$201 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 30, 2014

Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

4 stars
129 Callejon de la Igualdad, Puerto Vallarta, 48399
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
34 reviews
Just perfect!

I spent a week in Puerto Vallarta with my best friend. Our stay was perfect at Casa Cupula! Since... See full review

  • Luis Carlos K
  • Jul 31, 2013
Excellent Stay

We stayed at Casa Cupula for a week, and loved every minute of our stay. Our room was comfortable,... See full review

  • Barbqbill
  • Feb 21, 2013
Stylish Puerto Vallarta hotel caters to gay couples and singles
Casa Cupula Gay Friendly aims for high style in the lushly landscaped Olas Atlas (or Zona Romantica) neighborhood. Within walking distance of the gay beach in Puerto Vallarta, the quaint property impresses with details, from art-filled suites to a romantic restaurant whose menu spans the globe. Due to its size -- just 15 rooms and six suites -- the property maintains just the right amount of intimacy for a romantic weekend. Guests can unwind with fresh margaritas by the pool, book spa treatments for couples or work out in the gym.
Highlights
  • Chic gay-friendly resort by the gay beach in Puerto Vallarta
  • No two rooms are alike
  • Taste restaurant offering Mexican, Asian, Italian and American fare
  • Four pools
  • Spa treatments for couples
Rooms
Casa Cupula Gay Friendly rooms promote individual style. No two rooms are alike. Guests might unwind in the Cupula suite, a rustic Mexican cupula, or the modern Vista rooms, which show off sleek furniture and lush vistas. Art plays a dominant role, especially in Villa Sevilla, a two-story beauty with four king rooms, its own pool, living room, dining room, kitchen and rooftop terrace. Some rooms have showers for two and extra beds for additional guests.
Features
Couples indulge in spa services, which can be enjoyed for an extra fee. Included in the package: massages by two in-house masseurs, a manicure or pedicure and sea-salt exfoliation, hot-mud wrap, algae wrap or Mayan-mud service.

Pump, the on-site gym, provides a lively setting for working out, with upbeat music and ample cardio and weight machines. Windows look out on the surrounding foliage. As a convenience, the gym also invites patrons to order lunch or a protein shake to enjoy after their exercise routine.

For the ultimate bliss, vacationers enjoy freshly made margaritas by or inside the hotel's four pools.
Dining
Taste, the resident restaurant serving American, Mexican, Italian and Asian cuisine, provides a high-energy scene. Single people take a seat at the communal table to meet new friends, while couples can have more privacy at tables underneath the stars or in the Old-World dining room.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
Attractions
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Malecon (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (4.1 mi/6.6 km)

Hotel Map

20.5994 -105.2349
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Licenciado Gustavo Daz Ordaz International Airport - (PVR)
Area description
Casa Cupula is nestled in the hills just above old town Vallarta providing it with amazing views of the ocean. It is about 3 blocks downhill to Olas Altas street, the main strip in the gay-friendly Southside, and the beach is another block or two to the gay section.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Casa Cupula Gay Friendly also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Casa Cupula Gay Friendly Rooms

Ocean View Room
This beautiful room offers the ultimate in Tropical Luxury Fantasy. No holds barred here, we've gone over the top with touches that will make you giggle. Terrace with minimum 10m2 (square Meters, over 500 sq ft, music speakers throughout, home theaters with LCD TV, wired and wireless Internet connections and premium amenities
Deluxe King Room
Modern design, luxurious appointments and attention to detail make Casa Cupula's rooms special. From our fabulously comfortable Dream Beds to in-room stereos and minibars we offer every convenience. Thoughtful touches like hair dryers, huge soft towels and luxurious bath products will pamper you.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Taste Restaurant at Casa Cupula:
Winner of Vallarta Lifestyles' Readers Choice Award for BEST NEW RESTAURANT IN PUERTO VALLARTA 2011, Taste restaurant@casacupula offers "Creative Food in Good Taste".
Under the direction of Executive Chef Oscar Rito, Taste restaurant offers a dinner menu from four different cuisines: US, Mexican, Asian and South American, with almost all dishes available in half and full portions.
Taste restaurant's secluded jungle setting is romantic and relaxing, perfect for a birthday or anniversary celebration, a quiet date or a group of friends. A granite top bar offers drink specialties ranging from our signature "Cupulini" Martini (with chocolate and chipotle flavors)as well as a number of exciting cocktails.
Theme Nights:
Whether it's a selection of Spanish Tapas or one of our fabulous 4 course gourmet Prix Fixe dinners, there's always something going on during our "high season".
Special Diets: Vegan? Lactose intolerant? Low carb? Gluten-free? Low cal? Food allergies? No alcohol? Whatever you need, we'll take care of it. Just be sure to let us know in advance when you fill out your Guest Preference Survey before you come down. We'll make sure you get not only something within your diet, but something that will surprise you that it could be on your diet!
Cocktails!: A pitcher of Margaritas made the Casa Cupula way: with only 100% Pure Agave Tequila and freshly squeezed limes, is always a great way to start your vacation. Whether it's a cool slushy Daquiri or a dry Martini, or a special bottle of wine, Casa Cupula's Bar will make sure you never run dry.
Room Service:
Open whenever our kitchen is, anything can be brought to your room, suite or poolside anytime. Just give us a ring!
Exceptional Value is more than just a slogan, we're working it into every aspect of Casa Cupula and Dining is first on the list.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JMK & JMF
Business
Denver, Colorado
Apr 13, 2010

Paradise Found @ Casa Cupula

Casa Cupula is a class act. Everything about it exemplifies excellence. The staff, the rooms, the pools, restaurant and common areas, and the other guests. If you want to boat or zip line or go on an excursion, the concierge is awesome. We have stayed here multiple times and already booked our next visit before we left. It is like heaven on earth. The rooms and grounds are so nice you don't want to leave them. When you do leave, it is a very short walk to old town PV or the Blue Chairs area. Thank you to the whole Casa Cupula team for creating an oasis for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't let the name Daquiri Dick's turn you off. It is an excellent restaurant. Ask to sit outside, there is a lovely view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Mar 3, 2010

Amazing setting, fantastic staff

Perfect location in the forest up on the hillside, but a quick walk to the beach, restaurants and bars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 2, 2010

Puerto Vallarata Febuary 2010

Casa Cupula is absolutely the BEST! We were spoiled and did not want to leave. The property is fabulous, the view is stunning, the location is perfect -- but most of all, the staff and other guests were incredible. We felt like we were at home among friends. Will most definitely return to this little piece of Heaven on Earth!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jan 21, 2010

Great Hotel

This is a great hotel. They tried to please you in every way. The hotel is not conveniently located up a hill. That wouldn't be so bad but it is across a highway. The rooms were kept extremely clean. The towels were changed, quite unusual for today. The guests were not there or invisible. The cocktail hour on Friday evening was open to all, it would of been nicer if it was a gathering for people in the hotel to get to know each other. The staff was inviting and very friendly. There was a computer available (12 hours a day, wish it was available 24/7). It is a very nice boutique hotel. Value was poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Architrekker
Business
London
Jan 8, 2010

Doesn't live up to it's hype

Casa Cupula is a charming hotel, but definitely not the "5-star" boutique that it claims. Some of the hotel I would describe a 4-star architecturally, but the services are just not there. Noise was a big problem, internet service intermittent and unpredictable. Access to the hotel is via a dirt road strewn with garbage that make a very bad first impression. Access to the beach is only for the physically fit, as is the access to the rest of the town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try the small local restaurant called Gilmor

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RickG
Business
Plymouth, Mass.
Nov 16, 2009

The Best Kept Secret in Puerto Vallarta

My stay at Casa Cupula was a complete job! When I first arrived, I was immediately made to feel very welcomed. The hotel is spacious with the feel of being cozy at the same time. One great feature of the hotel is that all the rooms are different. So depending on your individual taste, the Casa Cupula will definitely satisfy you. I hated to see my vacation come to an end, but I also knew that I would be back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Most of the better restaurants are a bit of a distance from the hotel, but their only a taxi drive away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spackler2
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 6, 2009

Lovely, secluded

Nice location if you prefer to be off the beach and away from the noise (as I do); great views of ocean/city from the upper floors and of the local jungle from below. Very helpful staff, took extra care of us. It is up a hill, a little bit of a climb, but if you're lazy just take one of the taxis always running around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Mama Rosas for dinner and brunch if you have time. Fantastic food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Todd D
Business
Costa Mesa, Ca
Sep 24, 2009

Excellent experience!

Casa Cupula had been recommended by a friend, and it more than lived up to the descriptions. It was clean and quiet and for several days, I felt like I was the only guest even though there were several couples staying there. The food was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. Overall a stress free environment that allowed me to unwind and truly relax and enjoy my stay worry free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close walk to most nightclubs and a short walk or taxi ride to some excellent dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 25, 2009

5 star service and family like hospitaly

We booked a stay at Casa Cupula during the off season, so we were practically the only guests, but the staff still made us feel like their most valued customers. When we arrived, they had all our information ready to go, greeted us by name, and offered us a cool refreshing drink. They were always around to answer any question we had and accommodate any need. We sometimes felt guilty that all these people were hanging around, putting out pool chairs, cooking, cleaning, and keeping the place top notch just for us, but they made us feel like friends and that it was no trouble. The facility itself was stunning. The attention to detail was superb with modern furnishings perfectly blended with more traditional touches. The place was also spotless. as soon as a leaf fell, it was just as quickly swept up. Even through the hotel was not on the beach, it was just a few blocks away, situated in the hills of the old part of the city, so in the evening, we would go up to the rooftop pool and see the most amazing view of the ocean! We used their services and recommendations to book all of our activities as well as where to eat and drink and were never disappointed. They took the time to listen to what we like and then helped us book the trips or find the restaurant. We never would have found out about beginner scuba diving (so much fun!) without them. We also ate some amazing food based on their recommendations. We could tell that they had taken their time to find there very best in the city and the very best was the only thing good enough for their guests. I have a feeling that this place gets pretty crowded in the high season, but their strict no noise policy after 11p would assure us that we could still get a restful night's sleep and not worry about crazy pool parties. We had the best time at Casa Cupula and would go back in an instant! The absolute best place for the gays to stay in Puerta Viallarta!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There were two giant "flea markets" right in the heard of the old part of town and easy walk from the hotel. This is the place to go to get your typical Mexican souvenirs - painted pottery, jewelry, crafts, and etc. Know that this is not the highest quality you can find, but I found it much better than the average market. They mark their prices way up to gouge the tourists, but are easily bartered down. Stick to our guns! Select a price that you are willing to pay and play hardball. If they don't accept, walk away. there is another stall feet away with the exact same thing who will usually do anything to steal a sale away from their neighbor. We got an amazing deal on some silver jewelry. Also remember that the regular stores expect you to barter as well!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frank & Mario
Business
LA Calif and The OC
Jul 31, 2009

Fantastic Stay! Will def book again.

If I have to scrutanize the hotel/experience I would say the only negative points would be the minor construction going on nearby, which is only temporary. The hotel itself was great! Despite it's 'elevation' along the hillside, the walking to/from town and the beach and the stair cases on the hotel property serve as perfect daily excercise! The multi-leveled hotel is very picturesque. The infinity pool on the top level and it's view-my goodness! My partner and I relaxed there our 1st evening and watched that ever amazing sunset. So incredibly romantic. The hotel gives true feeling of seclusion away from everyone else- only you, your partner and the surrounding jungle hillsides exist, with views to that gorgeous blue ocean! The immediate road getting there is a wee bit misleading, but once you arrive at the door and the staff meets you there, nothing else matters. Truly enjoyed the staff. They were very accomadating and friendly. The gym did suffice, completely. The views from the gym area are amazing! You see the entire bay of banderas! Casa Cupula is perfect for couples. It is great for singles as well as you may meet other singles from other parts of the world as my partner and I along with traveling friends did. We will indeed book there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not exchange currency at the airport. "Shop" around the small currency booths in old town for the better rates. Exchange only what your daily budget is (day by day). While shops and restaurants are very accomodating and provide you with the USD value of your expense, you end up paying more in USD than if you are able to pay out in pesos. Also, feel free to take plenty of $1 USD bills for tips. They will go much further than if you keep giving out your 20peso currency bill. 1USD bills are ideal for tipping taxi's, waiters, bartenders, and for the travler requiring more cultuire, the occasional exotic dancer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top