$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 21, 2015 Check-out: Mar 22, 2015

Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Jose Clemente Orozco No. 125 Zona Hotelera Norte., Puerto Vallarta, 48333

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
99 reviews
Great Stay

This hotel was really good at making us feel at home. Being the first time of being out of the... See full review

  • Matthew S.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Enjoyable trip

Was concerned with disability room in that it had no bars near the banos. and they were very low.... See full review

  • mamafran
  • Nov 23, 2014
Puerto Vallarta hotel hosts a variety of activities day and night
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive sweetens the all-inclusive experience with nightly themed shows, endless buffets and a full range of leisure activities for fitness fanatics, golfers and spa goers. When guests tire of relaxing by the pool, they can enjoy a massage or facial, play bingo or go off-site for a round of golf at nearby courses. A swim-up bar -- complete with tropical cocktails -- completes the appeal.
Highlights
  • Renovated rooms with modern decor and pool or garden view
  • Nightly themed shows
  • Spa treatments
  • Outdoor pool and fitness center
Rooms
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive renovated 228 rooms to reflect modern Mexican style. Equipped with tile floors, the spaces embrace warm tones, sleek wood furniture and modern amenities. Windows or sliding glass doors look out to pool or garden views. Bold splashes of color -- such as an orange wall or tropical piece of art represented in a color block -- are stylish touches that complement the overall design. Standard amenities cover free Wi-Fi access, a 32-inch flat-screen TV, direct-dial telephone and smoke detector.
Features
A diverse range of activities at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive staves off boredom. Guests can always relax by the pool, but the resort offers many more diversions. Try the tequila volleyball, book a spa treatment, work out in the fitness center or play bingo. The resort can also arrange tee times at nearby golf courses.
Dining
Three restaurants and a seasonal grill give guests at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive plenty of options. Los Cantaros nourishes with an all-day buffet in a casual setting, while Santa Maria tempts with regional Mexican fare. A poolside snack bar is another staple.
Entertainment
When in Mexico, swim up to the bar. At Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive, bartenders at Aqua Bar el Papagayo concoct fruity, fresh cocktails and frozen drinks.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • 4,457 square feet of event space for up to 450 guests
  • Catering

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Supersaver
2 double beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, cable TV, flat screen TV, full private bathroom, shower, hair dryer, vanity mirrors, alarm clock, iron with ironing boards, direct dial telephone, in room safety deposit box, smoke detector and sprinkler system, window opens and complimentary wireless internet access.
Standard Room
2 double beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, cable TV, flat screen TV, full private bathroom, shower, hair dryer, vanity mirrors, alarm clock, iron with ironing boards, direct dial telephone, in room safety deposit box, smoke detector and sprinkler system, window opens, Pool or Garden view, and complimentary wireless internet access.
Superior Ocean View
Guaranteed Ocean View, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, cable TV, flat screen TV, full private bathroom, shower, hair dryer, vanity mirrors, alarm clock, iron with ironing boards, direct dial telephone, in room safety deposit box, smoke detector and sprinkler system, window opens and complimentary wireless internet access.
One Bedroom Suite
1 king size bed or 2 double beds, 1 double sofa-bed, living room, full equipped kitchenette, dining room, full bathroom with shower, safety deposit box, cable TV, hair dryer, vanity mirror, iron with ironing board and alarm clock

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Aquabar El Papagayo
Pool-side bar serving your favorite drinks. 10:00am-6:00pm
Los Peces Snack Bar
Serving snacks pool-side. From 12:00pm-6:00pm Casual or swim wear.
Lobby Bar
The best place to enjoy your favorite drink and form new friendships. 6:00pm – Midnight.
Los Cantaros Restaurant
Breakfast, lunch and dinner, buffet style, with a wonderful view of the pool area while enjoying your favorite dish. Casual wear. Breakfast 7:00am–11:30am / Lunch 1:00pm–5:00pm / Dinner 6:30pm–10:30pm.
Santa Maria Especialty
Our specialty Mexican restaurant, serving traditional and contemporary cuisine. Casual elegant (reservations required). 6:30pm-9:30pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Breakout rooms and adjoining meeting rooms are available for smaller meetings, seminars or cocktail parties. Our theater and show lounges may be reserved for larger seminars or special presentations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 99
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sam J
Business
Marina del Rey, CA, USA
Dec 26, 2011

disappointing!!

I have been to Mexico 2 times once @Temptation in Cancun & another time @ RIU santa fe in Cabo .both resorts were 3 stars .in comparison to those this can't be rated more than 1 star,please don't waste your money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 5, 2012

I would like to list the issues my partner and I had in the hotel:

1- Hotel restaurant was closed due to the construction and only one was available for the whole resort. 2- Noisy rooms at night due to the construction. 3- No wireless internet was available although it is advertised. 4- Extremely cheap food was provided at the restaurant. This caused health issues for my partner. 5- Long lines and long waiting for the restaurant due to high number of people and only one restaurant available. 6- Broken safe in the room. So I had to carry my passport and money with me all the time. 7- Extremely dirty bathroom and toilet. No regular room service was provided. 8- I had to change two rooms because of the construction. 9- Extreme pressure to sell timeshare at the hotel. 10- Low quality of drinks at the bar although it is advertised otherwise. 11- Unsafe environment due to entering the local sale people and their pressure to sell. 12- Unavailability of facilities such as gym and tennis court and pressure to sell private instruction in order to use the court. 13 Finally and the worse: bugs in the bed which caused us skin issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a seafood restaurant in down town. it is fantastic. Sorry I forgot the name but the dish you should try is ZARANDIADO.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wally Mae
Business
DeForest, WI
Apr 6, 2014

One very long and push sales call

from the minute we got through customs we were attacked by salespeople with free tequila, not once but 3 times, we finally just walked away during their sales pitch. nothing you can do about that, but the hotel was even worse. Before we could check in we were almost bullied into sitting through their sales presentation. We said no several time and she still would not let us check in AND she expected us to pay $20 to reserve our spot in their presentation. when we finally got away from them we were allowed to check in and instead of the king bed we had reserved we were given 2 double beds and I think that was in retaliation because the original room number was crossed off so they changed the room. Later in the stay we went to ask where the gym was and the other restaurants and they told us we needed to speak to guest services AKA their salespeople who again tried to get us to their presentation and wouldn't tell us where the gym was! THEN they called our room the day of the presentation to confirm we were attending it was RIDICULOUS! we could've gotten a free excursion from it but literally chose to pay the $200 for it because we were so mad! The beach was small, the food was always luke warm but the bartenders and wait staff were friendly. beach chairs were very uncomfortable and the music/activities left a lot to be desired! The city tour was great, but again all sales. they took us to stores and gave us margaritas to buy things. the tequila distillery was great. Overall Puerto Vallarta was pretty but complete tourist trap, wouldn't return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

you will be charged a foreign exchange fee every time you use your credit card, better to pay in pesos or dollars, every place accepted both

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nicki88
Business
Napa ca
Jun 7, 2014

Horrible

They steal from you room!!!!! Don't stay at this hotel! There are many better resorts near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Havah
Business
Harlingen, TX
Mar 27, 2008

very unsafe Horrible customer service

From the very beginning the hotel service was atrocious.The next day, my wife's birthday we had an issue with security as someone stole some of my wife's items from within the room while we were out to dinner. Apparently they do not lock the community doors that are attached on both sides of the room to the rooms next door. When we learned that our doors were not locked and that we had some items missing we reported this to security. Security and the hotel services were disputing our claim from the onset. It took them one hour from our initial call to even send someone to check on the doors. They put us in a different room without community doors but that was the extent of their assistance in this matter. The stolen items were never reimbursed, we lost more than a day in dealing with this matter, filing police reports etc., and they never even apologized for the incident basically insuing that we were making the whole story up. We felt unsafe in this hotel and were dissapointed in the staff and service. We do not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We recommend the Venetian restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chantall L.
Business
New York, NY, USA
Dec 31, 2011

Not worth what we paid

Room was clean and bed was fairly comfortable. Good location to have an easy walk to downtown Vallarta. Buffet food was not good, salty and very americanized. The bar drinks were sweet and in order to get a regular strength drink had to ask for a double. Staff was very polite and eager to please.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Takos Tizok, very authentic yummy tacos, across the street from the plaza two block walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mouat
Business
Stanwood, WA
Jun 16, 2014

Mediocre at best

Overall we had a good time on our trip. we felt like we got what we paid for since we were looking for a budget trip. We did both get sick from the buffet after a couple days. We also saw little ants everywhere in our room and had itchy bites all over us. The pool area and lobby was beautiful and we spent a lot of time there. We also thought the nightly shows were decent. the day time activities weren't exciting. They should have some more adult only activities (my hubby wasn't thrilled about playing poker with kids). A la cart restaurants were very good. I don't think we would stay again though because the downside of getting sick and the bugs. We also asked several times for our complimentary jug of water never to get one. We ended up buying our own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't buy jewelry at the opal mine store. opals fell out of my ring with in a month of our trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tgator
Business
IN
Feb 16, 2010

Everything is for sale

If you buy a trip beware of what you are buying

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phx, AZ
Nov 14, 2010

Okay hotel

Nice people, very friendly and helpful.. only thing i didnt like was when I got the tickets no where did it say they only had one resturant that is included in all inclusive. if u stay longer than 4 days there than they give u 1 coupon to eat free at the other resturants.. so if u like more choices than you should go to a biger hotel not a small one like this one.. next I will go to bigger place to get more options on resturants and beach had rocks and sand was hard... in new puerto vallarta has no rocks .. sand is nice and soft

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

walk downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lighthouse
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Jan 1, 2012

Average experience

This was my second time at this resort and, hopefully not my last. It was, just as explained, an average hotel and the price was right and I did not feel that I did not get what I paid for. I was, however, very disappointed with the internet service (that rarely worked) and the fact that my room was not clean until later afternoon (after 3:00 P.M.). The nightly entertainment was good, the service was great and if there was a problem that I mentioned (such as a not acceptable bathroom), it was quickly resolved (other than the internet).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top