$206 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

3 stars
Jose Clemente Orozco No. 125 Zona Hotelera Norte., Puerto Vallarta, 48333
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
128 reviews
5 star vacation for a fraction of the price!

This resort was absolutely wonderful. The view is breathtaking, the swim up bar was awesome, and... See full review

  • Elle Michele
  • Mar 29, 2014
Lovely surprise and great value for a relaxing getaway

I went into this trip needing quiet and respite from the bitter cold of Chicago and I found what I... See full review

  • Sandy1111
  • Mar 6, 2014
Puerto Vallarta hotel hosts a variety of activities day and night
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive sweetens the all-inclusive experience with nightly themed shows, endless buffets and a full range of leisure activities for fitness fanatics, golfers and spa goers. When guests tire of relaxing by the pool, they can enjoy a massage or facial, play bingo or go off-site for a round of golf at nearby courses. A swim-up bar -- complete with tropical cocktails -- completes the appeal.
Highlights
  • Renovated rooms with modern decor and pool or garden view
  • Nightly themed shows
  • Spa treatments
  • Outdoor pool and fitness center
Rooms
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive renovated 228 rooms to reflect modern Mexican style. Equipped with tile floors, the spaces embrace warm tones, sleek wood furniture and modern amenities. Windows or sliding glass doors look out to pool or garden views. Bold splashes of color -- such as an orange wall or tropical piece of art represented in a color block -- are stylish touches that complement the overall design. Standard amenities cover free Wi-Fi access, a 32-inch flat-screen TV, direct-dial telephone and smoke detector.
Features
A diverse range of activities at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive staves off boredom. Guests can always relax by the pool, but the resort offers many more diversions. Try the tequila volleyball, book a spa treatment, work out in the fitness center or play bingo. The resort can also arrange tee times at nearby golf courses.
Dining
Three restaurants and a seasonal grill give guests at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive plenty of options. Los Cantaros nourishes with an all-day buffet in a casual setting, while Santa Maria tempts with regional Mexican fare. A poolside snack bar is another staple.
Entertainment
When in Mexico, swim up to the bar. At Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive, bartenders at Aqua Bar el Papagayo concoct fruity, fresh cocktails and frozen drinks.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • 4,457 square feet of event space for up to 450 guests
  • Catering

Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Supersaver
2 double beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, cable TV, flat screen TV, full private bathroom, shower, hair dryer, vanity mirrors, alarm clock, iron with ironing boards, direct dial telephone, in room safety deposit box, smoke detector and sprinkler system, window opens and complimentary wireless internet access.
Standard Room
2 double beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, cable TV, flat screen TV, full private bathroom, shower, hair dryer, vanity mirrors, alarm clock, iron with ironing boards, direct dial telephone, in room safety deposit box, smoke detector and sprinkler system, window opens, Pool or Garden view, and complimentary wireless internet access.
Superior Ocean View
Guaranteed Ocean View, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, cable TV, flat screen TV, full private bathroom, shower, hair dryer, vanity mirrors, alarm clock, iron with ironing boards, direct dial telephone, in room safety deposit box, smoke detector and sprinkler system, window opens and complimentary wireless internet access.
One Bedroom Suite
1 king size bed or 2 double beds, 1 double sofa-bed, living room, full equipped kitchenette, dining room, full bathroom with shower, safety deposit box, cable TV, hair dryer, vanity mirror, iron with ironing board and alarm clock

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

20.633 -105.231
Area served
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Nearby airports
Diaz Ordaz, (PVR)Puerto Vallarta International Airport
Area description
Right in the heart of the hotel zone and close to all the major attractions. 10 minutes from the International Airport. The famous malecon is just minutes away from the resort, where all the main attractions such as night clubs, bars, cafes, cinema theatres, beaches and shopping outlets are located. On the other hand there is Plaza Caracol, Old town, Cuale River and Marina Vallarta.

Dining

Aquabar El Papagayo
Pool-side bar serving your favorite drinks. 10:00am-6:00pm
Los Peces Snack Bar
Serving snacks pool-side. From 12:00pm-6:00pm Casual or swim wear.
Lobby Bar
The best place to enjoy your favorite drink and form new friendships. 6:00pm – Midnight.
Los Cantaros Restaurant
Breakfast, lunch and dinner, buffet style, with a wonderful view of the pool area while enjoying your favorite dish. Casual wear. Breakfast 7:00am–11:30am / Lunch 1:00pm–5:00pm / Dinner 6:30pm–10:30pm.
Santa Maria Especialty
Our specialty Mexican restaurant, serving traditional and contemporary cuisine. Casual elegant (reservations required). 6:30pm-9:30pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Breakout rooms and adjoining meeting rooms are available for smaller meetings, seminars or cocktail parties. Our theater and show lounges may be reserved for larger seminars or special presentations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (128)

Ratings and reviews for Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJ009
Mpls, MN
Jan 14, 2012

A couple's winter vacation

Great location, if you are looking to limit costs on transportation in visiting the shopping/restaurant areas. It is about a five dollar cab ride, or 20 minute walk. The city is very safe and welcoming, there is no uneasiness walking downtown or exploring the area. The hotel staff was very accommodating and friendly, the rooms were cleaned sometimes up to twice a day. The resort was small, but big enough to allow you some privacy during the day, but also small enough to get to know make friends with other vacationers. We had a blast getting to know other travelers at the pool bar at night. The resort was family-friendly, but wasn't overwhelmed with younger kids running everywhere. The food was better than what you expect for a buffet, snacks were always available late at the snack bar by the pool, drinks and drink service was quick and very tasty. Servers were cruising the pool and beach area at all times to gather drink orders and were very quick to return them to you. The mattresses were a little uncomfortable, but manageable, the fitness center was not "state-of-the art" there were no treadmills, wobbly bikes, and old lifting equipment, but if you are a person who needs some exercise on vacation- the equipment will do and the community track is about 5-6 blocks away and allows you to be amongst the friendly community members and enjoy a scenic run/walk. The weather was perfect and sunny everyday, there was free entertainment almost every night with dinner, activities provided during the day, and adventures coordinators at the resort and a neighboring little stores across from the resort that were very accessible if you were interested in exploring or adventuring more in Puerto Vallarta. Overall, we enjoyed our experience and would definitely return to this resort. The staff and all-inclusive amenities are invaluable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eliz123
Minnesota
Jun 6, 2014

Awesome!

My Mother and I went for a quick weekend vacay and had a WONDERFUL time! Clean room, wonderful staff, great location! The buffet wasn't anything to write home about.. but it served it's purpose. Swim-up bar and the snack bar were our favorite places. The entertainment staff was entertaining..but maybe not for the right reasons--it was very cheesy, but enjoyable! Had a lovely trip, would consider booking again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The boardwalk

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miguel the traveller
Austin TX
Dec 28, 2009

Very pleased once they changed the room

At first we received a room by the pool and stairs and it was very noisy, the next day they gave us a room accross the hall and it was quiet and comfortable...as an added bonus, the room came with a kitchenett that of course we didnt use but it was still very nice...dont be shy to ask for a different room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the public transportation system..its only 6 pesos 50 cents and it will take you to the boardwalk and shopping center (malecon and centro). The taxi was 60 pesos which is 5 dlls.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nebraska
Feb 16, 2011

Sun and Sand!!! Relax and Enjoy!!!!

We really enjoyed our trip to Puerto Vallarta, we have been to Cabo, and Riviera Maya, and would definately go back to Vallarta. The resort is located within very close distance to the airport and the boardwalk. Every activity you would want to do is availble. Moses on the beach is a great one to do this with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Vendors on the beAch offer great deals if you bargain with them. Make sure you have smaller bills, and not all large ones.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mulin
Peurto Vallarta, Mexico
Jun 12, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price.

Agreed to the time share presentation - not a good experience for me as the guy got insulting and nasty at the end. However we enjoyed two really good day trips and a bottle of Tiquela as a gift for the suffering. In credit we were not bothered again by him over the two weeks. I wish I had known that the rooms were non smoking before I booked. I had put that in the request. I must have read very old website that told me it would be hard to find somewhere one couldnt smoke in Mexico! This is not true although I understand that the laws have only changed in the last 2 years. The 'balcony' was tiny - hardly 2feet! Otherwise a fantastic holiday. We went for rest and relaxation and we certainly got that. There was no real need to leave the resort and the nightly shows were very good. The nice part of the night was that after the show the resort was nice and quiet. We had view of the pool and the ocean from our room and with the window open a small bit you can hear the waves at night - lovely. Went to the Mexican Fiesta night. Cost 50 US dollars each and was well worth it. About an hours bus ride, dancing horses, other performers, Mexican Dancers, dinner and really good music on a country ranch. If this resort wasnt so far away I would be going back next year. We felt safe and were very well cared for by the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Dont miss the nightly shows in the Canto del Sol. The dancers are very professional and they have a different theme each night of the week. We happily saw most of the shows twice!

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Leon
Sep 16, 2008

Bad food in the hotel

I wouldn't recommend the hotel, the food is not good, I would rather stay the next time in a more expensive hotel with better food, the room was ok, swimming pool also ok, the drinks at the bar are fine but is so unpleasant about the food...I qould give this hotel a 6 out of 10, no more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I went to eat to la Marina several times, the food there is good and is only 5 mins. by taxi, the taxi will charge you only $5 dollars.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Palm Beach, FL
Dec 12, 2007

Good deal for the $

I would recommend this hotel to some, but not to others. The food is great, the staff is super friendly and courteous, the view is amazing. The rooms are a little rundown, not dirty but old and I just wish the air conditioning blew colder. I stayed 3 nights and loved the hotel, but I wouldn't send my parents there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go check out the town, eat at the street vendors. There's a lady set up outside the church who makes the best tamales I've ever had for a dollar.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Leon
Sep 16, 2008

Bad food in the hotel

I wouldn't recommend the hotel, the food is not good, I would rather stay the next time in a more expensive hotel with better food, the room was ok, swimming pool also ok, the drinks at the bar are fine but is so unpleasant about the food...I qould give this hotel a 6 out of 10, no more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I went to eat to la Marina several times, the food there is good and is only 5 mins. by taxi, the taxi will charge you only $5 dollars.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, UT
Apr 22, 2009

Great all inclusive

This is our 2nd time in the last 2 years here. The Mexican food and drinks are very good. The only down side is you have to eat at the reservation-only Mexican restaurant to get guacamole with your meal. They were a little heavy with trying to get us to do a Time Share presentation, even though we were a fully paid hotel guest. Great beach access. Close to downtown (50 pesos for a cab ride). The bellmen were fantastic. The rooms were clean. Hard to get a pool lounge chair if you wait past 11 am to get there. Did not get harassed at the beach by vendors, but they still were there selling various trinkets and things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Negotiate your cab fare up front. It should only be 50 pesos from Canto del Sol to downtown, but the cabbies will charge 70 or 80 pesos if you don't establish it before you leave the hotel.

Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wichita
Jul 8, 2008

Good Experience

This was our first trip to Puerto Vallarta. We were vacationing on a budget, so we weren't quite sure what to expect. Overall, the few days we were there were good. The accommodations were comfortable, clean and quite adequate. Although we enjoyed the food that we did eat at the hotel, we didn't feel that there were enough options available for an all-inclusive. My husband and I neither one are picky eaters. If you are planning on staying here with someone who IS, plan on spending your souvenir money on eating out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a nice little shopping area right across the street from the hotel. The prices were every bit as good as we found in the neighboring flea markets, boardwalk area, and marina shopping areas. We were pleased with having that available so close!

Back to menu Return to top