$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

4 stars
129 Callejon de la Igualdad, Puerto Vallarta, 48399
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
35 reviews
Just perfect!

I spent a week in Puerto Vallarta with my best friend. Our stay was perfect at Casa Cupula! Since... See full review

  • Luis Carlos K
  • Jul 31, 2013
Great getaway experience

This hotel was great, offering a clean gym, comfortable pool area, and hot tub. I highly recommend... See full review

  • JNorm
  • Mar 6, 2013
Stylish Puerto Vallarta hotel caters to gay couples and singles
Casa Cupula Gay Friendly aims for high style in the lushly landscaped Olas Atlas (or Zona Romantica) neighborhood. Within walking distance of the gay beach in Puerto Vallarta, the quaint property impresses with details, from art-filled suites to a romantic restaurant whose menu spans the globe. Due to its size -- just 15 rooms and six suites -- the property maintains just the right amount of intimacy for a romantic weekend. Guests can unwind with fresh margaritas by the pool, book spa treatments for couples or work out in the gym.
Highlights
  • Chic gay-friendly resort by the gay beach in Puerto Vallarta
  • No two rooms are alike
  • Taste restaurant offering Mexican, Asian, Italian and American fare
  • Four pools
  • Spa treatments for couples
Rooms
Casa Cupula Gay Friendly rooms promote individual style. No two rooms are alike. Guests might unwind in the Cupula suite, a rustic Mexican cupula, or the modern Vista rooms, which show off sleek furniture and lush vistas. Art plays a dominant role, especially in Villa Sevilla, a two-story beauty with four king rooms, its own pool, living room, dining room, kitchen and rooftop terrace. Some rooms have showers for two and extra beds for additional guests.
Features
Couples indulge in spa services, which can be enjoyed for an extra fee. Included in the package: massages by two in-house masseurs, a manicure or pedicure and sea-salt exfoliation, hot-mud wrap, algae wrap or Mayan-mud service.

Pump, the on-site gym, provides a lively setting for working out, with upbeat music and ample cardio and weight machines. Windows look out on the surrounding foliage. As a convenience, the gym also invites patrons to order lunch or a protein shake to enjoy after their exercise routine.

For the ultimate bliss, vacationers enjoy freshly made margaritas by or inside the hotel's four pools.
Dining
Taste, the resident restaurant serving American, Mexican, Italian and Asian cuisine, provides a high-energy scene. Single people take a seat at the communal table to meet new friends, while couples can have more privacy at tables underneath the stars or in the Old-World dining room.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
Attractions
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Malecon (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (4.1 mi/6.6 km)

Hotel Map

20.5994 -105.2349
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Licenciado Gustavo Daz Ordaz International Airport - (PVR)
Area description
Casa Cupula is nestled in the hills just above old town Vallarta providing it with amazing views of the ocean. It is about 3 blocks downhill to Olas Altas street, the main strip in the gay-friendly Southside, and the beach is another block or two to the gay section.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Casa Cupula Gay Friendly also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Casa Cupula Gay Friendly Rooms

Ocean View Room
This beautiful room offers the ultimate in Tropical Luxury Fantasy. No holds barred here, we've gone over the top with touches that will make you giggle. Terrace with minimum 10m2 (square Meters, over 500 sq ft, music speakers throughout, home theaters with LCD TV, wired and wireless Internet connections and premium amenities
Deluxe King Room
Modern design, luxurious appointments and attention to detail make Casa Cupula's rooms special. From our fabulously comfortable Dream Beds to in-room stereos and minibars we offer every convenience. Thoughtful touches like hair dryers, huge soft towels and luxurious bath products will pamper you.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Taste Restaurant at Casa Cupula:
Winner of Vallarta Lifestyles' Readers Choice Award for BEST NEW RESTAURANT IN PUERTO VALLARTA 2011, Taste restaurant@casacupula offers "Creative Food in Good Taste".
Under the direction of Executive Chef Oscar Rito, Taste restaurant offers a dinner menu from four different cuisines: US, Mexican, Asian and South American, with almost all dishes available in half and full portions.
Taste restaurant's secluded jungle setting is romantic and relaxing, perfect for a birthday or anniversary celebration, a quiet date or a group of friends. A granite top bar offers drink specialties ranging from our signature "Cupulini" Martini (with chocolate and chipotle flavors)as well as a number of exciting cocktails.
Theme Nights:
Whether it's a selection of Spanish Tapas or one of our fabulous 4 course gourmet Prix Fixe dinners, there's always something going on during our "high season".
Special Diets: Vegan? Lactose intolerant? Low carb? Gluten-free? Low cal? Food allergies? No alcohol? Whatever you need, we'll take care of it. Just be sure to let us know in advance when you fill out your Guest Preference Survey before you come down. We'll make sure you get not only something within your diet, but something that will surprise you that it could be on your diet!
Cocktails!: A pitcher of Margaritas made the Casa Cupula way: with only 100% Pure Agave Tequila and freshly squeezed limes, is always a great way to start your vacation. Whether it's a cool slushy Daquiri or a dry Martini, or a special bottle of wine, Casa Cupula's Bar will make sure you never run dry.
Room Service:
Open whenever our kitchen is, anything can be brought to your room, suite or poolside anytime. Just give us a ring!
Exceptional Value is more than just a slogan, we're working it into every aspect of Casa Cupula and Dining is first on the list.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 35
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barbqbill
Omaha, Nebraska
Feb 21, 2013

Excellent Stay

We stayed at Casa Cupula for a week, and loved every minute of our stay. Our room was comfortable, with a spacious bathroom. We had a large patio with a fantastic view of the ocean sunsets as well as the city. The staff was exceptionally helpful to us. They made reservations for us for dinner and a boat trip, and offered us many suggestions for things to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You are less than a 10 minute walk to the beach and numerous great restaurants.

Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barbqbill
Omaha, Nebraska
Feb 8, 2013

Exemplary!

Everything about our week long stay at Casa Cupula was exemplary. Our room was clean, and had a huge shower. Our patio was large, and had phenomenal views of both the sunset as well as the city of PV. The food and service at Taste restaurant, on site, were both excellent, and the prices were more than fair. However what really impressed us most was the warm and welcoming staff. Each and every one of the employees we encountered were pleasant, and went out of their way to assist us in every way possible. The only possible drawback I can think of is that the stunning views come because the hotel is set up on the hill side. It is a ten minute walk to the beach...easy going down hill, but we often opted for an inexpensive taxi ride for the way back. I highly recommend Casa Cupula. We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeff and Matt
Louisville, KY
Oct 28, 2012

Top Notch All the Way

We loved everything about our stay at Casa Cupula! The staff was fantastic -- very attentive and helpful in every way. Special kudos to concierge Fernando Vasquez who arranged activities and day trips, suggested perfect shopping spots, and more. Hotel accommodations and amenities are wonderful. Hotel location is very convenient to the gay zone/Zona Romántica. Puerto Vallarta is terraced, and this hotel is located a couple of levels up from the beach -- so be prepared for some climbing! If your feet give out, you can always hop in one of the plentiful taxis for 50 pesos (under $4 usd).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 great restaurants to try: Fusion Gourmet Calle Pilitas, 156 Margarita Grill Calle Pino Suárez, 321

Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Colin and Hakim
London UK
Jun 11, 2012

unwind

relax and de-stress The food is fantastic off the strip for a secluded retreat

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan and Don
Washington, DC, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Honeymoon in Mexico

We went to PV for our honeymoon. Our room was very large with a spacious covered, outdoor, veranda that overlooked Banderas Bay and the beautiful sunsets. The room had a surround sound system to play our ipods and the bathroom had a huge, mexican-tiled, sunken shower. The staff were ultra friendly and the restaurant on site "Taste" was one of the best meals we had in PV. Also, the on site gym was hands down the best I've ever had in a guest house or hotel. Every room is unique and very nicely decorated. The location affords amazing views from its mountainside location although the walk into the town center is down a steep hill and a two block walk along a curving highway without pedestrian sidewalks. Our air conditioning unit was a little noisy and had a tough time keeping up with the hot PV days in low season but we would not hesitate to spend our next PV vacation at Casa Cupula.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scooter & Drew
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 13, 2011

Warm and Friendly Staff

Truly stunning views, great restaurant and pool, and truly wonderful and helpful staff. I can't wait for my next visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss the Canopy River zip line tour through the rainforest! It was awesome!

Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Archangel6770
Indianapolis, IN
Dec 3, 2010

One of the best!!!!!!!!!!

Wonderful gay boutique hotel. Great junior suite with wonderful ammenities. Secluded yet close to everything! Quiet and private.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Start your night at Viva Bar as they have 2 for 1 martini's & margarita's.

Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Jul 13, 2010

AWESOME gay hotel!

The staff is awesome as is this hotel. It's very unique and every room is different. The staff greets you at the taxi upon arrival, helps with any questions, complimentary drinks, food, etc. Beautiful views of Puerto Vallarta. The beach is a 10 minute walk. There was nothing we could have asked for more. Whether you are a group of gay friends or couple you will love the atmosphere. Also the place has DVD players in each room and excellent WIFI! Remember those 2 things!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Zona Romantica for cheaper massages than the hotel.

Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JMK & JMF
Denver, Colorado
Apr 13, 2010

Paradise Found @ Casa Cupula

Casa Cupula is a class act. Everything about it exemplifies excellence. The staff, the rooms, the pools, restaurant and common areas, and the other guests. If you want to boat or zip line or go on an excursion, the concierge is awesome. We have stayed here multiple times and already booked our next visit before we left. It is like heaven on earth. The rooms and grounds are so nice you don't want to leave them. When you do leave, it is a very short walk to old town PV or the Blue Chairs area. Thank you to the whole Casa Cupula team for creating an oasis for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't let the name Daquiri Dick's turn you off. It is an excellent restaurant. Ask to sit outside, there is a lovely view.

Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Mar 3, 2010

Amazing setting, fantastic staff

Perfect location in the forest up on the hillside, but a quick walk to the beach, restaurants and bars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search