable,... See full review

  • Barbqbill
  • Feb 21, 2013
Stylish Puerto Vallarta hotel caters to gay couples and singles
Casa Cupula Gay Friendly aims for high style in the lushly landscaped Olas Atlas (or Zona Romantica) neighborhood. Within walking distance of the gay beach in Puerto Vallarta, the quaint property impresses with details, from art-filled suites to a romantic restaurant whose menu spans the globe. Due to its size -- just 15 rooms and six suites -- the property maintains just the right amount of intimacy for a romantic weekend. Guests can unwind with fresh margaritas by the pool, book spa treatments for couples or work out in the gym.
Highlights
  • Chic gay-friendly resort by the gay beach in Puerto Vallarta
  • No two rooms are alike
  • Taste restaurant offering Mexican, Asian, Italian and American fare
  • Four pools
  • Spa treatments for couples
Rooms
Casa Cupula Gay Friendly rooms promote individual style. No two rooms are alike. Guests might unwind in the Cupula suite, a rustic Mexican cupula, or the modern Vista rooms, which show off sleek furniture and lush vistas. Art plays a dominant role, especially in Villa Sevilla, a two-story beauty with four king rooms, its own pool, living room, dining room, kitchen and rooftop terrace. Some rooms have showers for two and extra beds for additional guests.
Features
Couples indulge in spa services, which can be enjoyed for an extra fee. Included in the package: massages by two in-house masseurs, a manicure or pedicure and sea-salt exfoliation, hot-mud wrap, algae wrap or Mayan-mud service.

Pump, the on-site gym, provides a lively setting for working out, with upbeat music and ample cardio and weight machines. Windows look out on the surrounding foliage. As a convenience, the gym also invites patrons to order lunch or a protein shake to enjoy after their exercise routine.

For the ultimate bliss, vacationers enjoy freshly made margaritas by or inside the hotel's four pools.
Dining
Taste, the resident restaurant serving American, Mexican, Italian and Asian cuisine, provides a high-energy scene. Single people take a seat at the communal table to meet new friends, while couples can have more privacy at tables underneath the stars or in the Old-World dining room.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
Attractions
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Malecon (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (4.1 mi/6.6 km)

Hotel Map

20.5994 -105.2349
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Licenciado Gustavo Daz Ordaz International Airport - (PVR)
Area description
Casa Cupula is nestled in the hills just above old town Vallarta providing it with amazing views of the ocean. It is about 3 blocks downhill to Olas Altas street, the main strip in the gay-friendly Southside, and the beach is another block or two to the gay section.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Casa Cupula Gay Friendly also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Casa Cupula Gay Friendly Rooms

Ocean View Room
This beautiful room offers the ultimate in Tropical Luxury Fantasy. No holds barred here, we've gone over the top with touches that will make you giggle. Terrace with minimum 10m2 (square Meters, over 500 sq ft, music speakers throughout, home theaters with LCD TV, wired and wireless Internet connections and premium amenities
Deluxe King Room
Modern design, luxurious appointments and attention to detail make Casa Cupula's rooms special. From our fabulously comfortable Dream Beds to in-room stereos and minibars we offer every convenience. Thoughtful touches like hair dryers, huge soft towels and luxurious bath products will pamper you.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Taste Restaurant at Casa Cupula:
Winner of Vallarta Lifestyles' Readers Choice Award for BEST NEW RESTAURANT IN PUERTO VALLARTA 2011, Taste restaurant@casacupula offers "Creative Food in Good Taste".
Under the direction of Executive Chef Oscar Rito, Taste restaurant offers a dinner menu from four different cuisines: US, Mexican, Asian and South American, with almost all dishes available in half and full portions.
Taste restaurant's secluded jungle setting is romantic and relaxing, perfect for a birthday or anniversary celebration, a quiet date or a group of friends. A granite top bar offers drink specialties ranging from our signature "Cupulini" Martini (with chocolate and chipotle flavors)as well as a number of exciting cocktails.
Theme Nights:
Whether it's a selection of Spanish Tapas or one of our fabulous 4 course gourmet Prix Fixe dinners, there's always something going on during our "high season".
Special Diets: Vegan? Lactose intolerant? Low carb? Gluten-free? Low cal? Food allergies? No alcohol? Whatever you need, we'll take care of it. Just be sure to let us know in advance when you fill out your Guest Preference Survey before you come down. We'll make sure you get not only something within your diet, but something that will surprise you that it could be on your diet!
Cocktails!: A pitcher of Margaritas made the Casa Cupula way: with only 100% Pure Agave Tequila and freshly squeezed limes, is always a great way to start your vacation. Whether it's a cool slushy Daquiri or a dry Martini, or a special bottle of wine, Casa Cupula's Bar will make sure you never run dry.
Room Service:
Open whenever our kitchen is, anything can be brought to your room, suite or poolside anytime. Just give us a ring!
Exceptional Value is more than just a slogan, we're working it into every aspect of Casa Cupula and Dining is first on the list.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Todd D
Business
Costa Mesa, Ca
Sep 24, 2009

Excellent experience!

Casa Cupula had been recommended by a friend, and it more than lived up to the descriptions. It was clean and quiet and for several days, I felt like I was the only guest even though there were several couples staying there. The food was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. Overall a stress free environment that allowed me to unwind and truly relax and enjoy my stay worry free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close walk to most nightclubs and a short walk or taxi ride to some excellent dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scooter & Drew
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 13, 2011

Warm and Friendly Staff

Truly stunning views, great restaurant and pool, and truly wonderful and helpful staff. I can't wait for my next visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss the Canopy River zip line tour through the rainforest! It was awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JMK & JMF
Business
Denver, Colorado
Apr 13, 2010

Paradise Found @ Casa Cupula

Casa Cupula is a class act. Everything about it exemplifies excellence. The staff, the rooms, the pools, restaurant and common areas, and the other guests. If you want to boat or zip line or go on an excursion, the concierge is awesome. We have stayed here multiple times and already booked our next visit before we left. It is like heaven on earth. The rooms and grounds are so nice you don't want to leave them. When you do leave, it is a very short walk to old town PV or the Blue Chairs area. Thank you to the whole Casa Cupula team for creating an oasis for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't let the name Daquiri Dick's turn you off. It is an excellent restaurant. Ask to sit outside, there is a lovely view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 25, 2009

5 star service and family like hospitaly

We booked a stay at Casa Cupula during the off season, so we were practically the only guests, but the staff still made us feel like their most valued customers. When we arrived, they had all our information ready to go, greeted us by name, and offered us a cool refreshing drink. They were always around to answer any question we had and accommodate any need. We sometimes felt guilty that all these people were hanging around, putting out pool chairs, cooking, cleaning, and keeping the place top notch just for us, but they made us feel like friends and that it was no trouble. The facility itself was stunning. The attention to detail was superb with modern furnishings perfectly blended with more traditional touches. The place was also spotless. as soon as a leaf fell, it was just as quickly swept up. Even through the hotel was not on the beach, it was just a few blocks away, situated in the hills of the old part of the city, so in the evening, we would go up to the rooftop pool and see the most amazing view of the ocean! We used their services and recommendations to book all of our activities as well as where to eat and drink and were never disappointed. They took the time to listen to what we like and then helped us book the trips or find the restaurant. We never would have found out about beginner scuba diving (so much fun!) without them. We also ate some amazing food based on their recommendations. We could tell that they had taken their time to find there very best in the city and the very best was the only thing good enough for their guests. I have a feeling that this place gets pretty crowded in the high season, but their strict no noise policy after 11p would assure us that we could still get a restful night's sleep and not worry about crazy pool parties. We had the best time at Casa Cupula and would go back in an instant! The absolute best place for the gays to stay in Puerta Viallarta!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There were two giant "flea markets" right in the heard of the old part of town and easy walk from the hotel. This is the place to go to get your typical Mexican souvenirs - painted pottery, jewelry, crafts, and etc. Know that this is not the highest quality you can find, but I found it much better than the average market. They mark their prices way up to gouge the tourists, but are easily bartered down. Stick to our guns! Select a price that you are willing to pay and play hardball. If they don't accept, walk away. there is another stall feet away with the exact same thing who will usually do anything to steal a sale away from their neighbor. We got an amazing deal on some silver jewelry. Also remember that the regular stores expect you to barter as well!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yeroc
Business
New York, NY
May 2, 2012

A hidden hideaway

I had an amazing stay at Casa Cupula! Upon arrival the staff greeted me and were extremely helpful and friendly. They were willing to quickly solve any problems or answer any questions that I may have had. I have to give a special note to Marcos and Francisco for being so knowledgeable about the hotel itself and the surrounding area. Also a special note to Sabas aka "Delicious" for being so friendly and going the extra mile to make sure I had everything I needed. Casa Cupula is a hidden hideaway that's in close proximity to the beach and all the gay bars and restaurants. I will definitely return to Puerto Vallarta to stay at Casa Cupula!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you check out the Anonimo Bar. It's a gay and tourist friendly bar that offers cheap drink specials and friendly service. The owner is American and his staff are a handful of characters. I would classify the Anonimo Bar as the "Cheers" of Puerto Vallarta. You must visit!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FromATL2PV
Business
Atlanta, GA
Dec 17, 2012

I Love Puerto Vallarta

My stay was wonderful at Casa Cupula. The staff were all cheerful and helpful and always had a smile on their face. They seemed to love their interaction with all the guests. My partner and I have never felt more comfortable being ourselves as we did while in Puerto Vallarta as a whole and at Casa Cupula. Not to mention the hotel is about 5-10 mins walk down to the beach and to other restaurants. Just be ready to walk up and down some hills if you do decide to walk though it's not too bad. We were able to meet some great people and had a wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to check out some of the other restaurants in the area. My partner and I went on a Horseback riding tour and as part of the tour we stopped at a small restaurants on the way back. It was by far the best Mexican food I've ever had. So don't be affraid to try other places other than whats at the hotel. Also, be very ready for allllllllllll the locals that will be trying to sell you everything everywhere you go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RJ Beach Guy
Business
Denver Colorado
Feb 3, 2013

Very Nice Place

Very nice staff. Always interested in making our stay the best it could be. Room was very clean, and staff did a good job making sure it stayed this way. View was amazing...but if you want a view from your room you need to get one of the Vista King rooms. Otherwise there are amazing views from the roof top dipping pool. Being in the jungle was fun; however, very loud squaky birds made it very difficult to sleep in as we liked to sleep with our windows and balcony doors open. We liked climbing the road and the stairs gave us plenty of exercise...so be prepared for a workout...I know it's not for everyone. The restaurant is a bit over rated. Again, very nice place, attentive staff, with very fancy presentations. A bit over the top for us. We just wanted tacos, but you wont find these on the menu. We are a couple of very simple gay guys who love authentic Mexico and Mexican food. We were able to find plenty of this in town however. Overall a really nice place and the staff is awesome. A great place to stay at least once, but you must be financially prepared. Not sure it is worth the cost. There are plenty of nice places to stay in Vallarta for half the price that are right in the Romantic Zone or Zona Romantica where all the gay bars and restaurants are. Also, just grab a cab from the Airport. A cab to and from the Airport will cost less then half the price of the VIP service to and from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

I would be careful about going during big gay events such as Beef Dip as prices seem to jump in the Zona Romantica especially at the gay beaches.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joe and jim
Business
chicago, Illinois
Feb 14, 2013

Third Stay @ Casa Cupula

Me and my partner have been going to Puerto Vallarta for 5 years. We've stayed at 2 different hotels closer to the beach the first 2 times. Once we discovered Casa Cupula we can't stay anywhere else. Each year there's something new, the food is excellent and there's pretty much nothing the staff wouldn't do for you. A very friendly atmosphere and a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

don't be afraid to stay off the beach... it's a 10 min walk or a 50 peso ride to everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JNorm
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 6, 2013

Great getaway experience

This hotel was great, offering a clean gym, comfortable pool area, and hot tub. I highly recommend eating at their restaurant Taste, fabulous dinners, breakfast and lunch. The staff gets 5 stars being friendly extremely accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Taste is a must for dinner while you are in PV. Along with Sunday Brunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spackler2
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 6, 2009

Lovely, secluded

Nice location if you prefer to be off the beach and away from the noise (as I do); great views of ocean/city from the upper floors and of the local jungle from below. Very helpful staff, took extra care of us. It is up a hill, a little bit of a climb, but if you're lazy just take one of the taxis always running around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Mama Rosas for dinner and brunch if you have time. Fantastic food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top