Casa Cupula Gay Friendly ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$283
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 28, 2016 Check-out: Mar 2, 2016
4.6 /5
Overall score
95%
Would recommend
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.5
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Deluxe Room
  • Size: 400 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Ocean View Room
  • Size: 500 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2

Overview

Casa Cupula Gay Friendly aims for high style in the lushly landscaped Olas Atlas (or Zona Romantica) neighborhood. Within walking distance of the gay beach in Puerto Vallarta, the quaint property impresses with details, from art-filled suites to a romantic restaurant whose menu spans the globe. Due to its size -- just 15 rooms and six suites -- the property maintains just the right amount of intimacy for a romantic weekend. Guests can unwind with fresh margaritas by the pool, book spa treatments for couples or work out in the gym.

Dining

Taste, the resident restaurant serving American, Mexican, Italian and Asian cuisine, provides a high-energy scene. Single people take a seat at the communal table to meet new friends, while couples can have more privacy at tables underneath the stars or in the Old-World dining room.

Rooms

Casa Cupula Gay Friendly rooms promote individual style. No two rooms are alike. Guests might unwind in the Cupula suite, a rustic Mexican cupula, or the modern Vista rooms, which show off sleek furniture and lush vistas. Art plays a dominant role, especially in Villa Sevilla, a two-story beauty with four king rooms, its own pool, living room, dining room, kitchen and rooftop terrace. Some rooms have showers for two and extra beds for additional guests.

Property features

Couples indulge in spa services, which can be enjoyed for an extra fee. Included in the package: massages by two in-house masseurs, a manicure or pedicure and sea-salt exfoliation, hot-mud wrap, algae wrap or Mayan-mud service.

Pump, the on-site gym, provides a lively setting for working out, with upbeat music and ample cardio and weight machines. Windows look out on the surrounding foliage. As a convenience, the gym also invites patrons to order lunch or a protein shake to enjoy after their exercise routine.

For the ultimate bliss, vacationers enjoy freshly made margaritas by or inside the hotel's four pools.

Highlights

  • Chic gay-friendly resort by the gay beach in Puerto Vallarta
  • No two rooms are alike
  • Taste restaurant offering Mexican, Asian, Italian and American fare
  • Four pools
  • Spa treatments for couples

Nearby attractions

  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Malecon (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (4.1 mi/6.6 km)

Transportation

  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (2.4 mi/3.8 km)

Dining

Taste Restaurant at Casa Cupula:
Winner of Vallarta Lifestyles' Readers Choice Award for BEST NEW RESTAURANT IN PUERTO VALLARTA 2011, Taste restaurant@casacupula offers "Creative Food in Good Taste".
Under the direction of Executive Chef Oscar Rito, Taste restaurant offers a dinner menu from four different cuisines: US, Mexican, Asian and South American, with almost all dishes available in half and full portions.
Taste restaurant's secluded jungle setting is romantic and relaxing, perfect for a birthday or anniversary celebration, a quiet date or a group of friends. A granite top bar offers drink specialties ranging from our signature "Cupulini" Martini (with chocolate and chipotle flavors)as well as a number of exciting cocktails.
Theme Nights:
Whether it's a selection of Spanish Tapas or one of our fabulous 4 course gourmet Prix Fixe dinners, there's always something going on during our "high season".
Special Diets: Vegan? Lactose intolerant? Low carb? Gluten-free? Low cal? Food allergies? No alcohol? Whatever you need, we'll take care of it. Just be sure to let us know in advance when you fill out your Guest Preference Survey before you come down. We'll make sure you get not only something within your diet, but something that will surprise you that it could be on your diet!
Cocktails!: A pitcher of Margaritas made the Casa Cupula way: with only 100% Pure Agave Tequila and freshly squeezed limes, is always a great way to start your vacation. Whether it's a cool slushy Daquiri or a dry Martini, or a special bottle of wine, Casa Cupula's Bar will make sure you never run dry.
Room Service:
Open whenever our kitchen is, anything can be brought to your room, suite or poolside anytime. Just give us a ring!
Exceptional Value is more than just a slogan, we're working it into every aspect of Casa Cupula and Dining is first on the list.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 3.6 / 5
$111
Guest score 4.4 / 5
$125
Guest score 4.2 / 5
$213
Guest score 4.3 / 5
$300
Guest score 3.7 / 5
$98
Guest score 3.7 / 5
$94

Amenities

Featured

  • Free Wi-Fi in Room
  • Free parking
  • Pool

General

  • Concierge
  • Pet friendly

Activities

  • Pool
  • Fitness Center
  • Spa

Dining

  • Restaurant
  • Room service

Services

  • Business center

Internet

  • Free Wi-Fi in Room

Parking

  • Free parking

Reviews

4.6 /5 Overall score

95% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 4.6/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.7/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.9/5
  • Comfort: 4.5/5
  • Location: 4.2/5
  • Value: 4.5/5

Enjoyed it all

Would recommend Sat, Aug 1, 2015
Staff was wonderful and location was convenient. The friendliness of the people in PV was a pleasure and definitely makes you want to return. Would most definitely recommend Casa Cupula to others traveling to PV.

| Indio Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Just perfect!

Would recommend Wed, Jul 31, 2013
I spent a week in Puerto Vallarta with my best friend. Our stay was perfect at Casa Cupula! Since the moment we arrived we felt welcomed by an incredible friendly and helpful staff. We got a good deal to upgrade and it was worth it. The hotel is everything hey promised. We made good friends and will surely come back.

Time saver

Don't take a taxi everywhere, it is essay and safe to walk to town and the beach. However, walking back to the hotel can be a challenge if you have difficulty with walking uphill. If you are too tired or had too much fun and drinks at the beach or the clubs at night like I did sometimes, just take a taxi, it is worth it.

| Washington dc Friends

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great getaway experience

Would recommend Wed, Mar 6, 2013
This hotel was great, offering a clean gym, comfortable pool area, and hot tub. I highly recommend eating at their restaurant Taste, fabulous dinners, breakfast and lunch. The staff gets 5 stars being friendly extremely accommodating.

Dining

Taste is a must for dinner while you are in PV. Along with Sunday Brunch.

| Minneapolis, MN L.G.B.T.

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Excellent Stay

Would recommend Thu, Feb 21, 2013
We stayed at Casa Cupula for a week, and loved every minute of our stay. Our room was comfortable, with a spacious bathroom. We had a large patio with a fantastic view of the ocean sunsets as well as the city. The staff was exceptionally helpful to us. They made reservations for us for dinner and a boat trip, and offered us many suggestions for things to do.

Dining

You are less than a 10 minute walk to the beach and numerous great restaurants.

| Omaha, Nebraska Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Third Stay @ Casa Cupula

Would recommend Thu, Feb 14, 2013
Me and my partner have been going to Puerto Vallarta for 5 years. We've stayed at 2 different hotels closer to the beach the first 2 times. Once we discovered Casa Cupula we can't stay anywhere else. Each year there's something new, the food is excellent and there's pretty much nothing the staff wouldn't do for you. A very friendly atmosphere and a great stay!

Attractions

don't be afraid to stay off the beach... it's a 10 min walk or a 50 peso ride to everything

| chicago, Illinois L.G.B.T.

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Exemplary!

Would recommend Fri, Feb 8, 2013
Everything about our week long stay at Casa Cupula was exemplary. Our room was clean, and had a huge shower. Our patio was large, and had phenomenal views of both the sunset as well as the city of PV. The food and service at Taste restaurant, on site, were both excellent, and the prices were more than fair. However what really impressed us most was the warm and welcoming staff. Each and every one of the employees we encountered were pleasant, and went out of their way to assist us in every way possible. The only possible drawback I can think of is that the stunning views come because the hotel is set up on the hill side. It is a ten minute walk to the beach...easy going down hill, but we often opted for an inexpensive taxi ride for the way back. I highly recommend Casa Cupula. We will be back!

| Omaha, Nebraska Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Very Nice Place

Would recommend Sun, Feb 3, 2013
Very nice staff. Always interested in making our stay the best it could be. Room was very clean, and staff did a good job making sure it stayed this way. View was amazing...but if you want a view from your room you need to get one of the Vista King rooms. Otherwise there are amazing views from the roof top dipping pool. Being in the jungle was fun; however, very loud squaky birds made it very difficult to sleep in as we liked to sleep with our windows and balcony doors open. We liked climbing the road and the stairs gave us plenty of exercise...so be prepared for a workout...I know it's not for everyone. The restaurant is a bit over rated. Again, very nice place, attentive staff, with very fancy presentations. A bit over the top for us. We just wanted tacos, but you wont find these on the menu. We are a couple of very simple gay guys who love authentic Mexico and Mexican food. We were able to find plenty of this in town however. Overall a really nice place and the staff is awesome. A great place to stay at least once, but you must be financially prepared. Not sure it is worth the cost. There are plenty of nice places to stay in Vallarta for half the price that are right in the Romantic Zone or Zona Romantica where all the gay bars and restaurants are. Also, just grab a cab from the Airport. A cab to and from the Airport will cost less then half the price of the VIP service to and from the hotel.

Dining

I would be careful about going during big gay events such as Beef Dip as prices seem to jump in the Zona Romantica especially at the gay beaches.

| Denver Colorado L.G.B.T.

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

CAsa Cupula is the best hotel in PV

Would recommend Mon, Jan 14, 2013
We love Casa Cupula. It has awesome views, great stuffs and best room. It's a hidden gem within valley. We upgraded to the suite on the top of the floor which has one jacuzzi off the bath room and infinite pool on the roof deck. Highly recommended.

| San Francisco, California L.G.B.T.

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

I Love Puerto Vallarta

Would recommend Mon, Dec 17, 2012
My stay was wonderful at Casa Cupula. The staff were all cheerful and helpful and always had a smile on their face. They seemed to love their interaction with all the guests. My partner and I have never felt more comfortable being ourselves as we did while in Puerto Vallarta as a whole and at Casa Cupula. Not to mention the hotel is about 5-10 mins walk down to the beach and to other restaurants. Just be ready to walk up and down some hills if you do decide to walk though it's not too bad. We were able to meet some great people and had a wonderful time.

Dining

Make sure to check out some of the other restaurants in the area. My partner and I went on a Horseback riding tour and as part of the tour we stopped at a small restaurants on the way back. It was by far the best Mexican food I've ever had. So don't be affraid to try other places other than whats at the hotel. Also, be very ready for allllllllllll the locals that will be trying to sell you everything everywhere you go.

| Atlanta, GA L.G.B.T.

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Top Notch All the Way

Would recommend Sun, Oct 28, 2012
We loved everything about our stay at Casa Cupula! The staff was fantastic -- very attentive and helpful in every way. Special kudos to concierge Fernando Vasquez who arranged activities and day trips, suggested perfect shopping spots, and more. Hotel accommodations and amenities are wonderful. Hotel location is very convenient to the gay zone/Zona Romántica. Puerto Vallarta is terraced, and this hotel is located a couple of levels up from the beach -- so be prepared for some climbing! If your feet give out, you can always hop in one of the plentiful taxis for 50 pesos (under $4 usd).

Dining

2 great restaurants to try: Fusion Gourmet Calle Pilitas, 156 Margarita Grill Calle Pino Suárez, 321

| Louisville, KY Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Top hotels

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$283
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 28, 2016 Check-out: Mar 2, 2016