$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

4 stars
129 Callejon de la Igualdad, Puerto Vallarta, 48399
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
52 reviews
Just perfect!

I spent a week in Puerto Vallarta with my best friend. Our stay was perfect at Casa Cupula! Since... See full review

  • Luis Carlos K
  • Jul 31, 2013
Excellent Stay

We stayed at Casa Cupula for a week, and loved every minute of our stay. Our room was comfortable,... See full review

  • Barbqbill
  • Feb 21, 2013
Stylish Puerto Vallarta hotel caters to gay couples and singles
Casa Cupula Gay Friendly aims for high style in the lushly landscaped Olas Atlas (or Zona Romantica) neighborhood. Within walking distance of the gay beach in Puerto Vallarta, the quaint property impresses with details, from art-filled suites to a romantic restaurant whose menu spans the globe. Due to its size -- just 15 rooms and six suites -- the property maintains just the right amount of intimacy for a romantic weekend. Guests can unwind with fresh margaritas by the pool, book spa treatments for couples or work out in the gym.
Highlights
  • Chic gay-friendly resort by the gay beach in Puerto Vallarta
  • No two rooms are alike
  • Taste restaurant offering Mexican, Asian, Italian and American fare
  • Four pools
  • Spa treatments for couples
Rooms
Casa Cupula Gay Friendly rooms promote individual style. No two rooms are alike. Guests might unwind in the Cupula suite, a rustic Mexican cupula, or the modern Vista rooms, which show off sleek furniture and lush vistas. Art plays a dominant role, especially in Villa Sevilla, a two-story beauty with four king rooms, its own pool, living room, dining room, kitchen and rooftop terrace. Some rooms have showers for two and extra beds for additional guests.
Features
Couples indulge in spa services, which can be enjoyed for an extra fee. Included in the package: massages by two in-house masseurs, a manicure or pedicure and sea-salt exfoliation, hot-mud wrap, algae wrap or Mayan-mud service.

Pump, the on-site gym, provides a lively setting for working out, with upbeat music and ample cardio and weight machines. Windows look out on the surrounding foliage. As a convenience, the gym also invites patrons to order lunch or a protein shake to enjoy after their exercise routine.

For the ultimate bliss, vacationers enjoy freshly made margaritas by or inside the hotel's four pools.
Dining
Taste, the resident restaurant serving American, Mexican, Italian and Asian cuisine, provides a high-energy scene. Single people take a seat at the communal table to meet new friends, while couples can have more privacy at tables underneath the stars or in the Old-World dining room.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
Attractions
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Malecon (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (4.1 mi/6.6 km)

Hotel Map

20.5994 -105.2349
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Licenciado Gustavo Daz Ordaz International Airport - (PVR)
Area description
Casa Cupula is nestled in the hills just above old town Vallarta providing it with amazing views of the ocean. It is about 3 blocks downhill to Olas Altas street, the main strip in the gay-friendly Southside, and the beach is another block or two to the gay section.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Casa Cupula Gay Friendly also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Casa Cupula Gay Friendly Rooms

Ocean View Room
This beautiful room offers the ultimate in Tropical Luxury Fantasy. No holds barred here, we've gone over the top with touches that will make you giggle. Terrace with minimum 10m2 (square Meters, over 500 sq ft, music speakers throughout, home theaters with LCD TV, wired and wireless Internet connections and premium amenities
Deluxe King Room
Modern design, luxurious appointments and attention to detail make Casa Cupula's rooms special. From our fabulously comfortable Dream Beds to in-room stereos and minibars we offer every convenience. Thoughtful touches like hair dryers, huge soft towels and luxurious bath products will pamper you.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Taste Restaurant at Casa Cupula:
Winner of Vallarta Lifestyles' Readers Choice Award for BEST NEW RESTAURANT IN PUERTO VALLARTA 2011, Taste restaurant@casacupula offers "Creative Food in Good Taste".
Under the direction of Executive Chef Oscar Rito, Taste restaurant offers a dinner menu from four different cuisines: US, Mexican, Asian and South American, with almost all dishes available in half and full portions.
Taste restaurant's secluded jungle setting is romantic and relaxing, perfect for a birthday or anniversary celebration, a quiet date or a group of friends. A granite top bar offers drink specialties ranging from our signature "Cupulini" Martini (with chocolate and chipotle flavors)as well as a number of exciting cocktails.
Theme Nights:
Whether it's a selection of Spanish Tapas or one of our fabulous 4 course gourmet Prix Fixe dinners, there's always something going on during our "high season".
Special Diets: Vegan? Lactose intolerant? Low carb? Gluten-free? Low cal? Food allergies? No alcohol? Whatever you need, we'll take care of it. Just be sure to let us know in advance when you fill out your Guest Preference Survey before you come down. We'll make sure you get not only something within your diet, but something that will surprise you that it could be on your diet!
Cocktails!: A pitcher of Margaritas made the Casa Cupula way: with only 100% Pure Agave Tequila and freshly squeezed limes, is always a great way to start your vacation. Whether it's a cool slushy Daquiri or a dry Martini, or a special bottle of wine, Casa Cupula's Bar will make sure you never run dry.
Room Service:
Open whenever our kitchen is, anything can be brought to your room, suite or poolside anytime. Just give us a ring!
Exceptional Value is more than just a slogan, we're working it into every aspect of Casa Cupula and Dining is first on the list.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeff and Matt
Louisville, KY
Oct 28, 2012

Top Notch All the Way

We loved everything about our stay at Casa Cupula! The staff was fantastic -- very attentive and helpful in every way. Special kudos to concierge Fernando Vasquez who arranged activities and day trips, suggested perfect shopping spots, and more. Hotel accommodations and amenities are wonderful. Hotel location is very convenient to the gay zone/Zona Romántica. Puerto Vallarta is terraced, and this hotel is located a couple of levels up from the beach -- so be prepared for some climbing! If your feet give out, you can always hop in one of the plentiful taxis for 50 pesos (under $4 usd).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 great restaurants to try: Fusion Gourmet Calle Pilitas, 156 Margarita Grill Calle Pino Suárez, 321

Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spackler2
Chicago, IL
Nov 6, 2009

Lovely, secluded

Nice location if you prefer to be off the beach and away from the noise (as I do); great views of ocean/city from the upper floors and of the local jungle from below. Very helpful staff, took extra care of us. It is up a hill, a little bit of a climb, but if you're lazy just take one of the taxis always running around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Mama Rosas for dinner and brunch if you have time. Fantastic food!

Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yeroc
New York, NY
May 2, 2012

A hidden hideaway

I had an amazing stay at Casa Cupula! Upon arrival the staff greeted me and were extremely helpful and friendly. They were willing to quickly solve any problems or answer any questions that I may have had. I have to give a special note to Marcos and Francisco for being so knowledgeable about the hotel itself and the surrounding area. Also a special note to Sabas aka "Delicious" for being so friendly and going the extra mile to make sure I had everything I needed. Casa Cupula is a hidden hideaway that's in close proximity to the beach and all the gay bars and restaurants. I will definitely return to Puerto Vallarta to stay at Casa Cupula!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you check out the Anonimo Bar. It's a gay and tourist friendly bar that offers cheap drink specials and friendly service. The owner is American and his staff are a handful of characters. I would classify the Anonimo Bar as the "Cheers" of Puerto Vallarta. You must visit!

Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big B and Sweet T :-)
Orlando, FL
Jul 27, 2010

Beautiful Setting and Amazing Staff!

From the moment that we checked in, the staff was amazing. The hotel itself offers amazing charm and wonderful amenities and again the staff definitely sets the standard in customer service. The location was conveniant to the beach, downtown, shopping and evening entertainment. This was our first trip to Puerto Vallarta and we will definitely be returning. If you are looking for an amazing value, good location, superb staff and boutique charm along with very modern amenities, this is the place for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big B and Sweet T :-)
Orlando, FL
Jul 27, 2010

Beautiful Setting and Amazing Staff!

From the moment that we checked in, the staff was amazing. The hotel itself offers amazing charm and wonderful amenities and again the staff definitely sets the standard in customer service. The location was conveniant to the beach, downtown, shopping and evening entertainment. This was our first trip to Puerto Vallarta and we will definitely be returning. If you are looking for an amazing value, good location, superb staff and boutique charm along with very modern amenities, this is the place for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JNorm
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 6, 2013

Great getaway experience

This hotel was great, offering a clean gym, comfortable pool area, and hot tub. I highly recommend eating at their restaurant Taste, fabulous dinners, breakfast and lunch. The staff gets 5 stars being friendly extremely accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Taste is a must for dinner while you are in PV. Along with Sunday Brunch.

Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Aug 25, 2009

5 star service and family like hospitaly

We booked a stay at Casa Cupula during the off season, so we were practically the only guests, but the staff still made us feel like their most valued customers. When we arrived, they had all our information ready to go, greeted us by name, and offered us a cool refreshing drink. They were always around to answer any question we had and accommodate any need. We sometimes felt guilty that all these people were hanging around, putting out pool chairs, cooking, cleaning, and keeping the place top notch just for us, but they made us feel like friends and that it was no trouble. The facility itself was stunning. The attention to detail was superb with modern furnishings perfectly blended with more traditional touches. The place was also spotless. as soon as a leaf fell, it was just as quickly swept up. Even through the hotel was not on the beach, it was just a few blocks away, situated in the hills of the old part of the city, so in the evening, we would go up to the rooftop pool and see the most amazing view of the ocean! We used their services and recommendations to book all of our activities as well as where to eat and drink and were never disappointed. They took the time to listen to what we like and then helped us book the trips or find the restaurant. We never would have found out about beginner scuba diving (so much fun!) without them. We also ate some amazing food based on their recommendations. We could tell that they had taken their time to find there very best in the city and the very best was the only thing good enough for their guests. I have a feeling that this place gets pretty crowded in the high season, but their strict no noise policy after 11p would assure us that we could still get a restful night's sleep and not worry about crazy pool parties. We had the best time at Casa Cupula and would go back in an instant! The absolute best place for the gays to stay in Puerta Viallarta!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There were two giant "flea markets" right in the heard of the old part of town and easy walk from the hotel. This is the place to go to get your typical Mexican souvenirs - painted pottery, jewelry, crafts, and etc. Know that this is not the highest quality you can find, but I found it much better than the average market. They mark their prices way up to gouge the tourists, but are easily bartered down. Stick to our guns! Select a price that you are willing to pay and play hardball. If they don't accept, walk away. there is another stall feet away with the exact same thing who will usually do anything to steal a sale away from their neighbor. We got an amazing deal on some silver jewelry. Also remember that the regular stores expect you to barter as well!

Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lafayette, LA
Jun 4, 2010

Quiet,fantastic staff, location!!!!

The view of the Pacific was fantastic. The staff-go Tina and Oscar were amazing. Oliver was super helpful. The whole atmosphere of the hotel was conducive to a great time. The location was peaceful, but the fabulous attractions were within walking distance. 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RickG
Plymouth, Mass.
Nov 16, 2009

The Best Kept Secret in Puerto Vallarta

My stay at Casa Cupula was a complete job! When I first arrived, I was immediately made to feel very welcomed. The hotel is spacious with the feel of being cozy at the same time. One great feature of the hotel is that all the rooms are different. So depending on your individual taste, the Casa Cupula will definitely satisfy you. I hated to see my vacation come to an end, but I also knew that I would be back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Most of the better restaurants are a bit of a distance from the hotel, but their only a taxi drive away.

Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Aug 25, 2009

5 star service and family like hospitaly

We booked a stay at Casa Cupula during the off season, so we were practically the only guests, but the staff still made us feel like their most valued customers. When we arrived, they had all our information ready to go, greeted us by name, and offered us a cool refreshing drink. They were always around to answer any question we had and accommodate any need. We sometimes felt guilty that all these people were hanging around, putting out pool chairs, cooking, cleaning, and keeping the place top notch just for us, but they made us feel like friends and that it was no trouble. The facility itself was stunning. The attention to detail was superb with modern furnishings perfectly blended with more traditional touches. The place was also spotless. as soon as a leaf fell, it was just as quickly swept up. Even through the hotel was not on the beach, it was just a few blocks away, situated in the hills of the old part of the city, so in the evening, we would go up to the rooftop pool and see the most amazing view of the ocean! We used their services and recommendations to book all of our activities as well as where to eat and drink and were never disappointed. They took the time to listen to what we like and then helped us book the trips or find the restaurant. We never would have found out about beginner scuba diving (so much fun!) without them. We also ate some amazing food based on their recommendations. We could tell that they had taken their time to find there very best in the city and the very best was the only thing good enough for their guests. I have a feeling that this place gets pretty crowded in the high season, but their strict no noise policy after 11p would assure us that we could still get a restful night's sleep and not worry about crazy pool parties. We had the best time at Casa Cupula and would go back in an instant! The absolute best place for the gays to stay in Puerta Viallarta!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There were two giant "flea markets" right in the heard of the old part of town and easy walk from the hotel. This is the place to go to get your typical Mexican souvenirs - painted pottery, jewelry, crafts, and etc. Know that this is not the highest quality you can find, but I found it much better than the average market. They mark their prices way up to gouge the tourists, but are easily bartered down. Stick to our guns! Select a price that you are willing to pay and play hardball. If they don't accept, walk away. there is another stall feet away with the exact same thing who will usually do anything to steal a sale away from their neighbor. We got an amazing deal on some silver jewelry. Also remember that the regular stores expect you to barter as well!

Review of Casa Cupula Gay Friendly

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JMK & JMF
Denver, Colorado
Apr 13, 2010

Paradise Found @ Casa Cupula

Casa Cupula is a class act. Everything about it exemplifies excellence. The staff, the rooms, the pools, restaurant and common areas, and the other guests. If you want to boat or zip line or go on an excursion, the concierge is awesome. We have stayed here multiple times and already booked our next visit before we left. It is like heaven on earth. The rooms and grounds are so nice you don't want to leave them. When you do leave, it is a very short walk to old town PV or the Blue Chairs area. Thank you to the whole Casa Cupula team for creating an oasis for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't let the name Daquiri Dick's turn you off. It is an excellent restaurant. Ask to sit outside, there is a lovely view.

Back to menu Return to top